Tannoy 611mkII Floorstanding Speakers

Tannoy 611mkII Floorstanding Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Jun 15, 2020]
razrstudio


Strength:

well balanced spund and fast bass; price to performance very high for used unit; loved by musician; very gd for blue//jazz/ vocal esp with tube amp; can drive easily with set 300b amp

Weakness:

can’t expect strong to the heart kind of mid bass

Price Paid:
250
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Dec 22, 2019]
spud89


Strength:

Brilliant all round sound on what ever amplifier I use them on really clear but also has no problem delivering those punchy lower notes absolutely love them

Weakness:

Cant think of any

Price Paid:
150
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1992
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 20, 2006]
Johnny Farm
AudioPhile

Strength:

Deep and strong Bass. Clarity highs. Smooth Sound.

Weakness:

None

An excellent tower speakers. Very clarity sound with greats bass.
Solid construccion and very good nice. Highly recommended ¡¡¡

Similar Products Used:

B&W 603 - Klipsch RF3 - MonitorAudio Silver6

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 23, 2002]
sonus31
AudioPhile

Strength:

Speed, clarity, resolution, detailed and very low bass response, outstanding with all types of music.

Weakness:

All speakers have compromises but these Tannoy's have the same compromise characteristics as speakers costing £2,000 more!!

I have had these speakers (the mk1 versions) for 8 months now and can find nothing but praise for the way they deliver music - yes music, not a part of the music but ALL of the music. I had a pair of Jamo Concert 11’s that went missing during a house move, but managed to get compensation from the removals firm. So off I went to find a replacement pair that I seen advertised in a London store. Out of curiosity I auditioned a few other speakers that they had in – including the Tannoy 611’s. After listening for about 2 hours I was amazed to find that the Jamo Concert 11’ s had nothing to offer over the 611’s (other than to make me £1,400 poorer). I bought them for a laughable £295, took them home and have lived happily ever after. I see from other descriptions here that some are finding the upper frequencies too harsh – this has got to be the amplifier – get a decent amp on the end of these and they will stun (I use a Talk Electronics Cyclone 1L). True giant killers!

Similar Products Used:

Jamo Concert 8 and 11, ATC SCM10, Proac Studio 125

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 25, 2002]
kingstar
AudioPhile

Strength:

Trapezoid cabinet minimises standing waves. Mass loaded dual concentric cone reflects back wave w/out any colouration, resonance or turbulance. Floor spikes minimise bass loss through flooring, and sand in the cabinets minimise vibrations. Overall, a very tight crystal clear sound. Biwireable.

Weakness:

Due to the very flat response over the range that some loudspeakers just dont meet, to others not used to a very flat response sound, they can sound very harsh in the upper mid, lower higher region. Banana plugs are a requirement, as these speakers are a pain to wire normally. Damn heavy.

As a music technology student and an audiophile in my spare time, I love music and I like as accurate reproduction of it as possible. I work with flat response monitors anyway on my course, and after listening to music on those then listening to the same piece on home loudspeakers, you notice a cetain lack of clarity and the amount of colouration that home loudspeakers provide. A did my research into these speakers, and they consist of 3 drivers, two of which are mounted dual concentrically, which are the HF and the 8 inch mid/upper bass driver. Below it is a supplementary 8 inch bass driver. The dual concentric driver is exactly the same technology used in high end professional Tannoy monitors. These speakers provide a flat response from 45hz up to 30Khz with very little fluctuation, and basically they sound amazing. I was scepticle about buying portless speakers such as these, since from previous experiences, sealed cabinets haven''t provided the low end extension that I''ve thrived for, even though my 10 inch Tannoy Oxford T125 provide alot of deep bass as weel as port turbulance. But combined with the supplimentary bass unit and the mass loaded upper bass cone, these speakers provided tight, fast responding bass with the depth of ported cabs, without the port turbulance. I can play all styles from trip hop to jazz, and classical to jungle music on these speakers and they will not do anything unjust to the music. (My model happens to be the 611 mkII)

Similar Products Used:

Tannoy 603 bookshelf Tannoy 707 (exactly the same as the 611 mkII, just japanese variation, with a mahogany veneer, and gold cage)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Feb 25, 2002]
Ezekiel Ifill Ifill
AudioPhile

Strength:

Trapezoid cabinet minimises standing waves. Mass loaded dual concentric cone reflects back wave w/out any colouration, resonance or turbulance. Floor spikes minimise bass loss through flooring, and sand in the cabinets minimise vibrations. Overall, a very tight crystal clear sound. Biwireable.

