Paradigm Reference Monitor 7 v2 Floorstanding Speakers

Paradigm Reference Monitor 7 v2 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

2 way bass-reflex (3 drivers), 120W. Two 165mm (6.5") drivers with diecast chassis, ICPâ„¢ injection-moulded co-polymer polypropylene cone, Apicalâ„¢ former, and one 25mm (1") PTDâ„¢ pure-titanium dome and former, ferro-fluid damped/cooled tweeter.

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 65  
[Sep 08, 2013]
Mecheng
AudioPhile

Fantastic speaker for all types of music, which is what makes these speakers so great. They are so versatile, anything from Jazz to Rock they sound great. My brothers Tannoy only sound good with Classical. They are quite different from my 7se mkii, which sound more centre stage while the Monitor 7 are more front stage. The mid range is more present and because they are not as laid back I use -2 on the treble. Soundstage is great, bass is very deep and tight, no need for a sub if they are placed properly. They are not bright like ppl have wrote, try JBL then you know what bright is. Build quality is typical of most Candian made speakers it is excellent. I've had my 7se mkii for 20yrs and they still sound great these should last equally as long. I love Paradigms, life long fan for me.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 20, 2005]
dloweman
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Imaging, balance, build quality, and overall sound. Midrange is smooth and the highend is crystal clear. Also has quite a bit of bass for those without a sub.

Weakness:

Haven't found any, other then not shielded to have to be kept 3-4 feet away from the tv screen.

The speakers I am reviewing are the version 3's. The look of these speakers is very simple yet attractive, they don't draw attention to themselves, which is what most want. As for the sound, I think it is one of the best values available. The imaging is great, and the overall sound is just outstanding. These speakers are for all listening groups and can handle all types of music very well. If you are looking for a step up from a budget system then definately take a look at the monitor line from paradigm.

Similar Products Used:

Klipsch rf35, paradigm titans, jbl E100, B&W603s3

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Sep 01, 2004]
Ian64
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Good sound stage. Great highs and decent lowend base. Purchase Price. If I do decide to upgrade they have a good resale value. Quality product with quality retailers

Weakness:

None to date.

This review is for the Monitor 7 V3s. I first started looking and doing the research about 2 years ago after I had purchased my receiver Denon 1802. I read all kinds of reviews on this site and other online forums. But when it came down to the auditions and the best value the Paradigms won out. I would say the B&W's would have been my second choice but there was a good price difference that did come into play. I think the fact that the Paradigms are made in Canada helped as there no import duties. The other big factor, which helped with the purchase, was the retailer that I have been dealing with for the last few years do have a good reputation in the city and I would recomend anyone to check them out. With all that said it is only the reason I made the choice I made it doesn’t give my impressions of the speakers. After 6 months with these I am still happy with my choice as I have watched numerous movies and listen to many hours of 2-channel audio with the system. Even though I am limited on the quality of 2-channel stereo using the Denon AV receiver. I am still impressed with the 2 channel as at times it sounds as if the centre is on, but that is just good sound stage which I have never had before. I enjoy listening to female singers such as Stevie Nicks. I am also impressed with the amount of low base comes out of these I run may receiver with tone defeat on so as not to use the base and treble controls at all so the music is the way the artist had intended it to be heard. When I bought these I had some concern that with only 6" drivers that it would not get low enough. I am surprised at how low these go I have listen to some Price with sub shut off and I would say that these go low enough for and any 2 channel system, but for home theatre a sub is a must have. I am running these biwired off my receiver which when I first put them on I did notice some gains. So I had my retailer that sold me the speakers build some custom biwire cables, which I do believe, are worth getting.

Similar Products Used:

Auditioned B&W, Energy, Jamo, Acoustic Energy, PSB, Dahlquist.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2004]
Bernard
AudioPhile

Strength:

Fantastic imaging and soundstaging.(Play with the positioning it will pay off big time.). Well defined and sweet highs. Tight controlled bass. (Keep away from walls if possible, See manual.). And good balanced midrange and reasonably flat overall response. Nice build quality for price. Bi-Wireable which opened up the sound stage but buy some decent wire if you're going to do so as using lamp wire on my system also slowed down the timing and response a bit and also affected bass control. (My next purchase will be a decent set of wires.).

Weakness:

Slight lack of midrange detail and definition compared to more expensive speakers or midrange biased competitors. (but they will compromise on something else.). Generic owners manual for whole line.

