Tannoy MX2 Floorstanding Speakers

Tannoy MX2 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Frequency response (Hz, -6dB): 48Hz - 20kHz (+/- 3dB) Nominal impedance (ohm): 8 ohms Bass driver (description): 145mm (6") Tweeter (description): 25mm (1")

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 35  
[Jun 08, 2018]
kablosuz


Strength:

Perfect sound and detail tannoy is the legend

Weakness:

For its price the best speaker to buy but the bass pwer is not so high enough

OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jul 15, 2016]
Tom
Audio Enthusiast

My first pair or proper HiFi speakers, after my education regarding exaggerated bass on speakers marketed to teenagers!

I was 17, and I kept these around 7 years - which was itself some time ago.

These were great with the budget electronics I used at the time - a small Rotel amplifier and a Marantz CD5000 I think.

The best thing I remember was a really nice open mid range.

Not the tightest presentation though..

I'm into percussive music, and I remember the Tannoy/Rotel combo spitting out drums, which - even if in hindsight they were probably compressed and I couldn't hear the attacks and decays properly - was a lot of fun!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 17, 2012]
Syborg
Audio Enthusiast

Having owned.a set of Tannoy M1s a number of years ago and having used various speakers from Mission and Wharefedale i bought a pair used MX2s off ebay at a pretty good price. Did i make a good choise ? You bet these speakers are really fantastic the sound quality for the money is second to none.Trust me you will not be diassapointed and of course being made by a Scottish company makes them even more special.Thet just play all types of music very well and do it in a very natural and realistic fashion full stop.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 16, 2004]
coolhifi
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautiful bass even at low volumes. That "Easy-Listening", non-fatiguing quality that makes you want to listen to more music... Enough "Punch" and definition for HT use.

Weakness:

Room size could be a limitation. Exterior finish could be more exiting...

Setup: Yamaha RX-V740 Pioneer DV-360S now replaced by Philips DVP720SA 2,5 sqmm multi-stranded speaker cables (OFC) I bought these after reading reviews which said they would probably be a good match for my Yamaha 740 receiver. Having a pair of B&W 602 S2 from before I also had the chance to put the Tannoys on top of the 602's to do some A-B testing. Right out of the box they sound great, and even though smaller than the 602's seemed to be more willing to play bass. The sound also improved some further after a month or so of playing, to the point where I decided these were clearly better than the 602 S2's and deserved to be kept, while selling off the 602's. The 602 is by no means a bad speaker, mind you, the treble being a bit sweeter, but overall it needs a bit more juice (volume) to bring out the best - which is not compatible with late night listening. I also later bought the mXC centre speaker and this matches the mX2's exactly, being actually very good for both CD and home theatre use. However I also discovered with the mX2's that they had even more bass in them than I thought. I didn't think a new DVD player would make that big a difference, but actually it did. The old player had no selection for type of speaker or frequency. The new DVD player I just bought had selection for Big or Small speakers. The Small=cutoff at 120 Hz and here the sound was not that different from the old DVD player. But setting the selection to Large (because the mX2 DO go a lot lower than 120 Hz) - whoa! what a difference! It totally revitalized the speakers in the bass region, so they now sound even bigger and more authorative. The amount of bass is almost incredible from a speaker this size (at least in this price range). So that is a clear tip for anyone buying a DVD player now - check that it can be configured to output the low frequencies also, and does not cutoff at 80-120Hz for example. (Probably most relevant to check this for budget players). So conclusion is that I'm very pleased with these speakers. Beautiful bass, accurate mid-range, good treble and overall a fine musicality. Do take care to mount them on standmounts or in "ear-height" - they clearly deserve good placement. Another recommendation is to remove the foam-bungs, the speakers really "breathe" more easy without them.

Similar Products Used:

B&W 602 S2 Dali Concept2

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 22, 2004]
gdcats Philippines
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Balanced bass (evident even w/o a sub), nice and detailed reproduction (bi-wired recommended)

Weakness:

None so far

Bought this pair a month ago as my front. I would directly say that I've made the right decision in opting for Tannoy... I've been comparing it to other same-price-level brands but the tannoy seems to have an edge. Been playing music nighly an hour or two and it seems to deliver a relaxing none fatiguing reproduction, the vocals come alive, the instruments are in place... and the BEERs are ice-cold... ahhh this is life :) Sometimes its difficult to spot a gud product at the first time (been lucky i guess), a careful/thourough product research and comparison is very crucial especially if you're spending hard-earned cash. With the MX2, I think I have a slim room for an upgrade. My Setup: AVR: Onkyo TX-SR601 Front: MX2 (bi-wired) Rear: MX1 Center: MXC Sub: Velodyne VX10 Gud luck & enjoy.

