Technics SB-A28 Floorstanding Speakers

SB-A28

120W RMS - 3 Way

User Reviews (19)

Showing 1-10 of 19  
Fusky The Husky   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 26, 2016]

I bought these off Kijiji for 10$ Cad and when i got them home the first thing i did was connect them to my 80Watt a side Sony amplifier and almost instantly noticed that the bass accuracy was absolute garbage the mids and highs were mushed and the sound quality was horrible. the next thing after i noticed this was connected them to my 320Watt a side amp and took these things out side and put about 100 Watts though them. they do play much better when they are turned up but still they are party speaker you can crank em and party where quality will not be a big deal. But if you want a good party speaker i recommend the Sound dynamic 300TIs they have much better audio quailty while still being able to take a beating :D

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 01, 2015]

These speakers came with a Technics Rack system purchased back in 1998...
SU-G86 Amplifier/Receiver, SL-PD665 5 disc changer, RS-TR180 Dual Tape deck, Tuner and Eq... 17 years later, with only 1 woofer and 1 tweeter replaced, these speakers are still pounding away and pissing off my neighbors..... And that is at 1/4 volume

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Peter   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 01, 2014]

They sound surprisingly good. I guess a lot depends what amplifier you have. I used Denon UD-M50 (35W) and those speakers sounded pretty flat. When I changed for Denon UPA-200 (40W) speakers sound very thick and accurate, bass is moving well!!!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
choskins   AudioPhile [Jun 10, 2002]
Strength:

12" driver, 3 way design, Twin port, 120 Watt / 240 Watt Max power handling 35 Hz - 35 Khz frequency response Dirt cheap--alot of bang for the buck

Weakness:

none

I've been using my speakers for about three years now and I am pleased with there performance. I'm using a amp on these babies thats putting out 150 Watts per channel. I like the sound of these speakers. Although the 12" woofer doesn't move alot, I do get quite a bit of BASS.. They are not the prettiest speakers around but they look o.k and they can take one hell of a beating. The only problem I have experienced with mine is overheating after a 8 hour party with the amp @ three quarter volume.I'd recommend these speakers to anyone and i'm buying another set for my own use..........For $200.00 Canadian, I can't lose.

Similar Products Used: Realistic, Pioneer, J.V.C, Paradigm, J.B.L, Cerwin Vega, Peavey
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Armageddous   AudioPhile [May 06, 2002]
Strength:

Power handling, looks, deep bass

Weakness:

ugly

I bought these speakers for my birthday, and I agree that the woofer doesn''t move. But if you like loud, clear and ''room-fillinf'' music.. The infestment is well worth it. I love them, and kickin'' with my 10" JBL Car subs on my stereo, I can rock ANY of my neighbours

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 12, 2002]
Strength:

Affordable, They only costed me $200 CAD. Great for someone who cant tell the difference between tv speakers and a home theater.

Weakness:

Not adequite bass, and not very accurite sound.

Overall good speakers for the price if you like to blast music for parties or other events. There isnt very good sound quality, and they lack bass, which is suprising considering they have 12" woofers. Treble and mids are also not very accurite. Great for maby kids, or to play in loud environments where sound quality will not be noticed. They were good for the about 3 years or so I used them for, but their use of simply making noise has been exceeded and I got a new pair of Athena AS-F2s to replace them with, now that I realise what good sound is.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Chris Delorme   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2002]
Strength:

Price, power handling, 12" woofer, aesthetics.

Weakness:

12" doesn''t move, they look nice when you balance em with a folded piece of paper under the right corner.

Bought em when I was young and naive, thought they looked sweet and was hyped over the 12" woofers. Originaly had em hooked up to an older NAD amp which kicked out nice bass but has since retired. I''ve now got them hooked up to a Yamaha RX-V596 which is somewhat bright, without a sub the bass isn''t close to adequate, the woofers on the Technics, for 12", don''t move. The Cabinets are poor, uneven and light and the screens are the worsts I''ve ever dealt with. Put aside all of this and we''ve got a decent speaker for the price. It''s a good thing they''re 3-way speakers because without the frequency dispersion the tweeters and/or mids wouldn''t be able to handle any more range than what they do. All in all I think I got what I paid for and maybe a little more. For a starving student they are the perfect speaker which can and will satisfy most uneducated ears, the perfect "party speaker" we''ll say. But if you''re looking for a little more then I''d certainly suggest investing in a little more.

Similar Products Used: Sound Dynamics, D-Box, JBL
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Chris Delorme   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2002]
Strength:

Price, power handling, 12" woofer, aesthetics.

Weakness:

12" doesn''t move, they look nice when you balance em with a folded piece of paper under the right corner.

Bought em when I was young and naive, thought they looked sweet and was hyped over the 12" woofers. Originaly had em hooked up to an older NAD amp which kicked out nice bass but has since retired. I''ve now got them hooked up to a Yamaha RX-V596 which is somewhat bright, without a sub the bass isn''t close to adequate, the woofers on the Technics, for 12", don''t move. The Cabinets are poor, uneven and light and the screens are the worsts I''ve ever dealt with. Put aside all of this and we''ve got a decent speaker for the price. It''s a good thing they''re 3-way speakers because without the frequency dispersion the tweeters and/or mids wouldn''t be able to handle any more range than what they do. All in all I think I got what I paid for and maybe a little more. For a starving student they are the perfect speaker which can and will satisfy most uneducated ears, the perfect "party speaker" we''ll say. But if you''re looking for a little more then I''d certainly suggest investing in a little more.

Similar Products Used: Sound Dynamics, D-Box, JBL
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Chris Delorme   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2002]
Strength:

Price, power handling, 12" woofer, aesthetics.

Weakness:

12" doesn''t move, they look nice when you balance em with a folded piece of paper under the right corner.

Bought em when I was young and naive, thought they looked sweet and was hyped over the 12" woofers. Originaly had em hooked up to an older NAD amp which kicked out nice bass but has since retired. I''ve now got them hooked up to a Yamaha RX-V596 which is somewhat bright, without a sub the bass isn''t close to adequate, the woofers on the Technics, for 12", don''t move. The Cabinets are poor, uneven and light and the screens are the worsts I''ve ever dealt with. Put aside all of this and we''ve got a decent speaker for the price. It''s a good thing they''re 3-way speakers because without the frequency dispersion the tweeters and/or mids wouldn''t be able to handle any more range than what they do. All in all I think I got what I paid for and maybe a little more. For a starving student they are the perfect speaker which can and will satisfy most uneducated ears, the perfect "party speaker" we''ll say. But if you''re looking for a little more then I''d certainly suggest investing in a little more.

Similar Products Used: Sound Dynamics, D-Box, JBL
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Owen   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 15, 2000]
Strength:

Great bass, awesome mid and tweeds, good looking, lots of power. Double band pass.

Weakness:

A little tipsy

The guy who said that these don't have good bass was wrong. He had it hooked up to a Minisystem with no power. You have to have these puppies hooked up to a real system. I have the 12" version and the sound is good. The teeds and mids have quality sound. The cost is not too much only about $500 (CND).

Similar Products Used: N/A
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 19  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com