Monitor Audio Silver RS6 Floorstanding Speakers

Silver RS6

  • Multi-channel
  • Natural voicing
  • Taut bass power
  • Dynamic expression
  • 6” C-CAM bass driver

User Reviews (25)

Showing 1-10 of 25  
MaDequipment   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 28, 2010]

We demoed a lot of speakers (Klipsch RF, Paradigm Monitor, Definitive Sound, Energy RC-50, B&W 6 series, and the Dali Helicon series) alongside a lot of different receivers (Denon, Yamaha, Pioneer, Onkyo, Integra, etc.) but eventually came back to Monitor Audio for a variety of reasons. Firstly, the sound of the speakers can only be described as luscious. Over the entire range, the RS6 will play back your music with aplomb and particularly excels with dynamic material including instrumental jazz and vocals, R&B, rock, and acoustic. A minor fault may be the tweeter's ability to exacerbate the poor quality of older recordings that have lots of noise, but rarely this is an issue. Just comparing this to the B&W 6 series, the MA speakers offer fuller sound in the midrange. The tweeter offers greater clarity, but not to the fault of becoming fatiguing. We happen to own a complete Monitor Audio system (RS6, RS1, RSLCR, RSW12), and home theater is a fantastic experience. Movies like the Incredibles are richly presented since the soundtrack is often coming through the RS6's. In general, the value of the speakers with its audio quality is unmatched with the wood veneers (we have the Walnut stain).

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
PATROCKET   Audio Enthusiast [Sep 02, 2010]

Those speakers are Special. Look incredible, compact for a floorstanding speaker.

Extreme detail, very open, they add an aerness to the sound, treble is fantastic.
Very musical from Top to Bottom ( treble, midrange and bass).

Give them some respectable components (CD player, Amplification and Connection cables).
You will be surprise of what they can deliver.
Easy to drive.
Nothing come close to those speakers (Quality/Price).
If you want the same all around quality, prepare yourself to pay a lot more $$$


Strengths:

Sound Quality.
Extremly Musical.
Impeccable Finish.
Price.


Weaknesses:

Not enough retailer (Quebec,Canada).

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
iLuv-music   AudioPhile [Feb 08, 2010]

I HAVE AUDITIONED NUMEROUS SPEAKERS IN THE PAST 18 MONTHS INCLUDING THE AXIOM AUDIO M60 AND M80 WITH THE VP 150. AS WELLS AS THE PARDAIGM MONITOR 11 AND THE PSB LINE OF SPEAKERS, THESE WERE ALL VERY GOOD SPEAKERS YET AFTER I LISTENED TO A PAIR OF RS6'S I WAS HOOKED. THEIR SOUND WAS CAPTIVATING.

MY ROOM IS 20 FT LONG AND 12FT WIDE WITH A 7 FT CEILING.

I HAVE OWNED DYNAMIC AS WELL AS ELECTROSTATIC SPEAKERS. MY LAST SPEAKER WAS THE MIRAGE OM9, TRIED THE OMD 15 AND SOMETHING GOT LOST IN THE TRANSLATION RETURNED TO RETAILER. FOR THE MONEY THE RS6'S ARE A TREMENDOUS VALUE. SOUNDING BETTER THAN DESIGNS COSTING THOUSANDS MORE.

THE MIDRANGE WAS INCREDIBLY VIBRANT AND OPEN, THE TREBLE EXTENDED AND ARTICULATE, AND THE BASS WAS IMPRESSIVE FOR A SPEAKER WITH A SMALL FOOTPRINT. I AM DRIVING THESE SPEAKERS WITH THE ONKYO SR805, I WILL SOON BE UPGRADING TO A MARANTZ RECEIVER, SPEAKERS ARE BI-WIRED WITH IXOS CABLE.

AFTER A SHORT BREAKIN PERIOD THE SPEAKERS HAVE ONLY SOUNDED BETTER. AS ANYONE KNOWS WHOM HAVE BEEN ENJOYING QUALITY AUDIO GEAR FOR SOME TIME, SYSTEM MATCHING, PROPER PLACEMENT WITHIN ONES ROOM, AND QUALITY ( AFFORDABLE) CABLES ARE ESSENTIAL FOR MAXIMUM ENJOYMENT... BY ALL MEANS FOLLOW THE ENGINEERS RECOMMENDATION AND BI-WIRE THESE SPEAKERS..

I AM USING THESE SPEAKERS WITH THE MATCHING CENTER AND SUB. EVERYONE WHOM HAS LISTENED TO MY SETUP CANNOT BELEIVE HOW EXPRESSIVE AND DYNAMIC THESE SPEAKERS ARE. THESE SPEAKERS ARE FORGIVING YET WILL STILL REVEAL THE QUALITY OF THE SOURCE. AS THE SAYING GOES GARBAGE IN GARBAGE OUT. FOR THE MONEY THESE SPEAKERS ARE AN INCREDIBLE VALUE.. MONITOR HAS JUST RELEASED AN RSX SERIES SO GRAB THESE GEMS WHILE YOU CAN.

