ProAc Studio 150 Floorstanding Speakers

Studio 150

floorstanders

User Reviews (17)

Showing 1-10 of 17  
els678   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 02, 2010]

The sound these speakers produce from what is a relatively thin slim cabinet size is exceptional.
h 990 x w 190 x d 240 I was very suprised by the detail these speakers can produce. Not a hint of boomyness. A wide sharp soundstage.
A very clear neutral sound overall. with dare I say it sweet treble.

These babies can rock though well beyond you would think considering the drivers are ony 4 1/2 inches.
My rel sub comes in for the very low end, but you really do not need a sub for music only cinema when you would have a sub anyway.

U2 live at slane castle is a big sound and these can handle it superbly even at very high volumes.

Patnering equipment. I ve used them with meridian, Arcam, Denon, & Pioneer. I known they sound great with Primare. So I would say better the equipment the better they will perform.

I think they could beniefit from placing on stone plinths for wooden floors etc. Only because being a small floor stander it will add to stability. Not too near the wall either.
but i have found them less fussy than most over placement

If you come across these in good condition they are well worth the money. You would have to pay thousands to beter these, and due to their neat size are pretty wife freindly too.

Ive been looking for some good rear speakers and i think another pair of these would do fine for spectacular 5 channel stereo & cinema too.

If you find some buy them

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
paulmallows   AudioPhile [Aug 04, 2009]

these are a verry special speaker that deserves to be matched with verry warm amps.mine is sugden a21a and cd 21.matched with oddysey cable.no need for bi wire they are fine in single phase,i use nordost red dawn as interconnects...not usual chiose but adds the final touch to the treble end.these are not head banging speakers but are specialised for true class instrumental music such as celtic and nick drake.i have listenned to 30000 pound syxstems and this 50000 system beats them all...believe me there are a sugden marriage and the best you will here.mine speakers cost me 600,second hand of course,if you want true immaging then these are the best.well next to pmc fb1 but thses sre 7000 pounds ,,hope you get my advice

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Hans Damen   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 03, 2008]
Strength:

Very precise and detailed sound. Great depth and wide stereo picture. Very well balanced speakers

Weakness:

Not found them. Maby about 3 db more high would make them even better. (Like their small brothers Studio 1)

I bought the ProAc Studio 150 about 2 months ago. At first i used a Rotel pre and main amp. This sounded a bit dull. Not very lifely. Having the feeling that these were very special loadspeakers switched amp's to Myryad MP100 and MA240. The result was amazing! This combination is magic. I have never experienced something like this before. Playing Roger Waters (amused to death) a practically fel of my chair. Such a wide and deep stereo picture! These speakers are very fast and can create a very lively sound. Eventhough they are rather small the low frequencies come out strongly. I have a rather big listeningroom (5 x 11 m) but no problem for the Proac's.

Similar Products Used: ProAc Studio 1 and Synthese Floating 2
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
cody_the_cat   AudioPhile [Apr 03, 2005]
Strength:

Beautiful fit and finish, neutral tonality over rated bandwidth, could live with these for a long time.

Weakness:

None except, could have a more substantial spike and plith system for better stability.

Fantastically musical speakers. I presently own two other pairs of speakers in the $3000 - $6000 range and the ProAc Studio 150 does not give up any ground. Tonally these speakers seem neutral across the frequency range for which they are rated; highs are nicely extended but not siblant and the bass has weight and authority to about 40Hz with a very liguid mid-range. Below 40Hz my sub takes over to produce a seemless highend package. I have head others say that these are bright. Perhaps so with cheap or the wrong solid state front end. However, mated with my B&K AVR307 they give nothing less than a truely musical experience full of emotion and soul that the artist conveys. Listen to Diana Krall, Girl in the Other Room, and brace yourself for heart touching experience. For the money, I would say that I would have difficultly choosing between the ProAc Studio 150s and my Tyler Acoustic Reference Monitors ($2500) and perhaps they are 85% of the way to the music produced from my PBN Montana SP IIIs ($4500). One more thing, I bought these off Audiogon used for $700.00 unheard and was feeling some trepidation. I was not in the least bit dissappointed - a great bargin for a great sounding speakers-Highly recommended.

Similar Products Used: PBN Montana SP 3, Tyler Acoustics Tylo Referenc Monitors, Soliloquy 5.3 and 5.0, Boston Acoustics VR950, PSB, Vienna Acoustics Bach, Paradigm, to name a few.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dinhty   Casual Listener [Mar 01, 2005]
Strength:

great bass, stunning imaging

Weakness:

set up very difficult, u must get more & more times to find them best

the 150's very great; i'd look for many loudspeaker before get them but i feel that's enough for me. 150 looks great like them sound. i use vacuum tube amplifier only hat 40watts/chanel but outputs'r powerful & dynamics, very sensitive

Similar Products Used: linn korni bw805 quad 22L
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mark boney   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 02, 2003]
Strength:

Value and looks and more than anything the sound, something very special.

Weakness:

Perhaps not had them long enough to find any yet!

Cracking pair of floorstanding speakers with bi-wire facility. Sound & looks far beyond their value. Recommend the Pro Ac Studio 150 speakers to anybody. You just have to listen to realise how good they are, out of this world! Wish I had discovered them a couple of years ago before spending a lot of time and money testing other speakers.

