Signet 260 Floorstanding Speakers

260

Two way bookshelf

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
jose vejar   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 05, 2015]

I got these signet SL260 used, I was using B&W 686 bookshelf speakers, the sound quality of these old Signets speakers are amazing, these Signets speakers kicked the 686 butts big time. To equal the sound quality and build quality, you will have to spend over $1000 usd.
I have had many good speakers in the $1000 range, but they did not sounded as good as these beasts. Build quality is outstanding, from crossover to enclosure. if you ever come across these Signet SL260...just get them!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Steve Krivda   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 28, 2014]

I purchased the SL260's new in 1994 from a high end audio store based on the sales person's recommendation. Truly remarkable for the price ($450/pr), have been using regularly since. As stated by other reviews, if you stumble accross a pair, buy without question! Build quality is solid & sound is truly amazing. Tons of bass from a small package. Tweeters produce exceptional & realistic highs. Becoming harder and harder to find - because peiople who have them will not part with them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris Cuesta   AudioPhile [Aug 20, 2013]

One word. AMAZING! They disappear. I'm have the bi-wirable model SL 260 MkII. Like the other reviewer mentioned, if you come across a pair, grab them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
amras   AudioPhile [Feb 24, 2006]
Strength:

Everthing. built like a tank. The sound is open, very open and transparent. Unwanted resonance in the box is almost non-existant. But the real homerun with this speaker is the midrange. It is so full, so rich and dynamic that with a decent system the speaker truely disappears and the musicians thake it's place. After hearing many, many speakers, I just can't say enough.

Weakness:

Can't find them anymore.

I just had to post on this speaker since it's been in my system since 93. Every 3-5 years I make my rounds through the new speaker releases hoping to give-in to my upgrade-itis. I look at Paradigm Studio, Energy, B&W, Maggies, etc. Every time I came home a little dissapointed. To replace the 260's and take a step up in quality, I would need to spend into the 1000's of dollars. It's REALLY that good. Bottomline, if you can find a pair, whether you need a pair or not, just buy them. Giant Killer.

Similar Products Used: Paradigm Energy Thiel Maggies B&W
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
generic   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 19, 2003]
Strength:

Attractive, great mid-range and deep bass, crisp highs too. Overall nice range. Great presence as mains in a HT.

Weakness:

A little big for a bookshelf.

I purchased this gem in college, when I didn't know jack about speakers. My roommate was a self-professed audiophile, so he recommended that we get one. (Naturally with my money, since he was always broke) I must have gotten a really good deal, because everywhere it's listed at over $450, and it sells on eBay used for over $200. Anyways- clean, crisp midrange and good bass. Just really nice speakers. Unfortunately, you can't find Signets around anymore....

Similar Products Used: Bose 201 series III, NHT P5
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Chris2112   AudioPhile [Dec 14, 2002]
Strength:

Sound, Image, Price.

Weakness:

I wish they could handle more wattage.. It's not a weakness of the speaker but I would love to drive these around 1000 watts.

A little advise here if you are lucky enough to find a pair, don't ask questions don't haggle, just buy them. I will put these speakers up against any speaker on the planet. I don't care if they cost 100 or 10,000 dollars. Within it's wattage capabilities these speakers are beyond belief. The speaker has a capability of reproducing ambient life like high's that go beyond words Thier image capabilities again make you think there 8 speakers in the room. Listening to these speakers just about re-invents every CD you own. I have been a musician for 25 years I have heard pure music (2 inch Tape ) driven at 1000 watts and these speakers are the closest thing that bring that experience back to me. I don't want to insult anyone that thinks they are an audiophile but until you have heard music played back on a freshly recorded and mixed 2 inch tape, well, sorry but you haven't heard music. The company that produced these speakers has gone bankrupt and the make is getting harder and harder to find The place where I discovered these speakers had 2 pair's left, I purchased both. They listed for 1100 but the store was blowing them out at 689.00, It was the first time in my life I felt tlike a thief.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tommy G   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 19, 2002]
Strength:

good bass for size, balanced , nice soundstage, set up right they seem to disappear.

Weakness:

none at full retail, at what I payed a steal!

Found a pair on E-Bay for $150.! Picked them up from the seller who had them connected to a low powered radio shack reciever and didn''t like the sound? hooked them up at home and my jaw dropped! these sound great! hook them up to some good electronics and you will be rewarded. Highly recommended!

Similar Products Used: Mission, Advent, Polk, Boston, Pinnacle
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David   Audio Enthusiast [May 29, 2000]
Strength:

Excellent soundstage, bi-amp capbabilities, nice finish quality, brand of speakers.

Weakness:

None

I was very close to purchasing the set of Paradigm until a sales rep introduced me to this speaker. I fell in love, and to this day, I truly am amazed at how well this speaker produces music and sound effects.

I remember when I first started to listen to some classical off the radio using the Signet to reproduce the sweet music. I closed my eyes and could picture where the instruments were being played as though I was right at the concert. Just amazing.

Now I am using these speaker as my mains with a VLC-266 center channel (by Signet) and a set of Paradigm Titan's for rear surrounds.

I highly recommend this speaker as it offer hi-end audio at a budget price.

Similar Products Used: tried out some Paradigms
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Haile   Audiophile [Jan 11, 2001]
Strength:

A fantastic "invisible" speaker! It has a very neutral midrange and high-end and isn't edgy or harsh at all. It can do heavy rock as well as classical and sound pretty good.

Weakness:

The ported design makes the bass "pillowy soft". Really low end thumps don't pin you to your chair like you might find on bigger and more expensive speakers.

Highly recommended by an amatuer audiophile who did a lot of research and spent way too much time picking out speakers in 1990.

Similar Products Used: I tried everything out there in the $500-$750 price range in 1990. This speaker was up against B&W and many others in my house for overnight auditions. I had Magnepan MG1A's for a long time prior to these speakers. The Maggies were better at acoustic and classical music but fell on their face when required to do loud blues or rock.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tony mendoza   an Audio Enthusiast [Dec 21, 1998]

I've been listening to this speaker for weeks and really like it over anything I've heard for a comparable price. Signet, though, doesn't make a center channel speaker with the aluminum tweeter in the 260s. Has anyone run into this problem who owns this speaker. Signet recommends their 266B center channel, even though it doesn't have aluminum tweeters.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com