Yamaha NS-555 Floorstanding Speakers

Available At:
NS-555

Yamaha's NS-555 speaker system has been designed specifically for home theater applications. The floor standing speaker is a bass-reflex design that can be used for main channels and incorporates a pair of 6 1/4 Polymer-Injected Mica Diaphragm (PMD) cone woofers, a 5 midrange cone driver and a 1 aluminum dome tweeter. For improved imaging, the midrange and tweeter utilize Yamaha's exclusive waveguide horns.

  • Dual 6 1/4" Polymer Injected Mica Diaphragm (PMD) woofers
  • 5" cone midrange
  • 1" Aluminum dome tweeter
  • Midrange and Tweeter use Waveguide Horn for better imaging
  • Internally Wired With Monster Cable--ensures a clean, clear signal from the crossover network to the speaker driver
  • Magnetic Shielding
  • Speaker Stand included
  • Bi-Wiring Capability
  • Black piano finish
  • Grille design

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
Dan L.   Audio Enthusiast [May 24, 2015]

I picked up a whole 7 channel NS loudspeaker system consisting of 2ea. NS-555, 1ea. NS-C444, 4ea. NS-333. When I first got these Yamaha NS-555 and hooked them up I new I got a great deal for the $400.00 I paid for the whole system. And also got a 120 watt X 7 channel Yamaha receiver to boot. The speakers these are replacing are the Emotiva ERM 6.2 for L/C/R and 4ea. Canton GL260 Surrounds. Because I have 2ea.ATI AT2505 and 1ea. Emotiva LPA-1 amplifiers I am Bi-amping these on the AT2505 amps. I also have 4 subwoofers, 1ea. MK-MX200, 2ea. Def Tech SC6000 and an HTD Level 3. Without subwoofers in Direct Mode playing through a Denon AVR-X4000 use as a pre-amp controlling the amplifiers these put out some very decent Bass considering they are only 6 1/2" drivers. After listening to these for more than a month these have just gotten better. They sound very balanced. Imaging is very good, The ERM 6.2 are slightly better in this respect but overall Yamaha NS-555 are better in every other way. The Piano black finish is first rate. I will end here now by saying this; These would be a very decent loudspeaker at $1000.00 a pair or more. But for the asking price and especially for the price I paid they represent value in spades. The whole system sound amazing the NS-555, NS-C444, and the NS-333. But remember I do have the Electronicsto bring out the best of all of these. Remember this also, CRAP IN = CRAP OUT! I

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Available At:
nolicorpuz   Casual Listener [Nov 15, 2011]

I have owned this pair speakers for three years now. I am very happy with its performance with two channel music listening or as a home theater speaker. The first time I saw the speakers without grilles from the box, I was stunnned by their appearance, as if they costs more than a thousand dollars. At the time of purchase, no speakers in the shop costing more than these apeakers look more beautiful than the pair of yamaha ns 555 speakers. By the way, I purcahsed these apeakers for around 450 dollars (Php 25000.00). By just its appearance and looks, I believe it is already a winner not to mention that it is also the champion for its money value. I first hooked up these apeakers to a yamaha rxv 457 and I have notice immediately it tonal balance using two channel stereo music. After using it for two weeks, I noticed that its sound even become smoother and crisper. Its sound is very balance from the low end to the high end. Its sound is as clear as crystals with no emphasis in a certain frequency. When I replaced my aging rxv 457 (a very av receiver also) with the updated denon avr 1911, the speakers even sounded better, be it ht or two channel stereo. As a home theater speakers, they sounded very dyanamicwithout distortion and also very natural. This pair of speakers can match more expensive speakers that cost three or four times. These speakers are highly recommended for those looking for an excellent speaker with an entry level price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Earl   AudioPhile [Jun 16, 2011]

I have come from Dynaudio Contour 1.3 SEs to the Yamahas...The Dynaudios are better in every possible way, bass, mids and treble. That said, the NS-555s are a darn good speaker for the money! They do not compare to $3500.00 speakers but you will be hard pressed to find a better speaker for less than $1000.00/pr new. They are not offensive in any way, though they will not grab your attention like the very best speakers. I believe that the Yamahas represent a fantastic value...I recommend them very highly. They do not have the bloated bass that is the norm in inexpensive speakers, also the treble is decent without being overbearing. These are worth every penny of $500.00/pr...and then some! The NS-555s are not world beaters, but you could spend much more on speakers and do far worse. They are clean, accurate and inexpensive...Try a pair, they are a fine introduction to the high end sound!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Martin   Audio Enthusiast [May 20, 2011]

Surprisingly good sound for the price! I plugged them to Yamaha receiver using bi-wiring and this config proved perfect for stereo listening. I can only recommend these speakers - nice finish and even better sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Luckyskip19   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 16, 2010]

Okay, I have owned these speakers for 2 years now.
I love them!!! You can find them now anywhere from $180-$250 each.
I got them for $450 new(taxes,shipping)
When they arrived at my door and opened them up I was "WOW!!!!"
my friend that was over even said "what the @#$%" just when i took them out of the boxes.
They are solid! Beautiful and sexy. I then hooked them up to my DENON receiver Bi-wired with just a 75 watt per ch. And oh my god! They sound just as good as they look! The Highs were crisp and the lows were deep and tight. i started with a few break-in tracks with low-freq to open them up. I then tried different movies with excellent sound effects like Transformers, Star wars, Cars, and Iron Man etc.. Brilliant! Clean sound. NO need for a sub. This set does everything. I also played a variety of music (rock, classic, hip-hop, jazz, country, acoustic etc.) all genres of music were absolutely amazing! After hearing these i would have paid more than asked. i went on a limb buying these, but after taking the leap i felt like i got away with a crime. To me and others that have heard them, they were a steal! If you can get your hands on these take it without looking back! you won't be disappointed!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ryan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 04, 2010]