This review is for the Monitor 7 v3. After having listened to all the major reputable brands I settled on the paradigms for a number of reasons. In Canada the closest competitor in my opinion is PSB. I found the paradigms offered a bit more sparkle and excitment than the rather dry and flat response of the PSB's. (A matter of taste.). The v3 is less bright than the v2 and has a very flat response. The imaging is outstanding with instruments and vocals being placed very accurately between the speakers. The soundstage is also big and slightly higher than the speakers. Bass response is excellent and tight and controlled. The port is front firing which helps if you have to place the speakers against the wall. Ideally you would want them away from the wall but this was not an option as these are part of my bedroom system. Treble is outstanding at this price point and is well defined and not too bright. It is also nice and sweet sounding. The midrange though very good for this price is where you start to see slight weaknesses compared to more expensive units like my B&W 603's. This is nitpicking I know but if there is any weakness this is where it is. The midrange is very smooth and well balancede but lacks a bit of definition and detail compared to more expensive speakers. It tends to smooth over the grain and detail. However at this price you will not find a better speaker, maybe just different and then it's up to your taste and music preferences that will make the difference. You could get better midrange detail but then you would lose something else. At this price everything is a compromise but this one happened to sound the best to me. All in all this speaker is outstanding and can really handle some power and deliver high volume levels. I am using them as a bedroom system connected to NAD320BEE, NAD540 cd player and NAD422 tuner. The NAD amp really goes well with these speakers, lots of power and excellent midrange. Previosly used a Harmon KArdon receiver but it had poor midrange (but good lows and highs). Combined with the Paragigm's the midrange was just lost so I refunded it and got the Nad320BEE and the midrange was back and excellent. I also listened to the Paradigm's on a Denon receiver and this was a very good match as well as Denon usually has good detail and midrange definition which these speakers need a little help with. Match these speakers up with a good system and they will be unbeatable in my opinion.

Similar Products Used:

B&W 601 s2, B&W 603 S2, Nad 320BEE amp, Nad 540 cd player, Nad 422 tuner, Nad 761 AV receiver, etc.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 20, 2004]
Audiophyle
AudioPhile

Strength:

Super highs, smooth mids, solid, tight bass.

Weakness:

none

Have you ever heard of the term "diminishing returns?". Well, essentially these Paradigm Monitor 7's are as good as speaker gets before the increase in price is not worth the investment. In otherwords, they are the best value on the market. There are better speakers out there for sure, but the corresponding increase in price is not anywhere close to worth the difference in sound. You you want to pay double what the 7's will cost you and get less than a 5% improvement, be my guest. I decided to get audiophile sound with the 7's and invest what I would have wasted on more pricey models in better electronics. The Monitor 7's excell as home theater mains and give me goosebumps when listening to 2-channel stereo. You just can't go wrong with these babies. I don't think they have a weakness, and I would rather send my money to Canada (Paradigms are made in Canada), than to Japan or even Britian and day. Happy listening.

Similar Products Used:

many Paradigm products.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[May 04, 2004]
newbsterv2
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Smooth frequency response, efficient, wide dispersion, imaging, bass response, groove factor, high frequency air

Weakness:

Bass can be a little flabby at higher volumes but the speaker never sounds sloppy or laggy. Can be a bit bright so don't use cheap low-fi sony receivers to drive these. Slightly recessed midband makes these speakers sound just a tad dark.

After 2 years of listening to various speakers extensively I've come to the conclusion that these Monitor 7's(v2) are excellent speakers despite a few of their flaws. People always say that x speaker should do this right and x speaker dhould do that right but at the end of the day the most "balanced" speaker usually ends up staying put. These speakers are very efficient making them play reasonably loud with little power. They also are "quiet" between the notes. I also own a pair of Magnepan MMG's as well as Axiom M3ti's and while those speakers have many good qualities they have a few things that are annoying that really remind you you're listening to speakers. The Maggies have a hazy sound and don't disperse all frequencies evenly making them sound very confined. They are amazing with stringed and acoustic instruments but fall short when it comes to disapperaing from sight. Same with the Axiom's. Their midrange is a little nasal making vocals sound honky and annoying. The Paradigm Monitor 7's are not perfectly flat don't get me wrong. But they are smooth and have good body. The bass isn't the tightest but the speaker never slurs the notes and clumps them together like the MMG's can do. Paradigm just came out with the v3 Monitor 7's and after listening to them today I found them to sound even better for just a little more money. They use a better tweeter amd use a bass only driver that has an acoustic rolloff at 400Hz. this makes the midrange clearer while still being able to use a simple 2 way crossover. The Monitor 7's are very revealing and a "wee bit" crispy on top. Not sibilant or hashy but just that little extra detail of brightness that can be really annoying IF you have components in your system that are overly bright to begin with. As a matter of fact the reason I had all these other speakers in my house is because of the poor equipment I was originally using with them. I've badmouthed the Monitor 7's along the way but I take all that back. For a speaker that costs ~$700.00/pair(for the v3) I honestly can't think of a better speaker for the money unless you're a DIY'er. Have a listen and always remember ENJOY YOURSELF!!!

