Monitor Audio Silver 6 Floorstanding Speakers

Silver 6

Bass reflex design, 6" ceramic-coated aluminum/magnesium alloy bass driver, 6" ceramic-coated aluminum/magnesium alloy midrange driver, 1" ceramic-coated aluminum/magnesium alloy tweeter, 35Hz-30kHz ±3dB, 91dB sensitivity, 6 ohm impedance, shielded, biwireable.

User Reviews (8)

Showing 1-8 of 8  
vinniecuk   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 06, 2011]

Great speakers, i had been using a pair of Wharfadale Ventana speakers for a very long time, they where far from perfect but i loved the bass and (sometimes a bit harsh) but good overall top end, well i thought, its time for a change and found a pair of these silver 6's second hand and in near mint condition, i got them for around £200, had a good listen to them in the previous owners listening room, he had them rigged up to a good quality valve amp, sweet sound i thought, didnt think they would have quite as much bottom as the old warfs but the top end was way less harsh, on getting them home i had them set up in no time and i was blown away, i dont know what they would sound like with a less powerfull amplifier, i'm using a 140 watt rms monster and these wee speakers sound awsome, i could talk all day about them, if you get a chance to get a pair then i recomend you go for it, bass was a bit overwhelming at first but after a wire upgrade they sound simply brlliant, i dont think they need a super powerfull amp to sound good as the guy i bought them from had them rigged up to a 20 watt per channel valve amp and they sounded really good then, so it looks like they are an easy match up for a wide array of equipment imho, i listen to the likes of Radiohead, susan vega, pink floyd, as well as things like Squarepusher and ambient and electronic stuff, these wee speakers do the buisiness with the likes of these music styles and i do listen to the odd classical thing and they realy sound very good with that also, i also record my own compositions and they make real good monitors.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
karister   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 20, 2009]

These are some awesome little speakers punch a power. These are very detailed & smooth sounding speakers, don't let the size of them fool you. I'm running them on two channel for music and really love them. They've got great bass extension to them very deep and tight. You should try to take off the tweeter grill covers as they sound bit better that way. I think to get the full potential of them you have to feed them powerful separates.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
Gabriel Catelli   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 10, 2007]
Strength:

Bass response
Sound quality
Excellent price/quality relation

Weakness:

Not found yet

I've been looking for a pair of speakers for a couple of months. Finaly and acording to my budget, I went to buy a couple of Polk RTi8. Luckily there were no spare ones in the shop so I must go to another one. I there I met the Silver 6. I've tried a couple of Klipsch of the same price but the have nothing to do. Sound is much cleaner and sharp and bass response quite different. So just a couple of months with them but more than happy. I will continue testing them to see if I will love them (not yet)

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sberamji   AudioPhile [Jun 16, 2006]

Very nice speaker. very musical. Can get bright if matched with electronics that lack body. Has a lot of bass so take care if using in smaller rooms. The bass is very boxy and that is a downside. This boxiness goes away if you use a high powered amp with the speakers. Build quality if exceptional. The speaker has a sweet sound. Really nice speaker just feed it a lot of power and the bass gets better control otherwise it will boom. Vocals and cymbals can barely be localised to the speakers which can be attributed to the beautiful soundstage. Only the bass makes the speakers presence felt.

Speaker is good enough to be used with more expensive electronics and hence serves as a good uprade path. Just add an excellent CD-Player and powerful amp (100W) and you will love these speakers. make sure you do not use Rotels or Marantz as it can get a little too bright.

OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
aliea   Audio Enthusiast [Jan 03, 2006]
Strength:

Great presence and clarity, sensation of "being on the stage"

Weakness:

I don't know yet if it's a weakness of the speakers but I have some distirtion in the mid-range when playing some rich orchestral passages on some particular CD's. I still didn't figure out where the problem is but I'll try to bi-wire and see what happens.

I am a professional violin player so when I went to choose my speakers I knew pretty much what is the sound I will be looking for. The HiFi shop I went to had a choice of Krix, Dynaudio and Monitor Audio brands, so I've listened to most of the models. What struck me immidiately about the Silver 6 was the presence of the sound and the clarity. Compare to the other speakers the sensation was like standing ON THE STAGE with the MA vs sitting in the back row of the hall with the other speakers. The bass is very tight and precise and the upper frequencies are bright and open as it should be for classical music. I can imagine one would like more emphasise on the bass when listening to rock or other music but for my ear it was perfect balance. I liked the sound of Silver 6's even more then the Silver 8's which are more expensive. So if you are looking for speakers with exciting sound and great presence - the Silver 6 are a great choice.

OVERALL
RATING
4
VALUE
RATING
5
michaelrakker   AudioPhile [Dec 24, 2005]
Strength:

Hand Made, in contrary to the commercial B&W 603-604. Verry well balanced speakers for its price. Not too sharo like the KEF, or not too much base like the B&W 604 S3. No head ache!!!!

Weakness:

According to the reviews (still 3 today)it seems the speakers are not that much sold. It's a pitty.

