Technics SB-LX90K Floorstanding Speakers

Technics SB-LX90K Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Technics SB-LX90K Bass-Reflex 3-Way Speaker (PAIR)

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Nov 21, 2017]
Thomas
Casual Listener

Love to speakers great Bass and everything best speaker so far I've had they sound great the 3-way speakers they're either 15 or 17 that sounds really good if you have a chance find you some and get them alright them at a five-star all the way around

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 02, 2016]
Jon
AudioPhile

I had a brother in-law who had a pair of these & I wanted a pair for myself & after searching for about 3 years I found my own pair at a local pawn shop. I couldn't pull the $100 out of my wallet fast enough! They were already old & beat up, after a year I had to re-foam them & had them for an additional 8 years. I loved these speakers to death! Unfortunately, I finally managed to throw a voice coil in one of the 15's. It was a sad day I tell you!!! Wound up getting rid of the 15's & putting a pair of 15 inch crunch fat boy car subs in their place. They are some real bass thumpers but just no comparison to the sound quality of the original 15's. I want another pair of these so badly! I've learned, next time ill take the speaker in to have the voice coil repaired! I've been a stereo/speaker nut since I was 6 & got my first stereo, since then I've had hundreds of speakers & the SB-LX90's are my favorites! Any help on finding another pair for a decent price would be awesome!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 06, 2010]
tom
Audio Enthusiast

Bought these sb- pro 9 speakers and they sound great for there age. I will use them for partys mostly. they have 15" subs that pound great,and the mid is just fine at high volume.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 26, 2010]
Corn Dogg
Audio Enthusiast

Well, well, well.....to all the Technics bashers, I am your worst nightmare. I have three pairs of these in three separate systems...and the sound is awesome!! (One pair is a set of SB-CR99s...same exact speaker, different model number.) Just for reference, i'm not running entry level head units to these puppies either - one Technics SUV-X800, one SA-GX910 and one SUV-85A...all class A (or AA) amplifiers / receivers with 10 gauge OFC (oxygen free copper) speaker cable and Python Gold Plated OFC RCA interconnects (all RCAs are 3' in length...the shorter, the better.) Each system has it's own SH-8066 12 band touch sensitive EQ in the loop as well as a SV-DA10 DAT (Digital Audio Tape) deck, RS-DC10 DCC (Digital Compact Cassette Deck), RS-BX606 3 head cassette deck, a SJ-MD150 and two SJ-MD100 Mini Disc recorders, two SL-MC7's and a SL-MC6 110+1 CD changer, two SH-AC500Ds and one SH-AC300 Dolby decoder, ST-GT550 and ST-GT350 Class AA tuners (for the SUV amps) as well as three SL-BD22 turntables all with Audio Technica 311EP cartridges (15-27k frequency response and 29/18 dB of channel separation on these babies!!! Not bad for P-Mounts!!) If I add in the Panasonic LaserDisc Players (with optical outs for the AC-3...hehe), DVD players and Hi-Fi VCRs I have 3 massive systems, all 'higher' end Technics / Panasonic gear. Mind you, the speakers have a frequency response of 31-22k (we only hear well from 20-20k), so if you learn to read the specs, you can never go wrong. With the EQ tweaked right, the lows are very powerful yet not overbearing with well dispersed mids and crisp highs. My neighbors love when I play Lou Donaldson "Midnight Creeper" off my DAT or OutKast "Jazzy Belle" , Sexual Harassment "I Need A Freak" or Pink Floyd "Shine On You Crazy Diamond" off of the LPs. The sound is transparent and honest. Now, if you keep your speakers on the floor (these work best at a minimum of a foot and a half off the ground, just about listening level), use thin cheap speaker cable cut into two different lengths (one speaker may be louder than the other....cut the wire the same length & roll up the excess if need be & use 12 gauge or thicker - they handle 200W a piece for God's sake!) or have them less than 10 feet apart (hence the term "channel separation"!!! 8 feet apart should be sufficient) you won't get the full benefit of these speakers. Furthermore, my advice to you and all who read this, place your speakers no matter what kind / type up off the floor to the listening level...you might change your mind about a lot of things. The floor and carpet as well as furniture and the way it is arranged in the listening environment play a huge role in how sound is projected (and absorbed) into the room. You can drive the speakers well with 40W of clean power a piece and be amazed. Besides, who lies on the floor all the time to listen to music anyway?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 05, 2010]
audionerd16
Audio Enthusiast

i like the sb-lx90's they deliver awesome bass and thats what i like i am listening to lil' jon on them right now ha ha

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 28, 2005]
Rock789
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Low price, Loud, Great for parties!

Weakness:

Not a high quality sound.

I have had the SB-LX90 speakers since 1997. (I think the k series had a black finish rather than a wood finish.) These speakers are very loud, and do not sound bad for $100 each. Very good for outside parties. Ok for music and movies, but remember it is a $100 speaker. They are not as clear and well defined as more expensive speakers.

Similar Products Used:

sony, pioneer, jvc, klh, radioshack, homebuilt...

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 10, 2004]
240RMS
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great bass and a very acceptable price for the quality of sound they deliver.

Weakness:

A slight exageration of higher frequency sounds, easilly overcome through attenuating the treble a little bit.

I have had these speakers for 8 years and they sound great. Matched with a high current receiver they deliver very powerfull bass. I am running them off of a sansui 9090 receiver, and they handle the power and deliver great clarity at any volume. They are great for parties, or for listening to music in the background.They acheived very comparable results in Consumer reports tests between speakers, and toped the performance of speakers over $900 (JBL's). I love these speakers, and never intend to sell them.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 29, 2002]
Frank
AudioPhile

Strength:

None.... except price

Weakness:

Dinosaurian Design..Poor elements & Build..A K-mart audiophilian dream.....

This speaker from Technics is definitely Stone Age Tech & sound..3 way designs are rare & could easily be outdone with the likes of NHT & others..in a Superior 2 way design. It looks & sounds like 70's stuff... But is ok for the garage or alike.. Check out Cambridge Soundworks & such If Budget gear is needed....

Similar Products Used:

None except what I had back in '76 called...Electrophonic..

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com