Sony SSMF600H Floorstanding Speakers

SSMF600H

Dual 8" H.O.P. Woofers, 3" H.O.P Midrange, 1" Nano-Fine Balanced Dome tweeter minimizes flexing, reduces distortion.

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
Ian   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 16, 2016]

I have enjoyed more than a decade out of the Sony SS-MF500H's. I recently purchased some 2nd hand SS-MF550H's. The 500's produce significantly better base than the 550's. I agree with some of the other reviews around about replacing the crossovers in these units, some improvements here.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Kevin   Audio Enthusiast [May 30, 2011]

Excellent speakers. Got them at Goodwill. That's right, Goodwill for $30.00 and they sound awesome. Go figure...

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Larry Von Listensalot   AudioPhile [Nov 09, 2006]
Strength:

Depth and clarity of sound

Weakness:

A little more bass next time

I am the last person to every buy any Sony products, especially speakers!!! The last system I owned was purchsed at a hi-fi store in Toronto Ontario, I own products from Fisher and Denon. I am a sound snob and will pay double the average for a good product.
What no one has mentioned is the depth these speakers have. I want to hear all the highs and lows, if you have a crap driver for your speakers they will not perform as intended. While the sony's lack the bass production of my Canon TLS's, speakers made in California, they do have amazing depth. I close my eyes and I can hear instruments in different positons as the recording intended. The Sony's sound good hooked up to my Denon reciever, they are especially nice when I play musc DVD's recorded in DTS. Again it's the reciever that makes a difference here.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
steven   AudioPhile [Jul 07, 2003]
Strength:

none.

Weakness:

the speakers themselves.dont be cheap,spend the xtra money and get good speakers.and dont let your parents buy your home audio equipment.

these speakers are crap.they sound muffled and have no bass.but what can i say there sony.buy a sony tv or es receiver .but dont buy there speakers.i got rid of these speakers after six months and bought polk rti100's.major differance

Similar Products Used: equipment used:HK AVR325 reciever,PIONEER DV45A dvd ,HK 8380 cd player,POLK AUDIO center,sur speakers,SUNFIRE sub,STRAIGHT WIRE audio/video cables,MONSTER WIRE.
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Sonyman   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 27, 2003]
Strength:

great deep base,(if your amplifier isnt a peice of crap) excellent highs and nice price

Weakness:

the highs and lows of your parents screaming at the tops of their lungs to turn it down and you still cant hear them:)

These speakers are great. i didnt think they were gonna be but my dad picked them out so i trusted him and im glad i did because they are the best. my dad has klipsch speakers and they are cleaner but these speakers are not bad i am getting another pair and they are the sony ss-mf650h but these ar nice. my room shakes with these.the midrange makes it all that crisper and cleaner it is nice. the tweeter is strong and i think i should wire the speakers with monster cable i heard it makes a big difference.

Similar Products Used: kenwood mx-5000 amplifier sony ss-mf650h speakers fisher eq-272 graphic equalizer
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
steven   AudioPhile [Jun 18, 2003]
Strength:

none, well maybe looks.

Weakness:

highs sound muffled,no bass.if you do buy these speakers i suggest that you rewire inside of speakers with monster cable it will make a world of differance!

i have been using these speakers for 5 months.when i hooked them up i did not know what 2 expect(because they were cheap towers and sony).well my thoughts were right, highs sounded muffled and speackers had no bass.i felt like i wasted my money. i could not return them,but i felt like i had to do something.so i took the speaker apart,and replaced the inside wiring with monster cable.it made a world of differance!

Similar Products Used: jbl book shelf speackers.
OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
Sonyman   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 04, 2003]
Strength:

Bass reflex, highs and lows

Weakness:

my dumb a$$ across the street neighbors

These speakers are great in every way especially in the highs and lows. The base is excellent. The best music to listen to on these babies is rock and rap. I have a kenwood amp with these and beleive me we are talkin some serious power. I like the bass in these speakers with the 8" woofers. The midrange is excellent. from a scale from one to ten i give them a 9.5

Similar Products Used: sony walkman and sony portable cd player
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick Sheryka   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 07, 2003]
Strength:

Great volume, VERY clean bass, good highs... small size for what they can do. PRICE AND VALUE FOR WHAT YOU PAY FOR

Weakness:

not quite as crisp as Klipsch (at one quarter the price.. i think a better speaker all around) Bass could go alittle lower.... they get you introuble if you live in a dorm room.

Yes.. for the money they are just about the best thing you can do, and i do mean it. My friend has $1000 dollar klipsch speakers, and his do sound a bit crisper and cleaner (on a really good cd or dvd), however i doubt that it is worth the &750 difference. They are nearly as good at most levels. The Sony's also produce alot of volume withought any distortion. My advice is to have a powerd sub, however if you are really into your movies and music to pick up all the stuff that any passive wooffer will miss.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Alex   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 21, 2002]
Strength:

High's and Mids, Over All Value, cool lookin too

Weakness:

Low Bass (pretty good for a 8" woffer though)

I was rather happy with these speakers. They have Ausome sound, and for the price they ROCK! Much better then KHL! With there 50khz high, they have an ausome high range, VERY good for Home Theater, Thats where i think they really "shine". Music though does not sound bad at all, i listen to mostly Electronica, witch has a big range, and boy do these sound nice... One thing that i did notice is there bass out-put, its not low, its just they cant put out that much more, there only 8" woffers, So a SubWoffer Is a MUST on theses, if you reallly want to big BOOMS and Lows with music, Wattage wise you need about a 100perchan amp, but thses babys can sure put out alot of sound... Yet again Sony has made a great product, and with a price you cant beet, so in they end there no JBL S412P's (witch are SO nice.. hehe) but they make me happy :-) Like 'Bob' Said "Dont pass thses up, just because they say Sony on them!" Hell! I did the 1st time!


Amp: Technics SA-DX1040
Cd/Dvd: Sony Dvp-Ns4000
Lp1: Sony Lps-U808
Lp2: Technics Ldj5001

If you have any more questions, feel free to e-mail me!
arg-cpu@attbi.com
Aim: Argcpu
Icq: 138385695

Similar Products Used: Advent, old pair of Cerwin Vega's
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Bob   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 01, 2002]
Strength:

Price, Looks, Sound In Every Way!

Weakness:

Hauling them up 2 flights of stairs!

These speakers kick ass! I'm not usually a fan of Sony, but they have done quite well. I got them for a second system in my Jam Room and I am totally impressed. I was worried about the bass but WHOA! Position them the CORRECT way (see your catalog) and the lows are fantastic! My main system is all Yamaha for audio and Mitsubishi for video. My Yamaha setup has the whole nine yards (powered subs, center, digital surround) and these Sony's could hold up to them any day, even without a sub! I have listened to every thing from Gershwin to Miles. Rock, Rap, Classical, Jazz, everything sounds excellent. If you want some inexpensive, great sounding speakers, check these out! Put them up against $1000 Bose for yourself.

Similar Products Used: Yamaha, Bose, Aiwa, Infinity, Celestion, Jenson, Pioneer, KLH
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com