Monitor Audio Silver 9 Floorstanding Speakers

Silver 9

2-way 3-driver speaker. Ceramic coated Magnesium/Aluminum alloy woofers with a NeFeb Gold dome tweeter.

User Reviews (29)

Showing 1-10 of 29  
Nigel   Audio Enthusiast [Jun 07, 2016]

The silver 9i,s are worth there weight in gold, superb rich sounding well defined speakers. The only floor with them is the toe in, they are so sensitive to distance from the wall too. So if you can, move them away from the rear wall preferably 2 feet min and toe in very slightly if the listening range is over 8 feet. The separation ideally would be 8 feet minimum apart. They do like power and sing nicely fed with a large current. I use two Rotel 981s at an incredible 360 watts per speaker and 30 amp current so it says, with great care. Low level listening is superb, clear and bass is defined well. If you get the chance to own them second hand, get them you will never be sorry you did.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
avnut57   AudioPhile [Sep 04, 2014]

Have a pair of DEMOS not even fully broken in! Highs & mids quite Impressive detail upon detail, bass OK not a bass monster they need a home?? garypastore@yahoo.com

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
4
nurxhunter   AudioPhile [Dec 24, 2005]
Strength:

Transparancy, neutrality, soundstage, good look, great WAF. Super in midband and vocals. VERY revelaing to all upstream components. This is a precise transducer that does not lie, or even fib.

Weakness:

Bass not the tightest, though extension and volume are there. Overloads on upstream equipment with prodigious bass (e.g., PS Audio Ultralink. Might help if I shot-loaded as others.

Excellent speaker. Very transparent. Suprisingly good bass--not the last word in tightness/definition, but very good nonetheless. Outstanding mids and clean, transparant highs. Leans towards the bright side. Improves with break-in. Superbwith female voice, as well as male. Wonderful match with tube amps. Quite efficient and well-behaved impedence curve. They look very nice and are high quality. Cabinets not braced that well--however--sound great nonetheless. Quite precise. Many feel have an electrostatic character. I can say they excell in transparancy amd have a swell soundstage laterally and decent depth. Angle them in so you can just still see side finish. Try and sit low so you just can't see the tops of speakers. VERY sensitive to toe in--even the smallest toe in-out will have a big impact. Keep about a-1.5 feet from wall and away from corners. Best given air and space. Will sound boomy in a cramped space or room. Highly recomended with tube or neutral amps. May not fare as well with mass-market SS electronics. Reveals all in chain. Cal Icon II/Delta (XLR) > Cal ALpha 24/96> Luminous Audio Axiom (passive) > CJ-MV52, MA 9i. Decent cables all around. All in all, impressive job, MA.

Similar Products Used: B&W CDM7SE, Celestion SL6si, VSA-VR3.5, Meadowlark Kestels, B&W CDM1-SE
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Morgan   Audio Enthusiast [Aug 27, 2003]
Strength:

Good high end w well controlled sibilance. Tight, fast midrange. Nice bass, flat to 30hz, good to 20. Great aesthetics.

Weakness:

The mass loading hole could be bigger (well, I had to say something).

Most high end speakers have something that they are really good at. Most high end speakers also have something that they're not good at. The 9i's are good at everthing - high volume, low volume, TV, home theatre, DTS, rock, vocal, jazz - everything sounds great on these. Match them to a 12i, a sub, full size surrounds, and a good DTS/DVD-A recording and just the sound quality alone evokes an emotional response. Like someone else said, I can't go to movies any more. I just can't see paying $12 to sit in a theatre when it sounds better at home. MA 9i mains MA 12i centre PSB 70R surround (my old mains) cheapo sub Denon 2802 receiver Toshiba DVD Denon CD, Technics 100 CD Changer

Similar Products Used: Compared to JMLab Cobalt, PSB Bronze, Tannoy, various B&W, Definitive, Mirage, MartinLogan, KEF, and Klipsch.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Reece   Audio Enthusiast [Feb 13, 2003]
Strength:

Everything.

Weakness:

Careful partnering required and running in is an absolute must.

