Paradigm Reference Monitor 90P v2 Floorstanding Speakers

Monitor 90P v2

3 way bass-reflex (5 drivers), 200W external power(525W/175W RMS internal amplifier)

User Reviews (11)

Showing 1-10 of 11  
JAY - jlance369   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 26, 2013]

Per the review submitted by:
Rob Horton a Audio Enthusiast
Date Reviewed: January 1, 2003 . . .

I can only 'add' some important history & details.

Having worked at Audio Craft in Cleveland, Ohio, (mainly at Westlake store), and having been into AUDIO since the age of 13, I was like a "kid in a candy store!" On a dollar vs. performance level, I fell in LOVE with the Phase Tech PC-2's . . . till about mid-late 2000 (??) when the PARADIGM Monitor 70P's were introduced. The only word to describe the sound: WOW!!!! Though the Phase Tech's still had their 'spot' in my heart, the Paradigm's 'opened' a whole new World to myself, as well as MANY of my customers. MANY who were female, contrary to the 'belief' that women wanted speakers that could NOT be seen! Musically, these were 'proven' as CAPABLE . . . especially on songs such as 'Way Down Deep' & 'Rock You Gently' by Jennifer Warnes, and, 'Spanish Harlem' by Rebecca Pidgeon.

I was referred to as some at AUDIO CRAFT as the Monitor70P 'King'!

PARADIGM then took me one step further into 'Never, Never Land' with the introduction of the Monitor90P in about mid-2001 (???), and later, the Monitor90P v.2 . . . Maintaining ALL of the 'musicality' of their "70P" series, these presented themselves as MOST CAPABLE in a 'Home Theater' environment.

Far beyond the review of submitted by Rob Horton, ("Saving Private Ryan"), there are 'examples' which allow the 90P's to simply "stand-out from the crowd". Even without the 'BEST' scenario of at least a full 5.1 home theater, if a 'dedicated' sub-woofer is not either 'practical', or to do so PROPERLY, is just not a viable 'option'.

MOST of us are 'strained', at best, to try to understand what the shelling on the beachhead could have sounded OR felt like. But, although a sadly realistic, much 'closer' encounter, in today's world that we may be able to comprehend, I use the movie "HEAT", (DVD, Chapter 32 ???) . . . the 'fire-fight' on the streets of a huge, metropolitan downtown area. Sometimes referred to as a 'Concrete Canyon'. Well, give the PARADIGM Monitor90P v.2 speakers an opportunity to introduce you to the truest definition of ACCURATE, REALISTIC REPRODUCTION OF SOUND.

I get 'goosebumps' just remembering it . . . maybe I will put it on later, with hopes none of my apartment neighbors complain (TOO MUCH!).

As I recall, the MSRP was about $849.ºº/each . . . although I DID get a 'discount' as I worked for AUDIO CRAFT, I 'lost' them in a house fire, a few years later. 'Settling' for a pair of 'competitive brand' speakers . . . I was just NOT happy with the sound. I inquired about swapping them for the 90P's, but learned they had been discontinued!!! NATURALLY . . . just MY 'luck'!!! After all, we ALL 'know' that when someone does make something so 'right' & good, it won't last! Well, I kept periodically checking on what was being taken in on 'trade-ins' and FINALLY, to my amazement, MONITOR90P's . . . in Light Cherry, for $700.ºº for the PAIR!!! THANK YOU, GOD!!!

Yes I am powering them with a YAMAHA RX-V4600 receiver . . . and, even at low volume, the PARADIGM'S are truly awesome. For BOTH, music in the purist sense, and, home theater.

