Tannoy Definition D300 Floorstanding Speakers

Definition D300

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
johan sanders   AudioPhile [Sep 27, 2013]

this are very very very good speakers

very wide sound
pin point instrument location
fast
warm on the good way

the outperform speakers 2000 dollar + and thats no joke !

they suit very wel for jazz rock vocal music and also trance house synthesizer classic music

its very important to match it with amps that dont have a very agresive treble because they tent to sound sharp
ideal amp would be a valve amp but older transistor amps are also a good partnership
and the source is also important

i compared it with other brands i have owned like b&w kef jamo reference series mordaund short sphinx projeckt

but the all fall short except the sphynx

kef reference 201 reference : its like they dont have a tweeter they sound like de treble is closed i sold them the next day

mordaunt short they sound very good for the price but they missed extended air the sount stuckt on the speakers

b&w 805 685 cm1 dm 10 686 dm 110 i 803 d

they all sound agressieve the dm 110i was the best i have heart from the b&w range

sphynx projeckt

are also very very good speakers but very rare and more limited in bass than the tannoys





OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Derek   AudioPhile [Feb 22, 2008]
Strength:

Great reproduction when playing music from vinyl.
very real reproduction of voice

Weakness:

Do not recommend them for loudness and base freaks.
they need right set up, with right distance from each other

Tannoy 635, know as D50, well done speakers for the price, in beautiful Rose Wood.
I have them for over 12 years and I have listened to a lot of speakers in my life, until today I have not found the same sound those speakers can provide.
Well, excellent reproduction of any music type you play on them, clean crisp, soft…….
It all depends in what amp you’re using, with a right tube amp they can sound sweet with true hi tones, very real reproduction of voice and deep and clean base.
Do not recommend them for loudness and base freaks.
One thing was said to me when I picked them up, “they sound better and better with time”, and it is so true.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jagster   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 17, 2005]
Strength:

Neutral but well balanced sound. Accurate bass without excessive thump. I can play them at higher volumes without upsetting close neighbours. The cabinets are truly beautiful pieces of furniture.

Weakness:

Very rare loudspeakers. They can show up bad recordings for what they are. I don't consider this a fault.

Tannoy 635+ Rosewood These speakers were the forerunner to the Definition D300 having a single 8 inch dual concentric driver and housed in a beautiful rosewood cabinet almost identical to D300. These speakers produce a wonderfully balanced sound. I use them in a small apartment at higher volume levels than I could use my previous bass heavy speakers that used to attract complaints from neighbours. The 635s' are highly musical and give an accurate and enthusiastic rendition of whatever music style you choose without overstating any particular octave of sound within the soundstage. The result is a very enjoyable and polished sound that leaves you humming your tunes when you switch your hi-fi off.

Similar Products Used: Tannoy DC1000 Tannoy 637+
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Foppe   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 04, 2002]
Strength:

neutral - rich and full sound - bass perfectly integrated with the rest of the frequency range - stunning imaging - dirt cheap if you know where to look

Weakness:

- not for bass addicts

I was looking for a pair of loudspeakers in the $600-$700 range, and because the D300 has been around for some time now, it fitted my budget nicely. I guess that Stassen realized that the were giving these speakers away, because since I bought them, the price has gone up $100 a piece... Anyway, I am very pleased withe these little music makers. They sound wonderfully controlled and neutral. As mentioned by others, the imaging is unsurpassed by allmost any speaker up to $2500 a pair and then some. For me this is a major strength. I listen to jazz and classical music mostly, but I play Radiohead, Nick Cave, Counting Crows etc. also. Whatever music you feed to this speakers, they do not seem to care at all. However, for people who like to really feel the bass: look somewhere else. This loudspeker is simply not big enough to provide real slam. For me the bass is just right. nicely in balance with the rest of the sound. I would advise anyone who is looking for a neutral but rich sounding speaker to give the D300's a listen. They can easily compete with current $2000 a pair models, and can be found for less than half of that price. I can only give these musical giants a 5/5.

Similar Products Used: KEF Tannoy Eyris Dynaudio 1.3 MK2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Burov Evgene   Audiophile [Oct 06, 2000]
Strength:

great sound, good for classical music and jazz

Weakness:

for 6 inch speakers , no

Very good speakers compared to all what I had before;
Smooth and precise sound, suits well for classics and
jazz. Tannoy recommends
a 30-150 wt amplifier for these speakers, but I
would think that 100 wt nominal
(150 dynamic) would be really a
HARD limit. Otherwise, even if you listen them
at low level, there may be some bass distortions when playing
records with large dynamic range (e.g., blues) through a
sufficiently rapid amplifier.
This actually happened even at quite low listening levels
(volume control on "9h") when I connected my D300 to a
150 wt amplifier with high current capacity (HK690).

Similar Products Used: Mission 732, JBL TLX4
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
arjan   Audiophile [Aug 24, 2001]
Strength:

stunning stereo image, detailed and "fast".

