ProAc Studio 125 Floorstanding Speakers

ProAc Studio 125 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

2-way floorstander

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 23  
[Jul 31, 2018]
sidsquid


Strength:

Amazing bass, mid and treble, the best purchase I ever made. Took me a looooong time to get them placed correctly as i found they get stifled in the corners and close to a rear wall so get them well out into the room if you can, at least a metre off rear walls and corners - mine are 6ft apart to the centres of the drivers and only slightly toed in but I think that they work well this close together in my smallish 12ft by 15ft room. They are warm so if you like more detail and have an older system like mine I found they work much better run through brighter silver speakers cables. Linn LP12, Linn Kairn, Linn LK140, Linn Genki, Google Chromecast Audio, Chord Signature jumpers (second best £100 ever spent), Chord Odyssey cable.

Weakness:

Placement difficult, millimetres make a difference, but persevere and you will be astounded how good these are.

Price Paid:
£500
Purchased:
Used  
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Oct 16, 2015]
Pravin
Audio Enthusiast

I previously owned castle avon speakers that didn't cut the mustard with my musical fidelity a3.2 kit. I purchased these speakers (£250)on impulse, 100 pounds difference between buying and selling castle speakers.

What can I say about these. I compared them to spendor s5e and I prefer the tonality of this speaker. It's an absolute bargain and if you have old kit like myself, you have to get hold of this. It's controlled and detailed, a versatile all-rounder with sublime performance.

Works astoundingly well with musical fidelity and meridian equipment , hard pushed to find better value

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 18, 2013]
Campbell
AudioPhile

So inspired by these speakers, I had to tell all of you about them and so this is my first ever hifi review

If you see these speakers for sale just bloody buy them! I have not heard anything so amazing since I walked into a hifi store in '89 when a new Quincy Jones CD was blasting through some Shinanighans (I know that's not the correct spelling). I sold my B&W605 speakers as I was not happy with the subtle harshness however impressive they were in other areas. The Studio 125 speakers are a knockout for their minimalist styling alone and mine have beautiful mahogany veneer that compliments our 60's modernist furniture.

I knew I had to sell the B&W's when I went into a hifi shop in Wellington, which I haven't done in years, and auditioned a pair of Totem Sttaf speakers. I listened to Aja by steely Dan and thought what the @#$$?!!! these sound amazing and from only a 5" bass/mid driver, it didn't make any sense to me. Of course I was convinced by the shop it was down to the $20,000 front end.

So I saw a pair of Proac Studio 125 speakers come up for sale and I have always wondered what they sound like since the Tablets were a favourite monitor in a friend's hi-end studio setup.

I got them home and hooked them up to a rather grunty NAD 753 HT amp, yamaha CD player, nothing too silly and the sound literally made my mouth fall open, then I went on to start swearing and punching the air with delight. They have detail that is so moorish to listen to, kind of juicy and the bottom end it rich and super deep, I will never sell these speakers, after years of searching I am finally spending less time on ebay and more time listening to music. I should add that these are all-rounders, they do wonders for older low-fi recordings as well, so not just for the jazz or classical heads, these speakers make everything sound rich, lush and detailed. I don't really understand how they do it.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 09, 2008]
IGBT
AudioPhile

Strength:

soundstage !
details !

Weakness:

non.
if you place them to near to the wall they might boom a bit.
give them space.

the proac 125 are such a unique sounding speakers.
the first thing that amazes you is the fact these british babies are a 2 way !
it can't be ! but they are.
something about the design makes them sound full range.
the first thing that comes, if i had to sum up these speakers is :
soundstage.

a two way that gives you such soundsatge has to be unique.
three important things to do once you get them :
1- give them space (at least 40 cm from the wall)
2- give them a good if not a very good bi-wire cabels
3- if you can, class a amp

if you do that, you'll be happy hearing jazz and classic music they way you never heard before.
i know i do.....

my set :
forte 4a
meridian 561
meridian 586
jps bi wire
proac 125

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 11, 2007]
rich
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Used prices are reasonable, if you can find a pair.
Warm sounding with tight bass.
Looks, I suppose that means something.

