VMPS Tower Two Special Edition Floorstanding Speakers

VMPS Tower Two Special Edition Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

5-way tower speaker

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 22  
[Feb 17, 2014]
Howiebandell@aol.com
Audio Enthusiast

I am selling my Speakers - VMPS Tower !! Limited Edition and maybe also the QSO626 I use for the center channel.
Why - the passive radiator sub-woofer needs replacement - even though I had NOT noticed it audio wise - (I was dusting and noticed that the speaker had fallen to the bottom of the cabinet - so much for putting a 15 inch passive radiator facing downward with mass loading).
I will take $500 off the going price of a pair - but you must pick it up and pay cash. You can bring your own music and listen.

Howiebandell@aol.com
703-669-2588

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 29, 2010]
hotshoetom
AudioPhile

A true long term test, I have been listening to my tower II SEs for nearly 15 years, and have failed to find another speaker at any price that compares with it. I have listened to everything else out there that I could arrange to audition and still favor the towers over all others. Clean, detailed highs, tight bass down into the mid 20s, you really only need a sub for infrasonics and the last half octave of the audible range. Finding one that performs as well as the towers to extend the low end into infrasonics with the detail and power handling of the main system will be a serious challenge. I am still working on that one. Since they are 4 ohm speakers, a good solid state amp that makes 180 w/ch will give you near field spl of roughly 115 db peaks. That is close enough to live levels that the difference isnt worth arguing about. With power handling of 300 watts, that is sufficient headroom for any reasonable person in their home. Having powered these speakers with up to 350 w/ch I have settled on my old hafler dh 200 which makes 180 w into 4 ohms and never feel there is a shortage of headroom and love the detail and airy highs and the low bass extension the combination gives me. Truly the best $$2500 I have ever spent. If you dont have a pair, get them. If you do have a pair, keep them. A true milestone in speaker design and execution.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 03, 2006]
KQVKQ9
Casual Listener

Strength:

Source differences jump out at you. Very transparent and dynamic. Pretty darn efficient too.

Weakness:

Heavy and hard to carry up stairs. Has silly bi-amp option-don't use that.

It's really surprising to me how this company goes about sales. Nobody seems to know they exist. It's like going into business and forgetting to hang a shingle out. Pretty blasted stupid if you ask me. Great product though. I picked up my pair of VMPS Tower IIse many years ago in trade. I gave up a pair of McIntosh MC30 and a pair of Quad ESL on hardwood Levinson (I'm told) stands. I had plenty of those overrated Mac amps and I got the Quads at a garage sale so I didn't have a lot invested anyway. What really sold me on the VMPS was the hardware value. So much HiFi is look and nameplate but little actual componentry. You know what I mean, like you're buying empty boxes at high prices. The VMPS was different. Big and heavy with lots of real stuff that cost money to make. Not an empty box. After having KLH 9's, big Accoustats and the Quads, the VMPS seemed small to me. Everybody writes about the big bass and they certainly can provide that but I see half wits blowing steam about how they take a ton of power. Man, I make tube amps. Lots of tube amps. The VMPS do very well in my big living room with the 25 ft. ceilings on 30 to 40 watts a side. The deal is that if the sound is good you don't need or want to blast the doors out. You do that to compensate if the sound isn't so hot. Say you're using a Krell or Levinson or some other super powered monster for instance. Why so much power? To make it loud. It's far more satisfying to make it sound good. The VMPS for all the hype about bass are responsive as can be. When I switch from one amp to another every week as the next handmade job gets finished I really need to know how the amp sounds. These speakers sure do a better job than the Quads or anything else I've had. No, the Accoustats were great but too dang big. Way too big. I've been playing with this stuff since 1970 and part of the deal is all the guys that I've known that get great components all the time. Expensive stuff, glittery stuff, stuff with great reviews, and it passes right through their hands because after the initial thrill of getting the piece the satisfaction just isn't there. I've kept these speakers and will continue to do so because they are just great. Yes, good value but more that that, they're great and that's not a price thing. Still, I can't help but wonder who runs their marketing. Whoever it is must be asleep at the switch.

