Red Rose Music R3 Floorstanding Speakers

R3

User Reviews (12)

Showing 1-10 of 12  
The Moog   AudioPhile [Sep 26, 2011]

These were expensive at the time, now quite rare secondhand. They can sound slightly warm in presentation. I would agree with Peter that they need efficient clean power amplification. If you are hearing anything wrong with these speakers apart from slightly too much bass on some dance tracks, trust me its not the speakers. Two tries with valve amps were not great and almost caused me to move them on, however, persevere!!! the bottom end was reigned in with 200wpc of solid state. Its a different speaker. Using bespoke jumpers rather than the brass strips also pays dividends! Great little speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
The Moog   AudioPhile [Sep 26, 2011]

These were expensive at the time, now quite rare secondhand. They can sound slightly warm in presentation. I would agree with Peter that they need efficient clean power amplification. If you are hearing anything wrong with these speakers apart from slightly too much bass on some dance tracks, trust me its not the speakers. Two tries with valve amps were not great and almost caused me to move them on, however, persevere!!! the bottom end was reigned in with 200wpc of solid state. Its a different speaker. Using bespoke jumpers rather than the brass strips also pays dividends! Great little speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
The Moog   AudioPhile [Sep 26, 2011]

These were expensive at the time, now quite rare secondhand. They can sound slightly warm in presentation. I would agree with Peter that they need efficient clean power amplification. If you are hearing anything wrong with these speakers apart from slightly too much bass on some dance tracks, trust me its not the speakers. Two tries with valve amps were not great and almost caused me to move them on, however, persevere!!! the bottom end was reigned in with 200wpc of solid state. Its a different speaker. Using bespoke jumpers rather than the brass strips also pays dividends! Great little speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Peter   AudioPhile [Feb 28, 2003]
Strength:

Great imaging, great musicality

Mr. Art Lewis has no idea what he wrote. Mark Levinson bought Audio Prism. In fact, the speakers were never made by Audio Prism, they were concieved by Bo Bengstrtom - completely unaffilliated. These speakers image beautifully and have a 170 degree disperson range. They are perfect for small spaces, and they do require quality equipment, which other reviewers may or may not have.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Art Lewis   Audiophile [Jun 12, 2001]
Strength:

Clear tweeter

Weakness:

small mid-woofer, out of phase high and low frequency

Red Rose was formed when ML bought the Audio Spectrum, which was a small, unfamous and poorly-designed. RR3 developed along with the pre-amp. and amps. which had little modification besides putting on the name Red Rose! Even though the small speakers did manage to produce some soundstage due to its ribbon tweeters, the major fault is that like other ribbon speakers, the high and low frequency cones are out of phase, which make the music sounds really unnatural. Besides, the Dynaudio mid-woofer did not carry much texture and information, besides giving the audience some mid-bass boost, the traditional gimmick to let small monitor to seem to "produce" a lot of bass.

In essence, if I want to listen to ribbon speaker, I would rather buy a Manaplaner, or a Martin Logan. RR3? Just a gimmick to cheat the money of the non-audiophiles!

Similar Products Used: ProAc, Zingali, Sonus Faber
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Steven Marks   Audiophile [Oct 23, 2001]
Strength:

Highly musical. Great for smaller rooms

Weakness:

Cannot fill large room. Stands required and not included. Being a small speaker they are not efficient enough for SET amps.

Beyond any analysis, these speakers are above all truly musical. It is easy to forget about specifics -- soundstage, low octave, imaging -- and just listen to the music.

Surprisingly large sound for near field listening. Wonderful extended bass (especially for apartment dwellers). They have the sound of much larger speakers, but are able to express it in a small to mid-sized room. Very revealing of equipment, so a satisfying choice for tweaking. Responsive to good equipment.

Negative reviewers have obviously not spent any time with these speakers. The integration of ribbon and woofer is wonderful. Does require quality equipment, but really sing.

If you have a smaller space, look no further. These are long term keepers. A great choice when it is the music that matters.

Similar Products Used: Celestion SL600
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Germano   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 25, 2001]
Strength:

Good tweeter resolution

Weakness:

Bad midrange and bass resolution

Some people think and feels that you don`t have right to write reviews here on audioreview.com if you don`t give to products they like FIVE BIG RED STARS. That remind me of old Soveit Union regime. Communist party punished people if they didn`t do as party required.
I have also heard Red Rose R3 several times and was disappointed. They do produce "BIG" sound, but that "BIG" sound was not good. Bad midrange and bass resolution was revised. But tweeter was good. For $1.500 R3 are good loudspeakers, but for $3.500-4.000 no way.

Similar Products Used: Piega P2 LTD, Sonus Faber Electa Amator II & Extrema, Quad ESL63
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
1
jerry   Audiophile [Jul 24, 2001]
Strength:

No other speaker I've heard sounds better with all forms of music

Weakness:

already mentioned

I am compelled to write this because of the previous unqualified review by Mr. Art Lewis of Hong Kong.

It is obvious he doesn't own the speaker or has even given it a serious audition. This individual has no business entering an unwarranted trashing of a product without jusitifcation or basis.

These speakers play music with intoxicating beauty and sensuality. They are simply incredible, and anyone coming here to check reviews should give them a serious listen. You will simply be amazed. DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THEIR SIZE. Unless you have a very large space or are a real head-banger, these speakers will be extremely satisfying - and that includes the ability to play the Gladiator soundtrack with authority.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Jerry   Audiophile [Apr 27, 2001]
Strength:

life-like presentation of the music. Superb imaging and soudstage with layering of front to back.

Weakness:

Not suited for large rooms or far-field listening. Limited in how loudly they can be played. Not the last word in bottom end. A tad on the dark and warm side.

In the past if I had read all the weaknesses I listed for any other speaker, I would have thought the Red Roses aren't for me. But once I began listening to my recordings through them everything else became irrelevant. I won't even try to impress you with describing these speakers with the usual audiophile lingo.

In the end, the only thing that counts is what kind of effect did the speakers have on the listening experience, and I can say without reservation that these speakers have made music more enjoyable than any other speaker I've heard. They make me want to listen to music - and nothing else matters. I can't wait to get home and listen some more.

$3500 seems like a lot for such a small speaker, but size doesn't matter (at least when it comes to speakers)

Similar Products Used: Too many to mention. None were as involving and satisfying
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Joep   Audiophile [Jan 31, 2001]
Strength:

Bass

Weakness:

None

I first heard these speakers at the recent CES show in Las Vegas. These speakers are amazing. I am a longtime audiophile and I have not encountered anything similar in a long time. They sound much much bigger than they look. Bass is extra ordinary. Even when you compare them to bigger size boxes. Midrange is also very clean and the treble is very revealing. I honestly would not know any speaker in this size that can compete with these small wonders produce.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 12  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com