Pioneer TZ-F700 Floorstanding Speakers

Pioneer TZ-F700 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

Drivers: IRIS tweeter/midrange, 6.5" midbass, 12" woofer w/ 300w PSBASH amplifer

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 14  
[Mar 08, 2020]
Bobster1965


Strength:

Amazing mid and high range detail, with strong bass If you do a search on these. You will see the towers alone, listed for 3500$ back in 1999. And the general audiophile reviews were pretty good. I doubt anyone paid that much however and they were t on the market that long because they were not athletically for everyone. That being said. These perform extraordinary well and certainly can still compete with towers ti the 1000-2000$ range. With the two built in 200watt powered subs, you won’t need a subwoofer. That alone saves you $$ to be put in proper amp/receiver. And these speakers only shine when being driven by a quality amp/receiver. The difference is night and day between a sub 500$ receiver and a 1000-2000 amp/ receiver. Paired with a powerful Marantz SR6013, these speakers really show all the nuances you would expect in a high end tower. Very rare to still find, but it you can get a working pair, don’t hesitate. My towers are 16 years old and the amps driving the woofers still work flawlessly!

Weakness:

Front grills are extremely delicate and speakers shape and weight, make moving them difficult

Price Paid:
700
Purchased:
Used  
Model Year:
1999
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Jun 01, 2014]
Marcus
AudioPhile

I bought these speakers with one bad amp for $200, so my review and experience is with only one working. With that said WOW!!! These are amazing..... I can't imagine who would give them a bad review but so e people have poor equipment before the speakers and as the one reviewer here said he hated them with his denon and the hooked them to a pre/power and was blown away!! At low levels they are amazingly accurate and crisp and you will NEVER need to run a sub the bass is incredible and I to had to turn the amp way down. Speakers only reproduce what is put into them, so if you have a crappy system please upgrade before leaving reviews. I am sure the imaging and soundstage will be amazing once I get the pair working, the sheer SPL's these speakers produce is really incredible. I have been looking for a pair of party speakers like some big cerwin Vegas but after stumbling on these there is no vega that can touch these...... With all this said there are little rattles here and there, the port was the biggest one but I am a problem solver. I grabbed the port and with some force was able to move it, so I pulled it out about a inch and glued it and slid it back in. I also noticed a noise up around the concealed 6" mid. I found out it was the 2 halves of the plastic grill rubbing when the music got loud, I was able to break off a toothpick in between the halves and the grill material filled in over it and it can't be seen. I let the glue dry overnight and listened again after work and like magic all the noises, even the port noise was gone. Things like this happen, just like the CF line of klipsch speakers, after they were drawn up they sent the plans to the builders and they used the dimensions as inside instead of outside. Mistakes happen and that is why the klipsch employees refer to the CF speakers as the Complete Failure series. The problem was late realized and fixed but klipsch never said anything because they had sold so many already.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 20, 2002]
Curt
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Stunning Looks, Crisp Warm clean highs and mids Directional Iris Different Great Price

Weakness:

More Port Noise than competing units Grill Design on the Mains is Horrible Bass not quite at dedicated Sub Levels

Well I am parting with my entire Pioneer System and I wanted to give an updated review of these. After time they grew on me much more and I didn''t notice the port noise as much, I think these speakers exhibit the port noise alittle more than most speakers but nothing that is that noticable. Mid and Highs are very crip and smooth. Low Bass Performance is alittle above average but not what you would get with Boxed 12"s. Mated with a decent 15" sub this system, (4) Mains (4) Surrounds and (2) Centers an Elite 35 RX + 2 channel elite amp sounds quite good, after breakin they sound better than my other setup Infinity/Yamaha. But I hate to part with them but money concerns force me too, however they are going to a good home so its ok.

Similar Products Used:

Infinity OV3''s Infinity RS-3s Infinity RS-5''s

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 17, 2001]
harry
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

smooth reserve intergration in all range's
clearly will designed.

Weakness:

size yet appealing.

brought the speakers at u-bid.
hooked them up and was really surprised at the smooth sound.every range but the bass was well intergrated.yet after about 50 hrs.the bass became smooth as silk.had to turn down the dial that controls the bass to (0).
found out really quickly what you put in is what you get out.average recordings sound good,good recordings sound better and top recordings sound as they should.
NOTE: NO PROBLEMS AS OTHERS HAVE EXPERIENCED.

Similar Products Used:

tannoy
b&w

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jun 08, 2001]
Eric
Casual Listener

Strength:

None

Weakness:

Everything

Just bought these speakers from ubid. I listened to them less than a week, yesterday one of the speakers' powersub made a terrible noise and burnt one of my receivers. I thought the fuse of the receiver had blown, I replaced it with an Elite receiver, it nuked that one as well. Anyone has had this problem?

