Sound Dynamics 300ti Floorstanding Speakers

300ti

Vented w/ 8-in woofer, 4.5-in mid, 0.75-in Ti tweeter

User Reviews (44)

Showing 1-10 of 44  
dynalead   AudioPhile [Dec 22, 2015]

I have owned and listened to these speakers for decades, i.e., many, many years, I still do. They are good beyond their price and reputation. Stupid good.
I also own Quad 57s, Quad 63s, Gallo somethings (3.5?)
.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mannypee   AudioPhile [Jul 24, 2009]

I have owned these speakers for over 10 years. Still going strong in my bedroom powered by my pioneer vsx 1015 txh rec. I have always liked Canadian speaker manufactures. I still own Canadian slash American speakers, the energy ref con rc 70 towers ,rcr center,bi pole di pole surrounds(four). The one thing I did not replace was my sound dynamics 12 in down firing sub. Sorry, getting back to the 300ti's,love these babies had to wait 10 years to replace them. The one thing that I did to them were to replace the 8 in drivers. I blown one driver , replaced it with 2 endurance 8 in 300 watt drivers from Angstrom acoustics. Another fine Canadian speaker company. Since the driver replacement I have tones of bottom end with no boomy boom boom! The only problem that I find with the stronger driver is it takes a good amp or receiver to power it. My new pioneer elite vsx 94 txh powered the 300ti's awesome. But my older vsx 1015 tx powers them above average. Over all the 300ti's are a great buy , and sound great. Highly recomended if you can still find them. Sorry mine are not for sale, waitng for my 5 year old to get older to pass them on. Cheers!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
maxchau   AudioPhile [Dec 30, 2008]
Strength:

Solid, seamless sound stage. Disappeared speakers. Detail, balanced and musical. Absolutely no listener fatigue. Plenty of solid, low bass if tweaked. I can see why users complain boomy bass - check you upstream components.

Weakness:

No real weaknesses

I agree with all the comments from the last post. I have owned Legacy focus, ML CLS, Megnepan, Soudnlab A3, LS 3/5a, and other speakers. Very hard to fault these with all the sound quality they give. A well balanced, musical speaker with plenty of detail. It was impressive initially. But after replacing the internal wires with Anti-cable type (Red wire, typically used in coil) the sound just became unbelievable. The speakers disappeared in seamless sound stage. Smooth and detailed high and taut bass. I decided to remove 2 subwoofers from the system because they did not add much at all in my smallish room. The mids are not pronounced but you will not feel lacking anything. By the way, my amp is only a 10W Altmann T-amp from Germany and SD responded very well. My townhouse neighbor complained it was too much for them. I strongly recommend high quality components and internal wire with connecting clamps removed. User will be rewarded yet another level of excitement. This is got to be one of the greatest audio bargains for average audiophiles. I will get another pair to replace a pair Polk monitors (not bad) downstairs.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
analogguyinadigitalworld   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 19, 2008]
Strength:

Sonically truthful.

Weakness:

The mid-range is ever so slightly recessed, but only top quality electronics will allow you to discern this.

These speakers sound real, plain and simple. A screaming bargain that will embarass many speakers cost 5 even 10 times as much.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mtubbs   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 20, 2006]
Strength:

They do everything well, but excell in the mids and highs.

Weakness:

Rather utilitarian in looks. Bass is good but could be a tad tighter even to where they extend.

I can't believe I am writing a review of a product that is this old and out of production. No, I am not writing this to generate interest in the used market for these speakers as mine are not for sale and will be passed to one of my offspring at some point in the distant future. I have listened to a lot of speakers and I have owned Magnepans, Martin Logans and currently have Dynaudios in my main system. Anyone who faults this speaker for what it is a) has poor equipment/cableing combos or choices b) has room acoustic problems or 3) has tin ears. These speakers have got to be one of the best values audio has ever produced, period. My $3K Dyns are better but not by the percentage of the cost differential. These speakers respond extremely well to good electronics and cableing. They are outstanding in the mids and highs and decent in bass response. I do not find them "boomy" as some reviewers indicated. See a and b above. Mine are on spikes and sand filled target stands. Vocals are crisp and clear. Very nice Jazz speakers but can also rock. They will not extend all the way down like some floorstanders and if you want all the bass add a sub. Notice direct comparisons to these speakers is always up the food chain usually at 3 to 5x the price. That should tell you something. They are clean and clear without being analytical. Soundstage and dynamics are very nice. They are not the last word in detail but they are very musical. Now relegated to a second system but they are not leaving the house!

