Acoustic Research S115PS Subwoofers

S115PS

Consists of a slot loaded down firing 15" subwoofer with a paper cone and a foam surround. Built in 200 watt power amp that allows either pre-amp hook-up or speaker level inputs.

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
cubemaster   AudioPhile [Dec 30, 2002]
Strength:

Great impact, very accurate and smooth. Goes very deep with little power.

Weakness:

NONE

I think this is the best subwoofer out there for the money. Goes very deep with tight bass. No room boom. I was able to dial it in with my main speakers within an hour of listening. No need to spend more $$$.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne, NHT, Energy...
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Techman   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 11, 2002]
Strength:

Huge woofer, pair of inputs and output. I heard the newer version of this sub only has a mono input, since mine had the right and left input I got a Y splitter to split the signal from my receivers single sub output, I know the sub operates in mono, but if I only use the left input on the sub I get diminished bass, I called AR's tech support and he acted as if I was talking in Klingon. Anyhow this sub is worth the money.

Weakness:

NONE

I got this sub to be an addition to the Sony sub that came with my home theater package. This thing just hammers the bass out, if you want loud thunderous bass at a modest price this is the one for you. I did have one problem though, the first one that Crutchfield sent me blew its own fuse the second day and continued to blow replacment fuses. I have to say Crutchfield has the best customer service, I called tech support and they sent me out a replacement without receiving the defective one first. The second one has been just fine. I guess its just my dumb luck to get one with a short.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
chrisdub   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 16, 2002]
Strength:

Great bass, great sub, great value, solid construction

Weakness:

not light at all

This is the best sub out their. The bass is by far the best I have ever come accros. I thought I payed a lot of money for it but when I hooked it up I was 100% percent satisfied. It will give you as much or as little bass as you want and has always given me what I ask for. I have used it at parties and it has decemated all. The bass is so pure, I will never think of it as a bad investment. But those guys at crutchfield, they need some help.

Similar Products Used: KLH
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe   [Aug 10, 2001]
Strength:

Price and quality. Sears had a closeout sale on the normally $400 S115PS for $250 plus another 10% discount for using my trusty Sears card. AR is a name I trust for quality, based on the excellent performance I continue to receive from my 32 year old AR2X main speakers.

Weakness:

Big and ugly like a Borg cube, heavy – 66 lbs. Where it is placed in the room makes a difference. You will needs lots of wire to experiment appropriately.

No clicks, pops, hums or noises – even when shifting to off or on auto (on) mode. Absolutely quiet when idle.

Many reviews of subs I had read said their subwoofer shakes the floor, knocks pictures off wall, whole house shakes, pounds their chest. Despite its power, the AR didn’t knock any pictures down or cause structural damage. Rather it is well integrated, in blends in very smoothly without being overpowering. Yes, I can feel the bass now, and at times it can be felt in the floor too.

The sub has provided a whole new dimension to the sound experience. It fills in the entire low end of the sound spectrum. It is like the entire low end now flows across the bottom half of my living room where before there was just a void. Note, all my other speakers are on top of bookcases or mounted near the ceiling - so I may have exacerbated this void.

My Receiver cannot take advantage of the Dolby Digital or DTS output of my DVD player (and my TV does not have these capabilities). Despite this, performance of the sub has been outstanding to this listener.

Similar Products Used: This is my first sub.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Carl   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 23, 2000]
Strength:

Rather stiff 15"cone on the subwoofer and a 200 watt RMS amplifier. $400 shipped ain't bad either.

Weakness:

The auto/on feature sometimes switches the sub on when I the reciever isn't on. Also, the Deep bass isn't as audible as with the velodyne. It seems to be more impact than anything.

For $400 I couldn't pass up a 15" sub with a 200 watt RMS amplifier. The bass that I get out of this thing is pretty amazing. The deep bass extension moves the floor, and believe it or not the huge woofer cone doesn't break up at higher sound levels. This sub is excellent at reproducing movie effects or subtle bass notes on my favorate easy listening track. Also, the enclosure is rather easy to move around considering it is a 15" ported sub, which are usually huge! I Like the impact that this sub can give me and If you are looking for an inexopensive, but overachieving subwoofer for your home system or home theater system, look no further.