Whether purchased at full MSRP, or on today's 'used' market, if not "abused" and in "GOOD" or better condition . . . still a phenomenal speaker system, PERIOD!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Kathy   Casual Listener [Sep 20, 2009]

I have two Paradigm Monitor 90P V2 that I have to sell. Anyone interested? andreasmother@yahoo.com

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
SHRLKCSPCK   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 09, 2009]

I have owned a pair of Paradigm Active 20's for 10 years and have always raved about them, as have many visitors who have heard them. In that time, I've constantly been on the lookout for another pair on ebay, but apparently no one ever sells them. So one fine day, while checking out ebay, i come across a pair of Paradigm Monitor P90's for $799. (US) I knew I'd have to move ny Active 20's to a smaller room, in order to accomodate the P90's. While I was thinking it over, some evil person bought them out from under me :-( Well, I head off for some fun and sun in LA and when I return a week later, what do I see on ebay? My p90's!!! The evil buyer lost his job and couldn't pay for them, so I offered $700. (US) and won these GREAT speakers. I didn't think it possible, but they are even clearer and more detailed than the Active 20's. The high, midrange and bass are all distinguishable without being harsh. The sound imaging is amazing. Sometimes I'll stand directly in front of one speaker and still be able to hear an instrument eminating from the other speaker 10 feet away! I don't know why Paradigm no longer makes these speakers, but I'm sure glad I have a pair.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
bluescreen   Casual Listener [Jun 14, 2003]

I love it. My favourit album is The Gaucho album ,and this is sounding more like that one than all the released album since then. 2 against nature became a commercial hit and that was good Their luck and ours.Otherwise ,who knows what would have happened. In 2 against nature I personally think something profound was missing This new one on the other hand has "got the news". It tells me it aint over until the fat lady sings. Some of the melodies I recognice from elsewhere,like the verse in Godwhacker...Prince´s "Sign `O the times".. and the saxophone sounds like Liza Simpsons,but I can buy that

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Rob Horton   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 01, 2003]
Strength:

Powerful tight rich,depth of sound with smooth clarity and sharp detail.

Weakness:

I know Paradigm can offer some spikes for a wood or tile floor but they dont. The spikes they have are good for carpet but can be murder to a wood floor.

Imagine yourself driving down the road in the family Plymouth , there is a lumber truck in front of you that you need to pass you gently pull into the passing lane and push down on the throttle,the G forse molds your back into the vinyl seat as the 426 cubic inch Hemi roars to life you go from 30mph to 80 mph in what seems like a heastbeat. This is an example of whatthe Paradigm 90p floor speakers will do for your sound system. While listening to some old Steely Dan cd's recently I was amazed at at the sounds I was hearing! Instruments and back up vocals I had never noticed before were pronounced with crystal clear detail. The music took on a life of its own as my ears were treated to a rich smooth,full sound with a clarity I have not heard before in floor speakers. Many people will tell you that you just need to buy some speakers then get a sub woofer. My responce to this is that the 90p's get by on a modest amount of power because of thier built in amplifiers. I hope you have money to burn you will need it to buy an expensive Amp or Preamp to drive your new power hungry system. The Paradigm 90p has its own controls so you can adjust the amount of base you want in addition to the base controls most recievers have so there is no problems setting the base to a level that suits the listener. Speaking of base these puppies have it to spare. For movies say like in the battle scenes on the beach in " Saving Private Ryan" Each 90p speaker has three 8" carbon-infused bass drivers that recreated the thunder and rumble of the battle scenes with spine tingling realism. The base was very tight and crisp while the ferro cooled mid range speaker brought out the grunting groaning and even the heavy breathing of the men as they stuggle up the beach with thier heavy gear. The High Frequency Driver or Tweeter gave the whistling mortars and zinging bullets frightening realism minus the fatigue most cheaper Tweeters will leave you with. I apologize for the theatrics of this review it is a poor attempt to describe on paper what the Paradigm 90p speakers can do for an action movie like the one previously described. You can not go wrong with these speakers or any other Paradigm speakers the way I see it. Do yourself a favor and audition these or any of the Paradigm speakers. I do not work for Paradigm I am just an inspired customer. The best single word that comes to mind to sum up the Paradigm 90p floor speakers is "Awesome" but check them out for your self

Similar Products Used: JBL, B&W, Cerwen Vega
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
dan   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 30, 2002]
Strength:

Extraordinary bass and highs in one package. buy a pair of these and skip the seperate sub!

