Yamaha NS A200XT Floorstanding Speakers

NS A200XT

- Yamaha's NS-A200XT 3-way bass reflex tower speaker utilizes all aluminum drivers including dual 8"" woofers and a 4.25"" midrange, both with inverted aluminum dust caps, and a 1"" aluminum dome tweeter.
- The speaker is magnetically shielded, so it can be placed on a TV or video monitor without degrading the picture via stray magnetic fields.
- Five-way binding posts make connections easy and the gold plating provides the great electrical bond.
- New grille design and satin grille cloth provide an attractive and acoustically transparent protective cover for the drivers.
- The profile radius wrapped black finish cabinet provides a handsome style accent and improves the acoustic performance by reducing cabinet interference and assuring the proper dispersion of sound.

User Reviews (22)

Showing 1-10 of 22  
cd   AudioPhile [Apr 22, 2008]

I don't have a pair, but I heard some and they had OK bass. Mostly, I wanted to clarify on the last guy's review.

Unless you spend closer to $1000 than $200 on a new one, your HT receiver isn't likely to have a ton of power available for bass, regardless of how many watts it says it has. It's a matter of capacitance in the power reserves. Stereo receivers, on the other hand, tend to be more robust. That's especially true of vintage models, when power ratings were often measured as full-range. Point is, most speakers would sound better on a decent stereo setup as opposed to a decent HT setup.

Second, I have never seen a receiver that will only send the bass to the LFE output. Many now have that option since speakers are getting smaller and smaller and less able to handle the bass (tsk tsk), but you should always be able to send full-range sound to at least the front speakers. It may come in the former mode by default, but any responsible person will read his HT manual before he settles into using it and should come across that. I suppose one of those HT-in-box setups might come fixed that way, but you wouldn't be using these speakers with that.

That being said, these speakers seem decent, but if you're in this price range and want more full range sound, your best bet is a speaker with a 10" or 12" woofer, and preferable something made before 1990. Vintage rules.

Similar Products Used: Infinity Quantum Juniors
Adcom GFA-545II
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Aaron   Casual Listener [Oct 21, 2003]
Strength:

Looks good even though black excellent highs and mids musically efficent, no exaggerated sound THE COST!!!! I cannot stress that enough

Weakness:

What's with the feet? Really. Bass a LITTLE boomy if on a 2-channel amp, but nothing worth complaining about. They are, unfortunately, discontinued. Better luck next time if you wanted them.

This review isn't so much a "review" as something most people should understand. Many reviewers on this site have said these speakers lack considerable bass. It should be noted that most of these listeners do not realize that on a home theater amp, bass is usually optimized for a subwoofer, and therefor, taken out of any main speakers. I encountered this problem a few months ago when my 1984 Pioneers suddenly sounded completely bassless on my new theater setup. Having a seperate 2-channel stereo proved though, that the speakers were meant to be music speakers, and as a result, I needed a subwoofer(which I already had) with my home theater for bass. These Yamaha's play music nicely, and the bass, while slightly boomy, is quite apparent. Just do not expect to have bass from a home theater system without the use of a subwoofer. A 2-channel stereo is built to output all the notes directly to 1 pair of speakers, whereas home theater will seperate the sound according to the mix on the channels. This is why LFE inputs are used in 5.1(and up) systems. LFE is designed for subwoofers only. I just felt that the majority of the readers here should understand that, for a 2-channel amp, these speakers will have more than adequate bass. In home theater, regardless of wanting one or not, you will need a subwoofer for the lower frequencys, even when playing music. This is just the nature of most multi-channel amps. As for these speakers performance? They sound incredibly accurate considering the price you pay for them. If you're on a budget, you should be happy to buy these, even though they are discontinued. The treble is slick, and not harsh or brassy, while the midrange is clear and natural. As I've said, the bass is a little boomy, but you can fix that simply by dropping the bass in your amp. Of course, I realize that the majority of people buying speakers of this sort crave bass, and will probably find that a good thing. Also, as other reviews have said, there is an odd issue with the mid-range driver acting almost as a passive radiator. I've yet to notice any trouble caused by this particular problem, but it should be noted that it shouldn't happen to begin with. Of course, the driver has a rubber surround, so the chances of it wearing out are slim to none. Well, unless you think that playing a speaker at "max power" will mean it can actually handle that level. Overall, worth the money, and definitely not lacking in bass. If you're that into bass, buy a nice sub, and I'm not talking about some piece of crap Sony. Go to Parts Express(.com), get a Peerless or Dayton sub, and build your own. Much more cost effective and pleasing when you say, "yes, I built that myself."

