Paradigm Reference 3seMKIII Floorstanding Speakers

3seMKIII

8 in bass/mid, 1 in tweeter

User Reviews (18)

Showing 1-10 of 18  
ken   AudioPhile [Dec 28, 2009]

i just pick up a 5.1 system of paradigm for 220 $ include 2 9seMk3 & a CC-100 & 2 small paradigm for surround . & an aiwa power sub .
the quality so great . i used to have an acousticmass 10 set up in my room be4, but it blow away the bose .

good value ++++++++ ,


OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
7.62Matt   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 05, 2005]
Strength:

Very balenced, smooth presentation. Quick bass, not muddy. Highs are even, not shrill, and they have a fat, smooth midrange. Oh yea, they are fairly cheap, and can be found on the used market (Ebay). For music, I was planning a sub, but I am not sure if one is needed. GREAT SPEAKER!

Weakness:

None

After reading the positive reviews, I wanted to try a pair for my second system in the study. I got a pristine set of Mk3's on Ebay for $150.00 plus shipping, WHAT A DEAL! They are on top of Plateau RT-23 stands, each filled with lead shot, and Blue Tack in between. These speakers have a even, full, slightly foward sound. I listen to every thing from Alison Krauss to Black Sabbath, and these little speakers reproduce both in a very real sense. They do not color the acoustic or vocals, yet are fast enough to play Metallica, with out getting muddy. Describing speakers to me is like colors to a blind preson, I can't find the correct adjective, but I will say this, they are right for two channel music, peroid. You can spend much more, but under $1000.00, these are hard to beat.

Similar Products Used: Wharfedale, Monitor Audio, JMLab, Magnepan, Thiel
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
spyonu2007   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 08, 2005]
Strength:

size, price, performance, not many bookshelfs sound this good, heck not many floor standing speakers sound this good.

Weakness:

nothing on the low low low end, but thats what subwoofers are for.

I bought these off an employee that works at a highend shop. The tweeter in one was blown, but was replaced with a matched pair or oem units, from a new set that were in the box. I love these little guys, and sitting side by side with a pair of titans, and an titanium domed pair of minimonitors, thses things rock.

Similar Products Used: titans, mini monitors (paradigm) Dahlquist dq7's and 7 compacts.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
DanTana1   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 27, 2003]
Strength:

Midrange detail Excellent tweeter Great bass for it's size

Weakness:

Cheaper spring loaded connectors, not binding posts Slight "Paradigm" upper low, lower mid emphasis.

Saw these at a pawn shop, after reading the reviews here I thought I'd try them. I am very impressed with these speakers. Everything positive I read was true. I think the one thing not mentioned was the midrange detail. You can hear small nuances to music you may never of heard before. This is truly an "all day speaker" it is very non-fatiguing. For a two-way speaker, in a smallish enclosure, it delivers bass comparable to much larger designs. It doesn't produce the deepest bass, but what it does do is exactly what I was looking for. Imaging, detail, strong midrange, clear highs. For what I paid for them, I can't think of anything better for many times that amount. I now hope I can get some more or try some 5-7 or 9se's. I think these speakers are truly classics. There is some of the Paradigm lower midrange "push" but it isn't very obtrusive. I wish Paradigm still made these, I love the sound of the soft dome tweeter. If you can find these on Ebay or somewhere else, grab them. You won't be disappointed. Truly a diamond in the rough.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jeputar   AudioPhile [Mar 08, 2003]
Strength:

dynamic mayhem(balls)

Weakness:

that slight chestiness that this line has always exibeted

While the Paradigm line continues to evolve..this speaker will forever be dear to me.While the new models are precision models..the 3semk3 is one of those special speakers that is just so musical that nothing gets in the way.Sure you will hear that trademark slightly heavy upper bass/lower midrange whoof but really,this is not a complete distraction.because it does so much right.I realy wish I didn't sell mine because the tweeter is so musical and soft sounding..that you never miss the precision of a metal dome tweeter that now resides in the newer models.This is not a slam on the newer models like the wonderful Titans I now own.it's just that I once owned a great speaker and now...there is no getting that magic back.for those about to sell yours..I can only hope that you hold on to these....There is just something about a non metal soft dome thatsay's welcome...you are listening to real music

Similar Products Used: just listen and the others go away quickly
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mike-d   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 05, 2002]
Strength:

Perfect mid - high.. they do just dissapear.

Weakness:

None

These speakers are fantastic... what a match to my ADP 170 surrounds and cc350 center... Very clear sound, beautiful midrange....what more could you ask for... these speakers are about 8 years old and still sound beautiful.

Similar Products Used: Technics, Klipsch, Velodyne
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Charles Vranizan   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 18, 2000]
Strength:

Crisp clear sound.

Weakness:

None.

I have to agree with all the reviews below. These speakers are great! However, I have only used them for my rears. They have never let me down and have always delivered what was intended to be heard from a rear channel. For my fronts I use the 9seMk3's. My center is the CC300 and I also use the PS-1000. I'm pumping 120w into each speaker (sub not included) via a Pioneer Elite and boy, does is ever sound great. Movies truly come to life. Bravo to Paradigm for such wonderful products at a very affordable price!

Similar Products Used: Design Acoustics
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Joe Hudetz   Casual Listener [Jan 13, 2000]
Strength:

Clear and crisp sound
Decent bass if you can't afford a sub
Great price

Weakness:

None for the price

I have used these speakers for years and have been really satisfied. Great reviews and audition sold me. If you are on a budget you can't go wrong!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Jeff Georgiou   an Audio Enthusiast [Apr 23, 1999]

I must say I love my Paradigm 3seMkIII's. I bought them on close out for $250 a complete steal. I love them! They image as well as almost any speaker, excluding the B&W 801's but there is a slight price gap. It is amazing to sit infront of them and just be blown away every time! The bass is about 6db down at about 40! they are good for both jazz and classical, the only thing is they get a little confused on extreme orchestral passages, but what the hell doesn't for $250.GREAT BUY

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Richard Juneau   an Audio Enthusiast [Dec 05, 1997]

Bought my Paradigms last year. I love them. By far the best sound in this price range. About to buy the Paradigm CC-150 center channel speaker and considering the PDR-10 sub.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
Showing 1-10 of 18  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com