Spendor SP 1-2 Floorstanding Speakers

SP 1-2

User Reviews (20)

Showing 1-10 of 20  
Maprik   AudioPhile [Dec 17, 2004]
Strength:

Midrange Musicality Something special that's hard to define

Weakness:

Poor bass extension Soundstage is not as 3 dimensional and images not as well defined as the Spark III.

This is a follow-up review. After a few months with the SP1/2es I finally decided that although the SP1/2s are magical they weren't satisfying me completely in the imaging and bass department. I found myself missing my previous speakers the Audio Physic Sparks. Although the SP1/2s do a lot of things well I am in a phase of listening to a lot of my very old classic rock albums like Zeppelin, Supertramp, CSNY, Boston, Kansas, Yes, etc. The SP1/2s were just missing the power and slam and were way too laid back. I could enjoy the music through my headphones but not through the big speakers. So I started obsessing on the Sparks and ended up getting some used Spark IIIs. The midrange of the Spark IIIs captures maybe 90% of the SP1/2 magic but in the imaging and bass extension department I would call the SP1/2s about 50% of the Spark IIIs.

Similar Products Used: blah blah blah
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Erik   AudioPhile [Sep 02, 2004]
Strength:

Music.

Weakness:

none

I'm not one of those audiophiles who listened to 20 speakers before I settled on the "perfect" one. Rather, I went into a store and asked what they had in the way of a moderate 2-way: "Spendor" was the response, so that's what I walked out with. I'm incredibly fortunate I did because nothing I've heard since matches what these speakers do. What, exactly, is the attraction? They allow you to throw any disc in your collection in, sit down with your coffee, and listen -- song after song. In fact, they're so good at making the connection that I never stop a song until it's over -- out of respect for the artist. Sounds a bit strange, I know, but Spendors will have this effect on a real music fan. Notice I haven't analyzed their sound? Get thee to a Spendor dealer.

Similar Products Used: Spendor 3/1s, Fried A3s and Q4s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Maprik   AudioPhile [Apr 15, 2004]
Strength:

Create music that can touch your soul.

Weakness:

Boring looking. Need another $300-400 for 14" stands.

What is it about this speaker (SP1/2e) that is so beguiling? From the moment I hooked them up to my Unison Research Unico integrated I have been completely captivated. They deliver music like nothing I've ever experienced previously. I get shivers up and down my spine ALL THE TIME now. Whatever I am listening to I connect to at such a sub-atomic level (dare I say spiritual). Build quality is gorgeous although they are only 2 plain rectangular boxes. The woodgrain on my Rosewood pair is just incredible. I would expect no less for $3000+ speakers. I just can't put my finger on it, except that these speakers capture the spirit of the music. The best speakers I've owned yet. I know they don't do deep bass but I haven't noticed. In my small room (10 x 10 x 8) they do just fine. Bass is tight and tuneful and that's most important to me. I don't care for thumpy deep bass. No need for a sub. I listen to mostly jazz and classical with a little electronica, rock, and even metal thrown in. Anything that's recorded well really. These SP1/2s in their refined british duds can play anything. Like Herb Reichert of Listener Magazine said in his review, "Can one speaker be all things to all people? The Spendor SP1/2, a descendent of their classic BC1, comes awfully close." I agree 100%.

Similar Products Used: Reference #a MM DeCapo, Soliloquy 5.3, Soliloquy SM-2A3, Silverline Sonatina, Sonus Faber Grand Piano (original not home), Coincident Speaker Technology Triumph Signatures and Conquests, JM Reynaud Twin MKII, Evolution 3 and Trente, Audio Physic Spark.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
nhorton   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 2002]
Strength:

Clear top and middle range and easy listening

Weakness:

Lack of bass and size of cabinet

I bought these Spendor 2/2 secondhand on a spare of the moment whim as they rarely come up in Australia. Their condition was very good and upon checking with Spendor UK established they were made in 1991. They are in the black Ask real wood veneer and are bi wired. They have a supberb midrange, but lack a deep powerful bass, but I do not mind that at all. They are large by today's standards for a bookshelf and I have them on solid stands. They are being powered by a Quad 606, plenty of driving power. I did an AB comparasion with my Epos ES 12 and the Spendor are much clearer, but the Epos have the edge on the bass.

Similar Products Used: Epos Es 12, Proac, Monitor Audio, Mordaunt Short, Tannoy and Rogers
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
hbarrel   Audio Enthusiast [May 28, 2002]
Strength:

listening pleasure, accuracy

Weakness:

ugly stands

I hate admit I bought these speakers sight unseen and having never heard a Spendor product. Ever. I'll not go on and on justifying the purchase. I'm happy. The speakers are easy on the ears and are capable of providing extended listening pleasure. I'd buy them again. Thanks to the other reviewers for your honesty. Threshold T-100 Amp no preamp AH! Noej Tjoebs 4000 CD *best buy for money* MSB Gold Link III Some will shudder at the following... unknown make of inner connectors and power cord upgrades plus $6 a foot speaker wire with crimped on bananas.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
joesixpack   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 22, 2002]
Strength:

clean clear midrange, smooth natural highs, and decent bass all lead to a musicaly satisfying sound that will work with many upstream components of varying quality.

