ProAc Response 2.5 Floorstanding Speakers

ProAc Response 2.5 Floorstanding Speakers 

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 55  
[Mar 28, 2011]
Carlos
Audio Enthusiast

Hello to you all, this is not really a review of the ProAc 2.5, I am actually asking for opinion, all the way from Spain (Europe). I've got the chance to change my old PolkAudio monitor8 for one of these two:

ProAc 2.5 or Kef 104.2

And the question is now obvious, which one with you people go for? it would be attach to my Hafler se120+se100 amp, Cyrus CD player, technics 1220mkII, and I listen to all type of music, not movies.

Many thanks!

Carlos

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Nov 13, 2004]
trondreinertsen
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

musical and involving. Good looking

Weakness:

low efficiency limiting range of suitable amplifiers some

I have now owned these beautiful speakers for 8 years. They are the only components I have not even once wanted to replace. Before I got them I were forever changing speakers (and other components) about every 2 years constantly loosing money. So the 2.5s have without doubt been my best audio investment ever. These speakers are revealing speakers that show no mercy with inferior equipment and this can be expensive. Paired with decent equipment however they are always very pleasing and musical sounding. With other speakers I often found I was choosing music that would suit the speakers. With the 2.5s this is no longer an issue. The only time I was in trouble was with extremely revealing and precise PassLabs Aleph amplifiers (Aleph 5 and Aleph 30). These combinations were in my ears just too revealing and left me with a large part of my CD collection useless. After switching to tubes this is no longer a problem, but it is very evident that these speakers are very precise. The only problem I can think of is the low efficiency at only 86 db/w, that somewhat limits the range of suitable amplifiers. My present setup with a second hand Conrad-Johnson MV52 tube amp sounds gorgeous at low and medium sound levels but the amp is struggling above. I think these speakers are excellent on any music but that they really shine with accoustic music and vocals.

Similar Products Used:

KEF 104/2 BW 803 AR something JBL 112

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Oct 07, 2003]
epiphany
AudioPhile

Strength:

Nice scanspeak mid-bass driver. Cabinetry is quite nice. Musical speaker.

Weakness:

A little on the expensive side, but I wouldn't say overpriced. It commands a price that is equivalent to it's proven value.

A benchmark for audiophile, musical speakers. One of the near classics. My belief is that these should be used with tubes. That's when I've heard these sound their best. Solid state amps may give you more bass slam and articulation, but then somehow you're missing the point of these speakers. In fact, I think all the Proacs sound better with tubes (or I suppose with tube-like ss gear). Proac voices these speakers with tubes. May explain the slightly lifted treble and bass I hear when using more 'neutral' ss gear. Got nothing against solid state though. Honestly, you might find 'better' speakers at their price point or even lower, but you can't really go wrong with these. It's a speaker almost universally praised and loved. Never heard anyone say bad things about this one. Not a really high value product, but a premium speaker at premium price.

Similar Products Used:

All the usual stuff.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
3
[Oct 05, 2003]
BASIL BEAR
AudioPhile

Strength:

Amazing openess, bass, treble and amazing with vocals.

Weakness:

there are none but a HINT: use monoblocks to power them.

I have had the ProAc Response 2.5's for 3 months now and i have found tremendous openess and brightness that is created. I found a huge difference from my previous Studio 125's and Response d15's. It creates a centre stage in front of you and there is very little distractions and harshness's in the sound produced. There have been good reviews and bad reviews about this speaker, but the final sound is absoulutly amazing and terrific.

Similar Products Used:

I have used the Mirage Mania 9A and there is a huge difference in sound. the midrange of the Mania's are terrible and they produce a very mellow sound. HARDLY ANY BASS IN THE MANIA'S compared to the 2.5's

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[May 18, 2003]
Rich Bauer
Casual Listener

Strength:

Absolutely wonderful sound !

