Wharfedale Opal 100 Floorstanding Speakers

Opal 100

6.6" (165mm) Bass/Mid 2 x 165mm Bass 2 x 165mm ABR 25mm Soft Dome Tweeter

User Reviews (28)

Showing 1-10 of 28  
mjarve   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2003]
Strength:

Powerful and efficient. Very small footprint for a relatively large speaker. Very good value for the money, if you get the "A-Stock", even at $600.

Weakness:

Prone to fall over if placed on carpet. Thankfully they included carpet spikes and a stablizer stand.

I originally bought a set of these in 2001, but I kept them only a few weeks before trading them up for a set of Emerald 97s. But, recently, my mother gave me the task of finding a set of speakers for her. They had to match the following criteria: 1)They had to match her decor. 2)They had to be able to go quite loud, but still sound good. 3)The footprint could be no larger than her dictionary. The Opal 100's fit that bill perfectly. I went to our local hi-fi delarship, and found that they were going out of business. The Opals were on the sales floor, marked down from $599.00 to $199.00. Now I know that probaly no one reading this would have paid nearly $600 for these speakers, but these were not the used or refurbished units sold on popular aution sites, but the real "A-Stock" full retail versions of these speakers. I connected them to my mother's JVC RX-778 Dolby Digital reciever (also reviewed well on this site) and let her rip. I have to say I was very inpressed (in a good way) and am now on my way to see if I can buy another set before this store closes. Thank you, and good bye North Star Stereo in Hibbing.

Similar Products Used: Wharfedale Opal 100 (used for only a couple weeks). Teledyne/Acoustic Research AR94R. Bose 501. Wharfedale Opal 90.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Sam   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 21, 2000]
Strength:

Price, Design, Power Handling, and Sound

Weakness:

Grills

The speakers are currently on break-in period, but the bass seems to be just right with tonal controls defeated on my vsx-37tx receiver. Ubid gave me a great deal for a set of these speakers, $265.00 delivered and I say this is a cheap but great sounding speaker! They are rated at 4 ohms though, so I might need to tweak the cross-over network or add another speaker in the box maybe. Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt Lawler   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 03, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent Sound.

Weakness:

None

If you give them power they will perform. Bi-amp them with seperates and they will blow you away!

Similar Products Used: Klipsch, B&W
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kenny P.   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 26, 2000]
Strength:

near audiophile quality after break in

Weakness:

super long break in time

I bought a pair of Modus 1.6 at U-bid for about 250, I got them out of the box and couuld not believe my ears. Super Sweet. But wait-this is not about Modus 1.6. I got a wild hair and ordered a pair of Opal 100's; They even looked cooler. I got them out of the box and "loaned" the 1.6's to a friend. I then thought that I had made a big mistake. I knew about Wharfedale break in but, they, at first did not get there,about five months later the friend who owns the 1.6's thinks they are superior. As he phrased it" I don't know how this can be improved upon". I worked a lot on placement and already have a subwoofer but use it casually with the 100's. I am running heavy guage bi-wire/amp out of a 200 watt refurbished Dynaco(with output control) for the bottoms and a pair of NEC M-50 mono amps for the top(also with output control). If anyone out there knows about the NEC M-50 please let me know. All I know is that for a rated 50 watts they rock.

Similar Products Used: JBL,UTAH!,JBL PRO, AURA, Klipsch, Infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dan   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 08, 2000]
Strength:

crisp, clean sound. Excellent mids creates nice vocals and very, very nice acoustical reproduction.

Weakness:

needs power and good wires.

this is an update. Now that these have broke in they sound FABULOUS! A word of advice, These puppies really need good wires & bi-wire/amp.
I broke down and got some monster cable wire and bi-amped them---bottom to my 164 watt Outlaw amp & top to mt 100 watt kenwood VR 3090---WOW!!!! I thought someone gave me new speakers. the bass was really great! Still not boomy, but really tight and punchy. You could feel the floor vibrating now 3 rooms away. Take the time and money to get really good wires w/ these amd at least bi-amp by using banana plugs into your 5-way posts overtop the bottoms in the post hole hook-ups. If too lazy to bi-wire at least remember to plug your wire into the BOTTOM POSTS, NOT THE TOP!!!!!!!!!! Trust me it makes a difference. Sounds much cleaner than my Wharfedale Modus 1.6 now that I have done this. You can usually get these from Ubid for 350-400 and they are a cut above the Best Buy crap once placed correctly and broken in. Get "em now & enjoy the clean mids and tight bass!