Similar Products Used:

Magnepan MMG Axiom M3ti Current system...... mains - Paradigm Monitor 7 v2 center - Paradigm CC-370 v2 surrounds - Paradigm ADP 70 sub - paradigm PS-1000(junk) receiver - Integra DTR 5.2 DVD/CD - Pioneer DVC-503

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 29, 2004]
fantasticles
Casual Listener

Strength:

Price, Balanced Sound, Rich Velvety tone, best mids for the price

Weakness:

Not magnetically sheilded

I was ready to spend twice what I paid for these speakers ($700CDN). If you close your eyes, it's really hard to tell where the sound is coming from. It's like a wall of sound. I found these speaker to be very well balanced and have great response at every range. The voices are rich, the highs are crisp and the bass is tight and responsive. I'm using a YamahaRXV2300 receiver and the match is perfect. These speakers can be pushed hard and they perform exceptionally well. I don't have a subwoofer and don't plan on buying one. These speaker are not too bassy but they do pack a wicked punch with the bass turned up only a little. I listen to a wide variety of music ranging from choral music to classical piano to Eric Clapton to Dr Dre. I find that I really notice the mp3 distortion through these speakers (garbage in garbage out?). You really hear your input; good and bad. I auditioned some Best Buy JBLs and Sony's; the paradigm speakers blew them away in price and performance. Once I heard the Paradigms I couldn't go back (and haven't). I also auditioned and almost bought the Energy C-7s. I loved the way they looked - but I couldn't justify spending $1200CDN on "good looking" speakers, the sound was OK but the paradigms sounded better. I felt like I could "hear" the tweeter and the woofers on the energys. Thats not what I wanted to hear. That's what I love about the paradigms... You really can't tell where the sound is coming from. They really fill the room. I have a full five speakers in my living room but very often only use the Paradigms. It's hard to tell I'm using only two speakers. While they are very very good, I have heard better, but nothing even close to $700. I am very happy with these speakers and with the match to my Yamaha RXV2300. My only beef was that they're not magnetically shielded. (My beef is more with the sales guy who didn't tell me.) I have to keep them at least two feet away from my TV. Still, I enjoy them very much - two feet away from my TV. These speakers are great for the budget-conscious music lover. I'm using the speakers in a room that is 14' x 22'. For a room this small these speakers are a bit of an overkill - so I play them pretty low most of the time. Still they sound great.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 14, 2003]
cwd
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Excellent treble response, good bass response down to the upper 30Hz range, very good imaging, great value for the dollars spent, good sensitivity so you don't need massive power to drive them (80W never sounded so loud in my system), sound great no matter what you're playing, worthy of high end electronics since their clarity and definition is so good.

Weakness:

If you want them for Home Theater, you need the shielded version which only seem to come in good, old boring black. If you are looking for "visually impressive" floor standing speakers, these won't do since they are on the thin looking side of the issue. They almost look too skinny next to my widescreen TV, equipment rack, and PW-2200 subwoofer.

