Optimus GX-1600 Floorstanding Speakers

GX-1600

3-way, 15-inch woofer

User Reviews (27)

Showing 1-10 of 27  
owenster   AudioPhile [Jul 08, 2003]
Strength:

great sound , they just pound (shakes the hole house) because i have them hooked up to my comp

Weakness:

hardey any just if u have a hurting amp u may run into some problems but i have a kenwood krx 793 and its hurting but it still sounds great

i purcused these speakers to reaplace my bose 301s i thought that they would be just some alright simalar to celestions WRONG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! these speakers are the best buy i have ever got they were only 30$ a piece i hihley recommend geting a set

Similar Products Used: bose 301s
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
jim   Audio Enthusiast [Mar 09, 2003]
Strength:

loud, ear-splitting intensity, outstanding quality at low to medium levels

Weakness:

lack of crossover

for 124.49CAD a piece i thought i was just getting your typical "run of the mill" speakers that looked big and nice but sounded like crap... i cant come up with a word to describe how good these speakers are, especially for the cash. The best word i can come up with is absolutely outstanding!!! and that dont even come close!!! These awesome speakers kick big time a**. The only problem is the lack of a passive crossover: this causes the woofers to produce a signal voltage when it is moving back into neutral position and that feeds back to the tweeters and the horn tweeters start to go a slight bit distorted at extremely high levels. Other than that i cant complain. i believe what M from canada said is true about the "break in process" i tried this out and they work a lot better now.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
M   AudioPhile [Feb 22, 2003]
Strength:

very loud, excelent quality for the price and very durable

Weakness:

woofers are not broken in properly or most likely not at all

Very good speaker for the price. Loud and very efficient(98dB@1W). Excelent quality at lower levels. Bass is rather loud and thumpy instead of smooth and deep like a subwoofer. Good for parties and such. Those of you who own these speakers or plan on purchasing a pair and smell the glue on the coil heating up, this is ok. I noticed that also, I was worried that I was going to blow the speakers but I kept on pushing the speakers to their limits. One day I played them for several hours on a bass track and after that " break in period" they could handle slightly more wattage then they were rated for without that burnt PCB smell. The smell could also be caused by people attaching the speakers to multi channel home theatre systems. Those systems have an output of 75 to 150 watts per channel this is not sufficient enought to power these speakers properly and it will cause clipping distortion, and that will blow a speaker even if theres only 100 watts. its best to have an amp that will put out slightly more than the speaker can handle.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
9999   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 21, 2002]
Strength:

woofer size, cost

Weakness:

magnet size, heats up too fast,crapy sound range of 45hz-20khz. So i sugest if you want deeper or louder bass replace the woofers like I did.

I liked the fact that i only paid 200$ for a pair of floor standing speakers that included 15" woofers. The sound qualities is ok, but when i took one of the woofers out i noticed a tiny little magnet and thought, geez thats one of the reasons why they're only 250 watts. So i went and bought a pair of MTX RFL-4000 subwoofers, you know the big 4000 watt subwoofers. With bass down to 20hz instead of 45hz they go deeper and definately LOUDER!!!, than 250 watts.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
Josh   AudioPhile [May 11, 2002]
Strength:

Clear sound. Loud. Good bass and highs. Makes the house rattle (although that should be bad, it lets you know that they''re really doin something!)

Weakness:

Small Magnet on woofer.

These things do have pretty sweet bass. I took one of them apart, and I didn''t like the fact that the magnet on the 15" woofer was so small tho. I guess i''m used to car stereo equipment... I really like the sound from these speakers. The highs and lows are great. They really shake up the light fixtures in the house, that''s for sure. I''ve never had a problem with these speakers. I use them for my computer (I''ve got a receiver just for the PC) and it gives great sound for both games and music (even when it''s really cranked). I would recomend buying these speakers as the sound is really clear, and thats what should count.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
mark   AudioPhile [Apr 27, 2002]
Strength:

good bass, excelent highs and very loud.

Weakness:

none

this speaker is an excelent speaker for the money, it is very loud, and the bass and highs are quite good, i do recommend an amplifier for users with home theatre setup with only 100 to 130 watts per channel, make sure the amp is designed for large woofers, and kicks out atleast 250 to 350 watts per channel. i also reccomend positioning the speakers so that they are just slightly angled in about 5 to 10 degrees, this will have a good effect on bass. if you have theses speakers i also recommend buy a Merak MS15 (15") amplified subwoofer to get that extra bit of deep bass around 20 hertz

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Andy   Audio Enthusiast [Apr 25, 2002]
Strength:

Enough bass to knock things off shelves a floor up!! Highs that would let Beethoven hear his 9th Symphony

Weakness:

Bass bottoms out very quick

About a year ago when my Twelve Inch Yamaha''s blew on me, I decided to go bigger. I dind''t have the cash to go for Anything like Cerwin''s or Martin''s hell, I dind''t even have the cash to go for Technics!!!! So I went to my locale Radio Shack and bought a set of Optimus 15''s. I didn''t think that they would sound anything like my Yamaha''s, but they kicked their ass!!! Bass that shook my pant leg, and highs that let my neighbours listen to Kirk Hammet riffs at 1 AM. 12 to 15 isn''t a very good comparison though, so I told my friend to bring over his Technics. Not even worth the gas. These speakers blew the Technics away!!! The only problem is that if your amp is too powerful, the bass sounds bad when the volume is alittle over half way. Wicked Speaker for the price!!!

Similar Products Used: Technics, Yamaha
OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
BoB Tarver   AudioPhile [Apr 08, 2002]
Strength:

none

Weakness:

sorriest speakers and amps ever made they suck really bad

This sucks

Similar Products Used: nothing is worrest than this crap
OVERALL
RATING
1
VALUE
RATING
1
Al   Audiophile [May 10, 2000]
Strength:

Big Bass, Amazing Highs, Friends saying "Ha ha you bought speakers from Radio Shack." and then hearing them say "Do they have another set in stock?"

Weakness:

Shakes beer cans onto the floor.

About a year back my 20 year old speakers crapped out on me. I found myself searching for a new set that had great bass and great treble, boy did I make a mistake buying a set from Pioneer. I was drawn into buying the Pioneers when Costco had them on for $200, which was a mistake, I should have ignored what my friends said and went directly to radio shack in the first place. I have not found a type of music yet that the GX-1600's can't play better than the Pioneer's. At parties the Optimus speakers are a blast, they can be heard at great distances, indoors or outdoors. The bottom line when buying speakers in great sound, Right?,
well I recommend not listening to your friends and buying a pair(or maybe more) of these exceptional speakers, trust me they are a great deal at twice the price.

Similar Products Used: Pioneer CS-T5100-k
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
p.o   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 17, 2001]

very nice speaker !


wonderful bass !

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 27  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com