Similar Products Used:

Never had anything like them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 09, 2005]
Ricky_NY
AudioPhile

I have been hunting for some great speakers for the past 16 years and have tried speakers like Wilson watt/puppy 5.1,6,B&W 802,Silver Signature 30,genesis V,300,Silverline Audio Sonata,Living Voice,Maggie 3.6,JMLab Mezzo,Von Schweikert VR4 JR ,mk3 SE,Dynaudio 3.3,Avantgarde uno,ATC 100A...etc but I was quite disappointed with most of the above.They are either too rich and colored or too hifi,bright,no emotion or too slow,most of them can't seperate the vocal and the instruments or rather no layering.....etc.I've spent most of my fortune on all the above speakers that can't perform.in the year 2001 I went to the CES show with my wife,I was shocked when we past by the VMPS room.First thing I know this is the speaker for me and my wife agreed with me too.We actually stay in that room for more than 4 hours.The VMPS super tower 2 SE driven by a small int.amp which looks like 50 watts to me (don't know what brand but pretty small)That room really makes me and my wife jaws droped.It is so musical like a live band playing(very raw and real)The system sounded so seamless,bass was very deep and tight,the lower mid was so flash out so unboxy,tone was EXCELLENTTTT.Never heard any system sounded so real for the past 16 years.Highs are so silky smooth very liquid yet extended.Mid range very textured,cystal clear,very dark backgound.The details and dynamic are simply AWESOMEEEEEEE.Soft to loud very impresive.We were stunned when they play Diana Krall live in Paris the piano sounded so accurate like you can tell is a stairway & son & Patricia Barber companian.Bass was very well controlled.This is one hell of a speakers.I highly recommended this VMPS super tower SE.In the End of the CES show VMPS room was awarded best sound.Anyone who want to spend a pair of speaker that cost 15K,I suggest you audit the VMPS speaker first before you regret later.GOOD LUCK

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 04, 2004]
Frank_P
AudioPhile

I was looking for speakers to replace my B&W 801's which I had for a few years. The B&W's were fine speakers but I was now due for a solid step up in performance. I had spent over a year listening to many speakers repeatedly before I was going to make any decision. I had listened to various Focus Audio, Hales , Logan SL3's , Requests & Arieus as well as Theil 3.6 & CS5, Sonus Faber's, Maggies 3.5R , various upper end Genisis, Quad's, Watt Puppy 5.1, and Avalons and probably some other I had forgotten about. Some were in my price range and others were not. I must say that I was strongly biased towards the Logans before I had started out and would have bought them if I had not heard the VMPS Tower Two Special Edition.The others had there various strong points and colourations that made music pleasing but none had the top to bottom rightness of the VMPS Tower 2 . I have never heard a speaker that was so neutral, delicate, light , fast, transparent, boxless and just plain disapeared if the recording and electronics allowed. These speakers are very evenly balanced with top to bottom speed that only an electrostatic or full ribbon(Apogee) can match. Their ability to retrieve detail surpassed even the SL 3's ( on the same electronics ) which I could not believe. Their ability to portray micro dynamics is incredible . What is fun is having musician friends over and just playing music in the background they get drawn in to how realistic the instruments sound and eventualy the focus ends up on which pieces of music they want to hear. They are not without fault,on extreme dynamics they can be out done as well as bass extension into the low 20 hz range. I feel they do require a decent sized room that is well balaned and were the long wall can be used for speaker placement. I tried them on the short wall and the results were good but not up to the speakers full potentail. My room is 25 by 15 ft and it works great. I am also incorporating them into a home theater set up and all of their qualities transport to this areana as well. Movies have taken an a realism that is fun. I would chose I good solid state amp to drive them. I have heard the Krell FPB 300 & 600 's and they sounded fine but they mate better with the Levinson gear such as the 23.5. The 23.5 had more and better bass. It was faster and more transparent as well . These were comments by a Krell dealer which we both had observed. I do not know how tubes would work but my guess is that the bass would suffer unless the amps were hugh. I would stay away from electronics that are bright edgy and or grainy as you will not be able to sit in the room for long. They demand the finest associated equipment that you can afford. I would highly recommend these speaker to a person who likes their recordings of any type of music to sound as the producer intended them to sound. They are designed to a solid set of measurements and credentals which most speakers can not claim much less match. Give them the room , recording and electronics and you to will be a believer.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 29, 2004]
JamesLA
AudioPhile

