Orb Audio Mod1 Home Theater Speaker Systems

Mod1

You may choose between Metallic Black Gloss or Pearl White Gloss, and Hand Polished Steel is available as a $100 option. The system will let you save space without sacrificing the rich, full sound quality you expect from a high performance speaker system. If you didn't think a satellite/subwoofer system could outperform big box speakers, think again. Our web direct business model allows us to use the highest quality components in our acoustically matched Mod1 satellites and subwoofers, and the results speak for themselves. This speaker system can outperform most of those famous systems that sell for $1500 or more, and you can even upgrade any or all of the Mod1 satellites to Mod2 satellites to customize your system as your needs or budget change over time. The system may also be easily upgraded for six or seven channels to match your 6.1 or 7.1 channel receiver.

User Reviews (15)

Showing 1-10 of 15  
Pete B   Audio Enthusiast [May 11, 2016]

When I first purchased these speakers,i had them on a dinning server table about a foot from the back wall...they sounded real nice..I have been changing my components in and out while I decided to shelf mount the Model 1s leaving them against the wall....Not impressed..just muddy music..It was when I recently bought a pair of Gallo stands cheap on EBAY and mounting the MOD1s,2 ft from rear wall,2ft from side walls....in a 12 x 16(perfect size room),one open side wall.....Using a fine Miller and Kreisel 12" sub......LIKE NIGHT TO DAY!!...Full ,clean detailed sound with a satisfying smooth sound quality....with rock ,jazz and vocals....Extremely Happy.....I would recommend for critical listening,USE THE STANDS!!........Oh and right now I'm only using my home theater receiver.not my good components which I'm now excited to hook up !

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Gman67   AudioPhile [Oct 14, 2010]

I bought my Mod1 speakers a year and a half ago. My son blew the Center channel after I had my system only a couple of months...really made me mad! But after a $40 replacement I was back in business. The sound is awesome. I have the white speakers & have them hanging from the ceiling. My setup includes a Yamaha RXV 665 used as a processor, a Carver 501 5-ch amp, & my sub is a Acoustic Research ARS300. After some tweaking the Orbs and the sub blend perfectly. I enjoy the sound from these small giant killers. Recently we watched Iron Man 2 on Blu Ray and man what a sound stage! I also listen to music, a little R&B and even Rap sounded pretty good. I'm still debating on adding an additional speaker to the center channel. Right now it sounds great. I would recommend these speakers. Make sure you have a quality receiver and or amp.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
dolankj   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 22, 2010]

Best biggest sound on the market per dollar. I have a 7.1 setup with an Onkyo TX NR807. The first time anyone hears it they ask about the speakers. The sound it truly amazing. More over the company iis run by real people. My son blew two speakers out, the FL and FR by showing off to his friends over powering them. He cooked them - you could smell the burnt electronics. I emailed them to see what they could do to help. They sent me an RMA number and I sent the speakers back. In 48 hours I got an email from Todd Stanley saying yes both drivers are blown. These are three years old, my son cooked them and Orb says they'll fix them good as new for $40. I have been buying speakers and components for a lot of years. That's not what i expected. I thought they might give me a deal on new speakers if i was lucky and I'd only be out $200+ to get back in business. These guys are great.
Great product - great company - real people. Check them out at http://www.orbaudio.com
Kevin Dolan

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BILLY   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 08, 2010]

I bought the orb from someone local who was selling it cheap thinking i would try it over Anthony Gallo Acoustics simillar looking speaker mainly because of price. The money I saved was dissapointing to say the least. The speaker sounded muddy and no stereo imaging what so ever. Then I took them in to compare to the Gallo speakers in a local store to make sure iI wasnt deaf and we both came to the sound conclusion that its a poor copy. A cheap copy of the original micro from Gallo. Dont waste your money but rather buy from a speaker designer who originally designes hi end speakers. Anyone can put a speaker in a ball but it takes a real designer to make a speaker sound great. Dont waste your money like I did. What you pay for is what you get even today.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Moe   Casual Listener [Mar 21, 2010]

I bought the ORB speaker for first time. The quality is so poor that my 40 $ speaker is better than this expensive orb speaker. When I returned to ORB , they charged me for some fee. It is dissapointing experience.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
vkamath   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 22, 2009]
Strength:

They Sound Good though.