Similar Products Used: Tried and tested many speakers, B&W, KEF, Mordaunt Short and many others along the way.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
edzeleven   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 01, 2003]
Strength:

Everything about them; style, sound, just brilliant.

Weakness:

The only weakness is Me; I didn't find them soon enough to save me from wasting thousands trying to better whatever speakers I already had.

I hear things I never knew were there with these ProAc Studio 150's and I am very pleased with the sound, appearance & value. Really superb soundstage, work well with most music types; increased awareness of musicality!!! Now out of production; what a shame because they are probably the best pair of speakers I shall ever own. Thanks to ProAc. I partnered them with my NAD C540 CD player, a pair of NAD C340 bi-amps & use QED Silver Anniversary cables connected with Gold plated bananas. Boy; am I a happy bunny!!!

Similar Products Used: Acoustic Energy AE120; AE109; AEGIS 2; AEGIS 1; AE101; Mordaunt-Short MS815; MS55Ti; Southcoast Odens came close second.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bertyvon   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 08, 2002]
Strength:

* Superb imaging and sounstaging, * Very capable of the "speaker-disappearing"-trick, leaving nothing else than the music behind * Powerfull low-end in relation to the small (5,5") drivers: very fast and controlled

Weakness:

Can sound (to) bright if not properly matched with good amps and/or cables

I own these speakers now for about 3 years, bought them second-hand. These speakers do really set the standard (although they are not in production anymore) in imaging and soundstaging in this price-class and probably above .. Although these speakers are slim, bass is well articulated, mids are very open and highs are very clean. But what these speakers make special is that they are able to make themselves disappear and leaving nothing else than the music behind. As I said, these speakers are not in production anymore (I do not understand why, Stuart Tyler, please explain) so look for bargains.

Similar Products Used: Torm Forest Audio Physic Spark
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Dennis Howse   AudioPhile [Mar 22, 2002]
Strength:

Efortless presentation Huge sound stage Build

Weakness:

None yet

I am very pleased with the performance of the Studio 150. Before purchasing, I visited several sites and read their reviews. I got the impression that these are speakers you either love or hate! Well. I ended up purchasing a pair to replace my aged Mission 765i. The speakers I bought were exdems (approx. 18 month old) and did not require to be run in. My initial impression was of how ‘effortlessly ’ they presented the sound. Accurate well extended bass – delightfully fresh mid – and thrilling top. These are really great speakers! These speakers made me sit and listen to the music not the speakers. For anyone intending to buy a pair of Studio 150, get them now – while you can – you will not be disappointed! The build of the speaker is exemplary and sets the standard others should aspire to. Well done to ProAc. Used with the following: Teac P700 with full Audio Synthesis mods Cyrus Dacmaster NVA P50 NVA A70 X 2 Interconnects - self made solid silver Speaker cable - NVA LS2

Similar Products Used: Mission 765i
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Goh Seng Hui   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2000]
Strength:

Very musical and excellent stereo-imaging. Very coherent.

Weakness:

Not the final word in bass response. Abit bright, so partnering with the right equipment is advisable

I have being using these speakers for nine months now. I bought it new. And it is TRUE, these speakers really take a long time to run-in! At first, it doesn't sound impressive at all. It sounded thin and overly-bright and very closed-in. After the magic hours, these speakers totally transformed themselves into another beast. I was so surprised one day when the "change occured", and the transformation is very abrupt, not progressive as I would expect.
First, let me list my system:

Audible Illusions L1 pre-amp
McCormack DNA-1 Deluxe power amp
ProAc studio 150 speakers
Marantz 17KI Cd player
NBS cables

The Studio 150s might sound abit bright, and fortunately I am using the Audible Illusions L1 pre-amp, which has these knobs to adjust the gains to the tubes, thus altering the "dynamics" of the sound. To adjust for brightest of the speakers, just lower the gain to the tubes. Increasing the gain will increase the dynamics/punchiness of the sound, enhancing both the treble and bass department.

I was previously using the SF Concertino/REL Strata combination. It was good and leans towards the bright side too. But the trouble was that during different tracks, I have to adjust the gain to the subwoofer. It was troublesome and I was looking forward to a floorstander.

I was considering between SF Grand Piano and DynAudio Contour 1.8 mkII. For my taste, I prefer the Contour 1.8mkII. The Grand Piano sounded too thin and too bright. The Contour sounds more balanced, but I found that it is aliitle lacking in dynamics. Until a friend recommended me the Studio 150s. They are of similar price range, the Studio 150s being the cheapest.

Imaging on the SF concertino/ REL strata combi is good, but it is nothing quite compared to the 150s. Music integrity is definitely the first department to benefit. Also, the 150s has much better depth and stereo-imaging! Bass is actually very decent to expect from these small floorstanders. It gets pretty low and the response is fast too. It is a pair of speakers that I haven't got tired to listen to. Previously, whenever I listen to music, I was more into faulting the system than to enjoy music itself. Nowadays, I noticed that I no longerlisten to the system, but concentrate on the music itself.


Similar Products Used: Sonus Faber Concertino with REL Strata II
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 17  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com