Tannoy S10 Floorstanding Speakers

Tannoy S10 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Dual-Concentric 10in and 10in bass

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 25  
[Nov 13, 2018]
charr61


Strength:

Cannot believe I read someone post you cannot listen to these for very long. ha. I cannot imagine listening to another speaker for any length of time after buying a set of these two summers ago and could listen to these 24/7 and have done so. On the used market and in good condition, I cannot imagine a better value out there and have owned many high end speakers. If you want soft, they play soft, if you want to run up the volume of course they will play loud but one thing, they play super super clear and precise no matter which way you go. I didnt want a bookshelf speaker as most are small and bring a small sound. These s10s arent the biggest out there but they bring such a neutral non clinical sound to the ear, its purely magic. Imaging is amazing and for the price, even new, its a a steal to the ears and your wallet..

Weakness:

My weakness - I didnt find a set long ago wasting time and money on speakers that just didnt have it'..

Price Paid:
975
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2017
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 16, 2012]
shakeer
AudioPhile

Hai iam from kuwait iam using thies product more than two years amazing sonic performer allrounder,i run thies speaker amp ,marantz pm 11 s2 two numbers mono, mono
super cd , denon 1510. interconnector chord anthem 2, speaker cable chord signature,
wonderfull speaker when use proper. purchasrse and enjoy music

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 13, 2008]
robertocavalli
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity. Neutrality. Tonal balance. Big and 3D soundstage. Deep bass

Weakness:

They need good equipment and a big listening room for the best performence.

Finally, I could find a nos pair. Tannoy DC is a really great success for the speaker history. I have used many speaker before. These are like nothing. They play fantastic all kind of good recorded music. Classical jazz rock new age, etc.. whatever you wanna listen...

Similar Products Used:

Quadral, B&W, Cabasse, Infinity, etc..

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 19, 2007]
noyan akdulun
AudioPhile

Strength:

Perfect sounding! Very contolled but powerful bass. Mids are very natural and loud. Higs are extended. Big sounding dual concentric loudspeakers. Cabinet is too big and drivers are very attractive looking. I paid only 1150euro for such top quality.

Weakness:

Nona at all.

Incredible good sounding beautiful loudspeakers. Very suitable for tube amplifiers(93db sensivity). I am listening them with my GM70 SET Class A1 tube amp. Very lovely and loud sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 05, 2007]
Noyan Akdulun
AudioPhile

Strength:

Very beautiful attractive looking big cabinets. Sound is very loud and well balanced. Bass, mids and highs all is very very good. Thanks Tannoy!

Weakness:

None.

I was looking for Tannoy Saturn S8 for upto 1000 Euros. By the chance recently i found in excellent condition S10 loudspeakers for 1400 Euros and did not hesitate to buy them. Actualy i did not listen them until I buy them. I had only read the comments of the people. After listening by tube amplifier in home: Wow! What an amazing loud, open and sweet sound! Orchestra like playing in front of me. I haven't listen such big bass before. Incredible thing is for me, unlike other loudspeakers Tannoys are giving very deep bass but very controlled. I am really totaly satisfied with them. I am listening jazz, folk and vocal musics. I strongly offer you to buy them.

Similar Products Used:

Onkyo-Audioevent AE-8.1, Infinity IL40

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 07, 2003]
fiat_uno_start2
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Just everything!

Weakness:

Not always stylish, but hey the great one's never are the manufacturer has spent more time on the sound than the box. Although the saturn range I like. Its a speaker that is not afraid to be one and (I think) they have a classic elegant style that will never date?

I have been using tannoy loudspeakers now for about 8 years (all different models. I have had Tannoy 636's, Mx4's, MxC, 605's, S10's, S8's, S8c, eyris3's, Mx1's and the eyrisC. I have to conclude there isnt a better loudspeaker manufacturer in the world! Bold statement I know. I have listend to many a big box, slim and elegant, small and compact and speaker d'jour. But nothing compairs to a tannoy duel concentric, its just real. If u don't like a speaker that is real and lets you hear everthing dont buy a tannoy and as a few reviewers have said forget anything you think you know about listenting to a good pair of speakers, because the speakers are not the focus here it is the music. They are balanced, tonal, harmonic, effortless to listen to and it doesnt matter what kind of music you listen to the duel concentrics are fantastice from emotional jazz to a full sacle explosion in dolby (why do you think that this design has been in production since the 40's) Tannoy I must admit are not good at metal dome tweeters (real harsh only exeption is the eyris) and the S10's bass can be a bit overwhelming at times, but what do you expect from twin 10"? Now for the S10's if you have them you'll know what im saying, if your undecided about buying them, let me make the decision for you BUY THEM! Arguments; there big, who cares its not about the cabinet its about the emotion! PS If you want to contact me to talk tannoy my e mail address is fiat_uno_start2@yahoo.co.uk