Similar Products Used: My system
TAD Sig. 150 Tubed Pre
McCormack DNA-125 Power Amp - stock
Arcam FMJ CD23
Denon DVD-2910
AR turntable (very modded), AQ PT-5 Arm and Goldring 1042 cart.
Cabeleing-Transparent, Signal and Tara Labs
also have run
Acurus Pre
Forte f-44 pre and Forte 4A power
NAD 2100s biamped power
Superphon Revelation Pre
Superphon DM-220 Power Amp
Audio Alchemy DDS Pro w/DDE v3 and DTI

Other Speakers Used
Dynaudio Focus 220
Martin Logan Sequels
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
paulhbenson   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 02, 2003]
Strength:

Very strong low end--sometimes a little agressive in the highs. A depth and detail unlike what I hear even on systems many times the price. Lifelike vocals.

Weakness:

Lack biwiring capability altough the earliest reviews of the 300ti indicated that biwiring was possible. Very basic appearance.

I have owned these speakers for over six years and during that time I have used a variety of amps--(B&K separates,NAD,TANDBERG and CREEK integrateds. I was always pleased with the sound quality but never truly excited until now. I have recently switched to the NAD 320BEE integrated amp. The new NAD was highly recommended by HP in the Absolute Sound. HP had also added the 300ti's to a super components list. The combination of the 300ti's and the NAD 320BEE along with a good quality CD player provides a level of sound that is hard to beat.. I can hear details from my CD's that I never heard before..sort of like in the days when a new phono cartridge would reveal new details from my record collection.

Similar Products Used: DCM Time Windows(original models after improved tweeters were incorporated)Could not match the low end of the 300ti's.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Johnny B.   an Audio Enthusiast [Aug 30, 1997]

I hate to comment or give a review of a product, because who am I to judge. But this product really begs for my comment. I can only give one appraisal to this product that is the bass. The rest of it, I can't think of a word to describe them. It produces the sound of annoyance, which I hope everyone can take. You can only hear the bass, nothing else. If I want to listen to bass, I would get my self a subwoofer instead of a speaker system.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
ED   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 10, 2000]
Strength:

Very Musical and balanced sound, cost

Weakness:

none sonic, availability,

These speakers produce a musical, balanced sound that gets more involving the longer I own them. I get the upgrade fever on occasion and recently listened listened to a number of speakers that go for triple what I paid for these.
I left the store content to keep what I have. They just sound that good. Deep and wide soundstage, beautiful highs,
good bottom end, a midrange that makes voices come alive. If you can find 'em, buy 'em!

Similar Products Used: thiel, magnepan, B&W 603
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 07, 2000]
Strength:

Non-fatiguing, open, airy sound

Weakness:

Fairly large, plain old boxes

I guess I never really new that my previous speakers caused listening fatigue until I got the SD 300ti. I listen to these speakers all day long now in my home office and I just love them. At first I felt like they were not as dynamic and didn't image as well as the NHTs I have so I was critical, but the more I listen to them the more I realize that they have great detail, they just don't thrust it forward. I guess that's what "laid back" means. Bass is deep and dynamic while highs are smooth but detailed. Female voices are "right there". I hardly ever listened to classical and jazz music with the NHTs. Just too congested and miniature sounding. Now I'm listening to MOSTLY jazz and classical because the soundstage has become huge with these speakers. GREAT SPEAKERS. For the first time Gustav Holsts "The Planets" has filled me with awe.

My system:

B&K ST-140 amp
NAD c340 used as pre-amp
NAD c540 CD player
Musical Fidelity X10-D
Thorens turntable

Similar Products Used: Polk RT10s, NHT SuperOne, NHT SuperTwo
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Zach Hope   an Audiophile [Jan 30, 1997]

My boss is the most enthused audiophile I know and he has a set of 300ti's at work. When I was getting interested in quality audio components I considered Bose, JBL, Dahlquist, and even Vandersteins but after listening to my boss's Sound Dynamics I had to get a pair of them for myself. I love these speakers. The realitively small woofer can go down soooo low it's amazing. The titanium tweeter is what sets them apart from the rest, though. The best part about these speakers is the price. I got mine for $388 shipped! Mine were demos from Audio Advisor but they were still in good condition. The bad part is that these speakers are being discontinued because the driver tooling is wearing out. So you'll have to find them used. Good luck.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 44  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com