I bought these after reading many reviews, I was initially after the 8is thinking the 9is would be overkill in my living room (7m x 3.5m). Sitting here looking at them they actually look quite small! My original speakers were Mission 753s and I though they were fantastic until I wired these babies up!! Wow, the difference is incredible, the bass goes far lower and has so much more control, the mid-range is seamlessly smooth and the treble is just right. In my opinion if you want to hear these speakers at their best then hook ‘em up to some British electronics. I have an all Arcam setup i.e. A85 amp, P85 power amp and the CD82T, all wired up with Van Den Hul interconnects. I now find myself digging out old CDs I haven’t heard for years, spinning them up and thoroughly enjoying what bursts forth from these magnificent boxes. An absolute bargain at £500, well worth the money. My hat off to Monitor Audio.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Matt C.   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 28, 2001]
Strength:

Everything

Weakness:

Nothing

These are great speakers. I have them hooked up to a 12 watt tube amp that was made in 1960. Even 12 watts can make these play loud and clear. They are nice to look at too. I'm getting a NAD amp, so i'll tell you what the 9's are like with that amp too.

Similar Products Used: Nothing
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
Auke Mulder   Audiophile [Dec 15, 2001]
Strength:

Mooie vormgeving!! zeer gedetaileerd geluid, helder en sprankelend

Weakness:

geen

Een pracht van een luidspreker, die eigenlijk te goed is voor zijn geld. Ik heb hem deze week in huis gehaald en ben nu al weg van deze luidspreker.
Hier kun je zeker geen buil aan vallen!

Similar Products Used: dynaudio contour en tannoy saturn series
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
John Cook   Audiophile [Dec 28, 2000]
Strength:

To many to mention.

Weakness:

Break In time.

I'm fortunate enough to own 2 sets of these speakers. 1 set is used as my front's in my home theater set-up and the other is used as my surrounds(Overkill but it sounds awesome). I'm not going to go in to a big song and dance but,,,,,,,,I love these speakers. The sound quality is Excellent. Watching movies or listening to music they perform well. If you are after a clean sounding speaker with deep bass, these are for you. One thing that I will mention is that if you are going to buy a set, don't go cheap on power. These speakers like power and they like high current amps. My front's are being run with a Parasound HCA-1500A THX Ultra amp and it makes a world of diffrence compared to my rears which are being run via my Sony 777ES.I have swithced them while listening to music via the AB switch on my Sony and the diffrence is a joke. That is why I'm trying to hunt down another 1500A or move into a Parasound 5 chanell.

Similar Products Used: Bose,Mirage, and just about everything else.
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Nick   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 14, 2000]
Strength:

Build quality (matched Cherry veneers to die for, deep smooth bass, clear midrange

Weakness:

None

Beautiful speaker - very wife friendly - I was amazed I didn't get skinned alive for buying these without a pass from 'her indoors'. When they arrived my wife loved them - passing a very tough test there.

I can only say that the soundstage and coherence of these speakers is astounding and they get better every week. I coupled them with a Monitor Audio ASW 210 and the bass integrates very smoothly - very tight. They are driven by a Harman Kardon AVR7000 and sometimes a NAD T770. The HK suits these speakers better and I suspect they need the current that the HK provides. The NAD is a wonderful receiver - but seems too laid back to make the most of the crisp mid-range on the 9i's. So I relegated it to drive the MA Silver 7is & Centres on my home theatre system (the sudden arrival of the NAD is another story of wife friendly kit - but I did get a beating on that one!!!!). Still I am still alive to enjoy these wonderful 9i's.

Similar Products Used: Mission 700, Monitor Audio Silver 5i
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Johan Weger   Casual Listener [Jul 03, 2000]
Strength:

Too many to mention

Weakness:

none

I tried the silver 5i from Monitor Audio and was juat about to buy, when the salesman had just received the 9i. I had a demonstration of the two and found the 9i had more impact, dynamics and simply sounded very free and easy. The 5i is still in my view an absolute wonder, but when I heard the 9's I fell in love. I instantly paid out double the money I was so convinced. You really need to listen to the silver 9i before you buy any speaker. I bought my 9's in the U.K and took them back since I was on vacation there. However I did save money because the price in Austria is about 20% more than the U.K price.

I recommend the silver 9i with all confidence.

Similar Products Used: B&W CDM7
Mission 753
Wharfedale Harewood c class
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Showing 1-10 of 29  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com