Similar Products Used:

Have used a multitude of different hardware but I think that they most suit a bi-amped mos-fet.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 15, 2003]
tbenschop
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound is really clear, you can easily distinguish different instruments in your music. The bass is definately a strength. The looks, cause they're so tall, it's nice to impress friends :)

Weakness:

See the review: -Too sharp -the midrange frequencies seem to be incorrect

I bought the Tannoy Saturn S10 second handed, I already had a pair of Tannoys (Mercury M4), so I thought the S10's would be a logical progression. But I was wrong. The sound doesn't satisfy me. The lower frequencies are great and deep. But the mids and highs seem to be incorrect. I played a certain track with Winamp (my computer is connected digitally to my receiver). When I toyed a little bit with the built in equalizer just for fun, I noticed that when I lowered the 3 kHz knob, the sound became much more pleasant! I listened an hour or so to the music and then set the equalizer back to normal (bypass). The sound seemed so cheap and ugly all of a sudden.. These speakers are also too much "in your face". When compared to the Tannoy Mercury M4, the S10's sound quite closed.. This leads to the fact you cannot listen to these speakers for a long time at a high volume, or you will get a headache! So, I'm not too fond with these speakers, and I have already sold them now. (Btw I used a Marantz SR 5300 as receiver, with really thick Xerox cables)

Similar Products Used:

I listened to many speakers in shops, I own Tannoy Mercury M4

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 02, 2002]
Michael Michailidis
AudioPhile

Strength:

Tight Bass, Great and Detailed Mid full of power, bright and accurate highs witout being harsh! Great value for the money. The S8 are great but S10 are even better with bass response down to 29Hz.

Weakness:

Not that a stylish and modern finish. Big and heavy but I like it

The only word that can almost describe them is EXCELLENT! They can't even compare compare with Klipsch RF-7 and three times more expensive B&W Nautilus 802. They simpl sound amazingly among all types of music!

Similar Products Used:

Auditioned: Klipsch RF-7, Nautilus 802 and cheaper speakers like Klipsch RF-3, B&W DM804 S3, Tannoy S8

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 17, 2002]
Niel Lambrechts
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Neutrality, low frequency response, easily driven.

Weakness:

Speaker enclosure may not appeal to everyone.

My system consists of the S10 fronts, S8C center with a couple of Jamo Cornets 165 speakers at the rear. (I use the Onkyo 696/535 for receiver/DVD) This is my first system, but I have been able to compare these to the Polk 600, B&W 604 and Infinity series and preferred them by a big margin. I am a lover of acoustic and rock music, and can only say that these speakers are extremely enjoyable, and probably the best value for money of any component in my system. These speakers are well suited to rock music, as they are quite powerful without being hard on you ears, but will be much appreciated by someone who enjoys accuracy in instrumental and classical music. I have really enjoyed music like Glenn Kaiser''s blues, The Band Who from Travis and classics like Vangelis (Reprise) and the Eagles. Allow me to say that these speakers bring the following to terms to mind: Neutral, capable, accurate and powerful.

Similar Products Used:

B&W, Polk, Infinity, Jamo

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2000]
Erik
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Accurate at any level, image

Weakness:

Too good for most recordings

In searching for a new set of speakers to handle both serious listening and home theater, I decided to demo several at once. I hooked the different models to my new HKAVR7000, and proceeded to play some jazz, classical and rock. The only speaker that did justice to all was the S10's. They have great image, wonderful dynamic range and yet, when we rocked the house there was no distortion, no ear spliting only music that you could listen to for hours at any level. At 1900 for the pair they dominated the B&W's and M&K's that are both more expensive. The Martin Logan's and Vandersteins can't rock so they were eliminated. If you want a true all around speaker, you have to check these out. I liked them so much I immediately bought the center speaker S8c, that also sounds great.

Similar Products Used:

B&W 804, M&K, Martin Logan, Vanderstein

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com