Totem Acoustic Mani-2 Floorstanding Speakers

Mani-2

User Reviews (37)

Showing 1-10 of 37  
chris   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 01, 2013]

best bookshelf ever here..cost me 2000$ not the signature..neutral speakers Liquid-smooth you can linsen for long time without to be tired. great bass.deliver bass you'd never expect from small speakers... Soundstage does seem to be a little narrower, what expect from bookshelf speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
teikinas   Audio Enthusiast [May 25, 2005]
Strength:

Bass was greally good for a small speaker.

Weakness:

$4,000, are you kidding me? Way, way over priced. I have built my own speakers so I have a good idea of what they cost to make. I really did not think that the tweeter was all that detailed. In addition if you moved around the room, the sound changed. They have a rather small sweet spot. I have heard a lot of $4,000 speakers, not incuding the stand which you have to purchase, I would rather have.

I got to be honest with you, I did not care for these speakers. I thought that they were a little dark. You better have a real expensive amp to drive these babies. I rather have a different pair of speakers, and use that money on a other parts of my system.

Similar Products Used: Aerials, JM Labs, Tyler. I used a Rega Planet CD Player, and a C200 watt Coda amp and pre-amp.
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
joper   AudioPhile [Sep 08, 2004]
Strength:

Thhe 2-way system is simpler, therefore less artifacts and crossover problems. I feel it's much smoother in presentation with a crystal clear midrange and avery dynamic bass

Weakness:

Needs high quality power both in current and amperage.

This is an update to my 1999 review. I recently purchased a Rowland system, having owned ML, Pass, CJ., etc.. My system opened up to another level. Componants need to be quality matched. I have been in stereo since the 50's and this is the best system I have ever owned and I've listened to hundreds of combos. Having been involved in the recording industry, I've learned that each of us has our own musical ears therefore personal prejudice always comes into play. In any case, to my ears, the Mani-2s and Rowland system are pure magic, wires and other componants notwithstanding.

Similar Products Used: Levinson, Pass, Conrad Johnson, Krell
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
joper   AudioPhile [Sep 08, 2004]
Strength:

Thhe 2-way system is simpler, therefore less artifacts and crossover problems. I feel it's much smoother in presentation with a crystal clear midrange and avery dynamic bass

Weakness:

Needs high quality power both in current and amperage.

This is an update to my 1999 review. I recently purchased a Rowland system, having owned ML, Pass, CJ., etc.. My system opened up to another level. Componants need to be quality matched. I have been in stereo since the 50's and this is the best system I have ever owned and I've listened to hundreds of combos. Having been involved in the recording industry, I've learned that each of us has our own musical ears therefore personal prejudice always comes into play. In any case, to my ears, the Mani-2s and Rowland system are pure magic, wires and other componants notwithstanding.

Similar Products Used: Levinson, Pass, Conrad Johnson, Krell
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark   AudioPhile [Dec 03, 2002]
Strength:

beautiful to listen to, and beautiful to look at

Weakness:

none

Wow is all I can say, my Mani's are driven by the new McIntosh MA6900, this is a match made in heaven!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Alan   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 04, 2002]
Strength:

Just listen.

Weakness:

Requires very stable and reasonably powerful amplification.

Wonderful small monitor speaker. I was very interested in these after having owned a pair of Linn Sara Isobarik speakers for many years. The Mani-2's have a somewhat similar double woofer system as found in the Sara's and also the legendary Linn DMS Isobarik floor standing speakers. As with the Sara's, the Mani-2's have incredible bass extension for a speaker their size. The Sara's were noted for having a harsh upper midrange problem, but there is no such problem with the Mani-2's. These speakers are smooth as silk from top to bottom. They are excellent for reproduction of all types of music: classical orchestral, piano, strings and quartets, jazz, and pounding rock and roll music as well. They even do a pretty amazing job of filling a fairly large listening room. They are just great, I'm keeping them forever.

Similar Products Used: System includes: Quad 405 and 606 amplifiers. Quad 34 pre amp. AGI 511A pre amp. Linn Sondek LP-12, Grace 747 arm, Grado Reference Platinum cart. Rotel 955AX CD Player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
MIKEY D   AudioPhile [Jul 20, 2002]
Strength:

BASS, BASS, AND NOT JUST LOUD BASS, BUT GOOD QUALLITY TIGHT DEEP BASS..VERY UNCOLORED SOUND... SMOOOOTH!!!!

Weakness:

NEEDS TARGET R-2 STANDS TO BE TRUE MAGIC(make sure you fill stands with sand)

EVEN IN MY LESS THAN PERFECT ROOM, THESE SPEAKERS ARE MAGIC.. WHEN I LISTENED TO THEM I KNEW I WOULD HAVE TO REPLACE MY MARTIN LOGAN SEQUEL 2's.. I'm NOW ABLE TO GET RID OF ALL MY UGLY ROOM TUNES

Similar Products Used: ENERGY C-2's(also very nice)
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gil P   Audiophile [Jan 29, 2002]
Strength:

Organic wholeness in musical presentation, dynamic and involving

Weakness:

Needs very good cables and fussy about amplification. Works well only with high current amlifiers and well made high powered tube amps

One of the most impressive mini-monitor to date. Mine is the Totem Mani 2 Signature series. Comes with upgraded capacitors, ports, binding posts and internal wiring plus Vince Bruzzesse brass medallion affixed on the front of the speakers.

Seamless is the word. Music is holistic and a notch better sounding than the original Mani 2's. The Signature model sounds extremely coherent and musical. It is also very sensitive to the front end employed and the better they get, the further you are transported towards musical nirvana.
I have read the review on the Sonus Faber Extrema and have myself experienced and setup this speaker with a full Krell system powered by the FPB 600. The Mani 2's are up there with the Extrema in all areas except for head banging levels (SPLs). The Signature series just made the Mani 2's disappear and embraces you with musical nuances that gets any listener deeply and totally involved.....of course with the right setup and placement that is. The Mani 2s responds well to 100w tube amps. To further improve the Mani, you need to use Totem Beaks to give the Mani 2's the spatial magic of transporting you to the original event/venue itself.......I am serious about this. No gimmic guys...the beaks really open up the presentation by expanding the soundstage and placing all instruments,vocals in a holographic 3-dimensional space. The "you-are-there" feeling is simply stunning!

For maintenance, polish it with Old English spray polish and not the oil version. You'll be amazed with the colour of the Mani 2's. Dark wood/mahogany that looks like an antique piece of furniture.

Similar Products Used: Martin Logan Aerius, ProAc Response 3, Alon IV, Dahlquist DQ10
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Paul B   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 16, 2000]
Strength:

The best imaging and depth I've ever heard. They are transparent and have a sound which "pulls you" into the music.

Weakness:

Needs a very powerfull amp to drive them; A poor quality CD will sound even worse on the 2's

The best imaging and depth I've ever heard. They are transparent and have a sound which "pulls you" into the music.
Expensive, but well worth it. (BTW, they can be purchased in Canada much less expensively and with NAFTA there is NO duty.)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cortes   Audiophile [Jan 23, 2000]
Strength:

Everything you want from an electrodynamic speaker

Weakness:

You'd better have lots of power to feed them

I've been living with my Mani2 for some time now. These speakers are fantastic, they simply disappear in a good system. I don't have two speakers in my listening room, but two windows wide open on music. If something sounds bad, blame the recording or the rest of the equipement.

Those who listen to live music will love their natural bass, their image, their neutrality. I've heard a lot of other speakers (including 15.000$ stuff) but none convinced me they were better than optimized Mani2.

Four stars only fot value rating because they cost twice as much in France as in Canada.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 37  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com