Cerwin Vega CLSC-12S Subwoofers

CLSC-12S

  • 12" cast frame high-excursion woofer
  • Continuously variable crossover from 40 to 150 Hz
  • Adjustable level control
  • Speaker level & line level inputs
  • LFE input
  • Auto-on sensing

User Reviews (9)

Showing 1-9 of 9  
Eddie Navarrete   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 06, 2016]

My neighbors told me their house tremble when i use my C V... windows rattles....thunderous sound indeed i love it....!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chad   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 26, 2015]

I have had this sub for close to 8 years and was underwhelmed the day I got it. Auto on works when it feels like it and it is terribly underpowered. I thought part of the problem may have been the receiver i was using so i purchased a mid level Onkyo only to be disappointed by no change in performance. (The Onkyo is amazing for the rest of the system btw, highly recomend) I give it two stars because when it does work, I know its there, if you are just looking for a little depth, this is what you want at a really good price. If you are looking for something that will make your neighbors call the cops, this is absolutely not what you are looking for.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
1
samuel   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 26, 2014]

I've used several of these units along with the larger 15 inch version for home theater. I've had a few amp failures…however the way to fix the problem is to install a Dayton Audio SPA 250 plate amp on the back of the unit. I had an old CLSC 12 with a bad amp and install the Dayton Amp which was only $135.00. The Dayton Amp is 100% better that the Cewin Vega amp and has enough power to blow the woofer…I know because the woofer is now blown. Anyway the unit has unbelievable bass with the dayton amp but you have to be careful because it has the power to destroy the woofer without breaking a sweat. Like another review said…the speaker and the cabinet are good but the amp is JUNK!. Also put one of these Dayton amps on a 15 inch Sony powered home sub. The Sony woofer blew so I installed a JL Audio W3 15 in it's place..then the Sony amp would go into protect mode because the impedance is below 6 ohms. With the Dayton amp..the JL Audio Sub and the Sony Cabinet we are talking serious loud undistorted bass. I've heard $1000.00 dollar units not sound as good…either with the CW cabinet and speaker with a Dayton or the Sony JL audio/Dayton set up.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Beezie   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2014]

Fair only. Got very hot and died after three years.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2013]

I've owned this sub for around 5 or 6 years now and have not had any issues. It shakes everything in the house.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
shawn   Casual Listener [Jan 10, 2011]

1 word for this JUNK! dont waste your money...hardly even used it and when i did. it would shut off and on..then the circuit board burned out...and to replace it ..cost $160.00...i only paid like $200.00 4 it brand new......If they have problems with it why do they sell the amp 4 so much money? It should b like $50.00...The auto on sencing Sucks too...it came on when it wanted to..not all the time like it should..what kind of stupid option is this?Like I said I hardley even used it..if u look at it you would think its brand new...the speaker is good the amp is Junk!

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
2
Big Dave   Casual Listener [Oct 07, 2010]

Purchased because I've seen this product in Autos and it sounded great... and, actually, these do when they work. WHEN THEY WORK.. constantly over heated even with settings at mid level and not pushing it to hard. Music, into 2nd song, it would shut itself down and then just keep going in and out as it kept over heating at medium volume level..

Movies.. same thing. as amp got hot, kick in and out during movies... returned one, same thing... now out of warranty and stuck with this peace of junk...should of bought Polk Audio like the rest of my speakers... lesson learned.. now I gotta big paper weight that cost me $245...

STAY AWAY

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Yves Dicaire   Casual Listener [Oct 04, 2008]
Strength:

None

Weakness:

Piece of scrap (Made in China)
Waste of money

I only used the Cerwin Vega CLSC-12S a few hours the first year because I did not
have the time to sit or listen TV. Once the warranty was over my kids received a
X-box as a X-mas gift so I decided to put every components all together. It did works for a couple of month but one night we were all watching a movie and suddenly the woofer just stop working and the green LED still on all the time. The same thing happened with a JBL subwoofer so that is why I have traded it to a cerwin Vega.

Similar Products Used: JBL 10" subwoofer
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
vald   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 23, 2008]
Strength:

nothing

Weakness:

junk

this speaker is junk it blew out less than a month dont buy its junk

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
PaDave   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 29, 2006]
Strength:

Great deep rich low bass, Nice to look at, at 300 watts for 200$ you cant find a sub that will hit better.

Weakness:

Not suitible to tune above 80Hz, i tried but i realized i need some towers for my mid bass.

Well after another trial with KLH, I regret to say that i had t replace my whole system beacuse KLH IS GARBAGE SAVE YOUR MONEY IF YOUR NOT RICH LIKE ME!!! Anyway, I bought the CLS-12 for 30$ because KLH didnt have the parts to fix my sub, I have been pounding the crap out of this sub since the day i got it. I listen to a variety of music and it sounds best with bands like Metallica. Its hooked up to a low end HK receiver that only puts out 60 watts per channel. I am immpressed, and i will buy CW from now on.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com