Since I was finally building a home theater in a room that could handle something other than a sub/sat system, I went shopping for a system that was built to handle Home Theater and DVD-Audio/SACD. To me, this means speakers that can deliver bass down to at least 40Hz coupled with a subwoofer to deliver the low-end/LFE. After much shopping, I picked the Paradigm System 7 (Monitor 7s, CC370, and PW2200 sub), but instead of using the ADP370 surrounds, I selected Monitor 3s for surround. I am really happy with the Monitor 7s and the whole setup. The tweeters used in the Monitor 7 deliver crisp treble. They are definitely more forward than the soft dome tweeters in my NHTs I use in my other system, but they are not fatiguing or annoying. They really produce some amazing 3D sound effects with electronic music that are fun to experience. Feels like the sound is reaching out into the room. I've run a variety of music through the system and these speakers really get brass and acoustic instruments just right (at least for me). My Brian Setzer's Orchestra CDs and concert DVD sound excellent. The trumpets, trombones, and saxes are well separated and have the correct pitch and timbre. Piano has the right level of attack and decay as notes are played across the octaves. Since it can get the harder stuff right, good old rock and roll guitar and bass sound great, too. The bass response is satisfying/good and what I expected based on my dealer demos. The only trick has been getting the blend point correct with the PW2200 since I'm running the Monitor 7s full range and need to use the low pass filter on the sub to cut its output at the right point. Actually, all of this has demonstrated how my Denon 2700 receiver just doesn't cut it. There's alot more bass capabilities in the Monitor 7 than it can push, so on to the next upgrade: a pre/pro and amplifier with plenty of juice. These speakers should shine in that setup and merit high quality electronics to drive them.

Similar Products Used:

Ohm speakers (remember them?), NHT speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 02, 2003]
Jerry
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clear, accurate sound, great with surround sound movies. Excellent value for the money.

Weakness:

Not the greatest if you mostly listen to music, but very acceptable.

Before Xmas 2002 got a Paradigm System 7 V3 (2x Monitor 7v3, 1x CC370, 2x ADP370)with a PS1200 Subwoofer. This is for my evolving renovated basement home theater and used with a Yamaha RXV800 5 Channel A/V receiver. I use this with a Toshiba 50H81 rear projection HDTV set. Still need a rug and another leather couch, but a step at a time. Even with my current accoustics the monitor 7s are extremely clear and accurate. Voices, instruments and movies come through without noticable distortion. Imaging ok, but could be better. For the price, can't complain. The CC370 is excellent with movies and 5 channel music. Voices and midrange are extremely clear. It is large and powerful. The ADP370s dipoles are great for movie surround sound, although I was forced to position them very close to the ceiling to maintain symmetry. For 'surround' music they provide good ambience, but little soundstage, but that was the intention. The PS-1200 sub is very solid on movies and can shake the house 'accurately', at modest levels. Jurasic Park, Matrix, Lord of the Rings (FOTR) sound awsome. When the Balrog gets in your face, stomps and growls, you WILL feel it. Taken together this timber matched set produces great surround sound. For the money (about $3k CDN), great value from these speakers and will sound even better when I add the rug!

Similar Products Used:

ESS Tempest L5's.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jan 25, 2003]
Geo
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Clarity, Accuracy, Looks

Weakness:

Bass if you are into boomy music

I was slowly getting around to upgrading my 1970’s 2channel pawn shop stereo (don't laugh, my heart and energy was into a multi amp, 10 speaker car stereo that was forever evolving and could pound the back window out of the car if I wasn’t careful!) when I heard a set of Mirage speakers and was blown away from what I WAS use to listening to IN THE HOUSE (not the car heh heh). I went in to audition a set for myself and accidentally had the Monitor 7.3's playing instead. Well, after many auditions of various brands, I was ready to purchase a set of Cerwin Vega's as after all I was a “bass head” but I couldn't justify the CVs or at least live with that decision because the Monitors were just so clear and accurate. I have not regretted the decision yet. I find myself renting old DVD’s like Top Gun and Terminator 2 just to hear what I have been missing. I must have watched (actually listened to) Saving Private Ryan and Lord of the Rings at least 10 times since I brought them home and I hear something new every time as these baby’s break in. The big test was to listen to any older work by Pink Floyd. Roger Waters has a lot of background filler going on, especially in the Final Cut. I can hear things in that CD that I was not able to hear with a decent set of Aiwa head phones. Now I must admit the bass is rather weak to what I’M USE TO but the clarity of the sound is fantastic. On that, if you listen to club music like the wife does you will probably be disappointed like she is with them as these speakers do not fill in with deep throbbing base, however I plan on finishing my system with a PW2200 and that should take care of the low end. So to sum up, if you are into Home Theater or Jazzy/Blues or even non-bassy type Rock/Alternative music you will not regret these speakers. If you are into Club music you will not want to keep them.

Similar Products Used:

JBL, Audio Research

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 65  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com