Awesome speaker with great tonnal balance when i listen to music i always run my reciever on pure direct and the clearity is awesome. The Bi-Wire capibility is great and is being used,and dont use my sub. Speaker placement is about a foot and a half from the wall with my chair eight feet from speaker. Only bad thing is like everyone says the DUST lol but dont let that keep u from buying them. I install A/V systems regularly and have yet to hear a speaker as good, even for three and four times the money including boston,energy,B&W,or phase tecnoligy. Hope this helps anyone who's looking to possibly buy these great speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
RichieBoi   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 11, 2010]

i dont own theses speakers or even an amp or receiver for that matter.
I would love to know what the nominal ohms rating is if anybody knows.
I am about to start my separates system and have got my eyes on a yamie rx-v765 and i think the speakers would suite fine i just hope there 8 ohms not 6.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
karister99   AudioPhile [Feb 17, 2010]

This is an awesome value for the money, elegant looking awesome speaker. This speaker sounds awesome, it rivals speakers costing at-least five times it's price point. I think if someone's looking for a decent well rounded speaker at a budget, this is it. Only flaw I've noticed in them was bit bass shy, may be proper placing might solve this issue.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
allan1836   AudioPhile [Jul 17, 2009]

I don't usually write reviews on audio products that goes through my room, either good or bad, but I am going out of my way to write this review since I feel this speakers is something special. I said special because for it's price, I believe this is truly one of the very rare audio products that can really be regarded as "bang for the buck".

At first, I was hesitant to get this model since my objective is to use it for pure 2ch audio music listening, since this model was labeled by Yamaha as a home theater speakers. But apparently my budget left me with no choice and since I saw the reviews here which hinted me that this can be good also for music.

Well and behold! After a few weeks of breaking in, I am pleasantly surprised with the speakers performance! As described by other reviewers here, the music spectrum is well balanced with smoothness, refinement, detail, and honestly accurate deep bass. I am a long time self proclaimed audiophile with some experience with other hi end mega buck speakers but believe you me, this NS-555 can compete. Though not as truly complete as some of the hi end speakers but certainly for it's price, this is a no brainer choice.

Many of my friends pass up this speakers since the brand is not to famous on audiophile circles but one's they heard my system (with only mid fi gears), they were truly astounded! Add to the performance is the very hi end look and finish. Many audiophile brands has this finish too but at 10X the price.

Out of curiosity, I look inside this speakers and saw why this speakers sound so good. No wonder, the raw drivers used were of high quality with good size magnets and exotic materials. The inside baffles were braced very well and damp at the right places. Even the passive crossover were handmade with air core inductors, though the caps can use some upgrade (which means the speaker can get even better!).

As you can now imagine, I love this speakers simply because a got a whole lot of quality for the small price I paid. Also, I am for the underdogs, and surely this very underrated speakers are special. Do audition one if you can and thank me later. Thanks

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
john in covina   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 21, 2008]
Strength:

Improving sound that started as overly tight, precise to harsh and moving towards natural smooth while still precise.

Fabulous construction, at about 43 pounds they have a weighty solid feel.
The black piano finnish is stunning and you have a choice of grills on or off either way they look pretty cool.

While watching DVD;s they sound great.

You can use spade connectors or banana connectors for quick hook up.

They are set for Bi-Wiring so you can use seperate cables one for the tweeter and mid-range and one for the two bass speakers, that is also supposed to improve the bass response.

For home theater speakers they do really well with music so they are audio enthusiast friendly on a shoestring budget. I spent $366 for the pair including shipping.

Weakness:

The fact that they need a break in period will be a short coming to those that don't have the patience to wait.

The back porting makes proper placement an imperative to get the bass right. You may read about short comings on bass for these, i think they have great bass response but placement may be off for those not getting enough.

Yamaha's NS-555 Home Theater speakers are a Great balance of quality and cost. After some reading of reviews and consideration of other speakers I chose to get these NS-555 towers. I have been listening to music, playing a variety of CD's thru my Oppo 983 DVD player, which sure seems to be a very capable DVD & CD player. I have been listening thru the RXV663 reciever and using the two channel set up under "Disc Listening" either 'Straight' or the 'Pure Direct' so that the speakers are recreating an unenhanced sound.

I am a believer in speaker break in for most speakers. As the cone and the surround flex patterns from the movement must form over time and allow for (hopefully) improved response. The first day I hooked them up at about the 90 minute mark I heard a change from tight, precise and a bit harsh to more smooth and natural. This week at probably the 40-50 hour mark another shift occured again smoother more natural less harshly precise. Many friends and some of the sites seem to believe that it takes about 100 hours for a good break in to occur.

I start with a cd of what ever i want to listen to and after a few tracks turn the volume up a bit and continue thru a number of cd's finally taking it to the volume settingon the receiver of about -4db to 0db which is plenty loud. this is the point in which the sound has changed and smoothed out the past tow times.

Actual improvement or Jedi mind trick? Some one outlined this and I just think it's true, that if a speaker was annoying in any way it would become more annoying over time, you'd reach a fatigue level that would not go away.

Customer Service

The boxes are the sacraficial type, when they arrived I was worried about the condition of the speakers since the boxes were kind of beat up but the speakers were well protected and just fine.

Similar Products Used: I can't equate these to what I have used in the past so this is a stretch. However, i do have more audiophile friends and listening to their set ups of Polks and Chapmans, i think these are awesome for the price.

I have used several smaller Yamaha speakers and found them to have a good sound. My earliest ones, model # unknown at this time still sound good and are part of the 7.1 system in the 2nd set of rears.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com