JBL NSP1 5 Piece Speaker System Home Theater Speaker Systems

NSP1 5 Piece Speaker System

The 2-way 4-inch bookshelf loudspeakers and the 2-way 5-inch center channel loudspeaker with high-impact molded enclosure reproduce sound with unmatched clarity and power. The PolyPlas (polymer-coated cellulose fiber) cone woofer features traditional JBL engineering, the same technologies used in JBL's professional equipment that can be found in stadiums, music halls and move theaters around the world.

Shielded components allow placement near video monitors. High-temperature oversized Kapton-voice coil and HeatScape motor structure allow these speakers to effortlessly play all types of movies and music. The FreeFlow flared port increases bass response without adding unwanted port noise. JBL's custom designed drivers allow the use of simple, Straight-line Signal Path (SSP) crossover networks with high quality electrical components that minimize processing that could degrade the signal.

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
steve   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 28, 2009]
Strength:

great sound and price

Weakness:

not i see for good around speakers

I got the set when the wiz was going out of business. I think that was about 1997 .This set sounded better then my bose 5.1 now used in my bedroom. I use them everyday since I got them .I have never used my tv speakers. For a subwoofer I use ads pb1500 it was a great match. The sound of them is great after all these years . I am running them on a 80 watts rms amp . By far the best 220 dollars I have sent I need a new or used set foe my new system move to 7.1

Similar Products Used: bose 5.1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jason   Casual Listener [Feb 13, 2003]
Strength:

high quality sound for this price range, defintely bang for the bucks. Cneter channel is really good and overall speakers has good full-range sound.

Weakness:

Small power handling for big room.

I absolutely love these speakers. Very good sound quality regardless it is music or movies you are playing. The speakers are paired up with a JBL PB12 sub and Harman Kardon AVR-225. I played Diana Krall's Paris concert (DTS) in my small living room and well it is no $2000 THX amp I was still blown away by the effect. The positioning was very accurate and the mid-range really rich and warm. These speakers produce bass right to the cut off freq with ultra easy - for most classic music playing, rarely my sub is involved (which is a good thing, the PB12 sucked at music). However the movie experience is really what set it apart. the surround reproduced is so well (play Das Boot director's cut and hear the submarine body crack in deep sea then you know what I mean) you'd think you are in a theater.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
bru87tr   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 25, 2002]
Strength:

at a loss for words. tons!!!!!!!!!!

Weakness:

none

Do you want nice sounding speakers that give realisim ? good bass for the speaker size ? that can handle alot of power and not distort ? BUY THESE!!!!!!!!!!!!! they are wonderful and im still amazed by the sound! I have them Hooked up to a Onkyo TX-DS 494 and wow what a combo!!!!!!!!!!! just all around excellent!!!!!!!! dont buy them at retail locally you can get them at up to half the price online. I got a free tripplite 10 outlet HT surge protector with them too.

Similar Products Used: technics loud speakers/ JVC sats
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Bill   Casual Listener [Apr 21, 2002]
Strength:

Price

Weakness:

Weak Bass you need to add the pb10 or pb12 sub.

Can''t beat the sound for the money!!!!

Similar Products Used: Bose
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark P   AudioPhile [Apr 19, 2002]
Strength:

Sound response, Price, Quality.

Weakness:

Needs a subwoofer for the way-lows.

I had read reviews on a lot of different speakers, speaker sets, and thanks to the comments here, I decided on this system. I needed a balance of budget and quality, and I have not been disappointed. I''ve set these up in an acoustically challenged room: hard tile floors, many flat surfaces, steel shelving units, and a lot of glass. The speakers almost ignore the imperfections of the room. They are hooked to an Onkyo TX595 receiver and Panasonic DVD/CD player. The sound distribution is even, and very nice. The N24 speakers have excellent response across the spectrum. Even in the bass end, response is still good, though I am getting a subwoofer to complement the system. The center channel speaker does a good job in anchoring the system. Hearing the glass shattering in Run Lola Run is like hearing one of your own windows break. Listening to Beethoven''s 9th symphony was unbelievable....I heard instruments I''ve never heard before in that recording. Wow. Vocal tracks, instrumentals....I''ve thrown it all at it, and the sound is very good. This speaker set is great for someone who is looking for a high quality system at a good price. The setup I have is more suited for smaller rooms, or apartment living. I probably wouldn''t put these in a large room, but would be perfect for a den, smaller living room, or bedroom.

