Fluance AV-HTB Home Theater Speaker Systems

AV-HTB

Magnetically shielded (front and center speakers) 5 way gold plated binding posts (front''''s only) Banana plug compatible (front''''s only) Removable grills Ported enclosure (front''''s only) Black ash finish New with a 2 year warranty!

User Reviews (36)

Showing 1-10 of 36  
jim Soper   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 26, 2010]

Let's face it, Audiophiles would never consider buying these speakers let alone listening to them. Most owers of these speakers probably "traded-up" when buying.
I've owned these speakers for about a month and a half. My impressions are based on about 75 hours of break-in time. I use them almost exclusively for TV watching. Here is my thoughts:
the sensitivity ratings of 86 for the center and 88 for the fronts are generous. They need a lot of power to play loud. But they do play loud. The center channel is a bit weak in comparsion to the fronts. I find myself adjusting the volumn of the center to balance it.
Depending on the source material, there are times that these speakers have performed brilliantly. A sub is a must since the ratings of the fronts down to 33 is also very generous. I use a Yahama 5.1( 75 watts) and a 70watt sub in a 10 x 14 room. I have directv hooked to a 42in LG Plasma. It sounds fantastic on a station like FX with movies.
Bottomline, would I recommend these speakers?
Yes, absolutely.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
toddius   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2009]


I very rarely write reviews, but after 6 years with these speakers (perhaps there have been minor updates to them) I can say they are an extraordinary value. Like a fine wine, they have only improved over time. We use them primarily in a front projection dedicated home theater setup. Had I not built that 6 years ago with budget as a primary factor, I would not likely have bought these speakers and that would have been a shame. I have compared them to systems with speakers costing many multiples of what these cost and have found those systems, at best, equal in terms of clarity and tonal matching. Surround sound effects should be undetectable to truly immerse you in the environment and these accomplish that with aplomb. As one reviewer noted here, he recommends using them with a sub and I agree. I would recommend that for any 5.1 setup, however. I'm using these with a Yamaha receiver which favor the brighter side and using them in a comparatively small space (20' by 12'). Factor that into your decision - a bigger space may require more punch. I truly believe, unless you are an audiophile with a musician's ear, you will not be able to distinguish these speakers from anything in the next three tiers of pricing. Finally, I can attest that over 6 yearsin my home including countless injury from my dog who insists on knocking the door of the room into the right-side speaker, that these units have held up remarkably well both in sound and in construction. Superb job, Fluance.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Fluvance   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 23, 2009]

These speakers, are fabulous for my home theater system (1080p 32" LCD, 5.1 reciever, Blu-Ray player. these speakers just make my system the best, plus they not only look fabulous but ssound amazing espicially for the price, its a steal man!!!!!! If your not to high with your money right now, these are the only speakers U should buy now, even if you've got the dough...!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
kwbarron   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 19, 2009]

This was my original review:

Got these tonight, hooked them up to an Onkyo TX-SR605 receiver with a Polk PSW10 Subwoofer. Replaced Klipsch Quintet speakers.

WOW. What else can I say.

I started with the Blu Ray disc of Iron Man and watched his first fight scene in the desert (after the new armor) and the chase scene with the F22 Raptors. Dolby True HD has never sounded better. The surround track, the explosion when he goes supersonic - just awesome.

I then put in Star Wars Episode 1 and watched the pod races. Excellent sound, lots of power (I get a little extra bass out of the fronts to help the sub out) and the engine sounds of the pod racers themselves were almost deafening.

Next up was 'Triple X' - no, not a porno, the actual XXX movie with Vin Diesel. This movie has LOTS of surround material and big explosions. Another amazing experience with these speakers.

Finally, I turned on cable and watched some of 'A Knights Tale' in Dolby Digital. The first thing that struck me was how good the music (Queen's 'We Will Rock You') sounded. I mean, REALLY good.

Admittedly, this is only my first night and I have lots more material to test, but as it sits now, I can not recommend these speakers enough.

Now my follow up.

I have had them for just over a week, and if anything they sound even better. I watched the new Star Trek movie last night and man what an experience it is with my (admittedly inexpensive) setup. There is some great, booming music in this film. Lots of horns, lots of power. Very clear and sounds great.

Once again, I highly recommend these speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kevin K   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 18, 2009]

Kevin K, Vancouver, BC
I couldn't wait until they came, I hoped that it wouldn't be scratched or anything, but when it came, the best, double packed, clean, secure. I hooked them up to my Pioneer VSX-517 5.1 recievrr, 110 watts per channel, and it sounded so good. I waited the nine hours to expect more and after that, BAMMMMM, I loved them instantly. It was like heaven. Once i accidently cranked way way up. No distortion, but a bit crackly for 30 minutes, then heaven again.

DO NOT HESITATE, I COMMAND YOU TO BUY, NOW!!!!!!!!!!THE BEST SPEAKERS IN HISTORY,(unless you want to spend $4000-$400,000!!!!!


BUY!!!!!!


NOW!!!!
=)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Flavius_1   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 18, 2009]

I am using the speakers with Pioneer 819 receiver. The sound is great and the speakers are very well made. I recommend to compare to similar speakers and see for yourself. For the price and quality you can not go wrong with these speakers. You will not be disappointed.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ecosta   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 16, 2009]

I have used these speakers with a Yamaha HTR5920 receiver. They are excellent with good highs and midranges. The weakness is the bass but this can be compensated by a good sub woofer. The quality of the construction though not fancy, is sold and durable. These speakers are more than excellent value for your money. The only drawback is the cost of shipping. I paid 65$ CDN. I suggest to buy the cables locally as the one that Fluance sell is just too thick.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kenfu   Casual Listener [Oct 03, 2009]

What can i say. Not overly bright. Not overly boomy. Excellent sound all rond. Nice looking. Solid build. Dont take my word for it.

