Tannoy D500 Floorstanding Speakers

Tannoy D500 Floorstanding Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-9 of 9  
[Jan 05, 2020]
audiac


Strength:

As reviewed together with my Lyngdorf TDAI2200 with roomperfect This is a very good match, the stereoimaging is superb! The detail and resolution is great, the bass is enough for my taste I run it momentarily wit one of the two plugs in each port And this is great with my terrible corner and wall distance witch is greatly bettered by the roomperfect by the way As somebody mentioned here i screwed in the back levelling feet allthe way in and the front all the way out this even lifts the 3d imaging more!! Greatly recommended!! This is a great setup I could not think of anything to write below Lyngdorf TDAI 2200 roomperfect Tannoy D500 Eragold GSPaudio phono amp Micro Seiki DQX500 with ortofon bronze 2mm element Bluesound node 2

Weakness:

Bit bulky is the only thing that i could mention if i really have to. But the triangular shape helps ;) A

Price Paid:
900
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2005
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 18, 2014]
Rupert
Audio Enthusiast

As my first ever pair of speakers I do not have a lot of experience from which to speak, however I bought them upon reading the reviews on this very site, all I can say is it's all true. The first thing that strikes you is the fantastic imaging and the breathtaking mid-range and highs. These speakers shine with all types of music and are forgiving of poorly recorded tracks but make the best of great ones too. It is easy to forget you are listening to speakers sometimes such is the quality of their vanishing act.

The bass is accurate but not especially punchy, I found that it improved markedly with some room treatment and amplifier upgrade, they certainly need a good amount of current to work to their best. At the moment I am using a Marantz PM7000 but plan to upgrade in future. I have heard a system which cost over 100k and all I can say is that it was not the game changer I was expecting. If you put the time into matching your system and treating your room these are very special indeed. I am sure there are speakers out there that are superior but I have yet to hear them, would love to try the Tannoy Prestige line and Living Voice speakers in future, but for the time being I am very happy with my purchase, as i'm sure anyone who loves music would be too.

Mhdt Havana DAC
Marantz PM7000 Integrated amp
Straightwire Octave Cable

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 02, 2003]
irose
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautifully built, great mids and highs, accurate bass

Weakness:

discontinued, mellow bass

I have the speakers for about 5 months by mow, and over the so many components I replaced in my system, the D500 are the most significant in terms of overall listening pleasure. Once you feed them with a good Amp you could hear one of the best mids and highs in any speaker. The bass is not that punchy and strong, but very accurate. This speakers let you enjoy music for hours without getting the fatigue effect. Oh, and they are very beautiful built.

Similar Products Used:

proac responce, JBL 100t,sonus faber concherto

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 08, 2003]
Russell Garrett
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great big sound. Excellent for all tastes. Beautiful design.

Weakness:

Absolutely none.

I bought them used, in good condition. The Tannoys are a real gem. Highlights are everywhere. The captivating design is elegant and the worksmanship is simply perfect. They are not very picky about amplification, as I found out, but still, I got my best results only after having upgraded to a Krell KAV 300 integrated. I can't define any particular strengths as everything is on the positive side. The sound is truly natural with real sweetness and levels of detail you will find in speakers that cost twice. You will find the low-end not only to be accurate, fast, and dynamic but sufficient for any type of music whatsoever. Extremely pleasing. The soundstage is fully three-dimensional, locating the speakers without seeing them is almost impossible. Put them in a large living room with a high ceiling and the sound is astounding. The dual-concentric driver makes them sound very accurate, just like electrostatic loudspeakers. The sound starts stops exactly when it should, without any delay. If you can still get your hands on a pair, don't hesitate. This is true high-end at an affordable price. Upgrading from here on would be very difficult. I'm looking forward to bi-amping them in the near future.

Similar Products Used:

Triangle Celius 202, cabasse Sloop 500, others.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 19, 2002]
yhlbb
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Warm, natual sound, with excellent imaging. Bass is not bad either; make sure to use a good amp.

A beautiful speaker that sounds very good. The imaging and bass are excellent. The build quality is first rate. This is the best $1600 I have spent on my stereo system. My McIntosh MA6450 integrated amp works well with the D500s. Together with the SONY DVP S7000 CD/DVD player, the system produces very warm, natural sound, with incredible 3-D sound stage. I can listen to the music for hours without suffering fatigue. A very good buy if you can find one. I heard that Tannoy has discontinued the Definition line.

Similar Products Used:

B&W P5, Tannoy M1

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 03, 2002]
Hein
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautiful mids, and unexaggerated lows and highs. Suitable for 'harder' listening rooms.

Weakness:

None found yet, although not exactly cheap.