Weakness:

Due to the very flat response over the range that some loudspeakers just dont meet, to others not used to a very flat response sound, they can sound very harsh in the upper mid, lower higher region. Banana plugs are a requirement, as these speakers are a pain to wire normally. Damn heavy.

As a music technology student and an audiophile in my spare time, I love music and I like as accurate reproduction of it as possible. I work with flat response monitors anyway on my course, and after listening to music on those then listening to the same piece on home loudspeakers, you notice a cetain lack of clarity and the amount of colouration that home loudspeakers provide. A did my research into these speakers, and they consist of 3 drivers, two of which are mounted dual concentrically, which are the HF and the 8 inch mid/upper bass driver. Below it is a supplementary 8 inch bass driver. The dual concentric driver is exactly the same technology used in high end professional Tannoy monitors. These speakers provide a flat response from 45hz up to 30Khz with very little fluctuation, and basically they sound amazing. I was scepticle about buying portless speakers such as these, since from previous experiences, sealed cabinets haven''t provided the low end extension that I''ve thrived for, even though my 10 inch Tannoy Oxford T125 provide alot of deep bass as weel as port turbulance. But combined with the supplimentary bass unit and the mass loaded upper bass cone, these speakers provided tight, fast responding bass with the depth of ported cabs, without the port turbulance. I can play all styles from trip hop to jazz, and classical to jungle music on these speakers and they will not do anything unjust to the music. (My model happens to be the 611 mkII)

Similar Products Used:

Tannoy 603 bookshelf Tannoy 707 (exactly the same as the 611 mkII, just japanese variation, with a mahogany veneer, and gold cage)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 19, 2002]
Gonçalo Fernandes
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Beautifull box, big sound.

Weakness:

The midlle frenquencies are dimmed by the too much crisppy hight frenquencies.

It's a beautifull pair of loudspeakers! well built.
The sound is big! It plays well with allmost kinds of music.
The only issue with them is the higth frequencies: they are too much for the rest of the sound and it tends to go very hard.
I have a pair of the first 611's for more than 10 years and still playing very well. I know that this problem with the hight frequencies was kind of solved with the MkII version... I hope so.

Similar Products Used:

None

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 18, 2000]
Prisilla Pang Pang
Audiophile

Strength:

The dual concentric type speakers.Its treble were crsytal
clear, and rich integrated bass.The six-sided panel were
belive to reduce resonances from its cabinet distortion.A
worth arcivement and averange type speaker.

Weakness:

Its weaknesses very difficult to detact out.Its looks like
were hidden.

This six-sided loudspeakers seem brilliant and beautiful,
like a princess.With its 8" dual concentric and 8" bass
unit, its always ready to recieve a challenge from the
future or the next performances.Beneath its drive units its
was a refined version of the old Tannoy DC 2000.Means,its
was a 'daugther' of DC 2000.If were crank it with a loud,
hard music like heavymetal,funk&soul,or electricfying dance
music its does this job better.Its also sound electricfying
and vitality too when I used it for video games,like the
clashing sound effect from the figthing games such as
'Street Figther Zero' or the top worlds RPG games such as
'Final Fantasy' or 'Tomb Raiders' on my Sony Playstation
video games.The only reason why I say like this instead of
praising the speakers is,I listen to its sound with my
heart and my soul,coinded together within my ears because
my listening philosophy is "Listen with your heart,then
you will understand."

Similar Products Used:

None.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com