PSB Speakers Image 6T Floorstanding Speakers

Image 6T

This powerful combination of three 6.5-inch woofers and the Image tweeter takes the impact of music and movies to peak levels. It is hard to imagine any likely use in any likely home listening/viewing room that will stress this speaker or cause it to lose any of its "you are there" detail. This is a speaker for high demands, even in big listening rooms.

User Reviews (46)

Showing 1-10 of 46  
clasvi   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 16, 2011]

Recently upgraded from PSB Alpha T1 to the Image T6 speakers. Both sets are great but the T6's are way better sound ! Wish I had bought them first. Only have about 30 hrs of listening on them so far. (bought them 3/2011. The one thing I can't stress enough is the sound difference between regular speaker wire and quality bi-wire. It is incredible. bought some Audioquest Type 4 no frills with banana clips. paid $118. worth every penny. I agree with another reviewer here in that out of the three woofers, only one plays midrange. If your planning on having a sub, your going to be lacking mids. I am not using a sub so these do me just fine in the bass department but I wish the mids were a little more evident. Wish two woofers were pushing the midrange and one woofer was pushing the bass. I would then get a subwoofer. I paid $900. for the pair. Couldnt find anything that sounded better without paying twice as much.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
alex ancira   Casual Listener [Feb 18, 2011]

congratulations

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Louie   AudioPhile [Feb 09, 2010]

awesome speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Tommy G   AudioPhile [Jun 10, 2003]
Strength:

Bass, sound stage, vocals. This is just a really good full range speaker for the price

Weakness:

rather large and deep

Great speakers for the price. Have plenty of bass. Keep them well out from the rear wall or the bass may sound a bit to much or muddy. Nice sound stage and good detail, decent sensitivity. These take a while to break in so be patient. Payed $400 for these and a top line sony es reciever from a guy who broke up with his girl and was goin over the road truck drivin. The score of the summer so far!!!

Similar Products Used: mission, AR, advent, design acoustics, polk, fisher( vintage xp), signet, klipsch,paradigm, ohm, infinity
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rune Skogberget   Audio Enthusiast [May 27, 2003]
Strength:

Precise. Both width and depth in sound is great.

Weakness:

Perhaps 3 basselements is a bit to much when only one of these plays the mid ? It is very fond of playing bass (perhaps not a weakness).

A bit dark or warm (or shall i say bassheavy) sound when connected to a Denon PMA-2000R (darker than my previous Seas 403) and tonecontrol for bass is increased. Problem is that the Denon not only increases the volum in the subbass area when turning basscontrol. The combination PSB/Denon is best with the tonecontrols left off and helped with an active subwoofer if more bass is needed. Except this flaw, the sound is extremely precise and focused with huge depth and widht. Didn't expect a loudspeaker in this pricerange could achive this. All inn all it must be given 5 stars in this pricerange.

Similar Products Used: Seas 403, Vifa Jonglering.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
gunman12   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 18, 2003]
Strength:

Build quality Imaging Power handling Awe inspiring for HT

Weakness:

Slightly fragile grill assembly Shallow binding posts for bannna plugs

After having been a long time JBL/Infinity fan, I wish I had discovered this brand of speaker a long time ago. I cannot recommend the Image line of speakers enough. I purchased a set of 6T's for the front left/right, a 9C center (just remarkable), and 2 sets of the Image 3LR's for the side and back surrounds on the reccomendation of an friend. I run the 9C and 6T's in large configuration and the 3LR's in the small for HT. It would be hard to believe that you could buy more spectacular speakers for the money. For HT the 6T's have precise imaging, potent slam, and an undeniable lifelike "feeling". The speaker just begs to be driven hard. I have yet to run into a situation that I was dissatisfied with these. Keep in mind that this is over the course of a year and watching many movies in the large position at reference levels. For music I choose to run these in the stereo direct mode. I can attest to the precise imaging that one of the previous reviewers had mentioned. I was listening to some Pink Floyd today and had to check twice to see if I had left the center channel engaged. These are fantastic rock and roll speakers, especially when fed with an amp with large power reserves. I use a Denon 3802 and it is a great match. If you are looking for a solid performing and hard hitting speaker then this is the bargain of the year.

Similar Products Used: JBL, Infinity, Jamo, Definitive
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
tfreakyk   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 19, 2003]
Strength:

Brilliant ,stunning sound .Very detailed highs and great bass response considering these are 6.5 inch drivers.

Weakness:

When I connected these speakers they body slammed my old fronts all the way to the rear of me listening room and threw my old surrounds out to the back yard.Go figure.

Be careful when opening the box because these speakers SCREAM quality before you ever hook them up.My first test for these speakers was a dose of hard rock , then I decided to try a dvd , specifically ,Star Wars:The Phantom Menace. I quickly selected the pod racing scene. What I heard was dramatic.I had been missing sounds that I never knew existed. I was completely blown away by the spaciousness and definition.I am totally sold on psb and have recently purchased the Image 9c .If you are looking for a great performing speaker for movies and music dont hesitate to buy these.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ce   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 12, 2002]

When you listen to them you got to love them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
isopentane   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 31, 2002]
Strength:

Detailed and generally accurate. The 2 and 1/2 way crossover is pretty cool. I expected more of a noticeable ''line'' between the aluminum dome tweeter and the larger driver. Efficiency is high; can easily fill the room.

Weakness:

Large, deep enclosures in the Stanley Kubrick monolithic tradition. Have recently noticed smaller primates wielding bones and gesturing each other in a threatening manner.

Performs well over a wide range of musical content. Particularly shines with vocals, woodwinds, & piano. Clear, spacious sound. Bass is well defined but not overdone. I''m driving these with a new HK 3470 2-channel receiver. This setup is an upgrade over my old, but reliable, HK PM645 amp and JBL L60T speakers.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
henry   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 30, 2002]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

none

I had them for 4 mounth now, used it not over 4 hours

Similar Products Used: quite some
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 46  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com