Auditioned at CES show in montreal. Thunderous tight bass. Doesn't sound like music, it sounds like that artist is right at your home! Not bright, or harsh sounding, very neutral sounding (in a good way) it sound's like everything blends together, its not one driver of the speaker is working harder than the other, (midrange, tweeter...)very seamless.Silky smooth highs,rich clear mid(not boxy at all)EXCELLENTTTTTTTT bass.I actually enjoy the speaker disppeared.AWESOME!!!! speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 24, 2004]
RyanJ
AudioPhile

For the last couple of years, I have been searching for an upper-end speaker system. I have auditioned the Wilson Watt Puppy, Legacy Whisper, Avalon Eidolon, Vandersteen V, Revel, Meridian DSP 6000 and some others I can't remember. On rare occasion when listening to a speaker for the first time, it is only necessary to listen for five seconds before realiazing that the speaker in question is something very special. This is one of those speakers. The longer I listened, the more I appreciated what I was hearing. The overall impression is that the sound is very clean and clear. The speakers develop a remarkable soundstage with rather precise imaging. The driver integration between woofers, midrange and tweeters is exceptionally seamless. Best of all, the speakers disappear as discrete sources of sound and the music smoothly fills the area around and between the speakers. The bass is exceptionally tighttttt,deepppp and clean and very powerful. Their midrange would be hard to beat and the highs are clear and very detailed. The ability of these speakers to reproduce the human voice is uncanny, especially on solos. Their sound is not as cold as the Watt Puppys, generally clearer and with better bass than the Whisper, not as dry as the Eidolon. These speakers are a (if not THE) top contender in their price range and compete very favorably with speakers twice their price. If you fail to personally audition the VMPS Tower Two Special Edition before you buy any speakers up to about $18K, you will probably be better off not listening to them at all after you have bought something else.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 12, 2003]
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

lots

Weakness:

none

Still the best speaker at it's price

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 14, 2003]
rudedog73
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Bass,Mids,Highs,Looks,Price per performance is incomparable!!

Weakness:

NOTHING!!!

I cant stress this enough... if you want a beautiful looking spkr that just kicks "ASS" look no further than VMPS!!! Period!!! Brian's spkrs are always taking awards for "best of show" at the CES for example. He gives you a world class product for a reasonable fee!! I dont need to go into details and write fancy smancy words to tell you how good they are,THEY JUST ARE!!! Go listen to them and see for yourself! For the money you spend and the sound you get there should be no less than 5 stars for these spkrs!! But there always someone that says something bad about something, you know there always one in every crowd saying!!! Oh and one more thing,I'm sick and tired of hearing this crap about the spouse factor, I meen really who has the balls in there relationship? We men are always bragging about our thing's that are bigger than the other guy's stuff in every aspect (if you know what I meen) so why are spkrs any different? Buy them 1'st and then let the little lady hear them,she'll change her mind later,trust me!!

Similar Products Used:

Cinepro,Vpi,AudioControl,Taralabs,Krell,Martin Logans,Mark Levinson,Adcom,B&W,ClearAudio,Rega RB600,Audioquest

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 01, 2002]
John Cook
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

check it out yourself

Weakness:

none i guess...lol

It took me a while to decide a VMPS tower 2 SE or SF Amati,JM Lab Utopia or Proac response 4.After a friend brought me to audit his VMPS Tower2 SE,my mind is already made up.This is the speaker I've always wanted.I was lucky to audit his simple yet very good systemHis whole system only cost him like 15K.All items are preowned but the cd player.Sound like he brought the whole band group home.I was shock like some one really singing in front of me.Highs was really silky,liquid airy n rounded....grainless Mid very textured yet open and a little sweet very warm but not boxy talk about the bass WOW ...I swearI've never heard such tone which keep changing this is what i call real deep tight bass.Focus real tight separation and layering excellent.By the way,is this speaker recommended?If not,I think all these reviewers must be deaf or corrupted.I got much more than I bargain for.I agreed with that guy who said this speaker can easily beat speakers below 50k

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 22  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com