Weakness:

The grills started to rust within 2 months.what is the quality used ???????

I Imported the mod2 speakers in India, within 6 months the speakers started to rust on sending the company pictures of the speakers, they replied that i should ship the speakers back to them, and then pay for the replacements 2 be shipped back (sic). and another round of import duty too????? BE VERY CAREFUL THERE R LOTS OF BETTER ALTERNATIVES!!!!!!!

Customer Service

Poorest!!!!!!

Similar Products Used: kef,
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
drew   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2009]
Strength:

Sound quality is good

Weakness:

Company does not back their proclaimed product

Yea, so how about a little bit of bad news to go along with this review. I had discovered these little golden jewels a couple of years ago and am so glad that I did. I bought them solely on reviews at the time (against my wife's judgement) and, when they arrived at my house, was ever so impressed with their out of the box sound. Heck, I am still impressed after almost two years of owenership. (P.S the sound gets even better after about 40 hours of the break in period). Now for the bad news. Not even a year after I had bought the 5.1 set up with Mod 2's fronts and center, Mod 1's for rear and the Super 8, I had decided to unplug my subwoofer (Super 8; which the sound was awesome) and move it out of the way to make room for Christmas decorations. I simply picked the sub up, moved to another room, set it down and there it remained for about a month and a half. When I went to go set it up again....no sound. To top it off I was just out of my 1 year warranty (that's right they only warranty the amp on the sub for 1 YEAR; or simply that is the amount of time their amps will last with a lot of use). After making contact with their service department I was told I had to PAY to send it back so that they can look at it and charge me with any repairs that needed to be made. On top of that they said that it was the amp that was the problem and they have since upgraded the Super 8 and if I wanted to I could shell out another 190 dollars to have them replace the amp. Very long story short, be prepared for any of these speakers to go caplooey right/close to their warranty expiration and then expect to be try and be upsold when trying to get something justifyingly replaced. This company is not well known because they are probably all a bunch of thugs who could not operate in a corporate world because their product could not meet the standards we all deserve when it comes to shelling out lots of money for home enjoyment. I thought it would be good to spend some money on an American company for a change when it came to electronics. Unfortunately all I got was a bunch of flack from my wary wife and a speaker system that may or may not work tomorrow without any support from the company who makes them. Buyer definetly BEWARE!!!

Customer Service

Very poor despite what their website says

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
Jose Bordetas   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 15, 2007]
Strength:

The SOUND! The look, the luxurious texture and craftsmanship. They look like a work of art and the SOUND, did I mention the sound? Splurge for the HOSS stands and smile every time you walk into your room!

Weakness:

IMO - NONE. Well, perhaps the fact that I live in an apartment and can't crank them up the way I want to all the time.

What can I say about these speakers that has not already been said? Not an easy thing to do, but I will take a shot.

I came from a world where space was available and big boxy speakers where the norm. When I moved to NYC i found myself in cramped quarters and my big boxy (and beloved Infinity's) simply did not fit. My GF wanted for us to go the Bose route, but I simply could not stand the design or hollow sound. Enter the Orb's... I will admit that at first I had an issue with going for speakers that I could not hear or ever see live. I read review upon review, pitting them against everything I could find, especially the high end Bose system my GF was pushing for.

That I took the plunge (behind her back) was probably the most courageous and in turn best thing I have ever done. WE LOVE OUR SYSTEM!!! these speakers are incredible. The sound that emanates from them rivals my old towers, I could not believe that a single driver paired with a sub could provide the imaging that I get. Properly place and calibrated these speakers and my trusty Denon 2807 sound absolutely wonderful. Do they sound like my buddy's $4000 B&W setup, no... But man o man it is sooooo close!

I recently had a friend over and she was asking us where did all this sound come from as we were watching Days of Thunder on our 58" plasma. I pointed to my orbs, which BTW look sick on their HOSS stands ( I got four stands and they simply look like a work of art). She was blown away, so much in fact that after the movie, I showed her the web site and she bought the same system that night. She had the advantage of having been able to hear them live before buying. I went and setup her orbs when they came. We did a before and after comparison of Pink Floyd's Shine on your crazy Diamond and I was simply floored by the difference in sound while using the same Sony receiver. She is a happy camper no doubt!

