Carver Audio Knight Shadow Subwoofers

Knight Shadow

At 11 inches cubed, the Carver KnightShadow Subwoofer re-defines the term ""spouse friendly."" The Carver KnightShadow subwoofer is small enough to fit into practically any music or theater system. It is easy to set up and to position in order to elicit deep bass response from your movies and music.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
Jre56   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 19, 2010]

My sub isn't putting out nearly the Bass I'm reading about on this site. I bought it probably about 8 years ago from The Speaker & Stereo Store when they were closing so I couldn't return it. It was brand new in the box. I got it home hooked it up and tweaked until my fingers bled but no bass. If you listen real hard you might hear a slight amount of Bass from the cube. Now I do hear a annoying hum but no real Bass. Can someone tell me their settings so I can adjust mine accordingly? Thanks!

I think I paid about $350.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Tmankiller72   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 21, 2005]
Strength:

Size (a 12inch cube) Power dynamics (good impact) and a good price

Weakness:

NONE! just a little tweaking to get it(them in my case) dialed corectly

Probably the best sub you can find at this price , very dynamic and tight ,not boomy and since it is an acoustic suspension design No port noise! I liked it so much I now have 2! I have measured in my room 12x16x8 a SPL rating of 111db@21hz and relatively flat response from 19hz to 91hz @ 110db +/-2db ! this is of course running a sine wave test signal, when these two hit it feels like someone dropped a 25lb dumbell on the wood floor, really they are that good. They must be setup and dialed in correctly to achieve these results ..but thats not to difficult. This is what a real subwoofer sounds like not the mass produced wind boxes at your local chain stores. You can get one used for around $400 online , otherwise I'd get a SVS PB10-ISD or PB12 , good luck!

Similar Products Used: SVS HSU Definitive Polk Sunfire Phase Tech PC Sub (all great subs but for $800 for 2 used Knight Shadows ,not really a comparison)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mosher1234   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 05, 2003]
Strength:

Strong tight bass Small size Incredible dynamic range

Weakness:

You always have to show it off to people becuase they can't believe something so small could be so strong!!!

Okay, I was in the market for a new subwoofer that was more musical than my current (Infinity BU2). I was set on buying the Velodyne SPL-1200. I went to my local dealer and he said "just try this (Carver Knight Shadow). I couldn't believe the amount of bass that came out of this!!!!!!!!! For musical tracks it was faster and tighter than the Velodyne. It is also VERY wife friendly being so small. I LOVE IT!!!!

Similar Products Used: Velodyne 1200 Paradigm PDR-12
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
fourfox   Audio Enthusiast [May 30, 2002]
Strength:

Small size, Wife friendly (tell her it cost half what it did)

Weakness:

Needs to be tweaked a little. Not really a weakness.

I just got it about a month ago and I am very happy. It easily fills my large room with sound. It does need to be tweaked a little bit. At first it was a little boomy, but after adjusting the phase and bass level it now blends seamlessly with the rest of my system. On music it seems very profecient and on bass effects on 5.1 it shakes the house (before I adjusted the phase I was getting sympthathetic vibrations on my large plate glass windows, my wife was affraid they were going to break). How such a small unit can put out so much quality sound I have no idea, but I'm very satisfied with it.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne, Polk
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
rkh   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 13, 2002]
Strength:

Size. Incredible power. Accuracy. Build quality. Controls for gain, phase and cutoff. Spouse friendly in the extreme.

Weakness:

Are you kidding?? You would have to spend 2x get anything that would noticeably outdo the Knight Shadow.

