SEA Speakers 4.0 Series Floorstanding Speakers

SEA Speakers 4.0 Series Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Home Theater Speaker Package - Five Speakers With 4" Polyfin/Norsorex Cone Woofers And 1" Soft Dome Tweeters - One Dynamically Aligned 10" Bass Driver

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-8 of 8  
[Dec 27, 2006]
Bob Lewis
AudioPhile

Strength:

Good for the price you will pay for them.

Weakness:

4" woofer. And another problem will be that most all receivers have an 80HZ sub-woofer to speaker crossover and the 4" woofer would be happer with a 125-150 cut off to subwoofer. I just had a thought. The front channel speakers work with the bass speaker wiring to act as one speaker. Prologic surround was limited to just 120hz anyway so the system would work for Prologic but Dobly Digital surroud goes down to 80hz and the 4" woofer wont work for that. If you set the surround cross over higher if your receiver allows you may get by with it. I use a Denon 3802 receiver and Im not sure if it will make the necessary adjustments. Anyway its been 4 years since I have listen to them so take what I have to say with a grain of salt. Good luck!

I know all about this Sea speakers and company as a friend of mine was a dealer for them just before they went out of busness. I was the one who put him on to them. I have the 4.0 and he had the 8.0 surround speakers. I cant say enough about the sound of the 8.0 speakers. They sound fantastic! Great punch, smooth sound. The 4.0s are another story all to gether. The 4" woofer just doesnt cut it. Maybe thats the reason so few speakers are offered with 4" woofers. One does come to mind that does sound good and thats the $2000 Boston surround speakers but the powered woofer in that setup is very good as is the metal cabinets of the surround speakers. The Sea 8.0 speakers with 8" woofers and Seas (Danish speaker and not made by Sea)silk dome tweeter have a wonderful sound and these speakers can be gotten for nothing on ebay. The 4.0 have the Seas silk dome tweeter too. Now, I listen to a Snell XA $7,000 surround speaker system I bought in 1999 and the 4.0s I played with for an hour or so and put up for the last 4 years. I did listen to them at a local dealer(Top Gun) before I answered the local ad and bought them but they dont compare to the Sea 8.0s

Customer Service

Out of busness because they filled a very large order for a company that then went out of busness and didnt get the money or the speaker back and the speakers were sold at auction to pay the company creators. So the Sea company was trying to sell 4.0s systems for $1,500 while everyone who bought them at auction were asking $225 for them. They could not compete againest their own speakers. I called the company about it and they told me the story and also refused to warranty the auction speaker. I remember back when Sea speaker were being sold by alot of people who had bought 5-10 sets of surround speaker from all sorts of places. The lady I bought mine from said she had 10 sets for sale. A fellow I talked to in another state said he bought 5 sets of 8.0s at an auction. Anyway, now you know about as much as I do on the Sea speaker story.

Similar Products Used:

I own the following speaker:
Snell: XA75, XA55, Type D, Q, KII, Kmk1
Sea:4.0
Polk: SDA 1, SDA CRS+
Sunfire true subwoofer
Loth-X BS

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jun 15, 2006]
Martin Rudd
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound, No Vibrating noises, Quality, Weight,.

Weakness:

I found none

I've had a set of the SEA speakers since 1999. I have used them a great deal.
They have the richest, clear sound that I would want and expect from the SEAs.
Not only does Disney's use these speakers but MGM studios also uses these in some of their sets.
They are a grand set of speakers. I like the weight of the speakers because as you turn your volumne up, the speakers stay rigid, holding to their base with no
vibrating.
I like these speakers very much.
I hate to hear the co has went out of business. But all good things must come to an end.

Similar Products Used:

JVC, Pioneer, Mitsubishi

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 18, 2003]
justbereal21
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity,Size,Highs

Weakness:

Nonpowered sub,heavy weight of speakers(hard to wall mount)

I bought the sea 4.0 set online for a mere 119.99 plus shipping at ebay.com.I have to say I wish that it had a powered sub but I already had one to begin with so I just used the satelites and they sound so full of life,they blow my old pioneers away,the sound is crystal clear.Even though they are out of business I believe I recieved a great deal and I recommend them to anyone.

Similar Products Used:

Pioneer,Optimus,Technics

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 01, 2002]
handyman28
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Price, sound quality

Weakness:

Size, quality control, no longer in business, tech support, service & repairs

I purchased these (SEA 8.0) new off ebay for a mere $400.00. SEA was a manufacturer of professional speakers, and I''ve been to Universal Studios & Disney in Fla, where there products were used and was quite pleased with the sound. Also, with an original price over $2000, $400 is an absolute steal, for any 6 piece speaker system. (Can''t even buy a Bose AM6 system for that price!) First off, the packaging was second rate, as 1 of the speakers suffered a slight separation at the seams, which I repaired. Sound quality is clean and bass is tight, but 1 of the woofers arrived bad. It distorts at any volume if bass is present. I am having extreme difficulties finding a replacement woofer. I am currently running it off a B&K AV5000 105x5 amplifier with a CHIRO 802 preamp, and must say that if it wasn''t for the defective woofer I would say it is a great buy, much better than any BOSE and far better than anything under $1000. The only drawback is that they are large (8" woofers) so they do stand out. If anyone knows where I can get a replacement I would greatly appreciate it.