Weakness:

I found that the high end may be a little attenuated with harpisicords and those brush things that percussionists use in jazz. It's not noticeably bad or anything, just an observation. To be absolutely fair, my Proacs are not fully broken in yet. I'm told that the Proacs will open up more after about 200 hours of playing or so. It could also be that the Musical Fidelity A308 integrated amp I'm using hasn't run long enough yet or isn't the right thing for the 2.5's.

The Proac Response 2.5's are the first truly "high end" speakers I've ever owned. Before owning the Proacs I bought whatever looked good in the Crutchfield catalog or at Circuit City. God, I had no idea what I was missing all these years. I can't get over how clear and natural sounding the Proac 2.5 midrange is with female vocalists such as Dianna Krall or Tsai Ching. And with classical music, Isaac Stern's violin sounds so damn real ! It sounds like it's right in the room with me, not locked inside the cupboard or under the sofa. The bass on the Proac 2.5 is quite astonishing for only a 7" woofer. I've taken the grills off several times just to reassure myself that there isn't a 10" or 12" driver hidden in there somewhere. It's a very clean and accurate bass that doesn't boom unless you put the 2.5's too close to walls. That's a big no-no. To be absolutely fair, I will say that on certain older (and bad) classical chamber music recordings, turning on a subwoofer will move more air and bring out the cello, but I think that the Proac 2.5's are faithfully and accurately reproducing everything that's on the disc -- it's just a bad recording. Wanting older bad recordings to sound "fuller" is more of a psychological thing, and having a sub around will help with that craving. The Proacs are dead accurate and will not give you something that's not there to begin with. Overall, I could not be happier !

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 03, 2002]
Glenn
AudioPhile

Strength:

fun to look at. even more fun to listen to. excellent technology and experience from proac. No need to tweak with the subwoofer anymore.

Weakness:

they make me want to stay in and listen intead of going to live clubs

Less than one month in on these speakers. They are by no means broken in and from jump they sound like a million dollars. Everything is crystal clear in jazz and classical mode. Bad recordings have been revealing themselves and the good ones are a joy to find now. My entire record collection feels brand new again. These speakers are a wonderful investment for those that have the opprotunity and money to pair them up with the proper components. I took a sort of budget route and came up big by being resourceful. These speakers are very fun to listen to and I look forward to each vinyl session that I get to partake in with the 2.5's. My turnable is the very affordable and fantastic sounding Mitchell Gyro SE. I purchased an inexpensive Anthem Integrated and had it modified according to another gentlemans recomendations here on this site. It certainly made a big difference. Now my $700 valve integrated amplifier with a $500 modification easily sounds as good as some of the amps in systems I have heard costing upwards $5-6k. Owning the 2.5's have really made me concious of this. I had a pair of ProAc Tablette 2000's and B&W 805's before these and there are no good comparisons, although both of the previous were fine and musical speakers. The bass here is big and tight and everything else is just right. Having a competent shop and professional to buy your system from is key as well. I think many enthusiastic fans of stereo purchase seperates according to reviews and don't take the logical wholistic approach. Then they complain and lament down the road when it just doesn't sound quite right. I would strongly urge against buying components from different shops and throwing them together. This "buy the best of everything" may sound like a good idea for at first(especially magazine heads like me) but this approach can potentialy set you back years if you don't know exactly what you are doing. Some equiptment fits together and compliments its user like magnums on Shaq while others certainly do not. Trust the "professionals" at this game and spend a little extra up front. It will save you big down the long stretch when you quit upgrading long before the guy that trys to figure it all out for himself. Go to the hifi shops and listen your ass off. Pay attention to what is being played and how professional and passionate the shops purveyors are about MUSIC. Save your experi

Similar Products Used:

2000 Tablettes, B&W 805, various M&K designs

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 26, 2002]
Kjetil
AudioPhile

Strength:

Incredible value for the money!