Weakness:

may not satisfy the hyperdetail freaks.

this review is for the spendor sp3/1p. i''''ll begin by coining the phrase " a music lovers speaker" in other words, these transducers give you everything that''''s needed in reproduction for a satisfying listen, minus all the harshness and nastiness that usualy comes with speakers that focus on the analytical nature of music. so why would you want to disect the parts that make up the whole anyway? the 3/1''''s tend to sound slightly warm and rich which makes them suitable for any music genre, but i really like to hear them kick it out on jazz, as the high frequencies always sound natural without being hyperdetailed- this has a lot to do with the scanspeak tweeter, also seen on naim, proac and others that insist on the best. as for the bottom end, it''''s pretty decent considering the size of this 14.5" tall cone/dome in a box. usefull extention is probably around 40 hertz in my midsize room, which will suffice for all but the most serious base-heads, besides you could always add in a good quality subwoof. as for the cost,well everything seems so damned expensive does''''nt it? but find a pair of these winners at a used price and you''''ll have youself a real bargain.

Similar Products Used: paragrime''''s, meadowmuffin''''s, psb''''s, thiel''''s, proac''''s, quad''''s, wilson''''s, kitbuilts, etc.etc.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
TL   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2000]
Strength:

Very musical & detailed. Full, sweet midrange; sounds like the real thing.

Weakness:

Not the last word in dynamics.

This is actually a review of the older SP1. This is by far the best speaker I have owned; it is far more "musical" than the Vandy's I had for a long time or the Linns. Not quite as dynamic as the Totems; don't through the same soundstage as the Totems either. Incredibly, I have heard details in recordings I have owned for a long time, using this speaker, that I have never heard before. And, I'm using less expensive equipment than I have used w/ some other speakers. Most importantly, the Spendors are simply more fun to listen to than others I have owned; when I return from a classical or jazz concert, the Spendors sound remarkably like what I just heard. They've even fooled my Labador Retrievers several times into thinking that the voice from the speaker was real. The only downside is that some poorer recordings -- even some I used to like -- sound pretty plain on the Spendors. On the other hand, listening to the Spendors I appreciate great music even more, whether it be the Beatles, Miles or some of my older classical records. I purchased these used at $600; in my opinion, at twice that price they are unbeatable. The only other speakers I would consider at this point are the newer Spendors or some of the larger Tannoys.

Similar Products Used: Vandersteen; Totem; Meadowlark; Linn; Tannoy; B&W.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
IVAN MARTINEZ   Audiophile [Feb 04, 2000]
Strength:

Midrange is absolutly fantastic, good image, Bass is excellent,

Weakness:

speed

I bought these speakers april 99 and have been happy with them since then.
I have compared the SP 1-2 with B&W's and the SCII of Dunlavy, and i think the Spendors just reproduce the music as it has to be. I have conected them to my Jadis Orchestra Reference, the sound of this combination is big, liquid, warm bass, clean and detailed.
This speaker is excelent match for valve amplifiers, i've tried de SP 1-2 with a pair of Manley monotriodes, and they sounded excellent, the musicallity and image they produce takes your breath away.
I widely recommend them.

Similar Products Used: Platinum, B&W 801,Dunlavy SCII
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Bill   Audiophile [Jul 02, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent on Vocals and very accurate tonal balance

Weakness:

Doesn't have earth shaking bass

I recently managed to get a pair of SP1/2 at a good price and I was blown away by it. Quite possibly one of the finest box speakers around at any price believe me I have heard most if not all the MegaBucks speakers from Wilson, Avalon, Thiel, B&W.......
The tonal accuracy is outstanding and vocals sounds just glorious. The bass is quite good and accurate ( no one note bass ). If you need more bass just hook up a REL Strata or Storm and let loose !
Highly Recommended.

Similar Products Used: Proac, Spica, Sequerra
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tim Johnston   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 24, 2000]
Strength:

Imagery, excellent midrange. Very revealing & accurate.

Weakness:

Slighly lacking bass extension in concrete floored rooms. Abilty to make poor recordings sound terrible.
Not the best speaker for AV systems.

I have had the original SP1's for atleast 12 years now and I still don't tire of them (NB product model year in late 80's). They have the ability to present music the way it was meant to be heard - very natural & accurate. They are particularly well suited to classical and vocal music. However, due to their revealling nature, a good quality recording and source is essential - I'd recommend that you leave those poorly recorded CDs at the back of the cupboard 'cos the SP1s really reveal the worst in them. Medium powered NAD & H/K amps combine with them well. Very highly recommended if after a pair of second-hand audiophile speakers.

Similar Products Used: Kef Ref series, B&W CDM1
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 20  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com