Similar Products Used: 1984 Pioneer 3-ways. Meadowlark bookshelf speakers(which were not mine, mind you). Various JBL, Sony, Klipsch, and Polk speakers. Nothing out of the ordinary.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
JamesPH   AudioPhile [Sep 01, 2002]
Strength:

Great speaker for the price. Sound is clean, crisp, well balanced from top to bottom. Most impressive is the solid imaging of sounds, great for home theater use.

Weakness:

Not impressed with add on feet. Understandable using on this high narrow tower speaker, easy to tip over. I didn't use because of tight space, where placed.

Great sound for the price. Had to listen for some time at Best Buy, sound room very poor, but the solid imaging of sounds was outstanding. Hearing sounds to the left, right or center. I kept hearing, thinking, the sounds were from other speakers in line with them in the listening room and had to walk closer to verify the sound was from the Yamaha's only. Overall the speakers are well balanced and very clean. You have a feeling at times the bass is very lacking, until the sound or music calls for it and you realize it is there after all.

Similar Products Used: Jensen 4 and 6. ESS AMT2
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 11, 2002]
Strength:

Great sound quality good looks price

Weakness:

cheesy feet but not detracting not subwoofers and those who want it all in one, not here. They put on a good effort though and if you are like me, slowly building a system and can wait on a sub, these will fill in nicely in the mean time

I purchased an RXV-800 A/V receiver about 6 months ago. I have not written a review as I don’t have a DVD player yet and haven’t truly put it through its paces. This unit delivers 5 x 110 watts RMS. Naturally I wanted to find a speaker that would handle the maximum power the amp could deliver. Lots of time and effort went into choosing the main speakers and I finally settled on these Yamaha NS-A200XT. The first thing I noticed was the incredible size of the boxes these speakers arrived in. I turned on the speakers and was surprised to hear that they sounded terrible. It was so bad that my ears hurt after about 1 song. The treble was going to kill me. Knowing that some speakers have a break in period I decided to leave them on for a while. I left the house for about 2 hours with the stereo blaring and my neighbors probably wanted to kill me. When I came back I was surprised. The speakers sounded much better. As the weeks progressed I grew happier and happier and now I am convinced that I could not have gotten a better deal. I finally cranked the amp up to -14db (that is way louder than anyone would want to listen to it unless they were or wanted to be hearing impaired). The sound was clear as a bell but the woofers were having a little trouble keeping up (Sony Subwoofer test CD). The specs claim a 32hz cutoff frequency and I believe it is accurate. I used the test speaker feature of the amp and tested the speaker at 44hz and I could still hear some volume. I have not tested these speakers in a surround setting yet; I am still waiting on my center and rears (NS-AC40X and NS-A50X which have the same tweeter and similar mids). I would say that all in all these were the best speaker I could have purchased with 300 bucks. In response to all those who said that there isn’t enough bass … My wall was moving. This is about as much bass as I would expect out of an 8” woofer. Remember, these are not subs and never claimed to be. I am betting that with a sub I should be able to turn these bad boys up as far as I wanted without NO DISTORTION. They are large, and the feet that others complained about … they are just feet. I don’t really notice them though they are a little cheesy. And no, I am not a tool who actually measured the size of the woofers like someone else who gave terrible reviews, I don’t care what size they are, they sound great.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
BigAce169   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 26, 2002]
Strength:

The strengths are the speakers price for what you get. The sound is good and the quality of the drivers is good. You can't compare these speakers to higher end Infinity, Polk, B&W, Linn, etc. If you are looking at Bose, think again. Bose sound good, but they don't last. They use old technology in their speakers.

Weakness:

There are none expect for the bass and that is not bad for the speakers. One has to remember they are not powered subs in the speakers, so if you want a good bass you need to buy a powered sub with these speakers. The 8" drivers don't play like 8" subs.

