Boston Acoustics PV600 Subwoofers

PV600

The PV600 includes a 10 inch (250mm) woofer, 150-watt, and 3 inputs.

User Reviews (45)

Showing 1-10 of 45  
trojan2900   AudioPhile [Oct 26, 2005]
Strength:

I like the volume dial up front.

Weakness:

Lack of left and right inputs. They must think everyone who uses this will have a receiver with a subwoofer button, or is willing to hack up their speaker cable. Not me, in both cases.

I thought I'd try out a downward firing sub and test the PV-600 against an Infinity SW-10 I had. The one problem I saw right away was that the rca inputs on the Boston don't have a separate left and right channel, while the Infinity does. I run Kimber Silverstreak directly from the second preamp output on my Krell intergrated amp to the subwoofer, so left and right channel inputs are perfect. The Boston has in input for using the crossover and one for bypassing the crossover. I tried to use a y patch cable (on silverstreak?) but it just mono'd out my amp. Not good, so used both inputs on the Boston at the same time and it worked. The bass energy on this unit is good, and I'd recommend it if you can find one on ebay for the price I got it at (hint....look for mine shortly), but overall, the Infinity has the Boston beat. It's tighter, fuller, and has more power (rated at 250w). The cabinet also weighs more.

Similar Products Used: Infinity SW-10
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
drlazybones   Audio Enthusiast [May 27, 2004]
Strength:

It goes pretty low. Powerful amp. I never turn it above 1.5 on the volume control (so it integrates properly with my mains).

Weakness:

goes low, but not super-low.

This subwoofer sounds great for music or movies. It integrates perfectly with my VR3 fronts, crossed at 40Hz and set to a low volume. For music playback, the sub disappears, and anchors the bottom end, subtly extending the base into the nether-regions... For movies? Well, i can turn it up to about "2" on the dial and make the windows in my house rattle. The bass is deep enough to feel in your chest, and clean enough to distinguish TONES, which is saying something! I would say this is the least you can spend on a sub and still have a musical bottom-end, where a pipe organ or a cello have a timbral quality instead of sounding like a bloomy boomy mess. Boston is a great mid-fi brand, with an excellent cost:value ratio. This sub is another example of that formula.

Similar Products Used: Listened to the usual in-store junk before deciding this was the most economical route to excellent base.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 23, 2003]
Strength:

Well built, looks great, very musical, and I really like the how the circuitry for the amp keeps it from distorting- I'm not afraid to turn it up for movies

Weakness:

can't think of any

This is a product from which I got more than I thought I would. I just wanted something better than the $200 8in. sub I had, but I got a sub that I think I will keep for many years. If you want huge bass, get the 12in PV800, but if you care more about music than movies, this is the one for you. It's definitely a musical subwoofer and does well for my listening which is mostly rock. It has no problem filling a room, and it goes pretty low. Great for music, still plenty for movies (for me at least).

Similar Products Used: much cheaper Tivoli sub from Tweeter
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
van   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 04, 2003]

I purchased this sub at tweeter for a great price of $299. I was excited when I brought it home, but 3 days after I connected it to my Denon 3200, I noticed a terrible crackling sound with LFE in movies. I took it back to Tweeters, only to find out that it had a bad amp. So I exchanged it for another pv600. One week after having the 2nd sub, the speaker blew. I don't listen to my music loud, and I listen to mostly jazz and R&B. At that point, I decided I was jinxed. Went back to Tweeters a 3rd time (I'm sure the salesmen were thinking at this point I was some scamming guy who listens to his music full blast) when I noticed a PV800 for $444. Exchanged it, and am very happy. I'm sure if I had a working pv600, I would be content. I'm just happy to have a working sub (fingers crossed :)

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
drlazybones   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 07, 2003]

This was the best money I've spent to round out my system. Compared to other subs in this price range, I feel I got the best there is. The thing rocks!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andrew Rose   Audio Enthusiast [May 25, 2003]
Strength:

Powerful, tight, solid cabinet, great looking.

Weakness:

None

Before purchasing a new sub, went to various stores to listen to them, JblPb12, also, Polk 303, 404, Infinity, when I heard the PV600 Boston, I was blown away by it, by far much better, built and sound quality than the others, does one heck of a job with my home theatre system. Vey glad I checked hem out before purchasing, wat a great buy, Retail was 449.00. Sale 299.00, I feel it was worth the retail price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeremy   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 29, 2002]
Strength:

Musicality, front facing knob, good controls.

