Tannoy S8 Floorstanding Speakers

Tannoy S8 Floorstanding Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 15  
[Jul 03, 2019]
resncx


Strength:

It's a really neutral speaker that won't punish you too much on poor recordings. Imaging is wide, deep, and delivery is silky smooth. If you pair this with other components that don't have significant performance variations, you will be amazed at what they can do. I bought mine for $350 shipped on Ebay and it now feels like I stole them! I have them paired to a McIntosh MC7106 in bridged mode at 320 watts, a McIntosh MA6100 for the preamp, and a Rega P3 turntable with the Shure V15VMR. I wouldn't think of replacing these speakers unless it's a leap to like the B&W 801. I've owned the Paradigm Studio 100s and while they are excellent, they can hurt you on horns in a way the Tannoys never come close to achieving even at high volumes. Buy them! Everything everyone has said here is true which is why I bought mine 5 years ago and if I ever do make that last speaker leap these will still be in the house somewhere.

Weakness:

None that I've experienced in 5 years of use

Price Paid:
350
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Apr 08, 2015]
Ricardo
Audio Enthusiast

These Tannoy S8's are fabulous! Very big and powerfull bass, a clear midrange and an easy treble. Exellent focus on imaging! These speakers are neutral en very detailled.
I use an Arcam A80 an CD73 Arcam cd player.
I have owned the Tannoy System 800's but there are much more powerfull. I also owned the Paradigm monitor 7v4 wich is much more bright. There are more neutral and easy listening.

Great value!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 06, 2007]
Mike Boniface
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very clear and neutral, plenty of tight and accurate bass, excellent sound stage/imaging. Digs deeper than expected.

Weakness:

Can be timid at lower volumes. Also can be bright depending on other components used.

I started to put together a 2 channel system around a McIntosh MC7270 that I found for pretty cheap and stumbled upon these speakers.

A friend I work with also does high end stereo/HT installs on the side. He said he had a pair of these and a S8C all NIB on his shelf collecting dust and would part with them for $500. How could I say no?

First impression wasn't much of a good one. They need a long break in, at least 20 hours to sound decent, and appear to be fully broken in around 100.

Once broken in, they will incredible. Very clear and neutral, tight and accurate bass, excellent sound stage. Unless it's a upgrade to the S10, I don't see myself getting rid of these anytime soon, they're keepers!

Similar Products Used:

McIntosh, Infinity, Triad

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 06, 2007]
Mike Boniface
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Very clear and neutral, plenty of tight and accurate bass, excellent sound stage/imaging. Digs deeper than expected.

Weakness:

Can be timid at lower volumes. Also can be bright depending on other components used.

I started to put together a 2 channel system around a McIntosh MC7270 that I found for pretty cheap and stumbled upon these speakers.

A friend I work with also does high end stereo/HT installs on the side. He said he had a pair of these and a S8C all NIB on his shelf collecting dust and would part with them for $500. How could I say no?

First impression wasn't much of a good one. They need a long break in, at least 20 hours to sound decent, and appear to be fully broken in around 100.

Once broken in, they will incredible. Very clear and neutral, tight and accurate bass, excellent sound stage. Unless it's a upgrade to the S10, I don't see myself getting rid of these anytime soon, they're keepers!

Similar Products Used:

McIntosh, Infinity, Triad

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 12, 2005]
alan
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clean mid range, great deep bass of 30Hz and clean high vocal sound. Great for music and HT. Can go really loud or low volume (-36db) and have nice clean sound.

Weakness:

Look without cover and size might be a problem.

Great speakers for the price I got them at. I used them for my HT and music listening and sound really well. Great deep bass with its 8" driver and really clean sound. I can even watch moives without a sub and still have great bass. Even tho I'm just using a HT receiver, still sound really well for music. I bet it can sound much better and warmer on tube amps.

Similar Products Used:

Kinima Hi-G2 *really good sounding Canadian made speakers but non famous. went bankrupt couple years ago tho :(

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 28, 2005]
travk13
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

image .. none critical positioning .. full range vocals ..

Weakness:

looks .. kinda bland..

beautiful!!!!!!! greatest sound ever .. .. vocals imaging wow.. for the $ nothing comes close .. must .. bi wire .. i use a adcom 545 and wow .. amzing .. since grabbing a set of mx1 m bookshelves i thought tannoy was worth giving a shot .. oh wow .. they were awesome then grabbed a dc06 center channel .and was tickled pink no goin dc tannoy s all around in one of my main listening rooms .... tannoy has given me something ive searched for years .. at a reasonable cost..

Similar Products Used:

klipsch forte .. paradigm studio... kef.. nht ..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 31, 2002]
magictooth
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Overall neutrality. Excellent clarity especially through the midrange.

Weakness:

Wife isn't exactly keen on the look.