Similar Products Used:

MX1

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 31, 2003]
saikat
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Value for money, High and mid sounds

Weakness:

None so far

A bargain for the price. Great high and Mid range. Bass 7.5 out of 10, but then i'm using them without stands. Amazing clarity. I use them as my primary speakers and run them through Onkyo TXDS474 Reciever. I ultimately plan to use them as rear/surround speakers when ican afford floorstanding fronts.

Similar Products Used:

Allison acoustics PD8.3, Onkyo, Teac Tape deck

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 31, 2003]
saikat
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Value for money, High and mid sounds

Weakness:

None so far

A bargain for the price. Great high and Mid range. Bass 7.5 out of 10, but then i'm using them without stands. Amazing clarity. I use them as my primary speakers and run them through Onkyo TXDS474 Reciever. I ultimately plan to use them as rear/surround speakers when ican afford floorstanding fronts.

Similar Products Used:

Allison acoustics PD8.3, Onkyo, Teac Tape deck

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 22, 2003]
David
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautifully clear, detailed sound that lets the music do the talking. Great looking with or without grills (personal choice, of course). Handles all music with assurance - shines for classical and jazz.

Weakness:

Will not offer the pounding, moronic bass for heavy dance and D&B - but who cares - buy them anyway and get a sub!!!

Wow - what a fantastic pair of speakers!! After many long hours of research, which included web reviews, manufacturers websites, shop advice and trials of other speakers including Wharfedale 8.1's, 8.2's and Mission M72's, I decided to go for the Tannoys. These offer a perfect compromise in terms of size and looks (being neither too obtrusive or withdrawn - they are modern without being too 'trendy'). In terms of sound quality, at this price there is absolutely no compromise - they play almost all music beautifully. The mid range and the treble is bright, distinctive and very clear - I have found these simply wonderful for classical music and jazz - allowing every detail to be presented clearly. For dance music with a heavier beat and bass they shine too, with the speakers offering deep, clear bass with no 'pounding' or loss of detail- For dance /trance and drum and bass 'clones' there may be more suitable speakers - but lets face it , if thats all you listen to then you could never appreciate this speakers refinement! It is simply for MUSIC lovers - handling classical, jazz, rock , pop and dance with equal aplomb. If you are seeking a sub £180 speaker for a broad range of music, in my opinion YOU WILL NOT BETTER THESE TANNOY'S - YOU SIMPLY HAVE TO TRY THEM!! At about £100 they are givaways!!

Similar Products Used:

MIssion M72 - Too bass-ey Wharfedale 8.1 - Too boxy and restrained Wharfedale 8.2 - Very close run thing (great speakers), but the Tannoys get the vote on sheer detailing and clarity with perfect ba

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 22, 2003]
David
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautifully clear, detailed sound that lets the music do the talking. Great looking with or without grills (personal choice, of course). Handles all music with assurance - shines for classical and jazz.

Weakness:

Will not offer the pounding, moronic bass for heavy dance and D&B - but who cares - buy them anyway and get a sub!!!

Wow - what a fantastic pair of speakers!! After many long hours of research, which included web reviews, manufacturers websites, shop advice and trials of other speakers including Wharfedale 8.1's, 8.2's and Mission M72's, I decided to go for the Tannoys. These offer a perfect compromise in terms of size and looks (being neither too obtrusive or withdrawn - they are modern without being too 'trendy'). In terms of sound quality, at this price there is absolutely no compromise - they play almost all music beautifully. The mid range and the treble is bright, distinctive and very clear - I have found these simply wonderful for classical music and jazz - allowing every detail to be presented clearly. For dance music with a heavier beat and bass they shine too, with the speakers offering deep, clear bass with no 'pounding' or loss of detail- For dance /trance and drum and bass 'clones' there may be more suitable speakers - but lets face it , if thats all you listen to then you could never appreciate this speakers refinement! It is simply for MUSIC lovers - handling classical, jazz, rock , pop and dance with equal aplomb. If you are seeking a sub £180 speaker for a broad range of music, in my opinion YOU WILL NOT BETTER THESE TANNOY'S - YOU SIMPLY HAVE TO TRY THEM!! At about £100 they are givaways!!

Similar Products Used:

MIssion M72 - Too bass-ey Wharfedale 8.1 - Too boxy and restrained Wharfedale 8.2 - Very close run thing (great speakers), but the Tannoys get the vote on sheer detailing and clarity with perfect ba

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 11, 2002]
debonair
Casual Listener

Strength:

bass, all that bass

I bought these speakers after reading many many reviews about speakers. I can't say I could be more pleased. I love these things.

Similar Products Used:

nothing reall, hence casual listener

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 35  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com