Similar Products Used:

Can't think of one.

OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
[Nov 13, 2001]
ozkan akman
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound quality, design, output power.

Weakness:

None.

I checked out numerous other floor speakers made by B&W, Klipsch, Yamaha, Bose, Boston Acoustics, etc. and these by far blew them away. First of all the clarity of the higher tones is superior. The tweeter (IRIS) is pretty unique. You can adjust it to point to any where in the listening environment. The built-in sub-woofers are great. I had a seperate sub-woofer and I put it away. There is no need for it anymore. You have the capacity to switch the amp within the speaker off and listen to music passively, they do sound great, and turn the amp on and listen to them actively. They sound just as great. It depends on your preference as well as your need. The overall construction of these speakers is flawless. On top of all that they are not the conventional looking speakers. They look like they are out of Star Trek. They kind of look odd at first, but once you set them up they blend in quite well.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
2
[Nov 13, 2001]
Howard
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

BASS

Weakness:

CHEAP grills.

I purchased the whole set, 2 TZF700's, 4 TZS700's, and 2 TZC700, setup them in 5.1 HT, with the extras for possible upgrade to 6.1 or 7.1. Using my Denon AVR2800, I have to say, I was VERY disappointed. Given their retail, I thought whoever paid that much must have felt like an idiot. The surrounds were so WEAK, they were laughable. In a HT setup, the whole TZ700 system is ok, but listening to music on the setup was SAD! Then, I recently purchased a Proceed PAV A/V preamp, and a JBL Synthesis S650A 5-channel power amp. I thought I'd hook them up to try, eventually to sell the whole speaker set and do a major upgrade. I was looking to buy a pair of used Wilson Watt/Puppy. But after I listened to my system with the new pre/power amps setup, I am convinced that the real piece of crap in the system was the Denon 2800. Now the HT sounds SO much more realistic and clear, without the previous overpowering bass. Music played through the PAV Stereo Surround mode is AWESOME!!! Even if I upgrade now, I am going to keep the TZF700's as my rears. I am still going to get rid of the center and the surrounds, they are the weaker links! My rating reflect how I view the TZF's, for the Center TZC700, I would rate 3 star, for the TZS's, I would rate 1 star.

Similar Products Used:

Martin Logan Sequel, Canton, Infinity Composition Overtures

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 05, 2001]
Renato Maceda
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

bass extension, sleek looks with cool blue light

Weakness:

need to power them (more wires to hide). overprocessed sound.

I was excited to try these out espcially at the price i got them from ubid. I am assuming there will be a lot of other reviewers coming as ubid is selling a ton of them.
The speakers came packed real well in refrigerator sized boxes, but despite the care, one of them had a slightly deformed speaker grill -- no big deal, ubid credited me $35. I also got the center channel.

Right now they are being tested as a possible replacement. For HT -- they cannot be matched as you just get immersed in all the effects; there is so much detail and force. For stereo however, this becomes their fault, they sound overprocessed.

Gladiator and Godzilla sound amazing, but I prefer James Taylor and Eric Clapton on my Wharfedales. By overprocessed I mean there is a slight resonance in their tone which adds a sense of manufactured realism -- good for HT not for stereo.

At any rate, for the price ubid sells them for you will not be able to find a better HT setup. Recommended.

Similar Products Used:

wharfedale sp 89/88/87 and center
dahlquist

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 15, 1999]
leopoldo delgado
an Audio Enthusiast

is a very quality product from the pionner electronics.a really new experience in the speakers world!!!!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
[May 27, 1999]
Greg Maltz
an Audio Enthusiast

I read about these in Stereophile almost a year ago, before they were made available to the general public. They sounded like "the answer". Based on the spec's, marketing materials, and the way these things looked, I was 99% sure I would buy them. I took off the grilles. The tweeter device didn't seem to be connected too solidly. The materials used in the casing didn't seem all that solid. Surprising, but no matter, I was still 99% sure. The speakers were being used to demo Ants in an HT listening room, and sounded good. but I needed to audition this in stereo with a CD before making my purchase. That was the best move I ever made.
Bass was loose and busting out like cannons. The midrange was woefully weak. The highs too bright. Believe me, I was dying to buy these things. I might even put them up as $3000 statues in my living room. But the sound is _very_ poor when used as stereo speakers. And that's the bottom line. Three stars for design ingenuity and looks. How could pioneer let this go to market without addressing midrange and cabinet issues? And how could they sell it for $3000/pair???

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 14  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com