NHT VT 2.4 Floorstanding Speakers

NHT VT 2.4 Floorstanding Speakers 

DESCRIPTION

System Type: 3-way Frequency Response: 24 Hz-25 kHz ( 3 dB Sensitivity: 88 dB @ 2.83 V/M Impedance: 6 ohms

USER REVIEWS

Showing 1-10 of 11  
[Apr 26, 2016]
sou
Casual Listener

the best nht tv 2.4

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 07, 2005]
spoon88
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

image, sounstage, clean midrange and tight bass

Weakness:

high can be bright sometimes depends on the recording. NHT is pretty much garbage in garbage out type of speaker( neutral )

This is one great speaker. I have own it for more than 2 years. I have mated from Yamaha DSPA2 to Sunfire/Sherbourn combo. It just sound fantastic. Image are pinpoint, very wide sound stage, have good depth, mid range is clear, high is airy and the bass is phenominal. I have heard so many expensive speakers in the past, Paradygm Studio 100s, Celestion A3, B&W N802, Totem Forest, Dali, KEF Refernce, Swan Diva and more. The only one that I feel it sound better is Totem Forest(3K) and Dali(8K). Totem Forest has better midrange and Dail is just a complete 3D effect. However, for the price I paid, I'll challenge u to find better sound than this.

Similar Products Used:

read above

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2003]
Mike
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Sound quality Price

These speakers are amaizing. The bass pounds like hell, and is so amaizingly clear. It won't matter what kind of music you listen, they reproduce the sound the way it was meant to be heard.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Feb 03, 2003]
eleveille
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

bass, bass,bass... details and airy

Weakness:

is not ver y forgiving with inadequate souces

After Careful consideration of my budget, two choices became clear: Paradigm 100. v2 or the NHT vt 2.4. I was almost immediately taken with the bass and the airy details of the NHT's. The paradigm were sonically very good, but did not exhibi the same ambience and deatils of the NHT. Great purchase and great value.

Similar Products Used:

infinity, psb,maggies

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
[Nov 18, 2002]
Matt
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great idea for classical music!!!! nice finished. musical!!! great soundstage for movies!!

Weakness:

Need monster amp to make them sing!!!

I bought vt2.4 about 8 months ago. At first I my old Harman kardon avr310 couldn't make them sing. it was lack of detail, bass and there was too much high..harsh!!! I decided to change. First I tried Acurus2005. It was much better than using H/K. the sound was warmer the bass was tighter and clearer. fortunately, I got a good deal, parasound 2205AT, so i changed the amp again. At 220 watt per channel, my VT2.4 performs great!!!!!! Tight bass( especially when bi-amp them), great detail in high but lack of mid. They are great with classical music, they are so so for pop and dance music. ** you need a good source for this vt2.4, they give out all detail, so if the source is not good enough, the sound u hear will be really bad!! i mean it***

Similar Products Used:

AR17, NHT VS2.4

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
3
[Mar 31, 2002]
Linda Coulson
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Bass and detail

Weakness:

none

I bought my NHT2.4''s a year ago, and I''ve never been happier with an audio purchase. They sound amazing with both music and home theater. Very detailed midrange and treble, and earth-shattering bass (for a non-subwoofer speaker). My classic rock and jazz CDs have never sounded better.

Similar Products Used:

JBL, Genesis, Polk speakers

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Mar 29, 2002]
Mike Quinn
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Bass. Great detail. Ability to play loud. Home theater and music both sound great. Decent soundstage. CHEAP - an amazing value if you can find them under $1200.

Weakness:

A BIT boxier than I''d like - that''s probably the main weakness. Hopefully they''ll open up in a month or so (I''ll post another review if they do). To be clear, this is only evident on certain recordings, and only in comparison to speakers costing 2x more. Also - you need to play them loud to get the most out of them. Also - at 6 ohms and bass down to 25 Hz, you need over 100 watts to make them sing.

