Yamaha NSAW1 Outdoor Speakers

NSAW1

Yamaha Outdoor Speakers- NSAW1BK/ 120 Watts/ Two Way All Weather Speakers/ Five Inch Midrange-Woofer/ Black Finish/ Price Per Pair

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Deek   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 08, 2006]
Strength:

Obviosly price,Fair high end freq.Great mounts .So far have withstood the elements with no loses(cover when not in use) .

Weakness:

Inadequate low freq.The addition of a sub is a MUST.

Good value speakers,Pretty much what i expected for outdoor rates.However, as others have mentioned ,alot of distortion when pushed and inappreciable lows. I started with a pair then added another. These speakers increase in performance 5X with a quad set vs. a pair. Add a sub and now youve got an outdoor system worthy of acclaim. Realistically : good speakers for value with fair performance.

Similar Products Used: JBL.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
fred faust   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 24, 2003]
Strength:

Larger bass speaker, nice mounting brackets. they sound great

Weakness:

none yet

Best outside speaker I could find. For the money they are a much better deal than Bose for allmost twice the bucks.

Similar Products Used: bose 101 & bose 151 & JBL outdoor (that just suck)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dpthe2   Casual Listener [Jun 19, 2003]
Strength:

I am very pleased with the sound, considering the small cabinet. The woofer size in these speakers was a bit larger than others in the store that were more expensive. I also chose them because they were available in black, matching the railings around our deck.

Weakness:

I'd like to hear a little more bass. I might add an outdoor subwoofer under the deck later.

I mounted these, using the included brackets, on brick columns supporting my outside deck. I used a wood shim under each bracket to tilt them down a few degrees so rainwater runs off. The swivel brackets allow us to rotate the speakers toward the back yard for lawn parties or toward the house for listening on our deck.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
David   Casual Listener [Jul 11, 2002]
Strength:

Good Bass goog highs tehy are perfect

Weakness:

None

More than I expected. They sound great on my patio. The best $89 I spent in a long time.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [May 20, 2002]
Strength:

Good range; clear reproduction; strong bass response

Weakness:

bass is lacking but still impressive

I must admit I was a little skeptical of these after reading the reviews on line. The problem is there just ain''t a whole lotta choices for outdoor speakers period. So I reluctantly purchased these bad boys thinking I would be returning them when they sounded too tinny. I was actually quite impressed with their range and clarity. In the cluttered outdoor environment they sound excellent. Hiss is non-existant and the bass is projected well enough that my neighbors will be calling the police on me for years to come.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
digwiz   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 23, 2002]
Strength:

No problem hearing surround effects even with low volume.

Weakness:

Not made to be surround sound speakers. Lack of low end is noticed at times.

I use these speakers in a Home Theater application as surrounds. Although I plan to upgrade, I am in no hurry. For the money, these speakers can really hold their own in a mid-end home theater. No problems hearing the bullets fly by in the Matrix or any other surround effect. System: Yamaha RX-V596 reciver Energy Exl-26 mains Energy Exl-C Center JBL pB12 sub Yamaha surrounds

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Andy   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 22, 2000]
Strength:

Nice mounting brackets....tonal balance with other Yamaha products...build quality

I tried to use Infinity bookshelf speakers as my surrounds but it didn't sound quite right. I am using all Yamaha speakers and when I added these as my surrounds, the action livened up immediatley. Effects sound clean and aligned properly. Overall for $115 you can not go wrong.

Yamaha HTR5150 receiver
Yamaha NS-AW1 surrounds
Yamaha NS-A1638 main
Yamaha NS-A143 center
Definitive Technologies 200TL subwoofer

Similar Products Used: Infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 11, 2001]
Strength:

Titanium Tweeter, clear sound

Weakness:

Midrange lacking just a little

I got a good deal on these from etronics.com for just 98 bucks. I just wanted a decent outdoor speaker for my deck. The titanium tweeter is a good choice for an outdoor speaker as they are typically "brighter" than conventional tweeters. Also as a result the high end is very detailed and maybe thats part of what makes the midrange seem to be a little laid back. The speakers naturally don't give room rattling bass but the bass remains controlled and clear from what I've heard of them. All in all I am pleasantly surprised by the performance of these little speakers.

Similar Products Used: bose, mbquart
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Elke Arnold   Casual Listener [Dec 27, 2001]
Strength:

Size, Sound, can leave them outside

Weakness:

none so far

Bought these speakers as rear speakers for my living room and I really like the sound. I wired them so I can also easily put them outside on the deck.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
John   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 09, 2001]
Strength:

Comes with Brackets

Weakness:

Many

Bought these speakers a few months ago and returned them in a week. I bought these for the purpose of surround speaks in my Yamaha fronts(Ns-2836 towers and Ns-143 center). Having already been through the polk R-10s which sounded tonaly indifferent with the yamahas, I went and bought the only surrounds I could find by yamaha. Another mistake. These speakers lack midrange and sound like an echo is built into the crossover. Also distorts heavily when pushed. If your're looking for a decent pair of surrounds to match yamahas, do yourself a favor and go on over to Fry's and by the Pinnacle AC-400's. They're tha BOMB. For thirty bucks less, you get a much more quality speaker that sounds correct and blends well with the yamahas.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com