Well the first thing that I want to tell everyone is that the bass is not good at all. I have a Yamaha SW305 subwoofer and when I turn that off, the bass out of these floor speakers suck. If you want bass you are going to have to buy a power sub or buy floor speakers with a power sub in them. The quality of sound through all the high and mid frequencies is very good for the price. I was looking for speakers with a little more bass, but I didn't want to pay 500 each for a speaker, so these were the next best. I use a Pioneer D411 and I hook that up to my computer's Audigy's card. If you have a power sub, have the receiver cut out the frequencies under 150 from the front speakers. This gives the listen the ability to play the speakers loud and not have the bass distorted at all. I also have the Yamaha NS 6390's and a sony center. (not sure the number, it is the one at best buy for $100) One key to any stereo system is use quality cables and set it up properly. I use Monster everything. They are expensive, but there is nothing like them.

Similar Products Used: Anything in the price range. Sony makes a similer product, Pioneer does and JBL does. JBL's are not used for home audio. They are more for DJ equipment. They are built to handle more abuse then a spea
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
david cutaia   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 01, 2002]
Strength:

Great bass. Will work good with almost any receiver. Good looking. THEY'RE JUST SO DAMN LOUD.

Weakness:

My neighbors complain too often...

These are probably the best speakers for the price. They are great. Great bass and treble. I just hooked them off and theres stuff falling off my shelves.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha NS-6390, they only have one 8, and they dump too
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
momo61761   Casual Listener [Jun 19, 2002]
Strength:

Great lows, mids, and highs when quality speaker cable is used.

Weakness:

none

I listened to the NS-A200XT's at Best Buy and wasn't very impressed, but realized the listening conditions are horrible and the speaker wire they use is the cheapest one can get. So I gave them the benefit of doubt, got them home, and with some high quality cable and my Yamaha RX-V530 reciever they sound perfect. I find they don't need a sub, however, one might be good to have for movies. The only bad review I read on these had to do with the feet. The display and the user manual show them installed with the flat edge on the outside, so I put them on the other way and find having the curved side on the oustide compliment the design of the speaker. I think Yamaha perhaps, made a mistake in the drawing or something...who knows. Either way you install the feet (stabilizers), they work the same either way.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
magnetic77   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 16, 2002]
Strength:

Accurate reproduction of musical nuances

Weakness:

None

I received these as part of an award program thru my employer. I own a Yamaha RXV592 amplifier, and was previously driving a pair of JBL 900's. I was concerned at first that 70 WPC would be a bit underpowered, esp. since they are rated at 6 ohms. First impression was that they were a little bigger than I expected (I think I had caught a fleeting glance at the 100XT's @ Best Buy, and it just didn't compute how large these were.) My wife just kind of gave me "that look" when I brought them in the door. Fortunately, I wired 'em up and that was all the convincing either of us needed. Concerns about the 592 being underpowered went out the window. The difference between these and the JBL 900's is like day and night. Accurate, clean, crisp, vocal presence to beat the band. I kept my JBL PB10 sub running in a corner of the room which beefs up the bass nicely. I like them about as well as I like my Phase Tech P60's w/sub that I have running upstairs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sc0tty8   Audio Enthusiast [May 05, 2002]
Strength:

WOW, nice for the price

Weakness:

NONE

I love these. They are the BEST I have heard, especially for the money. I was going to buy some with a built in woofer, they do not need them unless you need so much bass you can NOT hear anything else. I like sharp highs, and nice n smooth mids, and just right bass, these gimme that, on movies, tv, music(cd''''s, mp3s), and my computer games. WOW. I think I may buy a second pair. The [H] pwnez j00

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 21, 2002]
Strength:

Excellent all around, great true, accurate bass, mid range and highs also flawless. Best speaker available for $200.00 a piece.

Weakness:

Cant think of any.

I have had these speakers a few days now, and I think that with the other speakers in my living room system they are GREAT! I use these as my front main speakers. My rear mains are NS-A1738''s, with NS-6390''s for surround sound and a NS-AC40X center. I had some NS-A100XT''s as my main front speakers and upgraded to these. I am glad I did. The bass response is much deeper and crisp. With the combination I have, I have no need for a sub woofer. I run it through a Yamaha HTR-5460 receiver.

Similar Products Used: see above
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com