Weakness:

None

These speakers are amazing. I have had som other speakers in this price range, but none of them have delivered music at the level of the Proac's. I have paired them with allover Cary gear, and they produce everything I want of solid, tight bass, beautiful midrnage and I don't complain about the highs. I think the Proac's sound that good beacuse of my tube gear. It is an incredible match. System: Cary 306/200 CD transport/processor - Wireworld Gold III XLR interconnect Cary SLP 2002 tube preamp - Wireworld Gold III XLR interconnect Cary 280 SA V-12 triode stereo amplifier - Nordost SPM ref. speaker cables Proac Respons 2.5 speakers Other: Soundcare spikes for the speakers Wireworld power cables Audiopower Pack II power cleaner Aavik A4 rack

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 26, 2002]
Kjetil
AudioPhile

Strength:

Incredible value for the money!

Weakness:

None

These speakers are amazing. I have had som other speakers in this price range, but none of them have delivered music at the level of the Proac's. I have paired them with allover Cary gear, and they produce everything I want of solid, tight bass, beautiful midrnage and I don't complain about the highs. I think the Proac's sound that good beacuse of my tube gear. It is an incredible match. System: Cary 306/200 CD transport/processor - Wireworld Gold III XLR interconnect Cary SLP 2002 tube preamp - Wireworld Gold III XLR interconnect Cary 280 SA V-12 triode stereo amplifier - Nordost SPM ref. speaker cables Proac Respons 2.5 speakers Other: Soundcare spikes for the speakers Wireworld power cables Audiopower Pack II power cleaner Aavik A4 rack

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 14, 2002]
Dodkin
AudioPhile

Strength:

Huge soundstage Great bass Transparent mid Superior build quality & finish

Weakness:

maybe a little harsh in the trebble, or maybe with more running in......n

WOW! This is the most common reaction when people hear the 2.5s for the first time. These speakers demand attention, they project a soundstage that draws you into a one to one performance with the artist. You can sit almost anywhere is the room, and at no time do you notice any directionality in the sound. And bass, well, these speakers kick very nicely indeed. Get yourself a Tracy Chapman CD, and listen to the bass drum kick! I agree with the comments on bi-wiring, and on removing the grills, both are essential to realise the full sound potential. After that, sit back, look smug, and just loose yourself in the music. After all, that''s what it''s all about isn''t it................l

Similar Products Used:

B&W and Linn

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 15, 2002]
shamburg
AudioPhile

Strength:

Harmonic richness, soundstaging, bass response, elegant cabinet design.

Weakness:

None detected as yet.u

I was in search of magic. I''d been listening to most of the highly-regarded speakers in the $5K range–you know, Audio Physic Virgos, B&W 803''s, Eggleston Fontaines, Meadowlark Herons, JM Lab Electras, Dynaudio Contours, and the like. And, while all of these were outstanding in some way, none was totally, undeniably compelling to my ears. Then I heard the ProAc 2.5s. These speakers sounded vivid and alive to me. The sound coming out of them wasn''t some sort of clinical, technological thing–it was music, with all the color, pace, and vibrancy of the real thing. To me, these ProAcs compare to, say, the Virgos, as tubes compare to transistors. Both are valid, but one seems to emphasize complexity and "soul" over absolute clarity and accuracy. I am still amazed at what these speakers can do. There''s a technicolor richness to the sound. But, a little surprisingly, I''ve found their spatial presentation to be amazing, too–in the same league as that of the Virgos, to my ears. And the bass response is phenomenal for a medium-sized box–it''s got plenty of thump but lots of pitch definition, too. I do believe in magic. System: Sonic Frontiers Power 2 Sonic Frontiers Line 3 VPI Aries/JMW/Grado Reference Lehmann Black Cube Sony SACD/CD 777 AudioPrism Foundation 3 Harmonic Tech Pro-Silway Harmonic Tech Pro-9 Biwire

Similar Products Used:

Totem Forest, Audio Physic Virgo, B&W 803, Eggleston Fontaines, Meadowlark Heron, JM Lab Electra, Dynaudio Contour.a

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 55  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com