I am a young person with a big passion for classical music. Of course is my budget not so big. I sought a complete stereo for 2500 EURO. I was prepared to spend 1000-1250 EUR for the speakers. I went to a specialist... I went for a B&W 603 S3, because i thought that was the reference. I was wrong: B&W is the most commercial mark. The 603 S3 is a verry easy listener, but it's nothing special. For my classical music the store manager offert me the KEF Q6 who was verry sharp, the Monitor Audio who is supreme to the B&W 603 s3 and the Dali Who was a price class higher. I also tried the B&w 604 S4, but this one had too much base, too much for my classical music. the base was verry anoying. So, i have taken the Monitor Audio Silver S6. A verry good speaker for its monney. The best price/quality of Monitor Audio. It is verry accurate but not too sharp, like the KEF. The base is not dominant at all, in contrary of the B&W 604 S3. Especcialy with singing, the speakers are marvelous (Strauss 4 letzte Lieder Kanawa/Solti). The details are also verry clear (Barber Adagio for strings NYPh Bernstein). But they can also make a real storm (Wagner Die Walkure Solti). A verry important topic is the combination of your elements. My Silver S6 in combination with the Marantz PM7200 and CD7300 and good cables MPC Thassas are verry well balanced combination. After 8 months of aproximatly 1 hour a day verry detailed listening to my CD-recordings, I am still verry satisfied with my 'tools'.

Similar Products Used: none
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
5
sounder   Audio Enthusiast [Dec 01, 2005]
Strength:

tight accurate sound

Weakness:

none for the price

just felt it necessary to question the previous reviewer's review. He doesn't own the speakers & obviously isn't familiar with them. His quote "the listening experience was soaked in a bath of out of control low frequencies that where very annoying, even with the foam plug in the front hole to make it less boommy" - hello, there is no front hole (or port for that matter). These speakers are ported with two ports in the rear. They come with the foam plugs (or bungs as Monitor refers to them). Depending on your acoustics you can tune the bass output by blocking the port with the foam plugs. I used them in the upper rear ports which seemed to reduce the frequencies in the mid bass range. Bottom rear port was left open for my listening environment and preferences. Again, there are no ports in front for the pictured speaker (Silver 6s). Bass output is substantial, but not unbalanced. Overall, a neutral sounding speaker.

Similar Products Used: paradigm
OVERALL
RATING
5
VALUE
RATING
4
voodooalex   Audio Enthusiast [Nov 16, 2005]
Strength:

Good and precise high register. Very well made and sturdy speakers. Good presence.

Weakness:

Bass terribly out of control and slightly metallic sounding tweeter.

Yes..there is always a guy that is going to be unhappy with a specific model even if all the other reviews are awsome..in this case, i am that guy....and it's ok like that! I feel i should post my opinion and, maybe, help someone making the good choice instead of spending 2k (CAN) on something that, to me, doesn't worth it. By the way, i am not shure exactly of the year model, but 2003 or 2004,,,somewhere in there! A friend of mine bougth a pair of silver 6 and even if the room they where in was of decent proportion and the speakers really well placed in the room ( my buddy is a serious audio freak and is very careful for all the details associated with placement, wiring etc...)...The speakers where delivering way too much bass...It was almost a joke...the listening experience was soaked in a bath of out of control low frequencies that where very annoying, even with the foam plug in the front hole to make it less boommy....Very deceiving for a speakers of 2000$+ CAN dollars. It's a shame because the highs where very precise even if they where quite metallic sounding but this bass made everything unpleasurable. I have the bad impression that in a certain breed of audio enthusiasts, there is a belief that the more bass there is, the better the speakers are...Is it just me that feel that? The low frequencies in those beast have the same qualities that you found in speakers like cerwin-vega..not reassuring to say the least! Don't get me wrong here, i really beleive that Monitor audio is a serious company that build quality products but in my opinion, they where out in left field with these. Maybe the room was still too small even if , like i said before, it was more than average living room in Canada, which, by the way, are bigger than average apprtement in the UK where these speakers come from. If you build an middle entry level speakers designed for entry level budget...please... make them so they fit in the average size room associated with the people that will buy them...not in an countryside english castle! They buy other thing thoses poelple..not silver 6! My friend sold those less than 6 months after he bought them. He got a pair of PMC DB1+, that where far. far superior in every department. Especially when rendering classical music ( wich i appreciated from time to time). Probaly not the best all-around speakers but very performant for acoustic music..Small speakers with some balls...BRAVO! Before buying SILVER 6, make shure to go hear KEF Q5 or Q7, B&W 600 series or AE....even PSB 4t for less than twice the price you'll get much more definition. JM LAB are bright sounding and expensive but they are incredible speakers. Silver 6 = Very very, average floorsatnder for the price range.

Similar Products Used: kef Q5 Q7 B&W 600 series PSB 4T
OVERALL
RATING
3
VALUE
RATING
2
Showing 1-8 of 8  

(C) Copyright 1996-2018. All Rights Reserved.

audioreview.com and the ConsumerReview Network are business units of Invenda Corporation

Other Web Sites in the ConsumerReview Network:

mtbr.com | roadbikereview.com | carreview.com | photographyreview.com | audioreview.com