[url=http://h.imagehost.org/view/0469/speaker_001]speaker_001.jpg (1.1 MB)[/url]
[url=http://h.imagehost.org/view/0264/speaker_002]speaker_002.jpg (935 KB)[/url]
[url=http://h.imagehost.org/view/0567/speaker_003]speaker_003.jpg (914 KB)[/url]
[url=http://h.imagehost.org/view/0467/speaker_004]speaker_004.jpg (892 KB)[/url]
[url=http://h.imagehost.org/view/0766/speaker_005]speaker_005.jpg (1.3 MB)[/url]
[url=http://h.imagehost.org/view/0073/speaker_006]speaker_006.jpg (766 KB)[/url]
[url=http://h.imagehost.org/view/0474/speaker_007]speaker_007.jpg (823 KB)[/url]
[url=http://h.imagehost.org/view/0282/speaker_008]speaker_008.jpg (1.1 MB)[/url]

Definitely recommend to anyone looking for great sound at a great price no question.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
kluv highdesert   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 16, 2008]
Strength:

Price. Sound. Aesthetics.

Weakness:

Absolutely Zero.

Awesome sound. These speakers compare nicely to very high end speakers. I've owned my set for almost two years and have been completely problem free. I've found the sound to be consistently clean, tight and distortion free, even at VERY high volume levels. I run this set up as 7.1 by adding the fluance bi-directionals and a crap Athena sub which died after 8 months. And then there is the price. Amazing..... This is the greatest sonic value for money I've ever purchased. Highest recommendation.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nathan Plemons   Casual Listener [Apr 08, 2008]
Strength:

Very solid construction. Form follows function. Don't you just hate speakers that spend more time looking cool than sounding good? These speakers are built simply but well, for one purpose, great sound!

Excellent surround frequency response. Unlike "satellite" systems that are merely a tweeter in the rear, the surrounds in this system are able to deliver a good range of sound. Unfortunately not every sound that enters the "surround space" is a high pitched bullet whizzing by. Although they aren't going to win any bass competitions, the mid-range speaker included in the surrounds gives much greater depth than tweeter only satellite systems.

Weakness:

For a moderate to large room low frequency if lacking. Is this really a weakness though? Compare it to a more costly satellite only system and it will still sound better. There is a reason why the LFE channel exists, regular speakers just aren't suited for powerful bass.

Shipping costs seem high so the "sticker price" is a little deceiving, but still a great value.

One of my co-workers has the Fluance 5 channel set that is several years old. He liked them so much that he talked another one of my co-workers into buying the system and he has been very pleased. When I started looking for a surround sound system for my new home, I had two people singing the praises of Fluance.

I had heard the first co-worker's system and was impressed. He said that I should would want a powered subwoofer, but all and all I probably wouldn't find a better set for the money. The second co-worker said that he loved his, without a sub, but he has the entire system in the bedroom of an apartment. He said that if they were in a bigger space he would certainly need the sub.

When I went to the website and saw the pricing, I knew my hunt for speakers was over. I ordered the AV-HTB+ system as well as two additional AV-SS speakers so I could create a 7.1 setup. I purchased a Polk Audio 100W powered subwoofer and an Onkyo TXSR-505S receiver to drive it all. All I had to do then was wait.

The second co-worker kept telling me "Don't judge them the first time you turn them on. Don't get me wrong, they sound good, but they sound even better once they get some play time on them."

I stayed home from work one morning because the package required a signature. I had already set up my receiver and sub. The speakers finally arrived and I was very pleased with the packaging. As everybody has mentioned, they were double boxed and well padded without a scratch on them. The two additional surround speakers came in a separate box, but they were also well packaged and flawless. I immediately connected the front towers and the center channel and was very impressed. Unfortunately I had to go to work so I couldn't play any more.

All week I thought about mounting options for the surrounds and finally came up with a solution. That weekend I ran speaker wire and mounted everything and couldn't be happier with the result. I used the Audessey 2EQ setup feature of the Onkyo Receiver to calibrate everything and it did a superb job. My only complaint there was that it set the volume level for the sub too low. I tweaked this setting manually for what sounds / feels right to me. The speakers sound crisp and clean with no distortion on anything I have thrown at them so far. The Onkyo receiver allows an "all channel stereo" option that uses all of the right speakers and all of the left speakers respectively when listening to a purely stereo source. This provides a greater distinction in left and right as well as an enveloping sound experience. This mode also allows the surrounds to get reasonable amounts of play-time so they can break in as well as the fronts. As they are breaking in the speakers sound better every time I hear them.

Some people have complained that the center channel isn't well matched to the front speakers. Based on the specs I know it is not, but I have honestly not noticed it as a problem. Some people have mentioned that the center channel is also overpowering in a small space. I have a decent sized room, so I have noticed either problem. I think that maybe the combined room size and the Audessey 2EQ setup has resulted in a very well matched, very clean system.

One of my co-workers considers himself an audiophile and he rates the system as "strongly decent," but to him nothing sounds good unless it cost at least $2000. I have heard his setup and would be willing to argue that in a blind test he would be very hard pressed to tell the difference. His system might sound different to him because his empty wallet has different acoustics!

Similar Products Used: I used to work at an electronics store so I have been exposed to many home theater in a box systems as well as some very expensive systems such as Bose. The best HTIB system we sold doesn't hold a candle to this system. Bose doesn't even compare in the price / performance value.

Higher price does not mean better sound, neither had "a bigger brand."
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 36  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com