Similar Products Used: Harmon-Kardon speakers Infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Weister42   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 19, 2002]
Strength:

Solid soundstage, cheap, good looks, can play very loud without distortion.

Weakness:

Can''t play bass, wall mounting brackets tend to break.

I bought these babies online far cheaper than in a local store by my house, which sels these at around $550. This is the first home theater I''ve own, and I''m very happey with it. It doesn''t have much below 80Hz, but small speakers like these are not designed to handle bass anyway. The soundstage that these speakers cast is absolutely solid, I can picture the singer in front of me, or the flying bullet that zooms across the room in The Matrix. Overall a great speaker package for the price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BigL   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 11, 2002]
Strength:

A lot of bang for the buck. The looks, I happen to like ''em.

Weakness:

The shielding on MY N-center.

First the bad: I''m having some shielding problems with the N-center. It''s a good 8 inches under my TV and it''s still affecting the screen. I tried unplugging my TV (overnight) and it didn''t help. Oh well, I guess I''ll use this as an excuse to upgrade. ; ) Otherwise this system is really sweet. I think it''s a good jumping off point if you''re new to the 5 channel world or if you''re looking to upgrade from really crappy speakers. The N24''s perform very well for small, inexpensive speakers. As a matter of fact, I have the N24''s mounted in the rear, with the included wall-mount brackets (a nice touch), and even though I''ll be replacing the center & fronts soon, the N24''s in the rear stay, for now. I''ve read that some people have shielding problems with the N-center, some don''t, I don''t know what''s going on. I will say this for the N-center, it sounds good. My girlfriend heard some dialogue through it from the next room and thought someone was in there with me.So if you''re fortunate enough to get a good one, jump on it. But, I guess you won''t know ''til you get ''em home so... All in all, since this a 5 speaker set, I give the N24''s 1 point a piece and the N-center, because of the shielding problem, gets a big, fat ZERO

Similar Products Used: Acoustic Research HC2
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Mayo   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 31, 2002]
Strength:

Clear, crisp, warm, sound. Very accurate center channel Comes with wall brackets.

Weakness:

None yet.

Love these speakers. Was worried about the small size since I got rid of my floorstanding 12-inchers, but I have been very happy with the switch. They have nice mids, and the voice-matched center is very impressive. I have a Harmon Kardon AVR220 running these, with the JBL PB12 subwoofer. I can crank em with music, which suprised me, and they sound good. Ask the neighbors. But I think the best use of these is home theater. Just true, clear, warm sound. Saving Private Ryan had me ducking. I compared these to similar Sony, Bose, Yamaha, Infinity, and Acoustic Research packages, and this was by far the most bang for the buck. Would suggest a subwoofer though to complete the sound.

Similar Products Used: Kenwood surround package.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Thomas Mills   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2002]
Strength:

Clear and musical. Well balanced with PB10 subwoofer.

Weakness:

Center channel needs more video shielding. When put on top of my TV it turned parts green.

I gave these puppies a day to break them in. They arnt that good for large rooms because they cant get that loud. But in medium to small rooms is when they really shine. I am glad I bought them when I did mainly because Buy.com had them on sale and the price went up right after I had ordered them. I am using them for surround sound in my room coupled with a JBL PB10 subwoofer. Besides the inadequate video shielding on the center channel they are very good speakers. Im running them off my Yamaha 5450. All I can say is buy these speakers if you are looking for hella cheap speakers that kick butt.

Similar Products Used: Sony speakers for living room
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff   Casual Listener [Jan 25, 2002]
Strength:

Sound Clarity. In all sound modes from my home theater system, these speakers sound great. Once I fined tuned each speaker in for my listening area, I was quite impressed. Listening to a 5.1 dolby digital, progressive scan, dolby surround sound DVD Movie, really is very impressive. I also have a JBL 10" subwoofer which caps off the experience. Best bang for the buck as far as I'm concerned. Mounting brackets that come with them are easy to use.

Weakness:

None yet as far as I'm concerned.

Since I am not a serious audiophile, all I can say is from everything I'm hearing, these speakers should always do the job for me. And it really helps looking over all the reviews at this website. Thanks all for your input because when you're on a budget, then this website takes the pain out of possible buyer's remorse.

Similar Products Used: My first surround sound speaker system so I have nothing to compare to.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com