Wilson Audio WAMM Floorstanding Speakers

WAMM

Wilson's Flagship Loudspeaker, Frequency Response 16 Hz - 30 KHz (-3dB), 99 dB sensitivity

User Reviews (54)

Showing 1-10 of 54  
Jeff W.   AudioPhile [Nov 19, 2013]

Mr. Wilson must be a real fool waiting for other fools to buy his overpriced....waaay overpriced speakers. This is what they are talking about when they discuss dollars vs. performance. There is no way these speakers perform like their cost. No way, no how.
Any honest person would and could tell you that. Of course if you are an editor or writer of an audio magazine your job and well being may depend on it. Barnum relied on suckers and I think Mr. Wilson does the same. Fancy advertising and fancy looking loudspeakers with specs no greater than a myriad of others really seems to sway those that know no better. A magnificent example of cost not equaling performance and why some people think audio nuts are just that.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
Fryman   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2009]
Strength:

When you listen to them you realize there is nothing left to say.

Weakness:

NA

I went to the Consumer Electronics Show in Las Vegas several years ago. Wilson Audio set up at an off-site location and myself and my associates were invited. Wilson Audio only showed the WAMM (WAMM stands for Wilson Audio Modular Monitor).

These are large, unusual-looking speakers not in a single cabinet, but each speaker is composed of 4 wood cabinets of various sizes connected by a central metal frame. They were in an acoustically engineered room, and were powered powered by a very large amplifier (I didn't bother to check it out) and a pre-amp, which I also regret investigating. The sound source was vinyl - played on a turntable, the turntable of which was a chiseled-to-perfect-balance, 6-inch-thick slab of granite (thus reducing wow and flutter to nil).

The sound was beyond anything I had hitherto and have since heard and enjoyed. I won't go into the imaging, depth, precision, sensitivity, etc. any further than that - it was amazing, beautiful, thrilling and real. I listened to several symphonic pieces (I do not remember the titles or the orchestras and conductors now, unfortunately), ELO, the human voice, and the demonstration ended with the electronic piece played by the UFO from the "Close Encounters of the Third Kind" soundtrack (this piece includes the familiar theme, and some very loud, low frequency blows from the ship, as you remember). By the time the demonstration finished we were, and I was, mesmerized.

If I had money to burn perhaps I would buy them (and the costly component support necessary to realize their potential) - but I don't. Actually I wouldn't anyway - there are too many people who need help to consume at that level on oneself. But it was a thrilling experience. Even the sophisticated set were impressed, and I think that for all of us, including this average salesman who sold the likes of Cerwin Vega, it was unforgettable.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
1
satchguy   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2005]
Strength:

Sound amazing

Weakness:

Price

Obviously the speakers are over priced just like anything is in this class of product. No amount of materials, labor and cost for sound engineering could justify the price of these, however for the people that can afford them cost is not an issue so they will sell regardless. I have heard speakers in the $15,000 range and most any person on the planet being shown those speakers to these as a comparison could tell which sounded better. The high prestige factor is the only marketing strategy that could possibly sell these speakers, never on sound quality alone. Even if I were Bill Gates I wouldn't waste the money on these.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
1
David Schwartz   AudioPhile [Jan 12, 2004]
Strength:

Excellent for solving interpersonal relationships, political disputes, travel planning, and temperature control regulation throughout house.

Weakness:

Unable to make more than 6 slices of toast at one time. Otherwise flawless.

Best speakers ever! Great treble, midrange, and bass extension. Ideal for classical, jazz, & rock music. Fit nicely into family room or den.

Similar Products Used: None. This is my first product. Recommended cable and supportive components purchased from RadioShack.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Hearn   AudioPhile [Nov 04, 2003]

I feel very sorry for all the sad people who have felt the need to post ignorant replies on this post. I actually own a pair of these fantastic speakers and all that I can say is that it is clear that most of the people who have left replies on this forum are not bright enough to be able to pay for a pair of headphones let alone a pair of speakers like these. Let me suggest a basic coure of literacy exams and maybe, in 50 years time, you may be able to afford to listen to them. Wasters need not apply! For what it is worth, these are the best speakers on the market and I would say to all those who mock, your loss.....