Weakness:

None

Not going to be long winded about this. These speakers replace a pair of Klipsch Kg4's. Although the 4s are a fine speaker, they were a little to harsh for me. The Proac, as best as I can describe are warm sounding with a great soundstage. They were just what I was looking for. Bass is good, and not boomy. I do have a MX-90 which I may hook up in the future just to hear the difference. Right now the 125 just doesn't need help.

Customer Service

n/a

Similar Products Used:

B&W DM640
Klipsch KG4

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 28, 2006]
otisredding
AudioPhile

Strength:

Beautiful and realistic soundstage. Realistic midrange, quite exceptional.

Weakness:

Slightly truncated treble extention. Forward mid-bass (tamed with good silver cables and careful placement)

I purchased my pair of S125s on runout recently and I am extremely happy with my purchase. These replaced a lovely pair of (NZ made) Image 414 floorstanders which, lovely thought they were, failed the A/B demo quite comprehensively in my listening room. The Proacs have such beautiful depth, width and height of soundstage and they also place musicians very prescisely within the mix. I am driving them with Musical Fidelity A3.2 integrated and this seems to be a perfect match. They have a wee problem with a slight boominess in the upper bass region but this can be easily sorted with careful placement and partnering with good silver or hybrid speaker cables. The Proac S125s are real giantkillers. Not a forward speaker that demands attention like so many modern boxes but a silky experience like the best of the 'old skool' British manufacturers..... I love 'em.

Similar Products Used:

Kef Cresta 3, Image 414, Proac Tablette.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 06, 2005]
demos100
AudioPhile

Strength:

Soundstage, depth, control and real amounts of air around the instruments combined with highest detail for the money. Suberb value.

Weakness:

Need carefull placement and nice quality components to avoid harsh sounding treble and exposing bad qualities. Despite the price of the speakers they were made to be combined with more pricy and class A amps and CDs.

I strongly believe that until you reach the price point of 7000-8000 Euros (that means about 9500$) there were some speakers that are standing like Gods between 1500-4000 Euros. One of them is for sure the Proac Studio 125 and now a new model that replaces it the Studio 130. Also Spendor is one of the two-three competitors. But I prefer Proac's for some personal taste. Proac's Studio are speakers with plenty of air around the instruments, as much as "speaker disappearing" you can get for the money and very transparent to the sources (talking about box speakers not electrostatics). They are superb in delivering detail. Also they can mate with equipment costing four times the cost of the speakers and still enjoyable with full of respect. Soundstage, detail and well-controlled bass combined with easy to drive and compatibility with the most tube amps out there made them my number one choice up to this price point. If you want to buy something really better i suggest make savings and buy at five times the money the Sonus Faber Cremona but also compare it with Proacs D38. Tubes or solid-states, they respond dynamically, effortless and stress-free but there will be always in love with over 70 watts of power despite that they can sound dynamically and "right" with 25W.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Dec 15, 2004]
zuper
AudioPhile

Strength:

Perfect soundstage, mids, rich fast controlled bass down to 30Hz [speaker cable helped to reach this level], highest quality components and finish. Prefer the Mahogany wood.

Weakness:

Its an overachiever and I cannot find any. Its a Response-line sounding one - no problems mr.bad reviewer. Find me other speaker with the qualities of Proac at this price point...

I think this is one (if the finest) of the finest 2-3 speakers in the market .I strongly suggest dont look any further unless you can spend 2000-3000 more. This 87db speaker better combined with solid-state 50wpc amplifiers and more. My system worked absolutely perfect with the Studio 125, Im so happy that finally reached the class of sound I always wanted. I use Musical Fidelity X-150 amplifier and Musical F. X-Ray v3 CD player (fantastic) connected with the X-10v3 tube output (jaw-breaking soundstage and "tube" sound combined with the control of solid-state amp). My cables are: Kimber SilverStreak 2 interconnects connecting X-Ray with X-10 and X-10 with X-150 (perfect dynamics, widest soundstage and not a problem with brightness combining them with X-components and slightly warm X-10 together with Proacs.)- Nordost Blue Heaven bi-wire speaker cable that has absolutely top-of-the class rich mids and fast,fast controlled bass. Together with proacs slightly mid's emphasis and rich bass, Nordost can beat any other cable by far representing voices and acoustic organs with unbelieving richness through the Proacs. I listen to some rock and blues musics mostly, but also acoustic guitars. Listen to the fantastic sounding Blackmore's Night Fires At Midnight CD or Steve Ray Vauguan The Sky is Crying . The proacs are presenting everything with such naturality and richness plus the huge stage that you find yourseld asking if there is any better speaker at the market. Also classical music's bold scenes are controlled and very well presented. Speaker: The ultra-rich mids combined with the X-150 presentation of the instruments, depth, focus and soundstage made me dont want buy any magazine or read any review, searching no more. The speaker is a best buy for the money, giving you such soundstage and frequency lush and control, sligthly warm sounding, very open and extended highs and top mids. Be careful and combine it with rich-mid sounding speaker cables (I suggest only Nordost Blue Heaven bi-wiring) and the voices and guitars will be absolute top-class. Combine it better with a bold amplifier with rich mids rather than cool-sounding or overly-bright or lean. The slightly cool cables I use (silverstreaks are also sweet and highly detailed) made absolutely no problem at all with this speaker and/or instrument pitch and everyone listening to my system goes to buy one immediatly! Conclusion: No second thought. Quality and class.