Similar Products Used: Bose acoustimass, and Velodyne CT-100
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Derek   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 29, 2000]
Strength:

plays loud with out distoriting, low price, 200 watts RMS

Weakness:

none yet

This is the first sub woffer I have ever owned, and I ordered it thinking it would be a cheap piece of crap, but it was all I could afford. When I hooked it up, I was amazed. I paired it with AR's PS318's and it sounded amazeing! At a moderate listenting level the pirtures were bouncing on the walls. When I cranked it up to see what it could do, the whole house shook. It didn't even distort at high levels, which I thought it would because of the paper woofer. This speaker gives good bang for the buck.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Ajay Viyulie   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 2000]
Strength:

It has Heavy Bass, Good for the price.

Weakness:

No spikes,The sound is not very clear. Too Big and Bulky, has a paper cone woofer

Overall Its not a bad deal compared to the price I paid. But If you are looking for deeper clearer Bass with the Thump....... This is not the right Sub for you. I guess real Sub-Woofers Cost minimum $500.

Similar Products Used: JBL PB10
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Paul   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 22, 2001]
Strength:

Great thump! Super sound for the money! Plays loud.

Weakness:

A bit boomy.

Great for home theater!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Joe   Casual Listener [Aug 10, 2001]
Strength:

Economics and quality. Sears had a closeout sale on the normally $400 S115PS for $250 plus another 10% discount for using my trusty Sears card. AR is a name I trust for quality, based on the excellent performance I continue to receive from my 32 year old AR2X main speakers.

Weakness:

Big and ugly like a Borg cube, heavy – 66 lbs. Where it is placed in the room makes a difference. You will needs lots of wire to experiment appropriately.

Hook Up:

My receiver has no subwoofer port, so I had to use the line connects requiring extra wiring. However, with Sony’s and AR’s blessing, I connected the subwoofer to the “B” speaker terminals on my receiver (and my mains remained on the “A” terminals). This way I could switch the subwoofer in or out with my speaker selection switch. Great for making comparison listening!

Sound Experience:

No clicks, pops, hums or noises – even when shifting to off or on auto (on) mode. Absolutely quiet when idle.

Many reviews of subs I had read said their subwoofer shakes the floor, knocks pictures off wall, whole house shakes, pounds their chest. Despite its power, the AR didn’t knock any pictures down or cause structural damage. Rather it is well integrated, in blends in very smoothly without being overpowering. Yes, I can feel the bass now, and at times it can be felt in the floor too.

The sub has provided a whole new dimension to the sound experience. It fills in the entire low end of the sound spectrum. It is like the entire low end now flows across the bottom half of my living room where before there was just a void. Note, all my other speakers are on top of bookcases or mounted near the ceiling - so I may have exacerbated this void.

My Receiver cannot take advantage of the Dolby Digital or DTS output of my DVD player (and my TV does not have these capabilities). Despite this, performance of the sub has been outstanding to this listener.

Samplings:

Playing the Moody Blues concert CD was like being there. We have attended Moody Blue concerts so we know how they sound live and it was that realistic with the subwoofer.

Not all movies take advantage of the subwoofer capabilities (such as Traffic, The Sixth Sense). But U571, and Event Horizon will now make you jump off the couch. In Gladiator - it’s like being there in the battle scenes and the coliseum events. Even VHS tapes like StarTrek First Contact bring in a whole new sound experience.

Similar Products Used: None - this is my first sub.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 16, 2000]
Strength:

Will shake your floor. Very well built.

Weakness:

Boommie. No spikes. No pre-out.

I purchased this to replace my LFE sub. It works perfectly well. But I would not recommend it for music listening only. It's not accurate and it's boommie.

About the price. It has a cosmetic damage. There are a couple of tiny red paint drops on one corner. So, I used a black marker to cover the red paint. This is probably refurbished considering the price, but the salesman swears it's not. The salesman said that the price was reduced because of the cosmetic damage. So far I haven't had any problem. So, maybe it's not refurbished or they did a good job refurbishing it.

Setup and testing. My front left and right channels are connected to my Velodyne sub, with a 10" driver. My rear left and right are connected to my Definitive Technology sub, with a 12" driver, and this sub used to be my LFE sub. I replaced my Velodyne with the S115PS and listened to various music and movies. When it comes to music, the S115PS is boommie; the velodyne was accurate and precise. But when it comes to movies, the S115PS overruled the Velodyne. I guess it's the size of the driver.

Compared to the Def Tech as a LFE sub, the Def Tech is not as boommie. But I prefer the S115PS because I can feel the floor more than I can with the Def Tech even though the Def Tech is rated down to 18hz and the S115PS is only rated to 30hz. Again, I guess it's the size of the driver.

Similar Products Used: Velodyne CT100 and Dedinitive Technology PF12
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com