Polk Audio RM6600 Home Theater Speaker Systems

RM6600

5.1 sattelite/subwoofer system

User Reviews (89)

Showing 1-10 of 89  
fasted64   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2003]
Strength:

High power handling. My 2 year old accidently tested them by turning the stereo up full volume and they kept on playing.

Weakness:

Poor speaker brackets included

These are great speakers. They sound great for their small size. 10 times better than the Bose.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Trance   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 17, 2003]
Strength:

Sound, and yes they can Play loud

Weakness:

None

Sounds Great !! Cant immagine speakers this size sounding better. Very clean, warm , smooth and loud . Paired with a good Sub like POLK PSW-350 you wont need anything else. For the size and price these are the best.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch , Polk, JBL, Bose
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jimmy   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 07, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound all the way around (DVD, CD, and satellite feed). It makes you glad you spent decent money on the speakers. The white color blends perfectly with my home decor. Solid, heavy construction that is hard to rattle even at challenging sound levels.

Weakness:

I have yet to discover a downside to this set.

I have owned the RM6600 series satellite speakers since July of '02. They are paired with Polk's PSW350 sub in my HomeTheater package. The sound is rich, full and satisfying. I have taken people to the Circuit City speaker room, and had the salespeople switch off from the various speaker systems (Bose and others), and every single one chose the POlk RM6600's as their fave. I have had many friends in my home for "test-drives" and three so far have gone out and purchased their own! Watching/listening to a DVD in DTS is inspiring with these babies, and Diana Krall sounds terrific in her "Live from Paris" DVD.

Similar Products Used: Bose (interaudio and accoustimas), CV, and Klipsch.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
hoffmannstam   AudioPhile [Jan 03, 2003]
Strength:

With a good A/V Receiver (100 to 120 wpc) THX and DTS formats will blow you away using these gems. I fortunately got mine in white. They are mounted from the ceiling - out of sight out of mind, until that is you crank up "Attack of the Clones" in THX, or "Gladdiator" in DTS ES, or "5th Element" in Superbit DTS!!! EXCEPTIONAL Build Quality!

Weakness:

Can be a little bit sensitive to higher frequencies at high volumes. Some may complain about a loss in the mid-range frequency, but it's all in the set-up. I still can't believe they're Polks!!! ;-)

This is a follow up review from my March 18, 2002 commentary. I'm still 100% satisfied!!! No regrets and no looking back. I frequent the big retailers - you know; CC, Best Buy, HH Gregg, etc., often just to satisfy in my own mind that this was the right purchase (even after 10 months!!!) These are by far still the best $$$ to sound value on the market. If you want big theater sound for under $1,000 this set-up is for you. Additionally, if you have the option of stepping up in the sub-woofer category the PSW650 is definitely the way to go. The 2 10" drivers give you the tight solid punch without the slop. This makes it even more appealling when you switch from Home Theater to conventional Home Audio. While you may not be happy with these speakers playing heavy metal or rock music, they do tend to give a satisfying warm response to smooth jazz, vocals, and easy listening. Although they are not my old KEF 104/2's they have become a great versatile around system.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cap893536   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 02, 2003]
Strength:

Very small satellite and center channel speakers. Appear to be solidly built.

Weakness:

Tweeter - even bought another receiver thinking that was the problem but it did not correct the problem. Fatigueing after extended listening. The Bose AM-6 was less fatigueing.

I purchased these are Circuit City but returned them after almost 4 weeks. The main problem with these speakers is the tweeter. I was using a Yamaha receiver and I thought that was the problem so I purchased a Onkyo TX-SR600 - supposedly a very smooth sounding forgiving receiver but it did not relieve the tweeter problem. Annoying and fatigueing after extended listening. I just couldn't live with them. I was using a Infinity Entra Sub with them - very musical sub. Lots of people love this package but ultimately I couldn't live with it for an extended period of time.

Similar Products Used: Polk RM-25, Bose AM-6, Mission M71, NHT SB-1.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Bb2nite   Casual Listener [Jan 02, 2003]

I have an opportunity to purchas a set of 6600 speakers....minus the subwoofer... for $339 from Circuit City. This is an out-of-box deal, attractive to me only because I already have a 500-watt subwoofer. Comments???

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
fixdim   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 29, 2002]
Strength:

Power and sound quality is excellent. The finish, black gloss & black stained maple are very rich looking.

Weakness:

none

very pleased with the system. the personal service was first class at www.acousticsounddesign.com. I would strongly recommend this product.

Similar Products Used: Solid Rock
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tony Campagna   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 19, 2002]
Strength:

Compact size. Well built.

This was by far the best system for the money. However, I did buy a Velodyne CHT 10 sub. Much better fit with the Polks.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
M B Jones   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 12, 2002]
Strength:

Built like a tank Small and stylish Fantastic sound

Weakness:

None that I can think of

Finally made the plunge into home theater last year, replacing my ancient Technics system that I got when I turned 16 (that's over 12 years ago). Basically knowing nothing about receivers, speakers, etc. I went to CC one day to see if an acquaintance who worked there might give me a deal (didn't happen, but that's another story). Anyway, I ended up leaving with the Polk RM-6600 with PSW-350 and on Onkyo 494 receiver. I have very little point of reference, but I can say without hesitation that these speakers sound incredible. Probably 80% of the time they are just used to watch network TV, which sounds fine. But when I pop in a DVD or crank up some KMFDM, these speakers shine. Very good range across the board and clear sound. I followed the Polk setup manual by which you hook up the front sats through the subwoofer. I haven't tried it any other way, but I can say that the speakers blend together very well. I have the sub volume turned up to about 2 o'clock position and I can't imagine ever needing more bass.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Dan Perryman   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 06, 2002]
Strength:

Sound, clarity, surround

Weakness:

None

The Polk RM6600 are great. I purchased after reading reviews and the sound and clarity are awesome. Amazing sound of such little speakers. The PSW350 can rattle the room.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 89  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com