Similar Products Used:

Tablette 2000 etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 09, 2004]
tkyong1
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Neutral Natural Sounding Suit Various Music Warm-not fatique so suit long listening Good build quality Wide Sound Stage with Good Imaging

Weakness:

So Far not yet

My System before upgrading: Marantz CD4000 Marantz PM4200 Int.Amp. Mordaunt-short 902 B/Shelf Speakers After owning the above for 1 year, the lean sounding of Marantz + MS 902 gears really disappointing. Long hours listening is very tiring due to harsh treble. Went for shopping, demoing of various gears for pricing around USD3,000 for Int.Amp + Speakers. (tried Exposure+Epos, Nad+Canton, Hofi+Dali, China Tube+LothX, Primare+ProAc). Finally, bought the following (almost changed everything except the CDP) New Gears: Marantz CD4000 Monitor Silver Interconnect Primare I20 Int. Amp. QED Plus Bi-Wire Transparent Power Plus Cord ProAc Studio 125 Speakers Initially, i bought the Primare I20 and used her with my MS902. Not working at all, the characters of the MS902 still there, MS902 can't even get the best out of the Primare I20. Went back to the dealer and get a pair of ProAc Studio 125. What's a surprise, the couple working so well together. The music now sound so Natural, Warm, Wide Sound Stage, Amazing Imaging, everything is in place now. The ProAc Studio 125 is better speakers with the Primare I20. I love the sound characters of ProAc. I demo the Response D15 & D25 as well, the character quite similar generally but differ in certain areas for different model to suit different user's needs. Overall, proAc sound Neutral, Warm, Suit Various Musics, Involving, Good for Long Listening. In Fact, I spent about 3 hours in the demo for various musics before purchasing. One more thing, replace the original powercord of the Amp with better one did improve the sound (more weight and warmer). You can't go wrong with this lovely speakers. Go demo them my friend.

Similar Products Used:

Canton Floorstander LothX Floorstander PSB

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 13, 2003]
Francesco
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Bandwidth, 3D soundstage

Weakness:

As long as you control the bass and don't use exceedingly bright electronics, only a little noticable loss around 3000-4000 hertz.

I had these 125s for over 3 years now, partnered with Arcams A85 adn cd92t, and I have tried them with different speaker cables, Monster Cable, QED, Van Den Hul, to end up with Nordost Blue Heaven (the name heaven is appropriate). My perception about how to best leverage the qualities of the 125s, is to choose fast cables with decent detail. QED Silver Anniversary Biwire for example have a tight bass which keeps the 125s under control, but although they have decent detail, they are only good value for money. This is a perfect allrounder for the 125s, if you mainly listen to non-stereophile cd's. If you mainly listen to stereophile cd's and can spend money, try the Blue Heaven or the Solar Wind. Even tigher bass for as deep you electronics manage to produce, and delicious mid-highs with extremely wide 3D soundstage. But if your cd has a weakness, it will all be exposed. After testing the Blue Heaven, I must day that every other solution sounded highly sad and unmotivating. You probably get better than that only with Electrofluidics or Townshend cables, but I would not bet on it.

Similar Products Used:

B&W, Tannoy, NHT, Mission, Bose, JBL, AR

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Showing 1-10 of 23  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com