I AM USING THESE SPEAKER FOR MUSIC AND HOME THEATER AND THEY EXCEL AT BOTH. THE CENTER SPEAKER IS REMARKABLE, VOICES ARE CLEARLY DELINEATED, SOUNDING FULL AND 3 DIMENSIONAL. AND THEY WILL PLAY AS LOUD AS I CAN TOLERATE WITHIN REASON. I MUST EMPHASIZE YOU MUST GIVE THESE SPEAKERS TIME TO BREAK IN, AND ONCE THEY DO MOST WILL NOT BE DISAPPOINTED.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
saymir   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 02, 2009]

Very good value for money.It does everything what company says,tight extendented punchy bass,sweet trebble,decent midrange if connected to smooth sounding amps-such as Technics.I was using Technics su-a700mk2.Simply amzing match.Relaxing sound.If connected to entry level hi-end gear,(krell kav500i)these speakers are capable of amazing 3D imaging and sounstage and dynamics >very similar to MA PL300.So such are the strengths.The weakness -very simple-need carefull amp match.Suggestion-avoid bright lively sounding amps,which have articulated upper midrange-like my Krell.The cause is very simple,the vocals might sound mechanical sometimes.Some people might think that the cause is trebble.I never found them booming.I think it is the problem of room acoustics or of the amplifiers such as Denon

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
green stye   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 16, 2009]

I have taken the trouble to use two sets of cables to connect the two separate terminal pairs to two separate pairs on a Denon amiplifier, positioned the speakers well out from the wall, plugged both vents with foam, turned the bass control way down and removed the grills but nothing gets rid of the boomy bass that others have noted. I am using the pair in a 600 sq ft room. The spoken human voice sounds indistinct as if the person were standing behind some kind of barrier and music does not have the clarity I like. Boosting mid ranges on an equalizer helps a bit but this should not be necessary. High frequencies come through quite well though. This is not a bad speaker but I'm sorry I did not get something better.

OVERALL
RATING
2
VALUE
RATING
2
philoformigx   Casual Listener [Jul 12, 2009]

I had an audition of this MA model 2 years before and I can say that RS6 is a quite good product. Looks and sounds nice. The cabinet is not the most exceptional but is real wood veneer and at this price level it's difficult to find anything better (except Quad L series maybe). Low frequency units are lovely and the rosenut cabinets make a beautiful contrast with them. Even with the grilles on RS6 are ok unlike many other which look like coffins.
I started the audition of RS6 with some eastern strings and winds and I was impressed. The sound was 'big' and live. Same with pop tracks. Very pleasant. Then I tried to rock them. That was the point I realized that the placement will be crucial, if not a pain... Unfortunately I live in a regular house, not a villa...and these speakers need a distance (2 meters at least) from the side and back walls. Also that boomy bass had not the feel of 'natural' to my ears. Things went worse with electronic music. Final track played was the 'walkman' from Yagya. RS6 had a really weird presentation for this track. The sound was somehow untuned.
By inference... RS6 as I said is a good product. It is musical, has clarity in the mids, crispy highs and it is good looking and well constructed. But it's not the right speaker for all kind of music and need a large hall to perform well.
In my opinion is the second best in its price category but if you are looking for a pair of speakers for less than 1000$ you should give a listen to RS6.

OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
4
Steven   AudioPhile [Jan 31, 2009]

When you first hear the MA RS6's straight from the box there very boomy and harsh, they take a good 40 hours of extreme playing before they even sound anything like there supose to.

After a burn in there very bassy, sweet mid range and treble, i found no harshness that others talk about.
I'm using them with a NAD 355bee amp, NAD C542 CD player, with a Chord silver siren phono, and Chord odyssey 2 speaker cable bi-wired.

I found that the very lowest bass notes dont shine through on these speakers, rather a boost of low mid band, they're very punchy, quick and time well, but they need alot of room to work, i have them 70cm from the back wall and 2m from side walls, my room is 6m by 5m. If you have anything small than that expect bass boom!

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
maravela   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 28, 2008]
Strength:

trebble = musical
middle = musical
bass = musical (goes deeper thand they are rated)

easy positioning, of course don't put them too close to the waals!! or you are going to get a booming sound witch is not how they really sound.

Weakness:

Aboslutely none!

WOW! this speakers are really something. very good looking and small, don't take much of your room space.

Extreme detail, very very open, they add an aerness to the sound, trebble is fantastic, very musical midrange bass and treble.

Easy to drive them, u don't need a monster amplifier, just remember to pear them up good and you are set for a amazing ride in the music world.

There are a lot of reivews favoring these speakers and at first was very sckeptical about them, but then i tested them and understood why they where so praised.

Go get them NOW

tip: if you want to geat more out of these speakers, pull of the black metalic grile that is over the tweeters, then you will have a very detailed tweeter and more aiernes to the sound.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
szimm32   Audio Enthusiast [Oct 03, 2008]
Strength:

Soundstage
Nice, in your face sound without being bright
Bass depth and response
Beautiful cabinets
Price! ! !