Thought I should write a review of these speakers. I just wrote one for Nuance so I thought I should up my karma and write a nice one. I was looking for speakers about 2 years ago and went to every big box store (Future Shop, A&B, etc) and had a listen to all the brands out there like Bose, Sony, Yamaha, Energy, Mission, etc. I then went to a number of smaller outlets and tried the less mass market consumer oriented, higher end brands like B&K, Paradigm, Axiom, Monitor, etc. I didn't have any price range in mind, but I was hoping to spend less than $2000US. I finally stopped at a little shop and tried out their Tannoy speakers. The guys were great and very accomodating. I brought in every sort of speaker to A/B and they'd go through and hook them up so we could have a listen. They even let me take home their S8L/R so I could A/B at my place or at some other hi-fi stores. They were pretty confident about their product. In the end, the neutrality of these speakers made the decision an easy one. I've had the speakers for about 18 months and still no apparent problems. My wife who initially said, "big deal, a speaker is a speaker," finally agreed that she could listen to these speakers all the time. We finally upgraded the receiver and DVD player to Integra DTR and DPS 7.2, and WOW the whole setup sounds amazing now. I can't really imagine another setup that sounds this good for this small amount of money. If you're in the market for new speakers, give this brand a try. They're hard to find (I think there's only 50 dealers in North America), but if you can find them, give your ears a pleasant treat.

Similar Products Used:

Paradigm, B&W, B&K, Monitor, Sinclair, Energy, Mission, Bose, many, many others.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 31, 2000]
Richard
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

outstanding performance in low, mid and high

Weakness:

the annoying sound of my neighbour trying to get my attention when I turn the volume up!

When you buy the Onkyo TX-DS777 receiver, you need to have a pair of main speakers who perform well in stereo and ofcourse in THX surround. So, after the usual search you people know about, I ended up choosing B&W 604 SII or Tannoy Saturn S8. When I read about the dual concentric technology and heard the price, I took the chance by ordering the Saturn without even hearing them.
I never regret this gamble. All the frequencies of the speaker are heard in the same proportions. So, not to much low, mid or high, just clear, sparkling music. In THX they perform outstanding and make a perfect combination with my Tannoy mSub 10 subwoofer, Saturn S6C center and B&W DS6 dipoles.
My little 6 x 5 m livingroom will never be the same....

Similar Products Used:

Magnat

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 23, 1999]
Dean
Audio Enthusiast

I've been checking here for awhile and haven't noticed any reviews, so I guess I'll be the first. Started looking about a year ago to upgrade speakers, had a 1975 pair of still great condition KLH Model 6's - not state of the art by any stretch today, but pretty good little speakers for what they do. Listened to Infinity's, Klipsch, Polk, Vandersteens, Bose, and other Tannoys, ranging up to 2500/pr.(3000/pr for the Inf's). I was picky - wanted as much bang for the buck as I could find (started wanting to spend 800/pr). Wanted a sound for all types of music that was bright, open, full midrange, good sound stage, smooth highs, could be played loud w/out speaker damage, accurate, and realistic. Like I said I was picky. The S8's met the requirement in every category (I found biwiring them was best). In a very large listening room the S10's would probably provide more adequate bass, but the S8's more than adequately fill my room of 14x13. The S8's bass will not hit your chest like the 12" woofers do in my KLH 6's, but then I suspect the KLH is a tad unrealistic in this area. For 1500 a pair they have to be among the best deals available. Do not fail to give them a serious listen if you are looking for great sounding speakers at a reasonable price.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 11, 2001]
Bob
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Incredibly natural sound

Weakness:

need good clean power to realize what they can really do

I researched many speakers and funneled my decision down to Mirage OM9's and the Tannoy S8's. Found a store that carried both - London Audio - and that allowed me to A/B both of these picks.

The sales rep explained that the Tannoys are more natural sounding while the OM9's were more "flowery" and warned that the "flowery" type speakers, while sounding good at first, can begin to fatigue the ear over extended listening periods.

We used an Integra 6.2 ( 100w/ch ) that I am purchasing for an A/V set up. The OM9's lept off the page with brightness and liveliness. The Tannoys sounded more reserved by comparison but after 1 hour of A/B'ing both with many of my own!!! cd's, the Tannoys took hold of me and would not let go. I could listen to these for hours.

My long term plan is to purchase a Musical Fidelity power amp and just for the fun of it, I asked to hear the Tannoys on such an amp or something close. He set up a Chord amp and let the Tannoys rip. OH MY GOD!

I was transported to another world, one that I have not been to often in my life. I did not want to leave the store. It was a close to live sounding live music as one could get. I have done more research and read the of the Rolling Stone top 100 rock albums of all time, over 60% of them were mixed with Tannoy speakers - this largely due in part to the nuetrality of the Tannoys. Sooooooo

If you love music, simple demo a Tannoy with a audophile grade amp - if for nothing else but the shear joy of music.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 15  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com