Acoustic Research S108PS Subwoofers

S108PS

120-watt amplifier frequency response 30-150 Hz (±3dB) slot-loaded, tuned-port enclosure continuously variable 50-150 Hz crossover

User Reviews (56)

Showing 1-10 of 56  
A Little Help   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 23, 2013]

I just opened the fuse carrier for my '98 AR 108SP and looked at the fuse and T4AL250V is etched in the metal of the fuse. Hope that helps.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Phil   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 26, 2013]

I have a AR 108PS sub, I got it from a friend, however it needs a fuse and there is not one in it right now. I did an extensive internet search and cannot find what fuse belongs in the amp. If someone could please tell me so I may get this working. Thanks!!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Barbara   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 27, 2010]

Great sound. Very full bass with no distortion. Definitely worth the money.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
eastcoaster   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 07, 2010]

been looking around to replace my old system for a couple of years and now i finally found it.i'm fairly new to the surround sound era of today but teamed up with the right speakers this little sub packs all the extra punch i'm looking for and with a little bit more fine tuning i'm sure i'll get it working to it's full potential.it's well worth the100 bucks i paid for it at busters.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ChipT   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 14, 2005]
Strength:

Great, GREAT sound for such a cmall sub - well-constructed.

Weakness:

None.

I've used this sub for quite awhile now, and I finally have to say somethign about it. This sub is just flat-out AWESOME. I had a fellow enthusiast come over once when I was watching Star Wars: Episode I - during the main light saber battle - he asked, "What sub are you using?" I showed him my little 8" AR sub, and he said - "It sounds just like my Sunfire sub." Now, I would never try to compare the two, but at 10% of the cost of a Sunfire - how can you go wrong with this great little sub?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jt_kelley   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 05, 2004]
Strength:

Only $100 + Ship! Great sounding bass for movies. Plenty loud for small and mid sized rooms.

Weakness:

Can distort in some very demanding scenes. But I have only found 2 of these scenes after watching many movies.

I am very pleased with this product. I am using it in a home theatre environment. I have it hooked up to a Onkyo TX-SR501 AV reciever using the digital out from the DVD player. It really does pump out some good bass. Plenty loud for a small to mid sized home theatre. Pretty clean and tight. On most movies, I have absolutely no compliants ... it sounds great. I have found 2 scenes in 2 movies where it has distorted. In Star Wars - episode 2. the sonic charges in the meteor field chase scene. and the whale scene in Finding Nemo just before marlin gets "Spit" out. (Surpisingly enough Finding Nemo is a pretty bass intensive movie). Those are the only scenes out of many movies that I have watched, where I felt like this sub didn't quite deliver. I have watched both X-Men,Terminator 3,DareDevil,Star Trek Insurrection,Tomb Raider 2,Spiderman,The Transporter, Itailian Job, and many other action movies and kids movies like Sinbad,Toy Story,Monsters Inc. It has sounded Absolutely GREAT except for the 2 scenes metioned above. Granted the only other subwoofer I have used was a KLH 10 incher. It was NOT great to say the least. It was OK on my old cheap AV reciever but when I got the Onkyo it's flaws where manifest greatly. I would love to try a very high-end sub some day and see how it compares with this $100 Unit. I'm sure that if you want to spend some big bucks you can get a sub that will sound better and won't ever distort. But if you just want to spend a $100 or even $300 I don't think you will find much better than this unit. Make sure you shop around because I have seen the price on this unit vary greatly. Use nextag and pricegrabber, etc ... Another Interesting fact is that Acoustic Reasearch was recently acquired by Audiovox through a Bankruptcy Auction. The German firm Recoton that owned AR, Jensen, and Advent among others was in Chapter 11 and the Audio part of the company was bought by Audiovox. Audiovox says it is keeping AR's Florida research Facility and engineers. You will notice that you can't yet get to The web sites for any of the Brands that they bought. And who knows what products will be dropped. So if want one of these you may want act quickly. Who knows?

Similar Products Used: KLH 10 inch down firing (not recommended)
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
stereosrmything   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 08, 2003]
Strength:

This subwoofer can hit very low notes without any problems.

Weakness:

I can't pick out any weaknesses.

This sub is one of the best subs for the price I paid. It can hit all of the lows as easily as polk subs. I only have an 8 inch, but it is still possible to shake my room with enough bass, also without distorting. It has been very well. I am now selling it for $100.00 it is in mint condition call 1 (920)261-2826 if you are interested in the S108PS.

Similar Products Used: Infinity, KLH a very bad company I don't suggest buying from them.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
James   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 27, 2003]
Strength:

Best bang for the buck

Weakness:

none for the money

Just wanted to add my 2 cents. This sub is the best bang for the buck. It sure does the job. I'd recommend it unless you have an especially large room.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BeFree   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 22, 2003]
Strength:

Small size makes then easy to conceal

Weakness:

Not good for large rooms

These are awesome little subs. I bought my first one to replace a Yamaha 150 watt sub, and the AR S108PS was superior, i.e., less boomy. Then a few weeks later I bought another one. They are placed at both ends of the couch, so my wife and I have our own personal subs. When a bomb goes off in a movie, the whole couch shakes! It makes us feel apart of the action. Our room is 13' by 20'. We love them.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ihopho   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 03, 2003]
Strength:

Its size. The size of this sub allows it to be placed in well hidden places, giving your listening area a clean look. Although hidden, the bass filters through the room with ease and clean respond. I found that a crossover setting at 50hz is the best setting. My other speakers can handle the upper frequencies with ease, creating a harmonious enviroment.

Weakness:

Can bottom out if the subwoofer setting is set to high form the receiver and on the volume at the same time. Take time and set up the sub and receiver together to get the best volume balance and response possible. This should be done with any subwoofer, not only this one. Try settting it up with the THX thunder storm opening sequence. This sequence I found is good to setup the surround settings and especially the sub. During this when the thunder claps, if the sub bottoms out just simply adjust till it sounds smooth and your movies will be flawless. Another would be the THX subwoofer crossover track on most THX disc. To get this go to the THX Optimizer on THX Movies in the setup menu and got to track 8. It has a test frequency from 200hz down to 20hz. Great form bass setup.

This little sub does it. I was looking for an affordable sub to complete my 6.1 THX system and in my research for subwoofers I found this little sub. Not only is this sub clean in it's bass but how potent it does it's job.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 56  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com