Norman Laboratories 62P Loudspeaker Floorstanding Speakers

62P Loudspeaker

Two way speaker with a 6.5" woofer and a 1" dome tweeter

User Reviews (13)

Showing 1-10 of 13  
David Woodward   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 10, 2008]
Strength:

Accurate reproduction

Weakness:

I can't think of any.

These speakers are so good that when my wife banned them from the Living Room I moved them to my study. We bought these in Norman, took them to England, back to Enid, Oklahoma, on to Dallas, and now in Pensacola. They are tough!

Customer Service

There isn't any because the manufacturer no longer exists

Similar Products Used: Bose 3 piece speaker system
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
ddaniels   AudioPhile [Mar 04, 2008]
Strength:

all

Weakness:

heavy maybe

i have a pair of norman labs model 7 loudspeakers (first 2 speakers put on market) want to sell email is ddaniels12@cox.net

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
GoldenBear50   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 26, 2005]
Strength:

Heavy, sturdy enclosures...been moved from Texas to S.C. to Florida and back to Texas. Held up well. Highs and bass are extremely clear.

Weakness:

Mid-range seems a bit lacking compared to some newer speakers on the market.

Purchased Norman Lab 10's in 1976 to replace a set of Bose 501's. Have used them ever since with great satisfaction. Been thinking of replacing them with a matched set for Home Theatre. Would desire better surrounds and center speaker. Any suggestions?

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
scgypsy9   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 21, 2005]
Strength:

Great sound, very subtle highs and lows. Also, can take just about anything you want to put behind them. Have outlasted a Pioneer, Kenwood and Sherwood Receiver.

Weakness:

Large and heavy

I worked at Norman Laboratories in Norman, OK in 1978-1979 building prototypes for future models. I built the set of Model 8's that I have myself. They are not much different than the ones that were for sale, but I did take a little more care in the cabinetry and assembly of these speakers. The woofers came from belgium and we tweeked them with a ferrite solution to improve them.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
KET66   AudioPhile [Jan 14, 2005]
Strength:

Warm; incredible bottom end; crisp highs; efficient. Very muscular. Beautiful cabinets.

Weakness:

Big, heavy.

I have owned a pair of Norman Laboraties model Tens since about 1977. Stunning speakers when coupled with the Norman Labs equalizer. I've never needed to even consider a subwoofer or new speakers as I updated everything else I owned. I recently found a pair of model Nines on ebay and bought them. This was their flagship speaker. I couldn't afford these back in '77. (about $850.00 each then) But I have never heard better speakers. Just a fantastic, powerfully smooth sound. And I am tickled to finally own a pair. Once again, the Norman EQ makes a huge difference. My Yamaha EQ didn't have near the positive effect. Norman Laboratories built speakers in Norman, OK from the mid '70s throughout the '80s. Other posts have said they went out of business in '95. Could be. I just know that these are collector's items. There isn't a new speaker anywhere that I have heard that can touch them. My opinion, of course.

Similar Products Used: Norman Laboratories Model Tens
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Todd A Walls   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 02, 2003]
Strength:

Strong bass for a bookshelf speaker. It rivals most tower systems. Midrange is flat, with an airy high end. Walnut cabinet is solidly crafted.

Weakness:

Consider this the opposite of the Klipsch sound. I prefer a sharper tweeter with more presence when playing dance or house music, but the delicate sound has grown on me as my musical tastes have changed over the years. The clear yet smooth treble makes these undesirable for hard rockers, but perfect for classical vocals and instruments, as well as other music where accuracy is more desirable than power. Not compatible with some amplifiers. Specifically, I had to return a Peavy power amp because its internal circuit protection would trip immediately with the Norman's, but worked fine with other speakers. I was told that the Model 7's were an "active load", electronically speaking, though I have no proof of that.

(That was the price per pair.) These Norman Laboratories Model 7's have a 12" woofer and a pair of surface-blocked tweeters as others have mentioned. The cabinet is HDF, high density fiberboard, with a full fiber fill of some kind. It has a low-high brightness toggle on the back, which I switch depending on the acoustics of the current room and my typical listening area. These speakers don't have a sharp edge anywhere, sonically speaking. I would call it a "sweet" sound, though I tend to crank up the treble to bring it out more. I purchased them around 1978, brand new, with a pile of dough from my $2 an hour job (and a little help from my dad). I was only 14, but knew good sound when I heard it. My dad always had these Universal 3C speakers when I was growing up, which are tough as nails and harder than a rock--the opposite of the Norman sound. The Universals were In-your-face in an instant, while the Model 7's spread slowly through you like a warm shot of brandy on a cold winter day. Go figure, I guess I was rebelling in some subtle way. Norman Labs have a distinctive sound, like all great classic speakers, and I am sorry to hear that no more will ever be made. For those of you with experience with other model Labs, the main difference in the Model 7 sound in comparison with those is a deeper bass response. I don't have any testing equipment, but I bought the 7's overtly to compensate for years of listening to a cheapo no-bass Lloyd record-changer. I wanted to FEEL the music. Many of my neighbors have felt it, too, over the last quarter-century--to their dismay. :) ...and this is a bookshelf speaker. I have personally witnessed the windows rattling on my neighbors house when playing "Children of the Sun" a half-acre away. Don't bother to e-mail me asking to buy them. I ain't selling, no way, no how. I'm too sentimental for these babies. To sum up the Norman Lab experience: I tend to close my eyes when listening to them. It feels like floating. I highly recommend you look for pair for yourself from some poor lost soul who doesn't know what they have. Buy a slice of audio history. You won't be disappointed.

Similar Products Used: Time Window, Klipsch Reference 7 series.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Campagnolo   AudioPhile [Jun 24, 2003]
Weakness:

Wire clips on back look cheap, but have never caused any problem.

I have a pair of Model 8 that have been in my family since the early 80's. They are fantastic. The sound is fantastic. The cabinet is very well built. We have played these for thousands of hours and still love them. If you can find some, buy them.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch RB-35 and Infinity Modulas System
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
John   AudioPhile [Jun 24, 2003]
Weakness:

Wire clips on back look cheap, but have never caused any problem.

I have a pair of Model 8 that have been in my family since the early 80's. They are fantastic. The sound is fantastic. The cabinet is very well built. We have played these for thousands of hours and still love them. If you can find some, but them.

Similar Products Used: Klipsch RB-35 and Infinity Modulas System
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
J Rhodes   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 04, 2003]

I have a set of Model 14's. Amazing speakers only 12 inches high and 8 inches wide. But put out far more sound than my room can handle. The highs are still very crisp and the lows were really great, still are just not as loud anymore (see below). I love these speakers I couldnt have gotten a better set. I have had these speakers for about 4yrs. Before that my friend had them in storage for a few years, and before that they spent about 20yrs in a pizza restaurant's dining room. They were improperly wired and as a result one speaker got totally overpowered and the other was never used. The overpowered one came to me with the foam surround completely vacant. Yet this speaker continued to work for 2yrs or so before the voice coil died. I would like to replace these woofers

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
Jim Schmoke   Casual Listener [Apr 22, 2003]
Strength:

Great sound, excellent built cabinet

A bought a pair of Norman Lab Model nine from an individual. They are 48" tall and have 2 10's and 3 tweeters (I guess they are tweeters) in the front and a 10 inch mounted in the back which fires towards the wall. They are EXCELLENT spounding on my Harmon amp. If anyone can tell me about these please drop me an email.

Similar Products Used: JVC and Cerwin Vega but the Normans sound the best.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 13  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com