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Abex   AudioPhile [Sep 08, 2003]
Strength:

For the price there better not be any!

Weakness:

Room sensitive and expensive! If you have to ask how much you probably cannot afford them! Special Amplification and Associated equiptment.

I cannot see paying that kind of $$ for any speaker,but if I had $$ to throw away I might consider getting a set. Hey you only live once! For people that are in the recording Biz and need that kind of quality I can see it.WHy do people nuy Farrari's and Masarrati's(?) I do have similar design features as far as the Tweeter in my speakers and I really dig my speakers. They represent great value even though they are not entry level speakers. I know the designer personaly and I think he knows Dave Wilson.I will have to ask him. If you can afford the best then go for it. They are probably the finest speakers in the world!

Similar Products Used: Apoggee's NEARs M50's EPI Towers Klipsch Horns
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
Johann Gutenberg   AudioPhile [Apr 27, 2003]
Strength:

Torpedo character of music without distorition elements. Never having distortion!!! James paino playing especially, magic music, electrostatic better then best this is better!!!

Weakness:

Price is excruciation for several persons. Recommend audio magazine review explicit money make scheme, never buy without test run listen.

In the country I am Latvian so buying speakers very important, also listening. Much much experience listening, buying, speaker. Speakers with excellent sound!!! Worth every American penny. Is truly excellent sound!!! Imagine this, a concert hall, with insturments and orchestra. Several amplifiiers also. Used.

Similar Products Used: LR Audio 3400 America, Levinson, Carver, much special product excitement Canada, Bryston excellent nothing else though. Napal and other nations must be making of the speakers in the house I will so
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
david   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 24, 2002]
Weakness:

too big for most homes. $$$$$

Most of people that wrote the review should get a life. there are people who wants to get a serious review for these speakers. Personally i can't afford these speakers but also the system that i'm trying to get is probably over my budget. I think if you can afford these speakers, more power to them. if i have the money i would get a $500,000 stereo system over a ferrari.

Similar Products Used: B&w nautilus
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
eugenius   Casual Listener [Dec 24, 2002]
Strength:

?

Weakness:

see review

I keep reading in reviews that these speakers create the illusion that you are hearing a real person in the real scene. My question is: how the **** they can do that? You know, these are still STEREO speakers. YOU CAN'T DETERMINE THE POSITION OF ANYTHING WITHOUT THREE SOUND SOURCES SURROUNDING YOU!! You may have heard about this, it's called triangulation :). And also you need some sound source above and below you for a accurate positioning. So!!! What I want to say is this: these are not the ultimate transparent sound device because they can't be. And if you are listening from some CD these speakers are CLEARLY a waste of money! The CD sound is artificial and lifeless anyway. I read about a test once that went like this: they had 6 very HQ LP's, 6 CD's and 6 DVD-Audio's with the same tracks and the master tape for each record. They compared the other three with the master tape. The jury was composed of dozens of audio engineers/specialists. DVD-Audio won 4-2 with the LP. CD's had the least resemblance to the master tape. And half of the voters for DVD-Audio specified that they voted for it mainly because it had less noise than the LP (for obvious reasons), and not because of the good sound. But everyone who buys them I'm sure he has a couple of thousand spare change to buy the master tape for every record they own:) Otherwise I doubt they make sense. Every geezer that came in here and posted some absurd joke is right. From an AUDIO standpoint they don't deserve all that money. But if you have the money, I guess there are worse things to blow your money on.

Similar Products Used: ?
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
eddie   AudioPhile [Dec 13, 2002]
Strength:

one of the only few system that produce a lifelike musical experience where musicians are in front of you, in a true tridimensional sound environment

Weakness:

design and price

those are not speakers, mind you, but an orchestra in your living... go check the Magellan from the french company Triangle, same performance as a WAMM system but with state-of-art design and components for a much lower price (about 35000$) www.triangle-fr.com

Similar Products Used: Triangle Magellan www.triangle-fr.com
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-10 of 54  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com