Triangle Comete Floorstanding Speakers

Comete

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
LAURENT   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 2008]
Strength:

Good dynamics
Natural sounds
Plenty of details
Good stereo imaging
5 years warranty

Weakness:

Careful choice of electronics and cables.
Common look

I received my Triangle Comete Ex as a Christmas gift. It is always better to choose one's speakers but I didn't. With my old amp et old cables they didn't sound great. I decided to change my amp et also my cables. I chose a Denon amp relatively neutral and a cable (Van del Hull) which is rather smooth. The result is really great. So these speakers can be great or disappointing depending on the associated equipment. They are high quality speakers with good dynamics and details without being agressive or tiring. They reveal the strenghs and weaknesses of your electronics.
I strongly recommend them.
Laurent

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
kuyajep   AudioPhile [Oct 08, 2008]
Strength:

First rate sound within their operating range.

Weakness:

Not for headbangers.

I have the 25th anniversary model. I agree with all the positive things that have already been said by others. I have them set up in a small room, listening nearfield. The bass is absolutely superb down to the lower limits of the system. I would like to say also, that the speakers benefit from and deserve to be mated to high quality electronics. I'm using Pass Labs (solid state) and Cary Audio (tube) electronics. I've received e-mails from other owners of the 25th anniversaries, one in particular, saying that after 50 yrs in this hobby that these are the best speakers he's ever owned!

Customer Service

Haven't needed any, no problems. Customer Service would be handled through your dealer.

Similar Products Used: Totem Model 1, Spica TC50, Dayton Wright LCM 1, B&W 805.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sesquipedalio   AudioPhile [Oct 21, 2007]
Strength:

Toe tapping, jillywiggling Musicality
Build/look
Clean engageing sound
Fairly forgiving in placement

Weakness:

Lack tight bass below 80/90 Hz (but it is a ported bookshelf so it is expected and not really considered a weakness to me)
No others

I decided to purchase Triangle Comete speakers (they are bookshelf, not floorstanders by the way) without hearing any Triangle equipment - only from the reviews and figured that if they did not fit me, I could resell. OMFG - I would buy any Triangle speaker from now on and would recommend to others to try them out. Very nice soundstage, clean across the spectrum and muscally engaging. They can be pushed to very loud (beyond comfortable andinto painful) listening levels with almost none or no distortion. Being bookshelf, they do not do bass great, but pair with a nice sub and WOW. I have a Musical Fidelity X-150 integrated and X-Ray CD to the Cometes and a Velodyne SPL-R 8 sub. This is a physically small system but competes with my Bryston/Thiel 2.3 in musicality. Really, Traingle is a very nice way to go, especially if you like jazz, blues, classical and rock. Outstanding. I also hear they are more wonderful with tubes.

Similar Products Used: Snell - K series bookshelf
Musical Fidelity X series (150/CD)
Bryston SP 1.7
Thiel 2.3
Rotel CD
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Gerhard Volkmar   AudioPhile [Jul 31, 2007]
Strength:

Great in this combination

Weakness:

Absolute OK

Triangle Comete ES - Anniversary
I have heart it with a Pathos Classic One III and Rega Apollo and Nordost Cable. TOP!l Now I want to buy it. On my list is also the Unison S-2-K. Maybe to little power? Please give me a good choice for Turntable, Phonopre and CD-Player. Please contact: volkmar01@gmx.de. Thank you,

Customer Service

With help

Similar Products Used: Linn Katan
Naim n-sat
3-A Midi Master

with

Audio Innovations Harmonie / Oktave V-40 / Camtech-Audiolab A-8000

and

Linn LP-12 with Ekos and Clearaudio Accurate / Alesis Masterlink
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Max Wickham   AudioPhile [Jan 31, 2007]
Strength:

Smoothness, delicate, detail, speed. Ability to play quietly, yet hear the music well. Above all, they are easy to listen to. Find I often load a CD to hear one cut, and end up listening to most or all of the CD....tough to turn off that power switch.

Weakness:

Lack low bass (altho any speaker this size does). Best in a room that is not large, they are about quality, not quantity. Prob. best for smaller groups rather than full symph. orch.

These are the 25th ann. model, so price is high, and finish is gloss walnut, but that is not the real story. These are the most musical speakers in my experience, and have owned many of the best .....B&W, Thiel, Maggies, older Celestions, Apogees and many others. Prices of prev. speakers ran to 6000. Having said that, they are not everyman's speaker, but they happen to suit my tastes perfectly. They have delicate detail at low volume that lets you hear exactly what the music is saying. Lovely vocals, and true inst. sounds also. Not the sort of speaker where you say....WOW those are great speakers, they are not impressive in that way, they don't knock your socks off. They would be more likely to make you remark...
." what a beautiful sax or vocal". They are true to the music and the subtle details that escape most speakers. Not at their best playing loud, and would not be the choice for hard rock. But feed them a well recorded string quartet, or classical guitar or jazz group and they are wonderful. Have many 33 rpm records going back decades, which I have owned for decades too. Heard them on multitudes of speakers, and for the most part these Triangles are able to extract the music and make even older mono recordings enjoyable....I keep hearing things I never knew were on the records. Do full justice to modern well recorded CDs too. As to prev. comments re the bass....what I hear is a bass that does nothing wrong, but it is somewhat lightweight, in fact the speaker itself is voiced in that direction, they are not about weight and impact, but they ARE amazingly quick and agile. They need exellent quality amp, but not high power. Using the Creek 5350SE amp, and it's 85 w/ch is plenty in my small room. Added a small Velodyne sub to fill the low bass. I am just so pleased with them!

