Sound Dynamics RTS-7 Floorstanding Speakers

RTS-7

User Reviews (10)

Showing 1-10 of 10  
Thad Brown   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 04, 2003]
Strength:

Better than expected bass, excellent imaging, wide sweet spot. GREAT price.

Weakness:

After the Maggies, transients aren't as well produced. Bass isn't earth moving. Not particularly sexy looking

I've used Sound Dynamics RTS-3 speakers as small bookshelf units at various places in my home and studio. Nice, solid speakers with no low end. I saw the RTS-7 on sale at blowout prices at audioadvisor and decided to give them a shot as both music and home theater speakers. I've only been using them for a few days, but so far I'm quite impressed. They have MUCH more and better bass than than their little brothers. Imaging is excellent, placing instruments accurately in the stereo field is easy, and the sweet spot on them is wide. I expect this will make them great HT speakers as well, giving more listeners a fair shot at hearing what is happening. Other people knock the midrange on these speakers, saying it's recessed or choked. I don't hear that at all, the mids seem very accurate and pleansant to me. I haven't (and probably won't) mix on them, but the mixes I've done on the RTS-3s have translated very well to other systems and didn't have any excessive honk. At this price, they are probably a good deal if they make any noise at all, but the noises they make are really quite nice. They have been happy with pretty any kind of music I've thrown at them, from very acoustic classic jazz to very modern processed electronica.

Similar Products Used: RTS-3, NHT Pro A-10s, NHT 1.5s, Magnepan 1.6s. All listening done with a Denon receiver as preamp, Parasound 6 channel HT amp for power.
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
George   [Aug 20, 2002]
Strength:

Imaging. Smooth, flat response. Power handling. Mid-bass punch.{

Weakness:

Their flat frequency response compresses the mid-range resulting in a loss of resolution..

Very smooth sounding with no harshness in the treble and very melodic bass reproduction with no hints of strain even at higher volume. As fronts for home-theatre these deliver a powerful, focused punch. However, the overall 'flatness' in their mid-range (which is part of what makes them so pleasing for extended stereo listening) really compresses the detail of some recordings. Still, an excellent value, a satisfying speaker to listen to and highly recommended as home-theatre fronts.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm Infinity Axiom SD RTS-33
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
John Cook   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 28, 2002]
Strength:

Beautiful sound

These Speakers are amaizing. As you can see I picked them up for a song. ($NZ100 = $US45) In a clearance sale NEW!. They have a very crisp sound and are especially good for vocals and acoustic guitar. I have heard parts of tracks that I have not heard on any of my previous speakers. Recommend them..Go and get yourself some

Similar Products Used: JBL / Wharfedale
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Robert Holmes   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2000]

I love these speakers. I listened to many speakers costing much more and they sound just as good. These are great for the money. The sound is full & not colored, bass is good, and the highs are clear without fatigue. Check out my review of the RTS-9's too. They are very similar but with slightly deeper bass.

Worth 5 stars for sound, and 6 for value.

Similar Products Used: Compared to PSB, Energy, Boston Acoustics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mark Dubbelboe   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 03, 2000]
Strength:

Incredible sounding soundstage...sturdy 5 way binding posts...incredible imaging when couples with surrounds and center channel

Weakness:

You'll hate normal speakers

BUY THESE SPEAKERS
I've had them for around 8 months and continue to be amazed every time i watch a movie or listen to music.
Have yet to have a friend NOT comment on the quality of the sound

Similar Products Used: rts-c2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 15, 2001]
Strength:

Good product, nice for movies, matched with RTS C2 center channel

Weakness:

Not as nice as the cheaper RTS 5

First I want to say that I've just demoed them side-by-side on a Denon AVR 3300 receiver.
I already own RTS11 and I was looking to get RTS 5 or RTS7 as a nice match for them to use as rear speakers.
RTS7 is using the smaller drivers you find in the center RTS C2 - it also sounds the same
I find the sound on them a little bit compressed, with lacks in the medium frequencies and also lacks of detail. The bass seems to be more in the mid level bass, kind of Bose type of bass. I find them anyway good for movies.
But again I didn't bi-wire them. Maybe they will sound better with bi-wire, who knows, but I don’t think it’ll be the case.
It is also a speaker relatively difficult to drive. Or maybe it is easy to drive but it just didn't sounded good with smaller systems.
In what regards the timbre, this speaker is NOT matched with the other RTS family. It sounds more like a bigger center RTS C2!
Compared to them, the smaller RTS5 has a more "open", warm and pleasant sound, pretty much like RTS9 and RTS11 but with smaller soundstage - they also share the same drivers with their bigger brothers. The smaller guy is incredible easy to drive even with consumer amps, and it'll boost the quality of any medium-low priced system. I like it more then RTS7 hands down.
My advice – before buying give them a try – Compare them side-by-side with RTS5 and RTS 9 – you’ll have a surprise!
Bring your own system and try it with both RTS 5 and RTS 7 see what you like

Similar Products Used: RTS 11
RTS 5
RTS 3
Tannoy Mercury
Magnepan
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Dave Fisher   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 26, 2001]
Strength:

Imaging/Detail

Weakness:

None

Excellent value. Stereo imaging for music is outstanding though they are quite sensitive to their position in the listening room and take some time to set up.

Very melodic in the bass frequencies - need to be bi-wired to bring out their bass capability. Pleasing treble reponse - never harsh even at high volumes and they handle large amplifier power extremely well.

I enjoy them as home theatre front speakers but LOVE them for stereo music listening.

Similar Products Used: Mission
Boston Acoustics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Stan   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 20, 2001]
Strength:

Good sound at a modest cost.
Trapezoidal cabinet design is sturdily-built and looks good too.

Weakness:

Need a sub for home theatre.....but you were probably going to do that anyway!

Paid $600 Canadian for these - well actually Visa did - but it was still credit well spent! They are able to capably reproduce all types of music and the mid-bass response is particularly pleasing. They have a very balanced sound and don't quite invite the 'pounding' that a comparably-priced Paradigm would beg for.....but that is not necessarily a bad thing as I have found Paradigm's to have a somewhat muddled bass quality on heavy tracks. It is that 'rumble' in the Paradigm Monitor Line that lead me to select the RTS-7 over them by a hair! Don't worry - Metallica's 'Sad But True' still rocks heavy on these, due to the unique cabinet and baffle design and bass porting both out the front and rear.

They are awesome in a home theatre application as fronts - but you will require a powered subwoofer to add that 'gutteral' quality to explosions!

Defnitely over-acheivers at their price point and well-suited to music and home theatre tasks.

Similar Products Used: Own: Paradigm 5SEMKIII - Mini Monitors - Titans

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
S.C.   an Audio Enthusiast [Jun 10, 1999]

The RTS - 7's can be purchased for around $ 425 , depending on indivisual dealers of these wonderful 3 way floor standing speakers . The highs , mids are detailed , focused , crisp w/ very good separation w/o being harsh . As for the lows they are also focused , tight w/ plenty of punch . The soundstage has good depth and width to satisfy as well . So if yoo're lookin' for all around performing speakers at a low cost , seek out a SOUND DYNAMICS dealer near to you and give a good listen to . I CAN GIVE ONLY 4 STARS CAUSE NOTHING IS PERFECT .

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
Craig   an Audio Enthusiast [Sep 18, 1999]

WOW......the sound from these speakers is awesome. I looked at speakers costing twice the price that didn't sound half as good. The ability to biwire is a nice touch too. I would recommend these speakers to anyone. For all those guys out there that think that you have to spend a fortune to get good sound......check out Sound Dynamics....and you can thank me later when you still have some money in the bank......and a fantastic set of speakers. Sound Dynamics also has higher end speakers.......and I'm sure they sound just as incredible as the RTS-7's. Give em a listen.....you won't regret it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 10  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com