Sony SS-MF515 Floorstanding Speakers

Sony SS-MF515 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

3 way speaker, 6 1/2" woofer x2, 3" Mid, l" tweeter.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 108  
[Sep 12, 2020]
Mannybz


Strength:

I would most def say that the Mid Range and Bass is the surely the strength of this speaker combo. Recently purchased a pair and mated with the Nakamichi AV-500... most of the sound is very dynamic and effortless. The highs were a little flat towards the right speaker set up aka some signal clipping. Well come to find out I have a burned out tweeter. I surely need to replace it or maybe upgrade it. The dual 6.25 woofers actually are surprisingly strong and this set up... they just work.

Weakness:

The biggest weakness I would have to say is the construction of the cabinet. It damages and blemishes way too easily. And that sucks. I believe it's corrugated board for the construction but none the less a fairly solid speaker.

Price Paid:
100.00
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
2000
OVERALL
RATING
4
[Mar 19, 2003]
Matthew
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Power Handling, bang for the buck

Weakness:

I would say that the bass response is not a weakness but just not as good as the rest of the speaker. The finish is a little bit cheap looking and scratches easily but what do you except for the price.

I have worked in theaters and installed all of my friend’s home theater systems for years and really pay attention to every single speaker system I come across. For the price these are definitely the best speakers out there. Sure if you spent 500 or more you could get something better but for the 150 that I Paid there isn’t a better speaker. I have the old 515's and love them even without the new crossover. I wouldn’t recommend buying these if you have more then a couple hundred bucks, just because there are better speakers out there for more money.

Similar Products Used:

My System: Sony 80es receiver Sony 515 speakers Sony 515 5 disk CD player Sony Mds-JB-920 MD player and a MZR-55 Portable Sony DLP 2000 Laser Disk Sony 530 DVD Player Acoustic Research 12inch

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 14, 2002]
naglfar
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

mmmmmmmmmm.... looks.. ? maybe

Weakness:

ALL that u can imagine when it comes to normal loudspeakers. everthing from sound (empty feeling) to looks (is that a used box of dead rabbits or what ?!)

You call those pair of junk towers a loudspeakers ? !? I wish mr. Osama would take on them with some sort of sesna. shame on you Sony!!

Similar Products Used:

Wharfedale Modus one.six

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Jan 19, 2000]
Andy
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

cheap

Weakness:

sound

This speaker is cheap, and sounds cheap too. Smeared high frequency responce and grainy mid-range make this speaker painful to listen to at any volume level. The bass drivers produce just one note and have absolutely no definition. These are, without question, the worst speakers I have ever heard (Bose included). Please investigate higher quality bookshelf speakers like the two listed above. They have a great mid-range and true high frequency responce (more bass than you would ever expect). If you can spare another $100, try some NHT Super Ones.

Similar Products Used:

Energy e:xl 16, KEF Coda 7

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Aug 05, 2000]
Jeff
Audiophile

To Jeff in Portland. There is a tremendous difference between the sound of these inexpensive Sony's and the sound of slightly more expensive speakers. Go to any decent store with an adequate listening room, and A-B the speakers with a set of middle-of-the-line Boston Acoustics, just to pick a typical example for the larger buying market. You'll wish you spent the extra money on the BA's. However, the Sony's are satisfactory for their price. Again, you get what you pay for. As your listening matures, so will your level of acceptable sound. In the meantime, the Sony's are ok for the casual listener. If you were purchasing real estate, these speakers are the equivalent of the "starter home".

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[Mar 20, 2000]
Mikey
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

great sound; stylish cabinets

Weakness:

sufficient bass for their size, but not enough for my needs

After returning the completely crappy Bose AM-10 II, I decided to get a "temporary" set of speakers while I researched my future apartment theater speaker purchases. Was I ever surprised by this pair! So surprised that I completed my "temporary" apartment theater with the Sony SS-
CR490 center/surround combo, which matches acoustically and aesthetically. I can't believe the sound I'm getting from a setup that I have only invested $345.55 so far. All I need now is a powered sub to complete the system.
If you are looking for an inexpensive, stylish, great sounding home theater setup for your apartment or small home, then this is a great pair of front speakers on which to build. If you have a larger room, there may be better options, but you'll need a larger wallet

Similar Products Used:

bose, cerwin vega, klipsch, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 21, 2000]
Brad
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Awesome sound clarity and quality for the price...

Weakness:

As mentioned many times below, bass weaknesses can be addressed with a sub...

Went to a variety of stores to try out the above mentioned speakers. Great sound on all of them, which you're gonna pay for. Then I looked over the reviews of these Sony's and went to Best Buy to check them out. Without a doubt they deliver the best bang for the buck. They won't dissapoint you, especially for the price.

Found these for $159 at www.SupremeVideo.net. Add $25 for S&H and I came out way ahead.

Similar Products Used:

Looked at Polk, BA, and JBL

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 23, 2000]
Lucas
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Bargain, clarity and highs, clean bass

Weakness:

Imaging is a bit weak, mid's/vocals sometimes sounds like they're stuck inside the speaker, power hungry

Brought a pair from Best Buy, hooked it up to my Denon AVR-1800. Sounded kinda crappy, especially the bass (muddled and boomy). Decided to upgrade to an AVR-3300, and that made a huge difference. For those that complain about a lack of clarity might not be running enough juice to these speakers.

Otherwise, my only real complaint is that the speakers don't image very well. Unless you're right in their sweet spot, the sound is a bit directional and boxed in. Not a huge deal, but it was enough to make me go out and shop for more speakers. I'm going to give the Alphas a few days to burn in then make a decision.

Still, the Sony's are a great deal, can't go wrong if you like what you hear.

Similar Products Used:

Currently auditioning PSB Alpha A/V's

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 29, 1999]
Sara
Casual Listener

I love these speakers. I was set on buying Klipsch speakers, but the ones in my price range (SF1) didn't sound as good as the lower priced Sony MF515s. Great value.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 04, 2000]
Jason Schloer
Casual Listener

Strength:

Great Full sound

Weakness:

again, the bass.

I Love them. Purchased them from Best Buy based on the reviews here. I agree that the sound is full crisp and clear. My next purchase will have to be a sub, but the bass is good for now. Wish the quality was a bit better at high volume, but can't ask for much more for the price. Excellent value.Would recommend them to anyone.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 108  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com