Similar Products Used: Prob. the speaker most like them in size and general quality has been the B&W Matrix 805, which I used in this same room, and with the same Velodyne sub. The 805 is an excellent and accurate system, but very diff. than the Triangle.
With the B&W I could never get the details or sense of the music until I cranked them a bit. Not to say they needed to be loud, but it was as if the music could not escape the box until the volume filled the room. With the Triangles the music just oozes from the box, and to me that is important. The B&Ws were excellent with full classical orch...good impact and weight (with the sub), these Cometes are pleasing with full orch, but even with the sub there is not that same feeling of weight.... personally I can live with that. Yesterday I played a CD I've had for years by Boccherini. Classical recording of Cello Conc. A lighter weight kind of music written in about 1800 (compared to say Beethoven). I was entranced. Was as if I never really heard what the music was all about before. Have had the same feeling with some vocal/acoustic inst....with the Triangles I finally understand.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ridecycling   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 15, 2006]
Strength:

Mids soar and the bass will suprise you at times especially at volume, tube friendly

Weakness:

Finish is a bit weak - the deserve to be in wood vaneer, but that is just my pref.

Bought these sight unseen or better yet bought them unheard - the little well not so little bookshelf speakers are fast and dynamic but not overpowering, glorious midrange sounds - I found the bass a bit muddy until I bi-wired them that seemed to tighten it up a lot, but also it was early on I am pretty sure the Comete's were not yet broken in - they get better with time- vocals are superbe - I use a Jolida 302b so bass is not deep and hard but the mids are absolutely spot on yet the bass is very nice most especiall for a speaker of their size - one would be hard pressed to find a better sounding speaker for their price range and size - they just play music really nicely. The 25th anniversary models look awesome! Rega planet CD sounds really good with the Comete ES's as well, very smooth and lots and lots of detail but never harsh or schrill - its a nice combo especially with the tubes. I think these speakers love the tubes - with a 502 set up I bet the bass would be even more powerful, but the mids delictable. You gotta hand it to the French they are doing a lot of really nice two channel right now and not just super high end, but affordable product - so much for freedom fries - don't hesitate with these Triangles they are great sounding speakers.

Similar Products Used: Rogers LS2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
CDG   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 24, 2002]
Strength:

Overall ability especially with the midrange.

Weakness:

Revealing beyond their price. 4 Ohm design makes them less easy to drive than their 91db sensitiviy makes out.

These speakers tell it how it is. They have bass if the front end decides to deliver it; for example - I borrowed a Linn Classik - upped the bass with its remote control - and found the bass to be extremely well controlled and deep. The midrange ability is incredible too; I borrowed by father's old 1956 Leak Stereo 20 (repaired and with new valves) and the sound was gushing superb midrange with a honey sweet treble - an excellent match. Be careful though, they won't hide the weaknesses of a poor front end setup.

Similar Products Used: Dynaudio, Mission, TDL, Kef.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
booboohifi   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 21, 2002]
Strength:

Easy to drive. Good imagery. Great looking.

Weakness:

Bright sounding. Finish easily damaged.

I needed a super sensitive speaker for my integrated valve amp.My existing speakers,Musical Technology Harriers were too boomy for my liking.As the Cometes have a 91db sensistivity I decided to give them a go. Out of the box I had to give them about 120hrs to run in before I could do them justice.Up to then they sounded far too cold and analytical.Once run in I the imagery fantastic and no boominess when postioned properly.They have a warm flavour but are not as rich sounding than my MT speakers. They are also a bit bright sounding and as I tweak my system,trying sorbothane feet etc the brightness seems to become even more apparent.I reckon this is the main difference between British and French speakers.They are more sensitive to postioning than any other speaker I have owned which I see as a positive thing as I can have fun fine tuning the bass.I tried out the Titus which is the cheapest in the range and the floor standing Zephyrs. These turned out to be lighter and deeper sounding respectively but with the same basic flavour . No great surprises here. I tried the Cometes with a rather old NAD solid state (can''''t remember the model but it was something budget) and I found that I had to adjust the tone controls to stop the bass sounding muffled.I think this amp wasn''''t up to the job.I am sure that these speakers will sound great with a lot of solid state amps. These speakers have a nice reddish brown lacquer type finish on the front and a matt black for the rest of the cabinets.Full marks for looks.Be warned though , the varnish damages oh so easily.

Similar Products Used: Titus, Zeyphr.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Rainer asd   Audiophile [Nov 06, 2001]
Strength:

Awesome bass

Weakness:

Who is the one who said no bass ??

Christ , These speakers are the greatest bass pumper I've ever heard before my entire life . Well composed even under high load , sweet sounding yet not overly bright . Period .

Similar Products Used: KEF Cresta series, Klipsch SB-1,Tannoy M series ,
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Greg   Audiophile [Feb 04, 2001]
Strength:

Awesome Mids & Highs

Weakness:

None

Awesome bookshelf speaker, very dynamic & open !!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com