Similar Products Used:

Bose 901, Bose am10, Advent (classics, not the new junk), Cambridge soundworks, Infinity, JBL

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 03, 2001]
Mark
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

I have the 8.0 series and they sound adequate. For the price you can't beat them. The only thing I would do differently is instesd of addind an amplifier to the sub, is buy an additional sub from a respectable retailer.

Weakness:

SEA is now out of business. After I had already paid for an Harmon Kardon AVR500 they went under. Now I am out $600. The CEO of the company, Gary Adams, refuses to refund my money. As well as this drawback is there will be no support for the speaker system in case something goes wrong. I would suggest strongly, if you're thinking of purchasing an SEA system, to pursue other avenues. Having a adequate product is only part of a major purchase like this. You also need good company support after the sale. SEA MANUFACTURING CORPORATION (407) 322-2239 204 North Elm AVE SANFORD, FL 32771

Knowing what I know now I never would have purchased this system. When I initially got the system there was a problem with one of the cones in the front speakers.
The sub is a passive one. If you want an amplifier that will cost you an additional $200 and seeing that SEA is no longer in business you would have to have that done somewhere else.
The sound of the system is acceptable but, if you run into any problems you're on your own.
In my oppinion Gary Adams CEO of SEA is less than an honorable man. The decision is up to you.

Sincerely,

Ripped off in the amount of $600

Similar Products Used:

First digital system

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 20, 2001]
Mark
Audio Enthusiast

I wrote a review several months ago about the 8.0 series and the unfortunate situation I had with SEA. I said that "Gary Adams was less than an honorable man". I wish to retract that statement. I still have not received a refund and am basically out $600. Until I receive a full refund my view point stands on the rest of the review.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
[May 15, 2000]
Travis Harrison
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Outstanding vocals and other highs/mid-range sounds. Its nice to have 5 matched speakers.

Weakness:

Although the low end presence isn't lacking, the subwoofer just doesn't have the teeth chattering impact I have felt with other higher end subs (for more $$).

We have been very pleased with the system. We have a Denon AVR-1700 receiver in use with the speakers. All of the mid-range and high end sounds (vocals, bullet casings hitting the ground, guitars/horns in music) are fantastic. I did not realize the surround effect in our living room would be quite like this, considering that this is not supposed to be a high end system. We come home from a movie in the theater or at a friend's house (with a better surround system - Parasound separates electronics, custom speakers, scare the dog & annoy the neighbors type sub) and we are not disappointed at all in the Sea system. The sub-woofer does not have a bone-jarring impact. The low end presence is there and that low rumble of a steamroller or an explosion are very apparent, but its not the same effect (actually vibrating the furniture) that could be had with a larger sub. We do plan on upgrading the sub down the line (1 - 2 years, we don't feel this upgrade is pressing), but are very happy with what we now have. My father recently got a 12" isobaric (2 woofers back-to-back) custom sub-woofer through Art of Sound. If we had the impact of that sub-woofer (f3 of 108 dB at 30 Hz, I believe) I would have rated the system a 5 star overall. To get into this system at $1,000 makes me want to rate it at 6 stars for the value.

Similar Products Used:

This is our first surround sound system in our own home.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 02, 2000]
George
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Their size, it's nice to have 'room filling sound' with no 'room full of speakers'. The sound is great too. We replaced our old receiver, speakers and cd/dvd all at the same time so not sure if the difference is just the speakers, but I'm hearing stuff on old cd's I've never heard before. Incredible high ends. Really incredible.

Weakness:

No bass without powered sub. But they're supposed to be used with a sub.

The system I bought is the SEA 4.0 with the upgraded sub that Travis's dad got. (12" isobaric manufactured by Art of Sound). I'm pushing them with a Sony STR DE835. I was a little leary of getting a "small" speaker system because my only exposure was the Bose stuff that they sell at the warehouses - and they all sounded so flat. If you want the big name get the Bose system, but you should read the reviews first from all the suckers. These speakers are twice the speakers Bose would ever hope to be. The component that ties it all together is the 12" isobaric sub. Our house is on a slab and the extra punch of the isobaric brings dvd low freq effects to 'better than at the movies' kind of levels. The kind folks at Art of Sound even put a custom oak top on the sub cube for me. Nice touch. You will not touch the sub at twice the price.

Similar Products Used:

Have never owned 6 speeker system, went right from 2 channel to 5.1.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com