The NHT vt2.4''s are a stunning value right now. For $1000 (on the Internet) per pair this is by far the best speaker I''ve heard. It took me two months to find new speakers, and I was sold almost immediately upon hearing them - they sound basically equivalent to 2000-3000$ speakers, which isn''t surprising, since their MSRP is 2000. NHT is also a solid company, perfectly situated at the beginning of the high-end audiophile market (where, IMHO, you see the most bang for your buck). I''m running them through the Denon 4802; they will sound better through separates, but they were out of my price range. So what''s to like? Excellent sound for BOTH music and home theater. Fabulous bass even when not bi-amped (they''ll blow you away if you bi-amp them) - Saving Private Ryan scared the crap out of me. Rock music also sounds great, although they are speakers that sound better loud. NIN''s The Fragile sounds amazing; I''ve heard details that have always eluded me. I''m also a pianist and play a lot of classical music, as well as piano/voice stuff (from jazz to tori amos). These speakers are really good all around. I''ve heard/read complaints that they are very hard-edged in the upper ranges; I don''t find that to be the case. You MUST hear these speakers if you are in the market for speakers under $3000.

Similar Products Used:

Equipment is: Denon 4802 reciever, NHT vs-2.4 surround and center speakers, Samsung 301 DVD player (the next to be upgraded).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Jul 17, 2001]
Steven
Audiophile

In the market for the best music speaker I can find for $2000 or under. Read an exceptional review of the B&W CDM7 in Home Theatre magazine a month or so ago, and yesterday spent two hours at one of my favorite audio boutiques comparing the best they had to offer in my price range -- the B&W CDM7 and NHT 2.4.

In back to back A/B comparisons, timber between the two were similar. The B&W threw a bigger soundstage with more air. They also imaged a little better outside their boundaries. They didn't, however, sound nearly as focused within their boundaries or as clean in the midrange -- the NHT's were less grainy and more satisfying to my ear. On one particularly quiet KD Lang cut, the NHT's came pretty close to giving me chills -- I'm not exaggerating -- though I know how ridiclous a comment like that must read to most of you. The bottom end was less restrained on the NHT's as well -- the B&W's were working too hard. And when you factor in price, and the fact that you can pick up a pair of the NHT's for as little as $1300 on the internet, I know which speakers I'd rather own, even if friends won't be as impressed. Plus, there's a video mode on the NHT's that activates rear drivers, though I confess I didn't spend much time evaluating that feature.

So much for trusting audio mag reviewers. Half the time I think these guys are paid off. If anyone has any other ideas of speakers I should listen to before I cough up my money, please send me an e-mail.

Similar Products Used:

B&W CDM7

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
[Oct 09, 2001]
Eric Butler
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great balance between bass,mids,and highs

Weakness:

Video mode I think is useless you can not tell the diffrence between stereo mode and video mode.

The VT 2.4s are a great speaker. Although I would not pay any more than $1500.00 dollars for them. I think they are great for movies, they have extreme low bass that you need for the DTS and Dolby Digital playback. I was playing several different video sources one night and when I got to Gladiator I could not believe how low the two tens would play. They would shake my whole room. I was playing them on DTS. The 2.4s also have great highs, these speakers are cystal clear. These speakers also sound great for stereo two, if you have enough power though. These speakers like lots of power, and to make them sound good you need at least 100 watts per channel of clean power to make them rock. Of course when I was buying these I compared them to Klipsch speakers that cost the same and found that the NHT smoked them on mids and highs but if you want concert volumes the NHT is not the speaker for you. But thats only if you want your ears to bleed. Also I had some problems when I first started playing these, They would rattle at high volumes. I had to put shims under the spikes to fix the problem. Not really a big deal though.

System:

Sony ES STR444 receiver (driving highs and mids only)
Sony DVD/CD 600
Carver TFM15CB driving two custom built subs, two tens and a fifteen.
NHT SA-3 Driving sub section in VT 2.4s

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
[Sep 17, 2001]
Ron B
Audio Enthusiast

Strength:

Great sound and great value.

Weakness:

None

If you are looking for the best of the lower end of the top top top of the line speakers look no further these are for you. Great sound and great value.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 11  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com