This speaker paints a very broad and colourful (but not: coloured) picture. Beautiful mids, and never exaggerated lows and highs. Therefore also suitable for harder listening rooms as well as for smaller rooms. It's a floorstander that plays and sounds like a standmount! This is the most precise musical instrument I have heard in a long time (and I have tried a lot), without losing the ability to make music....

Similar Products Used:

Tannoy D-700 (perfect for bigger rooms), JBL L90, Revel Performa M20.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Apr 10, 2002]
Abe Collins
AudioPhile

Strength:

A good all around sound. Nothing stands out like a sore thumb as with others I tried. Large soundstage, good detail, plesant treble.

Weakness:

Could go a little lower in bass but what do you expect at this price point. Try it with a REL sub!

Tannoy D500''s are just right! My 8 year old Thiel CS 1.5 speakers have served me well over the years but I was due for a change especially since my move to a vacuum tube amplifier last year. I needed a speaker that filled the room with more robust sound and can still be enjoyed at low to moderate volume levels. The Thiel CS 1.5''s have outstanding detail and imaging but you have to play them loud to make them sound their very best and even then, they didn''t have that robustness that typically comes from larger speakers. I auditioned a variety of speakers before buying the Tannoy D500''s. The Soliloquy 6.2 had a midbass emphasis that caused this speaker to sound too warm and lacking treble. The Vienna Acoustics Mozart was laid back and very smooth.. a bit too smooth at the expense of good detail. I really liked the Sonus Faber Grand Piano Home but they were a little aggressive and I simply did not like their physical styling. The Tannoy D500''s gave me good detail, good imaging, big soundstage, not too laid back, nice even midrange, far reaching treble without being annoying or bright, and reasonably good bass. These speakers do not go extremely low in the bass as they are rated to 40Hz but the bass they provide is tight and clean. Construction quality is superb and they are relatively sensitive speakesr which mate well with my 70w/ch tube amp. Mine is finished in American Cherry. If you want to get that to that next level of performance with these Tannoys, try a REL StormIII subwoofer! They integrate seemlessly and fill in the bottom octave for better "presense". My system at time of Tannoy D500 review: Conrad-Johnson Premier 11a tube amp Balanced Audio Technology VK-20 preamp Cary 306/200 24/192 CD Player Sony XA7ES CD Player PS Audio Ultimate Outlets PS Audio MiniLab Power Cords Kimber 8TC Speaker Cable AudioQuest Diamond Interconnects I recently added the REL StormIII subwoofer but these Tannoy D500s do nicely on their own

Similar Products Used:

Soliloquy 6.2 Vienna Acoustics Mozart Sonus Faber Grand Piano Home Thiel CS 1.5

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 24, 2000]
Mick
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Can easely create an 3d soundstage in your room.
Very beautifull cabinet design.

Weakness:

It needs carefull matching with your hifi equipment.

The Tannoy D-500 is a star on it's own although it takes carefull matching with what kind of amp you use.
But when you use an high current delivering amp there is notthing that can hold the dual concentric speaker back. It's fast, smooth but detailed, and has a very sexy bass with lots of impact. I haven't heart anything better for the price. If if you want to play it loud better inform your neighbors because it will run like an ferrari. The 3d soundstage can easely create live feeling in your room witch will causes you to listen to it for at least 2 hours everytime you play the Tannoys. The special trapezoidal cabinet will make it ideal to convince you wife that you want to buy these speakers because they are simply beautiful.

My system:
Denon PMA-1500
Denon CDC-1550
SonicLink-Silverpink
Monitor Cobra speakercable

Similar Products Used:

Tannoy profile series

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 05, 2000]
Amin Jacoub
Audiophile

Strength:

power, looking, realistic sound, wide and deep soundstage, neutrality

Weakness:

I did not found any for that price

The Tannoy d500 speakers simply crash the opponents with its sound. Realistic, wide and deep soundstage (you must have big room for that speakers) can nail you in front of them for hours. I had before JM lab Cobalt 820 speakers and with Tannoy I found some new detailes in my music sources. To be more specific I found always something new in music sources even I always listen to one compact disc.
This speakers is a very good performers if you put them on right place in your room.
The bass is very strong but also very soft, mid and high are very realistic and also very soft. If you close your eyes you could feel the performers, like they are live performing in front of you. So the conclusion is, Tannoy are very precise. Timbre is real as with transparency of sound. But you must have quality amplification for them. I advice to provide hi class equipment for that high class loudspeakers.

The Tannoy d500 speakers was completed with:

Phase Linear 700 amplifier
Marantz SM500 dc preamplifier
Cambridge Audio d300 cd source
Kimber 8pr speaker cables
Qued & Audioquest interconect cables
treatment in room of 40 quater meters

Similar Products Used:

JM Lab Cobalt 820 spakers, Tannoy S6 speakers, Castle Harlech

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-9 of 9  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com