Weakness:

Cherry color is a little too red for me. They look great, but don't match my other cherry furniture.

After owning my BA VR30's for a decade and becoming a more discerning listener, I decided that I needed to buy new speakers. I spent far too many hours driving around and listening to speakers. As a music teacher, I often listen to reference recordings (primarily orchestra & jazz) and found myself complaining about everything under $2000. I'm not an audiophile that picks apart the engineering side of the speakers and references everything against recordings that expose ever weakness. On the other hand, I brought 20 CDs to every music store I could find and auditioned 50+ speaker systems ranging from $500 to $25,000. I want the music to sound open, airy, clean and real. I want bassoons, oboes, strings etc. to sound the way they do when I go to Lincoln Center, Carnegie Hall, or Boston's Symphony Hall. I also watch movies once or twice a week and wanted my stereo set-up to be able to easily handle movie soundtracks/effects.

After a six month search, I had settled on the Klipsch RF-7s. I, like many others, loved them but also found them a little bright. I loved listening to jazz on these (probably how I fell in love with them), and thought they were very, very good on everything else. I brought the RF-7's to my house for a 30 day audition when a friend of mine told me about a local guy who sells speakers out of his house and has the audiophile's audiophile reputation. I went to his house/office for about 15 hours over two weekends and fell in love with the RS-6. Did he have better speakers - Oh my god yes! I didn't have $10,000 to spend. I listened to tons of music hooked up to numerous components to be sure that I would like them with my equipment. After my second weekend, I sent back the Klipsch.

These are spectacular speakers for the money. They are not the RF-7s. They're 98% of them though and I like the fact that these are bright in the right spots (jazz/orchestral percussion) but lay back for female vocalists and strings. I've hooked them up to an all-Rotel system that I borrowed before settling in on the Denon 3806. I have to say that these speakers do better with a tubes, but after tweaking my Denon for enough hours, I feel confident that I made the right choices. I can sit in our ensemble hall and listen to a $20,000 system that I hand picked and never get jealous. The sub was necessary to boost sound on movies, but for 2-channel listening, these speakers kick out GREAT bass.

These are phenomenal speakers for the money and anyone in the under-$1000 price range who listens to music for pleasure will love these. Buy yourself a nice amp that allows custom settings and you'll find yourself loving life with money left in your pocket for nice surrounds, center speakers, subs, etc.

Similar Products Used: Boston Acoustics VR30
Legacy Audio Focus 20/20
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
marcus001   Audio Enthusiast [May 24, 2008]
Strength:

Soundstage, imaging, non fatiguing top end, "in the living room" vocals.
A PERFECT match for your EL34 or KT88 tube amp
Big foundational bass with port plugs to tune as needed
Small footprint with tasteful, simple, high quality fit and finish
Very inexpensive considering the exceptional performance

Weakness:

Bass could be too overwhelming in a small room, or for those who like it too polite.

This is a review for the Monitor Audio RS6 tower speakers. Simply put, I'm amazed at these relatively inexpensive speakers. I've gone through many speakers in my living room over the last couple of years including Kef Coda-7, EFE technology DV62si, Ohm acousics100S3, Onix strata mini, B&W 705, B&W 683 and heard many more in showrooms. In my space, the RS6 is hands down the best speaker I have come across. Other reviews have noted the preponderance of bass and the crisp top end and these features complement my Jolida 502b amp with KT88 tubes perfectly. The bass response is solid, big, and round--it holds the kick drum and walking electric, acoustic, or hammond B3 bass lines exactly where they should be--at the very foundation of the music. Bass is tight, accurate, musical, and nuanced....but admittedly it is big. The midrange is liquid and detailed with beautifully realistic voices and superb presentation of brass instrumention. The high end is detailed, accurate and holographic. Reverb decays, cymbal shimmer, and high end harmonics add to the amazing imaging better than ribbons I've had....and the imaging. Well, it is simply the best I've come across in an affordable speaker. Every instrument has its place and is isolated in horizontal, vertical, and depth space. The soundstage is the largest of any speaker I've heard (except the Focal 836v in the showroom). I mean baby grand piano soundstage in your living room---acoustic guitar so big you can see fingers over threaded strings and feel wooden resonances...big. Balance is tipped slightly forward, but not in your face...again, a perfect match for a more laid back or neutral amp--tube or solid state.

If your interested in this speaker you probably read the stereophile review by Reina and are dubious about all the superlatives heaped on these little jewels. I believe that it deserve ALL the hype--more than I can say for the other speakers I've had. The Kefs were exceptional for their paltry $100price but they don't really even belong in the same discussion as the Monitor Audios. In the realm of affordable high end, the rs6 is simply an exceptional speaker, period.

Similar Products Used: Ohm acoustics 100S3
Onix Strata mini
B&W 705
B&W 683
The RS6 is not only a superior speaker, but does so at 1/2 the price.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 25  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com