AudioSource SW-12 Subwoofers

SW-12

12 inch vented subwoofer

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Tristan   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 03, 2003]
Strength:

RCA or speaker-wire hole. sounds great. price: $120 shipped. Come on!!! works fine, again sound great.

Weakness:

down firing, no insulation

Hi, I must agree with most reviewers, especially Bill who bought his for $116. However, I was a little disappointed when I first got it. I call audiosource and they say to play with the frequency. Well now it sounds boomy unlike the muddy of before. I just read about the insulation for the inside of the cabinet. I am happy without the insulation and will be happier with. I recommend this product. Velodyne (model?) sounds great but they cost $500+. This is the cost of my entire system (sort of speech). The SW-12 won't disappoint you. The sound coming out of this sub is not cheap at all.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ricky rodriguez   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2002]
Strength:

crossover and level knobs let you determine the power you need from humble to thunderous bass

Weakness:

the grill broke of the face

this sub is so powerful at 200 watts I have the crossover and level knob at the halfway point.the sound comes to life as its bass is totally distorted and has never malfunctioned.this sub is a bonus and is the heart of any reciever.

Similar Products Used: sony jbl
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ricky rodriguez   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 20, 2002]
Strength:

has 200watts nice crossoverhigh power main level,and phase switch

Weakness:

protective cover is to flimsy and falls apart

this sub is nothing less than perfect and might be the best on the market quality its lows are distorted and sends a loud pumping sound has a big bang for the buck you cant go wrong with this one.heres a sub with no defects what so ever the grill has gone bad from the first day I set it up besides that its next level exellency

Similar Products Used: sony,jbl,pinnicle
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bill   Casual Listener [Feb 06, 2001]
Strength:

Good loud bass, adjustable crossover, auto on sensing circuit, line level ins.

Weakness:

Poor acoustical insulation, particle board, cheap small plastic toes.

Let me just open by saying i am very satisfied with this sub, especially at the price i paid for it. I originally had the sony sub on order but it went out of stock and 800.com offered me this one at the same price so i decided to take it.
Well on to the sub, it amazes me that ausdiosource would spend good money on nice components (relatively speaking of course)and then stick a cotton ball inside for acoustical dampening. For what would amount to loose change in manufacturing costs audiosource could have added some nice insulation to this sub and tightened the bass up coniderably, also having the added effect of lowering the frequency response by a few Hz. Oh well if you buy this sub i would highly recommend also buying some acoustical insulation (approx 2 square meters) and double layering all the exposed cabinet walls (there are 5). This really does bring this sub into another performance level. Audiosource also used cheap platic toes to lift the sub of the ground and since the toes are only about an inch high they really don't lift the sub out of a thick carpet. Some metal spikes would have been nice here, but i quess i'll just have to buy and install some myself.
Most of this subs shortcomings can be solved with a little tlc. Proper placement, acoustical insulation, good support, and careful bass management and this sub becomes a contender. A contender with what im not exactly sure, certianly not velodyne or other 1000+ subs, but its my opinion that this sub (when properly tweaked) can compete with other 400-500 dollar subs.
I would give this sub a 4/5 out of the box, but after tweaking and considering the price i paid for it i have no choice but to give it a 5/5 rating.

Similar Products Used: ultimate sw1010
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dave   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 2001]
Weakness:

sad excuse for insulation. I put my own in like others have stated.

Well, my dual Cambridge subs weren't doing the job. I put up with them while thinking I needed to drop 800 on a nice sub. I lucked out and got a deal for 200 bucks off anything at Buy.com. I chose this SW-12. I installed the new isulation that I got from radio shack. Now I impress all the "bass fiends" that come in my room. It makes the room bounce. one word.......niiiiiiiice.

Similar Products Used: Cambridge Soundworks 8in subs.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris H.   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 03, 2001]
Strength:

everything

Weakness:

none yet

exellent sub all around. goes done to below 20hz and rattles everything in the house. good for movies and music. one of the best kept secrets since audiosource doesn't spend tons on advertising. highly recommended

Similar Products Used: tried sony, polk, infinity, acoustic labs??, and sound shop, before this one
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris H.   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 03, 2001]
Strength:

everything

Weakness:

none yet

exellent sub all around. goes done to below 20hz and rattles everything in the house. good for movies and music. one of the best kept secrets since audiosource doesn't spend tons on advertising. highly recommended

Similar Products Used: tried sony, polk, infinity, acoustic labs??, and sound shop, before this one
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ivan Drago   Audio Enthusiast [May 05, 2001]
Strength:

Great Sub for the price, really powerful(even without insulation) I love it!!!

Weakness:

no insulation at all

I bought around 7 subs and then returned them. many of them burned out especially the klh.
I read about the insulation so I bought it. It sounds even better than before.

Similar Products Used: polk audio, yamaha, klh, jbl, infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Monte Carlo   Audio Enthusiast [May 05, 2001]

I'm really sorry I meant $200

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason leonard   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 09, 2001]
Weakness:

NO insulation (it is ridiculous to look inside the speaker cabinet and see one 5"x10" piece of insulation.

This sub is absolutely amazing. Bottom line, you have to open it up and cover the walls with insulation (get it at home depot or radio shack) I put in one layer of styrofoam and then one layer of fiberglass insulation. After a few days the speaker broke in and now I keep less than half volume and it fills my 15x18x8 room. It literally hits you in the gut. The amount of bass for the money is SILLY. Do your self a favor stop reading and go find one on the world wide web. I shopped around and got a Hometheater system for less than a thousand bucks that absolutely ROCKS. People who have systems costing 3-4 times as much are amazed at what I paid for the system and this sub is the foundation of it all. For what it's worth i will list my system below and what I paid (and what you can get them for).

-Audisource sw 12 sub- 175.00 on ebay

-klipsch quintets two pair- 90.00 a pair on ebay

-Klipsch SCC1 center channel (the quintet center is too weak, and you have to match klipsch to klipsch)-156.00 on ebay

-Pioneer VSX D509S 5x100 watts reciever-COSTCO 199.99
-Pioneer 5 DVC503 5-DISC DVD/CD- COSTCO 219.00

Similar Products Used: Tried them all in the stores...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com