Paradigm Reference Studio 100 Floorstanding Speakers

Paradigm Reference Studio 100 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

3-Way Floorstanding Speaker - Two 8" Filled Polpropylene Cone Woofers, 6.5" Mica-Polymer Cone Midrange Driver, 1" Pure-Aluminum Dome Tweeter

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 201  
[Apr 12, 2020]
Luke


Strength:

I have the pleasure to own a pair of studio 100 v4. They sounded so bad (flat, lack of dynamic, edgy; etc.) and the store wanted to get rid of them. The amplifiers he sold were japanese integrated amps, with not enough power to drive them. I made a deal with him, bring them to my home and let me listen to them for a day, and if I don't buy them I will pay $100 for renting them for that day. Ten minutes after installation, I called him and say I take them. I drive them with an old Brystom 1oo watts, Bryston Preamp 12 and a Sony X777ES, Oracle Delphi II Syrinx tonearm, Koetsu black. They look so great, with the grid. They are beautifully crafted

Weakness:

none, not to be used in an apartment (your neighbors will surely complaint).

Price Paid:
2000$ cdn
Purchased:
New  
Model Year:
2010
OVERALL
RATING
5
[Mar 20, 2016]
Paradigm Reference Studio 100 v2
Audio Enthusiast

I have the Studio 100 version 2 which are the most articulate of the 100's ever made by Paradigm. The enclosure they used, crossover and driver combination made them a world class speaker. These speakers benefit from the use of good electronics, not a receiver, good separates. And in particular on thing most people don't talk about often enough, good interconnects and speaker cables. If the signal and speaker cabling can't get the most out of your equipment how do you expect your speakers to perform?

These speakers really benefit from lots of high current power and the only way to get that from your amp to your speakers is with significant cabling. These speakers are awesome

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 05, 2015]
joe ware
AudioPhile

I just got these beauties a month ago. they are the best speakers for the money. Very accurate and detailed. I am running these with my harman/kardon avr 7300 high current reciever. It has no problem running these. They are heavy because they are made of real wood. High quality sound on any type of music, great for 2 channel music. Also just as good on 2 channel movies. The treble and bass match perfectly. I watched Star Trek Into Darkness...WOW! They blew me away! Also Adele's cd 21 is also awesome. These speakers would beat any speaker in its price range. Great high frequency,and great low deep bass. Like others have said you do not need a subwoofer. Get yourself a pair while you still can! They will only be around for a few more months.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 26, 2014]
Tod
Audio Enthusiast

I recently acquired a used pair of v4 100. The notes on power from reviewers are important. I brought the used speakers to my dealers showroom to try a few different vintage two channel amps to purchase for these speakers as my dealer said my Yamaha 125 watt receiver would not get it done with these speakers. Started with a couple of 100-125 wpc amps and was a bit disappointed with my speaker purchase as the bass seemed a bit muddy. Finally we connected a refurbished Perreaux PMF 2150B. Wow. This two 200 watts to 8 ohm and 400 to 4 ohm completely changed the character of these speakers. The base tightened, the muddiness was gone and the soundstage became spectacular. Even the store owner, who told me more power was going to make these speakers perform better, was shocked at the transformation.
Yes I did buy the Perreaux.
Don't skimp on power and these speakers are very special.
And I have had Paradigm Studio 20 V2 for many years. Also a great speaker.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Apr 30, 2010]
wilcobb
Audio Enthusiast

Price paid $2400 from Creative Tech

Summary:
I purchased the Studio 100 v4. Excellent. The very best speakers I have owned by a mile or two or three! Frequency response is even, midrange & highs - smooth/clear, bass - heavy (does not need a separate sub-woofer although I have just bought one!). I play a very wide range of music - country, pop, blues, jazz, classical, electronic, orchestral, acoustic guitar, soca, reggae and even some hip/hop/rap. They do show up bad recordings as they are very detailed. I did not find they needed a lot of power. I have two amps (a Sony surround at 120W per channel and a NAIM 250 power amp at only 80W per channel). Both drive these speakers with no trouble and at volumes that shake the house! They are heavy. It needed two of us to carry them up stairs. I have them biwired. I can highly recommend these speakers.

Strengths:
Excellent frequency response. All rounders.

Weaknesses:
None that I can think of.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Aug 06, 2007]
Audio Warrior
AudioPhile

Strength:

Great frequency response, and beautiful fit and finish.

Weakness:

Heavy for their size. But really that is good!

I have to laugh when folks say that these speakers are large. The last pair of speakers I bought were a pair of Klipsch La Scalas. They are large.
At any rate the speakers I purchased are the Studio 100 v4, (they are 2007 models but the choice did not include '07) and they are exquisite. The frequency response is even across the entire range. These speakers are heavy and thus a bit unwieldy to place, but not unmanagable. The fit and finish is first rate. The sound, initially was pretty bad. I had read a great deal, however, about the break in requirements. I hooked them up to also play audio from the video system and in about two days the sound began to smooth out. After two weeks they were sounding much better. Six months later they are outstanding.
I am powering them with a Carver M1.0t. I have owned it for twenty years now and find it to be a better amp than I knew. I have not noticed the need for power that others have mentioned. I rarely see the DB leds move off the bottom. I am largly a Rock and Roll fan, but also listen to Jazz and Classical. When called upon to do so these speakers can get as low as anything I have heard. The midrange is smooth and clear. The highs were harsh, but smoothed out with time. I suspect that an improvement in source equipment will make things even better.