Weakness:

heavy

I replaced my (what i thought was) adequeate Cerwin-vegas with these Paradigms. OH-MY-GOD I can say that I do not go around and listen to speakers alot, but these are awesome. Sepereat line in for the sub portion -which completly replaced my seperate sub. (now for sale) I have them set a half and the rumble the room. I am hearing things I have never heard before in movies and CD's. VERY heavy though. i think someone said 81 pounds- they are all of that. My only complaint is that i cant afford to buy the center and rears right now! I compared them to the paradigm 11's- these kick their ass to the curb.

Similar Products Used: cerwin vega, jbl, plok, klipsch
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Brad   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 10, 2001]
Strength:

Price, looks, sound, imaging

Weakness:

Couple of the carpet spikes hard to screw in

I have theese speakers hooked up to a Marantz SR7000 and they sound incredible. I use them for both home theater and music. What realy impressed me is the fact that the bass is very musical and goes very deep. I was using a 15" Cerwin Vega before this and the bass was very muddy and bloated. This is not the case with theese speakers. The midrange is very smooth and natural as is the tweeter. Another great thing is that theese speakers are not picky at all about placement. The sound stage is extremly wide and deep. So much so that the speakers seem to disapear. I am hearing things in the music that I have never heard before and I have listened to the the same CD's for the last five years.
One bad thing is that theese weigh 81 pounds and are hard to move if you have to. All I have to say is simply amazing! I highly recomend theese speakers

Similar Products Used: Compared to Infinity, Polk, JBL, and Snell
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
David Dubauskas   Audio Enthusiast [Jul 02, 2001]
Strength:

Built in Sub woofer, Extremly Clear, extraordinary sound stage/imaging.

Weakness:

Heavy, and hard to move with spikes.

Well I feel that I have arrived... nearly a five year journey, but I think I'm audio nirvana.

I had the fortune to review a pair of Paradign "phanton" line speakers about 5 years. I must say that back then I didn't really know what I was looking for, and at the time opted for a set of Warfdale subsat 2130's... not bad speakers, but certianly not in the leage of the Paradigm Monitor Series.

The Monitor 90P is unbelievable, it's clear, excellent imaging, great dynamic range, I've been using AKG headphones in order to hear the final details of music... but these 90P's present even more. I was enjoying the rock group Queen, with the headphones, but through the 90P it's a maganatude better. Quite the recording artists.

Some notes on my set up... you don't want to put these babies in a corner... the base really booms... I then decided to follow the setup instructions included and found that they worked well and I belived I've found a good setup with optimal sound.

I had some "loose' connections into my amp and this showed up... after putting some better connections on this distortion disapeared.

I then bi-wired and noticed an furhter improvement in sound.

I only have the base response butten set at mid point (5)... I tried it 6.5 but found that too boomy... so gradully I found myself back to 5. I can hardly wait until I get into full blown 5.1 dolby to really appreciate this base.

Similar Products Used: None
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jon   Audiophile [Oct 23, 2001]
Strength:

uncolored midrange,wide dynamic range, articulate bass

Weakness:

none i can identify at this price

Paradigm is probably the most underrated loudspeaker manufacturer in North America. Probably because they're Canadian. Def techs, Bostons, similarly priced B&Ws, Klipsch, PSBs don't approach these floorstanders.
For the first week I was unsure about the metal dome's high frequency response but this quickly cleared up within a week of contstant use. I am stunned by the performance delivered at the price. Uncolored and transparent mids and highs are combined with a very fast and high impact midbass that has good to very good transparency. The bass performance is beyond reproach at this price.
They are a budget audiophile's dream come true.

System
Speakers: Paradigm Monitor 90P v2
Integrated Amp: NAD C 370
CD Player/Recorder: Marantz DR 700
Cables: Phoenix Gold (Bi-Wire)

Similar Products Used: Bostons, PSBs, Klipsch, Definitive Tech, Martin-Logan Aerius i, SL3, Odyssey, Prodigy, Ascent, Final .7, B&W CDM7, Matrix 801, 802, Paradigm Ref Line, Wilson Cub II, Aerial 10t, Totem Mani II
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Mike   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 22, 2001]
Strength:

great bass, super clean sound, rumbles walls pisses off neighbors what more could you ask for

Weakness:

none really

great speakers however here static sound every now and then don't think it the speakers though everything else is great

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com