Amazing. Simply incredible. Sorry for my long review but, I just love this thing and can''t seem to shut up about it. My local hi-fi store introduced me to the Carver. When I saw it, I was completely skeptical based on size. When we set it up and listened to it, I was convinced in less than 30 seconds of comparative listening that I had to have it. I wasn''t even in the market. That never happens to me. The power is stunning. I have it in a 20''x30'' room with a vaulted ceiling and it will shake the china on the other side of the room. I barely have it turned up. Not only will it test your home''s structural warranty, it will also wow you with it''s musical qualities. When I listened to it in the store, we compared it to a few other subs in $500-$1000 range. The expensive ones could match the rumble but none seemed to recreate the music as well (or even close) the Carver. Impressive. I brought my friends over without telling them about it and played the U-571 depth charge scene. I thought they were going to die. They could not believe what they were hearing. When they saw it, they asked if I had two 1(They figured nothing so small could do what they just heard). This thing is a joy to own. It blends seamlessly with my BA T-1000''s. The reviews below are spot on. You may get something slightly better but, it will cost you dearly. To seriously outdo the Carver, you might go broke. It is worth stretching your subwoofer budget to get one. Nothing costing $500 will even come close - and it will be a lot bigger.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 14, 2002]
Strength:

AWESOME BASS AND POWER, VALUE, SMALL SIZE

Weakness:

HARD TO FIND

THIS SUBWOOFER ROCKS!! I used to have a 15" 250 watt powered sub by Velodyne, but I needed more space in my confined living room.

I heard of these smaller, high output subs and how they are supposed to perform like the big boys.

I purchased this Carver Knight Shadow subwoofer (I found it on eBay) which uses a 10" ultra long throw (2" stroke) woofer with a powerful 500 Watts RMS amplifier. This unit is the equivalent to the SUNFIRE Architectural sub, but at nearly 40% less COST!!

IT IS AWESOME!! THE BEST VALUE IN A SUBWOOFER TODAY!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
TheEAR Hearing Aids   Audiophile [Jan 02, 2002]
Strength:

Very compact,well built,trouble free,real subwoofer and not expensive at all.

Weakness:

For what I paid for this sub none,my Sunfires,Velodynes perform better but cost WAY more.

This is a serious bargain in the micro sub segment,the sub has output to around a true sub 25Hz!Yes around 20Hz output!Goes lower then the Sunfire Junior and Mark II!

Impressive,while it does not have the output of the Sunfire subs at 25Hz and above its still more then most will need.

The sub is clean and has some punch missing from the Sunfires(climbs better in the bass).Two of these will cost less then the HGS10 and beat the HGS10 in just about any test.Very impressive

For music the Knight Shadow beats the Sunfire subs and is very close to the Velodyne HGS subs.For HT it can pound out the bass and remains clean.

This is the best balanced microsub,inexpensive,performs well(both SPL and will dig near 20Hz)and built to last many years.

And as always the Sunfire err Carver is very trouble free(I had and Klipsch LF10 and Velo HGS10 and both had problems).

5 star for value and 4 overall

Similar Products Used: Sunfire Sig.,Sunfire Mark II,Sunfire Junior,Velodyne HGS10 and 12,REL Q200E,M&K 700 and the API flop...Energy Microstar...plus the Klipsch LF10(another semi flop).Many more larger subs
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Doug   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 2001]
Strength:

Sound quality, sound level, size

Weakness:

none so far

I really couldn't be more pleased with the purchase of this sweet little sub. In the past I've owned larger M+K's, and they were outstanding. They were big, but they were outstanding products indeed. I had to sell them off for various reasons and recently I started to rebuild my HT. I purchased this sub without even a demo after extensive listening to the smaller velodynes, sunfires, as well as some larger subs. I'm very pleased. Build quality is outstanding, I and appreciate the grill on the front as opposed to the Sunfires. Frankly I feel this sub is more accurate than the sunfires for whatever reason. I have it in the back corner of the room, yet can't "place" the sub in the room while listening. The room is 13x13 and open on one end and it fills the room with NO problems. Heck, it's barely turned up. The accuracy is very nice also. It DOES play different notes which is great. This sub is hard to find, but I ordered from One Call (stephanie was the sales person), and got a GREAT deal. IF you are considering any of the smaller velodynes, m+k's, or sunfires (the knight shadow's cousin...) you really owe it to yourself to save some money and get one of these. I'm very pleased. Suprisingly so. Only reason I'm going 4 stars is that IF you want to triple the space you use for your sub, and drop a couple hundred more the big push-pull M+K's are a TAD bit more accurate, but honestly, it's very, very close. GREAT PRODUCT (assuming it continues to work flawlessly!)

Similar Products Used: Various M+K's, velodyne
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com