Customer Service

NA

Similar Products Used:

Klipsch Heresys, LaScalas, Bose, Pioneer, Advent

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 25, 2005]
KIRKLIN
AudioPhile

Strength:

Plays all music with authority. No need for a subwoofer. Their sound is captivating. It sounds like the performers are THERE. Solidly built. Heavy! Affordable

Weakness:

Heavy! Need room to breath. Like power!

OUTSTANDING SPEAKER ! ! ! Granted, you keep in mind the price of the speaker. Now, it will not out perform many of the High Dollar speakers, but . . . I've discovered, other than expensive, many high priced speakers fall short in performance. To the speaker: BIG ! ! ! I would not recommend these for a room smaller than 12x16x7 (minimum). They need room to breath. I am biamping mine - both amps 250 wpc into 8 ohms. The speakers LOVE power, and will talk ALL that you give them. The more power, the better they respond. Highs: Very good - accurate/to very close reproduction. At times, the tweeter tip-toes very close to harsh (if the recording is very demanding in the high-end) Mids: Dead-on! This where the 100's shine! The mids are enveloping. Turn-off the lights, close your eyes, and enjoy-the-ride! Bass: Impressive! Though, to get this in your home - POWER! ! ! I think those who complain of a lack of bass, are probably under powering these speakers. What impressed me most, was the woofers - described as 8.5" (if memory serves correctly) are only 7" (The mids woofer is shorter than the description as well). For one who wants uncompromise music at the most reasonable and affordable price, I'd recommend the 100's V.2 to anyone (WHO HAS THE SPACE and power for them)

Similar Products Used:

Studio 80 v.2

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 28, 2005]
petenoak
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great, natural bass response. Don't bother to add a subwoofer to hear the deep organ tone in Holst's "The Planets." A BIG sound.

Weakness:

Others may not notice this but to my ear these speakers have a top end that is "unsupported." The violins and brass sometimes have an edge because the speaker response just isn't that smooth.

Big, rich exciting sound. For my ear these speakers are better for jazz and poplular than for classical music. Or at least some recordings. Much of the time these speakers sound just glorius!

Similar Products Used:

I haven't found a speaker "similar" to the Paradigm Studio 100's. I heard Monitor Audio speakers that cost almost as much and though ok were no where near as impressive

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Jan 16, 2004]
gmood1
AudioPhile

Strength:

Midrange,imaging,soundstage, Drivers seem to be well integrated

Weakness:

slight chuffing from port,little boxy sounding,

I have spent several hrs at a time listening to the 100v3s. I feel they are a good value but do have a few things that can be improved.I am a fan of the smaller 20v3s mainly due to it's low coloration and very clean bass(most likely due to it's cabinet size).My test cd showed the 100v3s have good depth and image quite well.Midrange has always been very pleasant in Paradigm speakers in general.The highs are smoother than what I would expect from an aluminum tweeter.The area I feel they may fall a little short in is a slight boxiness in the low regions.Never really noticed this until spending time with Magnepans and Green Mountain audio speakers.No speaker is perfect so there's give and take on any design. What these speakers will do is rock out! Played some Alison Krauss live and they really get the toe to tapping.Slight chuffing from the port is noticeable at a moderate level.But this didn't detour me from enjoying the time I spent with these speakers. Associated equipment was a Denon 2200 DVD player,Adcom 5802 ,Denon reciever can't remeber make and Adcom 7 channel HT preamp. These speakers seem to be designed for the rockers out there..nothing wrong with that thou.For the ones who listen to more acoustic instrumental or vocal music ..I would look into a two way design, planar or electrostatic speaker. Definitely a must audition..may not be for everyone.Also great for HT but can't match the Deftecs for pure presents and weight in this area.IMHO they really out due the Deftecs for two channel music.So thank god there's more than one speaker company..this way everyone can find a speaker that lets them enjoy this hobby!

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Dec 19, 2003]
bjanda
AudioPhile

Strength:

Just about everything for me. Movies are awesome, music WAY better.

Weakness:

Heavy as hell. Not easy just to move around any old time. NOT REALLY A WEAKNESS.

These are the best sounding speakers I have ever owned. I recommend getting or having a good receiver/amp to get the best sound, obviously. They played these with some Sony receiver at the store. Yes, they were a return. I was told the guy didn't have the room for them. They were cosmetically perfect and sounded great. Brought them home, hooked to better equipment, and wow, a felt like I made out and for $500, I think I'm right. Would I have liked to have them new? Sure. But, for this price, I couldn't back down. Very happy with this purchase.

Similar Products Used:

Everything from crap to excellent at one time or another.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 201  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com