Similar Products Used: jbl, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Small   Audio Enthusiast [May 01, 2000]
Strength:

Clean look, bi-wirable and tight bass.

Weakness:

Mid-range could be a bit more pronounced.

I received these back in February and bi-wired them to my A/V Receiver. I'm using them for my fronts with a Paradigm CC-350 center and Valdus 400's on the rear.

I tried out a DD5.1 DVD on them to start and found them to be more than adequate for a home theater application. The timbre match of the Opal's and the CC-350 was quite good.

My initially feeling when playing music through them wasn't as good. I thought the mid-range was quite muffled and the bass to be weak considering there are four bass drivers.

I read on the Wharfedale site that it takes up to 30 hours for break in so I proceeded to play teh speakers a lot. AFter about 4 weeks I noticed a significant difference in the bass response. I purposely played some heavy bass DVD's and CD's to "loosen" them up a bit. It certainly did because now the bass is tight and upfront.

The mids started to loosen up as well but I would still prefer something more pronounced than what it is. Overall a decent speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Steve Van Schultz   Audiophile [Feb 26, 2001]
Strength:

Price $218.00 Plus shipping for the pair. Nice Sound, Beautiful Looking Speakers (Walnut), look great with the grills off.

Weakness:

None so far. UBID high cost of Shipping.

First off I do not work for UBID. I work for a major financial institution in New York City.

I bought a pair of Wharfedale MFM7's right after Christmas and really loved these speakers.

I decided that I needed another set of speaker towers and was able to get the Wharfedale OPAL 100's for 218.00 plus shipping from UBID.

1) These speakers are beautiful looking and replaced the
Wharfedale MFM7's as my main speakers in my living room.

2) I bi-wired these speakers and even though they are probably not broken in yet, I like the sound that these speakers are producing.

3) The bass is not too boomy, but is real tight.

4) Having 6 drivers one on top of the other these speakers look great with the grills off.

5) I have watched approx 6 DVD movies so far with these speakers and they are also serving quite well as part of my surround sound system.

I give these speakers a 5 for their overall sound quality and apparence.

I also give these speakers a 5 for the amount of money I spent to buy them.

I will submit another review in about 3 months.

I recommend these speakers and I you can get them for under 300.00 for the pair that is quite a bargain.

Happy listening.

Similar Products Used: Wharfedale MFM7's
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Lance   Casual Listener [Apr 13, 2001]
Weakness:

Color. I chose black

the speakers are great for the money. I love putting on
Boy George and dancing with my friends.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
K Raghu   Audiophile [Sep 11, 2000]
Strength:

Sleek, tall and Good looking

Weakness:

Needs a sub-woofer and the mid-range can be better

At first I thought I made the wrong decision, but after about a month, these speakers started to make a big difference. I am using a low-end SONY amplifier, but these speakers make a real system out of these 70W amplifiers. Great to have as front-speakers for a home theatre system

Similar Products Used: Infinity, Teac
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
K Raghu   Audiophile [Jan 30, 2001]
Strength:

Price, Overall Quality and Tight Bass

Weakness:

Grill, Tweaters

I used these speakers with a low end unit for some time. Even though things improved after a while (due to break-in) the real potential of this unit came out only when I bought my Yamaha 5240. I bi-wired it and used it for a couple of months and then suddenly, it started to act like some other speakers. I think one should be patient because the break-in time is really long and it breaks-in only with a powerful amp. But now these are sounding really great. I feel that the high frequencies (tweeter unit) are better in Infinity, but since I am using RS4 as rear speakers, most stereo music comes out really sharp with the "DISCO" sound field of Yamaha-5240. I think the price has come down now and if anybody can get it below $300, it is a real good bargain; still getting the sound quality of speakers costing three times this price.

Similar Products Used: Infinity, Sony, TEAC, Paradigm
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 28  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com