As my speakers have broken in, we find ourselves listening to more music than ever before, the way these speakers handle themselves is something that has to be heard to be believed. The highs, mids and the bass, the bass is awesome. The Super 8 has to be one of the best subs I have ever heard!

I love these speakers so much that for Christmas, I am getting a Classic 2 set for my PC. Let's see how Bioshock sounds on those puppy's!

I recommend these speakers to anyone that cares to listen to me evangelize about their prowess with Music and HT. They are the best value on the market and the guys at Orb, love what they do. They answered all of my questions, all of my questions and trust me they were plentiful!

Go for it, trust me when I say that there is simply no way you will be returning them once you have set them up.

Customer Service

Best in class, give them a call and ask questions. You will see what I am talking about. Like I said these guys love what they do and stand by their product 1000%

Similar Products Used: Never had satellite speakers before , but have owened the following:

Infinity RS series
Paradigm
Bose 901

these speakers blow all of these away
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
EdwardGein   AudioPhile [May 31, 2006]
Strength:

Size, awesome incredible sound, look, great sub & satellites, price,

Weakness:

If you live in an apartment above the first floor, while the sub will sound great in an open living room (& I suggest put over a 3/4" heavy duty isolation pad, in a closed in bedroom, the sub is too powerful.

I love these speakers All I can say is they sound incredible whether you are playing DVDs, watching 5.1 TV or listening to CDs. If you live in a normal sound apartment like me, you don't need a Mod 2 system or even a Mod 2 center speaker , as the 5 Orb Mod 1 Speakers & Supereight Sub are incredibly powerful, sweet & clear & give plenty of depth. Orb has excellent customer service & I love the fact that speakers this small can deliver such a powerful sound as I hate the clutter of larger speakers,
I like this sytem so much, I bought a second set for my bedroom. One note though, while the Supereight Sub sounds great in an open area like my living room, in a closed in area like my bedroom with walls right behind it, if you live in an apartment that's not o the first florr, the sub is too loud & powerful & I had to get a less powerful sub for the bedroom. Anyway, the sound is awesome. I'd also connect this to a good receiver like a Denon to get the best sound. I had a JVC combo DVD player/receiver & while the sound was good, it didn't compare to the Denon.

Customer Service

Excellent

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
iKnow   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 24, 2005]
Strength:

Extended highs, superb mid range, detail, surprisingly good bass with good control. Good overall balance with seamless integration. Price Service

Weakness:

None at their price point or category

This review is for the Orb Mod 2/Super 8 system. I think I was one of the earliest test guina pigs for the Orb speaker system. I was initially impressed with the speakers but remained somewhat cautious because I had just made a number of changes to my system. This stupid move helped ensure that I would constantly be confused in evaluating the speakers. To make matters worse I had a few issues with the speakers which leads me to address Orb Audios service first. The guys at Orb not only took care of me with the best service I've ever had in the audio/video world, but they delivered the best customer service of any company I've ever dealt with period. They are the epitomy of customer service. Now let me address the speaker system itself. Having shopped the competition before trying the Orbs and having had a large kick butt system for a number of years I had a pretty good idea of what I expected from these speakers so that they would qualify for permanent residence at my home. Now that I've lived with them for a little over a year I feel like I can give an honest objective review now. They simply are the best sounding satellite/sub system on the market. They simply are the best value on the market. Are they lacking in the ultimate sense, yes, but not in their category and price point. I had an annoying edge or hardness for quite some time and I believe it was due to these OP amps I had replaced in my Denon DVD 2200 which I was told could take hundreds of hours to breakin. Well I don't know what happened but a few months ago it started to open up and smooth out and it now sounds better than my most optimistic expectation. My current components meet the minimum requirements for quality sound, but I believe that if these Orbs were matched with true audiophile source and power components they could be extremely satisfying and maybe giant killers. In summary the guys at Orb build the best sounding Sat/Sub system on the market, sweeten the deal with the best price, and then blow everyone else out of the water with their service. Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used: NHT Polk Audio Bose B&W Klipsch Infinity Kef Gallo Mission And a couple of other highly touted brands that I can't remember their names.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com