Polk Audio RM7200 Home Theater Speaker Systems

RM7200

High gloss black laminate finish Satellites and center are a mere 4" (10.2cm) deep Sleek, rounded design minimizes cabinet-edge diffraction for more open, spacious sound Built-in wall mount system Patented Power Port venting technology reduces air turbulence at the mouth of the port, resulting in demonstrably lower distortion and improved lower midrange frequency extension Magnetically shielded for safe placement next to your TV without picture interference Anti-diffraction driver bezel minimizes grille diffraction for open, spacious and three-dimensional imaging Cascade tapered array on the center channel avoids the common comb filter and "beaming effect" problems of side-by-side center speakers. Everyone in the room hears the same clear, natural dialog and center channel effects

User Reviews (7)

Showing 1-7 of 7  
alvin22   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2007]
Strength:

Good clean sound and easy to mount.

Weakness:

Need midrange.

These speaker are okay but not great as I would like. Good sound and looks but missing other instruments when listening to music. Need midrange and more bass. Movies are better for this speaker sytem then muisc. I tried the bose accust 10 but they sound like crap.

Similar Products Used: Bose accust 10
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
BigDaddy   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 2006]
Strength:

Incredible high's and lows. Excellent quality

Weakness:

None that I can think of.

This speaker system is head and shoulders above Bose. I was going to pay 1299.00 for them and happily found out they were on sale. I'm using an Onkyo TX-SR701 receiver that delivers 100 watts per channel. Speakers are capable of 125. People have spent 2 to 3 times on speaker systems and are blown away by my Polks. I've read in some reveiws that the sound was not that good. If you use the right cables(i.e. optical, compnent, heavier gauge speaker wire) and drive these speakers with the proper wattage, you should not have any complaints.

Similar Products Used: Bose system 15 which was overrated and overpriced at 1599.00
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Ernie   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 08, 2003]
Strength:

Good Sounding(sometimes)

Weakness:

-Needs More Base -Speakers Not Good At Lows

This System Isnt All That Great Its Pretty Good For Music But For Movies I Think Bose Is Better.This System Sounds Pretty Good SomeTimes And Ok At Others. anyways I wish it had a Little More Base. I have the polk rm 7200 set

Similar Products Used: Bose Polk
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
kyipper   Audio Enthusiast [May 09, 2003]
Strength:

Excellent satellites. Very attractive, easy to wall-mount. Good sub: plenty of connection options, good sound with good placement.

Weakness:

Center? Not really sure if this is a weakness or not. Need more time to evaluate.

I'm using the rm7200 system as part of a 7.1 setup. I have a pair of RTi38's on stands as my fronts. The four 7200 satellites are wall-mounted (on brackets) as side and back surrounds. The center is on top of the TV, and the sub is against the front wall. The satellites sound very nice. They can play surprisingly loud, but are nice and clear. They do not play low frequencies well, but that's what the better fronts and the sub are for. I had to work a lot to find a good place for the sub (my room's ceiling is vaulted from left to right, and sub placement made a considerable difference in sound). It's a fairly musical sub, I think --- for instance, the Cowboy Junkies' "Trinity Sessions", which contains lots of bass, sounds clean and crisp. Movies have plenty of thump and bang; the sofa gives a satisfying vibration with explosions. In the corner or in the low side of the room, the sub sounded pretty bad --- all boom, not much else. Placement seems to matter a lot. I'm least sure about the center speaker. Dialogue often sounds fine, but occasionally seems thin or shrill. Not sure if this is simply a source issue, or if a better center would improve the sound. I may eventually audition another center.

Similar Products Used: Old DCM Timeframe towers. Polk RTi38 bookshelfs. Auditioned various models in-store.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
John Shumpert   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 18, 2003]
Strength:

Appearance, wonderful mid's and highs. Great instructions.

Weakness:

Subwoofer is inconsistent. It sounds awesome on some recordings and marginal on others, but it's still better than BOSE.

I purchased the RM7200 for its great sound quality. These satellites rock! They deliver very clear natural sound. The set looks great also. The sub shakes the house, but sometimes I found myself wishing I had more bass. Of course, it could be the recording or just my personal preference. They're worth the cash, but I'd shop around for the best buy. Overall I thought they were awesome. Hint: if you buy these, follow the connection process recommended by the Polk manual.

Similar Products Used: Bose
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Greg   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 18, 2002]
Strength:

great sound, strong sub, good instruction manual, good price

Weakness:

swivel mount brackets would have been nice. at least the flat ones were integrated and not an additional accessory

Very good set of speakers for the price. glad i didn't pay $1400 though. very clear and crisp. lifelike sound in home theatre. the psw-550 shakes the house. east to hook up and mount.

Similar Products Used: Infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
d972   Casual Listener [Jun 28, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent for music and home audio. PSW550 is much more powerful than I expected and has replaced my Mirage. Appearance is also excellent. Wife likes them - which is always a plus.

Weakness:

Mounting plate on the satellites is not really set up for attaching a stable swivel mount. A little pricey when compared to the 6600 series which has basically the same satellite mid and tweeters but with a different enclosure. I did like the sound better on the 7200 vs the 6600

Bought the RM7200 with the PSW550 about a month ago and have enjoyed. Price at CC was about $1400. Excellent music and home audio. Issues: Mounting is a little tricky with the backplate. Mounting brackets would have made this first rate and should have been included for this price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-7 of 7  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com