Weakness:

lean bass

I went to the hifi store to have a preliminary audit of some speakers in the $1000-1500 range. I listened to all of the known brands, about 10 pairs, see what they have to offer in that range. Since I'm a DIY, I was not looking for a perfect compromise, but more for a speaker that could give me that High End feeling with maybe some flaws here and there that could be solved.
The Kef's sounded really nice, also the Tannoy R3 was neutral and detailed. There was only one speaker standing out: the D300. It immediately grapped your attention, every time it was playing. In the most dens pieces it could still tear the instruments apart and let you hear what was going on. It was the extreem directness and pinpoint stereo-image that none of the others could come close to. Percussion was really hard hitting and so detailed, one could almost hear the hairs of the snare.
The size of the stage is limited, probably because of a true impulse respons and little phase distortion. It doesn't sound so airy, but it is also not vague. The band is playing live in front of you, not behind a thick curtain.
If you like this directness, look no further. The D300 could be on sale because it is not the newest model, so you can get a good deal.
The weakness is the bass, but don't get disappointed, it goes pretty deep but there just isn't much of it. It sounds lean compared to other speakers.
Currently I am using it with a subwoofer. It was difficult to set up the system right, because the D300 lets you hear everything that you are doing (wrong). But with sub it is really good.
I'm using the D300 with my Treshold power amp and it sounds very controlled. With former mono-blocks it seemed to have less power handling, although the amps were very powerfull. I guess, these speakers are a bit difficult to control when playing loud, so please buy a good amp. They are worth a $2000-4000 poweramp.

Similar Products Used: Meridian M30(active), Tannoy R1, Harbeth Monitor, etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tom Calder   Audiophile [Jul 26, 2001]
Strength:

Big fast sound, dynamic, flexible. These will work well with a lot of different musical types.

Weakness:

Very position fussy. In the wrong place the sound can fall through the bottom (boom boom boom). A bit amp fussy.

Potentially an excellent loudspeaker - really benefits from top quality amplification (I use Naim 52/250, but have heard these speakers with other amps).

If you get it wrong - weak amp, wrong position in the room, etc, they can sound very average indeed. Get it right, and they can outperform many more expensive models. I have compared with Naim SBL (at 2.5 times the price), and the D300 held their own - I wouldn't say better than the SBL but a similar performance for much less money, therefore much better value. Hard to think of many speakers that are better for the money.

Similar Products Used: na
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Richard Douglas   Audiophile [Oct 02, 2001]
Strength:

1. Excellent stereo imaging, probably the best in it's class
2.An excellent intergrated and extended base response when used with high quality powerfull amplifier.

Weakness:

1. Treble is a touch harsh. This can be controled to a limited extent by using 'softer sounding' speaker cables.
2.These speakers communicate in a 'forward','direct' and explicit manner, especially in the mid range. Again this can be partially controlled by matching with powerfull 'warmer' sounding amps.

Avoid Naim, Audiolab. The result is too 'hard'.

I achieved excellent results with a cambridge CD4se, EAR 834L pre amp and musical fidelity A3cr power amp.

I currently use Rotel 975cd, Musical fidelity A3 pre and power. This works well, but not as well as using the valve pre amp.

Bi wiring is a must. I have tried numerous cables and achieved best results with DNM reson.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
3
Rich   a Casual Listener [Nov 19, 1998]

I went and listened to B&W and Tannoy speakers last weekend. The B&W modelsI have listened to are 602, 603 and 805. For Tannoy, they are Saturn S6, S8,
S10 and D300. I music lover, however, I am by no mean an audiophile and has
limit experience on stereo systems. The system I have right now is very
cheap, Yamaha RV592 receiver, $100 sharp cd player and $300 JBL speakers
bought back to '91. I probably spend less than 10 hours a week listening to
it. The problem is I have a very sensitive ears ( can't wear headphone for
more than 15 minutes ) and the JBL just put too much pressure on them. So,
normally the listen session is no more than 1 hour. Therefore, I am
searching a pair of speakers that is easier for my ear.

Ok, Here is what I think of them.

Tannoy Saturn S6: I was disappoint when I heard them. I thought speakers
with a price tag in $1200 should sound much better than my $300 JBL.
Indeed, the sound is much more accurate and bass is stronger. However, I
didn't hear the clarity I expected. Also, it sounds boxy to me.

BW 602 and 603: I feel they are a little bit better than Saturns in term of
clarity and image. But still far from what I would expect from a $1000
speakers. Also, it sounds boxy to me, too.

BW 805: It offer clear sounding and bass is pretty good, too. Image is good.
However, I found it a bit forward and aggressive. Not good for my ears. The
sound is very warm.

Tannoy D300: I felled in love with it when I first heard it. It sounds just
right to me. Very clear and good image. The sound is much more refined and
elegant than the 805s. It does lack a bit of bass, however, a subwoofer
should fix this problem.

So, I think my original thinking is wrong. Speakers are much more expensive
than I thought. Now, here is the problem. I need to justify spending $2400
for the D300 to my wife. I couldn't find a used D300 on the market. There
are plenty of used 805s on the market, though. I really hate my ears now!
Anyway, if you have any recommendation on speakers similar to the D300 and
cost a lot less, let me know.


-- Rich

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Kenny   an Audiophile [Jul 25, 1999]

I have had the D300 since January 1999 and they keep getting better! I would say that it took around 2 months to really loosen them up and to show their true potential. Treble is smooth and the bass is tight and light. Bass heads could add a sub-woofer and I've heard a REL Stentor work well with the D300's (though not in my system).
In my room they sound their best when they are as far apart as possible firing straight ahead. They seem to lose something when they are toed-in. I've also found that if you fully screw-in the back spikes whilst leaving the frony fairly long will improve imaging as it lifts the driver to ear level.

System:
Marantz CD10 CD Player
Audiolab 8000C pre-amp
Musical Fidelity P180 power-amp
Russ Andrews Kimber cables & power cords

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com