Audio Setup: Yamaha RX-V530 Receiver Panasonic DVD-CP67 5-disc changer Bose 301 fronts KLH center and rears Boston PV600 subwoofer Monster Power Stage 2 Clean Power note: Bose 301s are old and will be reassigned to rear duty soon. I will buy a new front & center setup, possibly Boston VR series. Room Diagnostics: 12ft x 18ft 9ft ceilings fully carpeted Movies vs Music: My opinion is that any decent subwoofer will handle movies. I like to hear it rumble once or twice (just to be sure), and then move on to the real test...musicality. For variety and comparative purposes, I tested the following on all of the finalists (listed under "similar products" below): Gladiator scenes 2, 12, 13 Matrix scenes 15, 29, 31 Incubus - Morning View - Just a Phase Dave Matthews Band - Under the Table - Ant's Marching - Crash - Lie in Our Graves - Busted Stuff - Gray Street John Mayer - Room for Squares - No Such Thing, Why Georgia Gabe Dixon Band - On a Rolling Ball – Everything’s OK, Last Fool Prokofiev - Violin Concerto #1 Movements 1 & 2 Aaron Copland - various excerpts from Appalachian Spring That about sums up all of the "need to know before you read" stuff. Using this information, and the review below, you should be able to compare my thoughts to your own. I have now had the Boston PV600 several weeks, well enough time to break it in and get used to the change. From my initial audition, this sub awed me with its clean, tight, and deep natural characteristics. Oddly enough, it was the last sub I auditioned, and had placed the Def Tech ProSub at the top of my list. After thoroughly re-auditioning both the Def Tech and Boston once again, it was immediately apparent that the Boston was far superior in musicality to its rival. I must state that I do not like loud bass. I like a complete sound, and in order to get that, one needs a subwoofer. There are more expensive, more musical subs out there. If you want to pay well over $1000, I suggest you buy one of those. If your price range is in the $400-500, there are no subs I’ve heard that come close to the Boston. I found no major “power” difference between the subs, all seem to handle small to mid-size room applications easily. In my room (see dimensions above) I keep the sub’s volume level approximately at 0.8 (of 10) for most music and 1.3 (of 10) for movies. This is plenty

Similar Products Used: Auditioned these "finalists" with Boston VR sereies fronts, center, & rears on Yamaha Receiver: Paradigm - PDR-10 - $350 - boomy and stuffy. Not very musical. fine for movies. Easier to pick out lo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sean C   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 26, 2002]
Strength:

BASS

Weakness:

none

Recently had my home theater installed and had a hard time deciding which sub to purchase until I heard the PV600. Excellent, tight bass. Scene 2 on Gladiator is now unforgettable. A must buy! Denon 3802 3 Speakercraft Aim 3s (front channels) 3 Speakercraft 8.2s (rear channels) Boston PV600

Similar Products Used: Klipsch, Sunfire
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mjk99   AudioPhile [Jun 18, 2002]
Strength:

tight, accurate, and responsive. Just the right amount of rumble, Never flabby and loose, best performer...by far in its price range!

Weakness:

If you are looking for thumping earth shattering rumble...look elswhere.

After a full year of research for a quality subwoofer under $500.00, I have declared a winner....the Boston Acoustics PV 600. I do appreciate all of the reviews on this site. They have helped me broaden my search as well as narrow it. Let me begin by saying I have always been partial to 10" subs as I enjoy tight and accurate low end. The BA PV 600 performs well in both HT and audio situations. I did demo my share of subs from Klipsch (not a big fan), Polk, Paradigm, B&W, M&K and HSU. I must say a couple of these companies (M&K mainly) had subs that did out perform the PV 600, but not by a large enough margin to justify the price difference. My listening room is 17 X 22, but in an apartment (therin lies my limitation). I am a self proclaimed "audiophile" on a budget, and this sub could not be beaten in the $500.00 and under range. Amazing accuracy and response with DVD and CD. With some moderate adjustments this sub performs well with DPL II, and DTS neo 6 as well (even with analog signals). I have pushed this sub to its absolute limits and it holds strong even through the most bass taxing scenes or music sections. If you are a bass head and enjoy bass that rumbles and is a little loose, this sub is not for you. If I ever get out of this apartment I plan on pairing my PV 600 with another PV 600. (Maybe I could do that if I quit buying audio equipment). In conclusion, if you are looking for an accurate, well designed, attractive sub and you are on a budget around 400.00 to 500.00 dollars, you can not go wrong with this sub. Kudos to the Boston engineers for a great sub. Here is my system...remember I am a self proclaimed audiophile on a budget. Receiver - Denon 3802 DVD - Sony DVP-NS 700p Center - Polk CS 400i Fronts - Polk RT 55i Surrounds - Polk RT 35i Subwoofer - Boston Acoustics PV 600 Cables - All Monster speaker and interconnects (Upper middle models)as well as Monster line conditioner TV - Sony 27" analog...(the next to be replaced... if anyone has any suggestions on a HD ready 53" or above TV please email me I would appreciate some opinions @ getmyselfajobbyjob@yahoo.com)

Similar Products Used: M&K, B&W, Paradigm, Polk, HSU, Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
filter   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 01, 2002]
Strength:

Great value for the money. As other reviewers have pointed out, the sound output is extremely clean, yet it will shake your innards. Volume control. A top-side finish that can double as a coffe table, drink holder, or at least some halfway usable surface.

Weakness:

Get earplugs for your pets and buy reinforced windows. (Seriously, be kind to your animals. We have a cat who''s seems to be VERY unnerved by the excellent bass reproduction, even at low volumes)

Tight. Nondirectional. Powerful.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 45  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com